Seeing Purple Rain with Susan

She’s my roommate from freshman year. I’ve shown her “Under the Cherry Moon” before and she loved it. Now we’re back in the Purple world yet again.

I tell ya, it’s so strange going back there, especially after I’ve been somewhere else in his music. I’ve lurking around the late 90’s lately… and it’s a completely different platform. The music sounds completely different and I forgot for a moment that his music was just so in-tune and perfect back then. He really knew what he was doing, what he was capable of that early on. Just blows me away.

So I watched him throughout the whole movie and sooner or later, I got sucked in. I couldn’t even blink as it got later in the movie. It could have been the volume, but the music came off so much louder and clearer. And I got more sucked into the performance. “The Beautiful Ones”, just as brilliant as its always been. Then with “Computer Blue”, I felt a hint of uneasyness in the music or the atmopshere. I felt like I was feeding off his energy and everything that happened before. The room got really quiet after one of my favorite lines, “Your music makes sense 2 no one but yourself”… because I felt like that was the truth. Prince knew it and you could just see it in his expression afterwards.

“Purple Rain” the song rang true in more ways than one. When that guitar started playing, I could hear the strings, feel the vibrations in my ears and in my heart. Really powerful and he was just in the zone when he wrote/performed this song. Even now, it’s still ringing in my head. It didn’t bring tears to my eyes, but I could just feel the power and emotion.

The last 10 minutes will never be exactly as they were that very first time, but my eyes were glued to the screen. Haha, actually during the guitar solo in the past song, I tried blinking and I could barely see. I was either really in the zone or it was late (around 12:45am or so)… The songs were amazing. Then when they popped back and forth between onstage Prince and offstage Prince, I could have sworn they were 2 different people. One was quiet and reserved. The other was loud, crazy, wild, fun and enthusiastic.

At the end of the movie, Susan said, “Prince is cool.” I wanted to laugh so hard. Then she corrected herself, “Yeah, an understatement.” There aren’t enough words in the English language to describe who Prince is and how I feel about him. Hey, he puts everything on the table and lets his emotions run wild no matter what he’s feeling at the time. My heart reacts to his music in a way different than anyone else’s. And its like he encourages all of us to think with our hearts because he certainly sings/plays from his.

How can I deny his Greatness my very best writing from my heart when he encourages it of me (and the rest of his listeners) whenever they invite him into their lives?

This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , . Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to Seeing Purple Rain with Susan

  1. U said:
    “There aren’t enough words in the English language to describe who Prince is and how I feel about him. Hey, he puts everything on the table and lets his emotions run wild no matter what he’s feeling at the time. My heart reacts to his music in a way different than anyone else’s. And its like he encourages all of us to think with our hearts because he certainly sings/plays from his.”
    Wow…u just read my soul right there.  Are we the same person?

  2. U said:
    “There aren’t enough words in the English language to describe who Prince is and how I feel about him. Hey, he puts everything on the table and lets his emotions run wild no matter what he’s feeling at the time. My heart reacts to his music in a way different than anyone else’s. And its like he encourages all of us to think with our hearts because he certainly sings/plays from his.”
    Wow…u just read my soul right there.  R we the same person?

Leave a Reply

