Rave Un2 The Joy Fantastic

This is actually my third listen to the album. But I wanted to be sure what I thought of the tracks before I started posting. I listened to it for the first time a couple of months ago and just forgot about it. None of the songs were really memorable and I got caught up in all kinds of stuff. Finally, I found time for it and came up with the following thoughts. The album won’t win any awards, but it’s still a bunch of really good music in my eyes.

 

Title track: Feels like an 80’s song (cuz it is) that got a make-over. It sounds very alive and renovated, clean production. Has some groovy guitar. Not quite sure what he means by the title, but its more or less a party track.

 

Undisputed: Pretty much sums everything up. Him saying “this is what I’m all about and this is what I’ve come to realize over the past several years.” It talks about who he is and also the undisputed truth that record companies control the music when the musicians should be the ones controlling the music. Has a good beat, could do without the NPG chanting, but other than that, an interesting track that I do like quite a bit.

 

The Greatest Romance…: really like this one a lot, one of my favorites. But I can’t help wondering if there’s some hidden meaning behind it. What could he mean by “greatest romance ever sold.” You don’t buy/sell romance.  I was thinking, “this reminds me of when I first heard this song and saw the video. I’m reminiscing about how things were when I was first getting into Prince’s music. And this song was one of the contributing factors towards that one dream I had about him. But it feels like my latest experiences with “The Beautiful Ones.” I know what it’s about, but I feel like there’s something more to it and I’m trying to figure out what that thing is.

 

Hot w/U: really fun and catchy. Kinda reminds me of a song that *NSYNC did that has the same beat. I really get into the lyrics and everything about it.

 

Tangerine: I could just see him doing this one. Sneaking into the studio any given Sunday, setting up a few instruments, writing this song and cutting it all in the same afternoon. Really good for a short song. Wish it was longer, cuz it had potential, but I respect what he did with it.

 

So Far, so pleased: A fun guitar-oriented track that could have made a great single. A lot of fun; like it a lot.

 

Sun/Moon/Stars: I’m not sure about this one quite yet. The reggae rap is kinda cool. Has beautiful lyrics, but the music just doesn’t click for me. The timing seems a little off…

 

Everyday is a Winding Road: I don’t really care what anyone else has to say against this song. Cover or not, it’s a fun song and I like it a lot.

 

Man O’ War: The start of the sadder half of the album. Very well put together and beautiful, although sad.

 

Baby Knows: I get into this song a bit more as it progresses, but it feels like a cover, even though he wrote this one. Gets more fun later on, so it’s a keeper.

 

I love U, but don’t trust u anymore: very sweet but very sad. Very emotional for him. This is what it sounds like to hear Prince’s heart break.

 

Silly Game: Still a little unsure about this song. Good lyrics and there’s something about it I kinda like. But I’m not totally sure.

 

Strange but true: I got into it more today. It’s an okay song, although you can’t really call it a song cuz he doesn’t really sing. But I kinda like it.

 

Wherever U Go: very moving, a little sad, but he seems to be looking to the positive. One of those upbeat songs he writes when he’s down. I like it a lot, especially good for air guitar.

 

Prettyman: he most likely ended the album with this song because he wanted it to be on a positive note. I’ve gotta say that this has some of the corniest lyrics I’ve ever heard. And have me shaking my head. The melody he’s singing kinda feels like it was recycled from another song. I’m guessing “Push,” but I’m not totally sure. Probably will cut it out, though.

 

This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

