B4 Prince… there was Jesse

This probably will be the second blog I’ve written about Jesse, but it’s kinda like your first love. You never forget your first love.

This isn’t to say that I’m “in love” with Jesse McCartney. At one time, I believed I was, but I was a teenager, it happens.

For the first time in a very long time, I thought about Jesse and even checked up on him to see how things have been going. I’ve been out of touch with his career since the last time I posted on his message boards about my review of his 2nd album (this was after Prince had been part of my life for a few months). What’s really surprising, and a little scary, is that his next album is supposed to have an 80’s retro sound and he listed Prince as one of his inspirations for the sound he wants. The scary thing is that two worlds will be colliding when he releases his next album and this wasn’t something of my doing.
The last time I had combined Prince and Jesse in one breath, I was writing my original work with Prince inspiring the main character. And two of the songs he wrote in the story were actually 2 songs that Jesse co-wrote. But this is something completely out of my control. I can’t say what the sound is going to be like, but I sincerely hope that it comes over well.

Jesse has yet to let me down about anything he’s done. And as the title suggests, I have a history with Jesse’s music. I liked him since Dream Street, who I discovered in the fall of 2001. Then he went solo after the group broke up a year later (very rotten timing), and I had been supporting him since then… so that’s 5 years of history. I go as far to say that I’m a Veteran when it comes to Jesse since I’ve seen him through all the stages of his singing career, except for maybe Sugar Beats.

A lot of people don’t know who Jesse is, and I’ve had to deal with that. It doesn’t take away from how I feel about his music. His music had gotten me through a lot during high school.
Not so much that I like comparing Jesse and Prince. I traded up to the nth degree when I picked Prince to be the new artist in my life. As far as I know, Jesse doesn’t play an instrument. The only time I had seen him play one, it was playing drums at my 2nd concert at Six Flags. (And actually, it was one of the highlights of an otherwise dismal concert). 

Here’s where the comparing comes in.
Prince is everything you could want in an artist and when I listen to him, I can feel pretty much every emotion there is, but I do it all from his POV. I usually don’t try to relate myself to his material because he wrote it from heart and soul. And depending on the situation, Prince can be anything I make him out to be, a mentor, a life couch, lover or friend.
Jesse was the type of guy where I’d go crazy for when I saw him on-screen, hear a song on the radio or even see him in person (which I had… twice). His music is like chicken soup for the soul. In essence, when I listen to him, he’s like my best friend. I can hang out with him whenever I want to and his music is there when I need it.

I was listening to his 2nd album “Right where you want me,” having a little difficulty chilling with him at the first because it had been a long time. There’s been a lot of inner conflict with me lately. I’m loosening my ties with Prince and as much as I want him back in my life at full blast, it’s hard to commit back to being the full-blown listener I had been since the new year began. All of that was swirling through my head and I found myself trying to readjust to Jesse’s energy. I know his voice like the back of my hand. I don’t know what I was trying to find, but I ended up seeing a past life b4 Prince came into it. I think maybe I was trying to compare the two, which is the last thing I should do. Their energies are completely different. I was listening to a recent interview of Jesse’s and I’m impressed with the kind of person he’s became. I couldn’t really ask for better. Although I don’t know what instruments he can play, it sounds like he’s really become quite the singer/songwriter and he’s been writing songs for other artists, which I really didn’t expect from him. It’s always nice to get those surprises.

When I got into the 2nd album when I first got it, it was amazing how Jesse’s mind seemed to corollate to mine. We’re around the same age, so we think about the same things. I can always relate to what he’s singing about. While I haven’t been in any kind of relationship, what love can do to a person, I can relate to. With Prince, it’s not quite that type of friendship, it’s a lot more. And I can’t relate to everything he talks about. I’ve never been that much in love and I haven’t even experienced the key ingredient in his material… Prince appeals to all facuets of my soul, but Jesse and I have a history together… and his music hits a key place that I don’t think Prince can touch.

I was just chilling with Jesse just because I was up until 3am in the chatroom… and I had to get up for a 9:55 class… I was so tired that I could barely concentrate on what I was doing. I finally got back to writing my 2nd Prince-related fiction piece and now I have a launchpoint to go from. I was on the computer in the lab until almost 12:30 and by that time, I could barely keep my eyes open. So I hung back with the album and softly played the music in my headphones. I still sung along when it was convenient for me. During one song, one of the 2 that inspired pieces I wrote about in that first Prince fiction piece, I felt a little sad because I was thinking how I actually could get along without Jesse’s music and stay completely with Prince without looking back. I was listening to Jesse and I thought that I could just leave him behind.

This really proves how much control Prince’s music seems to have over me. Jesse is sort of like past tense… like I can’t go any further with him to satisfy what my musical needs are.
Come to think of it, though, whenever I come back to Jesse when he releases new material, his mind seems to be on the same plane. If I know Jesse as well as I think I do, when he comes out with his new album, it’ll be exactly where my mind is at present. I can’t wait to see the results.

When I go around to the 8th song, I was kicking back like I used to and having so much fun singing along. It was just like the good old days 😎 …and the next song was the other of the 2 songs and I had fun with that one too. Maybe I should play around with the order of the tracks and see what I can come up with.

when eye get 2 Prince, eye swear eye can get so lost in his work… trying to figure it out and figure him out while doing it… Jesse was kinda like my best friend in music, the reason why music was very important to me when I was a teenager. I wish I could think of a poem to write about him, but there are no words that come to mind. I’ll always have Jesse’s music as my best friend, which I can fall back on. I forget that there’s a world outside of Prince. Not so much that I forget who I am because Prince has become a huge part of who I am, but that doesn’t mean I can forget about the past completely. Jesse’s one artist that’ll stand above the rest for me, but he’ll be nothing in comparison 2 Prince. Like I said, comparing those 2 artists isn’t the best idea since they’re in two different classes. That being: Prince is just in a class by himself.

I dug up the NAACP acceptence speech and watched that again. I’ve got his performance with Beyonce good to go. When I saw him give that speech, there was no doubt in my mind of why I decided to pick him to give my mind to so I could think about all the reasons why he’s a great artist. Just seeming him speak on the podium there, there are really no words to describe him. He has presence!

I think I’ll be ready to go back to Prince by tomorrow at the earliest, although if he wins the NAACP award again this year, I might be set back a little bit because I’ll have seen something of him @ present day. I can only focus on one decade at a time, so that’ll make getting through the 90’s a little more difficult.

With regards to Jesse, I’ll keep an ear out for him and any of the movies he has coming out. When his next album comes out, I can’t wait to hear it. It really sounds like his material will cater to my tastes because by the time he finishes it, he’ll be the same age as me. Jesse’s music will always be my best friend, but Prince is legend. There’s really no comparing the two, even if they’re two biggest male artists who’ve come into my life.

This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

