What Time is it?

Before giving the album a listen, I charged my iPOD however little it needed to be charged. I get the feeling I’m gonna need it this week, so I might as well have it all set. While charging my iPOD, I fixed a few things in my iTunes library. Namely, a couple songs where the last couple of seconds were cut off when I listen to them. I reuploaded “Welcome 2 the Dawn” and my copy of Parade from my flash drive. This helped the songs segue one into another and “Alexa de Paris” would be able to finish. I don’t know if I’ll be able to do anything about the album tracks (Live 4 Love, In this bed eye scream), but at least I got something fixed.

Of course I had to upload this new album into my iPOD so I’d have access to it whenever I feel the need. I listened to Parade first just to test it out, see if the songs really segued into each other and the trick I did worked. Again, I say the album is amazing and some of the songs that hadn’t gotten to me in a long time did. “Kiss” started to dig for the guitar, the drums (which Prince dances to extremely well in the video) and the unique vocals. He’d never done a falsetto quite like that before or since. “Mountains” was intoxicating to say the least and “Love or $” was a whole lot of fun. I had the apartment to myself, so I could do my Camille impression without having to worry about people wondering if there was something wrong with me.

As a mental note, I’ll list the 6 tracks for this album.

1. Wild & Loose
2. 777-9311
3. Onedayi’mgonnabesomebody
4. The Walk
5. Gigolos Get Lonely Too
6. I Don’t Wanna Leave You

I had only one major issue with the entire production of the album. The first two songs started to wear out their welcome after a while. With the latter, it starts to get a little ridiculous after a while. Of all the songs, there’s something about 777-9311 that felt off. The beat wasn’t quite right. It sounds like how a CD skips, which couldn’t be the case, but the use of drums reminded me of Prince’s minimalistic style with some of his 1999 tracks. I almost wanted to say that Morris has a lack of rhythm with that one.

Wild & Loose was an amazing start. The cohesiveness of the band’s vocals, I totally dig. It had something of a punch to it and made the song really catchy. The speaking portion was pretty interesting. In my left ear, I heard the two girls conversing and in my right, The Time was talking amongst themselves. I paid more attention to the girls to see what they had to say. A little comedy never hurt, but its too bad it didn’t really end well.

Onedayi’mgonnabesomebody was probably the shortest track. I wasn’t quite sure about the lyrics (I’ll have to hear it again), but something about it was catchy. By this time, I don’t really remember much about this song, so I can’t really give it a good review.

The Walk, I remember coming across on Emancipation radio and being sick of the length. I didn’t really have much of a problem with that. Again, a really good beat and things were kept interesting about the song. Then the spoken portion had me laughing like I hadn’t laughed in a long time. Long story short: Morris is SUCH a playboy, haha

Gigolos get lonely too, I also remember hearing and really liking (the reason why I wanted to get this album). It’s surprising for two reasons. The fact that Morris has a soft side (you’d think all he was interested in was having fun with his boys and with the ladies) and the fact that he wrote this one. It shows that he has some songwriting talent and knows how to make the girls swoon. He calls himself a gigolo, but he’s somewhat of a playboy. He just tries to show his sensitive side to the ladies. Everything about it was really sweet, my favorite track.

I don’t wanna leave you was a great ending. At the time, I was hoping that it wasn’t going to end too soon because I didn’t want the album to end. I was begging to hear more from this group, which has a really good song. I expected a decent set of work, but nothing this fun. This song is another one that shows the sweet side of Morris & The Time. The way the keyboards sounded made me recall two songs “Do me baby” and the very beginning of “Baby I’m a Star”.

This album was released in 1982, the same year as 1999. I think the sound of this record bares similarity to Controversy as well as 1999, so maybe Prince helped write it shortly after Controversy’s release and while he was in the early stages of 1999. Funk was definitely the genre that ruled this album, which connects it with Controversy. Then the use of keyboards and Linn-drum link it with 1999. It’s a good chill-out album towards the end and its also something that makes you want to get up and dance.

I’d also like to say as it progressed, Morris started to come out from the group and became more of the focal point. Suggestive, perhaps?

This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

