Jesse McCartney: my first non-Prince post

 

Today is one of those rare cases where I will not talk about Prince on this blog.

Today is April 9th, the 20th birthday of Jesse McCartney, an artist I had followed for 5 years. He’s just around the same age as I am, so we have a lot in common. We’re both going through our growing pains and such. His music relates to me, so I enjoy it a lot.

Instead of my usual routine (I’ll listen to this Prince album, etc.), I’m going to give my ears a rest from Prince for the day and listen to Jesse’s early work as well as his 2 albums

The fact that I woke up with P. Control, The Most Beautiful Girl in the World and Dolphin in my head still doesn’t change the fact that this day belongs to another.

Although I do wish that they had a decent video of “Dolphin” I could watch…

After listening thru his two albums, I gotta say that it definitely brought me back. Jesse was the very first artist I got into and gave 110% into as a fan. I went out of my way to see him in concert twice and I’ve met him in person twice. The one time of the two was 4 summers ago just after I turned 17. I saw his concert at Pt. Pleasant and I met him in person and got my picture with him. It was an great concert, my first one ever and I got the chance to tell him that. That day is one I’ll never forget as long as I live.

Jesse has gotten me through a lot in the 5 years I’ve been following his career. His music has helped me thru the ups and downs. Even if he didn’t write them, it meant a lot to me the past 5 years. I doubt I’ll ever get the chance to ever tell him how much he’s helped me.  His music always knows how to make me smile.

His newer album “Right where you want me” was definitely better than “Beautiful Soul” just because of timing. I can relate more to his newer material because I’ve grown quite a bit since his first album’s release. All but one he co-wrote and most likely came up with the concepts for, so his heart is more present in his recent material.

One thing I’ve had with Jesse over the past 5 years is his voice. It’s not the greatest in the world, but when I sing along, it just has a nice smoothness and flow to it that I can duplicate so well that it made singing along with him so much fun for me.

I’ll always have the past, but ever since Prince came into my life at full force, I’ve had to reflect on a few things. I’ve grown in a way that I don’t fit the definition of “fanatic” as well as I used to regarding Jesse. I enjoy his music every now and then for a different change of pace and it feels good to relate to someone my own age. My mind isn’t on him as much as it used to be.

Prince will continue to be at the forefront of my mind as my favorite musician. Jesse is an artist, but is nowhere near what Prince is and never will be. Still doesn’t make him any less important as a songwriter.

Now it’s Prince’s turn to help me thru his music. He’s already done so already and will continue to do so as I continue discovering him.

Here’s a post I wrote, summing everything up, on prince.org under Other Artist forums:

For the past 5 years, I’ve been a fan of Jesse McCartney. I could relate to him and his music because we’re very close in age.

His music has meant a lot to me in the past, getting me through the hardest times of my life through high school. It’s brought me up when I was down. I’ve met him twice in person and seen 2 of his concerts. When I was 14-19, he was the one artist I’d follow and I was quite the fan (truly fitting Prince’s definition of a “fan”).

I’ve given this whole day to listening thru his music because he turned 20 today. So we’ll be the same age for 3 months and 20 days, until I go on 21. I’ve stopped listening to Prince 4 an entire day because I’d kinda forgotten about the other artists I’ve listened 2. Jesse was the one that I’d given the most time to, so I felt I needed to give him a little extra time.

Listening thru his music was great after not having done so in a long time. But at the same time, there’s a lingering sadness. I felt like I’m moving away from Jesse, as if I’m growing up and leaving him behind because his music doesn’t reach me the way it used to. We’re around the same age, so it’s kinda weird.

Prince has already taught me so much in many different areas and I’ve only been a serious “follower” for the past 9 weeks. Jesse can’t reach me the same way, so it feels like I’m leaving him behind to seek a certain enlightenment that only Prince can show me.
I’ll always be a JMac fan at heart, but I feel about about bumping him down to 2nd place after he’s been a part of my life for so long.

This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

