The Ultimate 80’s playlist

I’ll say it before and again and so on. I LOVE THE 80’S. Everything about it from the paraphenila, memorabila,  to the pop culture. I’ve made no secret of that here. Prince happens to be a big piece of that. But it started with the music videos at a very young age. Good old dad exposed me to MTV when he realized it could keep me busy for an undeterminable amount of time when I was a baby. But he has a VHS where he copied a lot of his favorite videos from the decade. I watched it so much when I was a kid, but only once since we copied it over to DVD.

VH1 Classic has an 80’s thing going on all week and hopefully I’ll be able to catch some decent stuff. Probably not Purple Rain because I’m still waiting until July to expose myself to it again. Not that hearing “When Doves Cry” on the radio all the time is helping me make that separation.
And I can only say “aw hell” when I add this, but that’ll be around the time I’ll start listening to The Time again. Ever since Morris Day rubbed me the wrong way while I watched Purple Rain the last time… just have been shying away from his voice and everything to do with him.

But I can’t give up saying “yeasss” the way he does. It’s part of my lingo and it won’t go away. Call it a nervous tick because its something I just have to do. I love it.

I’m sure at some point in my life I will overdose on the 80’s to the point I’ll get sick of the music. Here’s hoping that never happens because it gives me a joy that very few other things can.

Someday maybe I’ll buy a couple of books on the decade, ask different people what they remember most about it and maybe I’ll condense it all into a sci-fi type of thing where I take a time machine back to the decade so I can live it all over again. Or rather really live and breathe the experience of the 80’s. However much I lived of it, I can’t remember.

For now, there are two playlists I’d like to get together to put on a CD, a USB or just on my computer. One will be all of the songs (with a few exceptions I don’t feel like buying for one song) that was on that VHS tape. And another, all of the 80’s songs I just absolutely love. Ones that really set the decade apart from all others for me. That unique 80’s sound that I recognize anywhere.

This is a work in progress.

In addition to the following Prince songs:

  • 1999
  • Little Red Corvette
  •  When Doves Cry
  • Purple Rain
  • If I was ur girlfriend
  • Anotherloverholenyohead
  • Dirty Mind
  • Controversy
  • Lady Cab Driver
  • I would die 4 u

Probably many more actually. Aw hell, I could just add so many Prince songs on that list that its not even funny. For the hell of it, I’ll probably add 777-9311, Jungle Love, and Modernaire to the playlist.

I could do a playlist of soundtrack songs from the best 80’s movies.

I just found out that this one song I love is from “Pretty in Pink” called If you leave by this group called OMD, Orchestral Manoevres in the Dark. They’re another of those British synthpop bands. Certainly where a lot of those in this decade (playing it now).

On that list, it’d be another playlist all on its own

  • If you leave- OMD
  • Don’t you (forget about me)- Simple Minds
  • Ghostbusters theme- Ray Parker, Jr.
  • Axel F- Theme from “Beverly Hills Cop”
  • The Power of Love- Huey Lewis & The News
  • St. Elmo’s Fire (Man in Motion)
  • Danger Zone- Kenny Loggins

Love just about all of John Hughes brat pack movies. I’ll have to see Pretty in Pink again because I probably wasn’t able to appreciate it the first time I saw it. I think I was only 17. Yet, I saw Purple Rain around that time and even in pieces, I appreciated it.

Back to the Future and Beverly hills cop are a couple more not by John Hughes that I love.

Too bad there aren’t too many good songs from Ferris Bueller’s Day Off. And I ain’t talkin’ about Donca Shane… I don’t really get it and I know I’m probably spelling it wrong.
Well, maybe there is one song “Oh yeah”… that you hear throughout the movie.

So here’s my attempt to make an ultimate 80’s song playlist:

  • Do you believe in love?- Huey Lewis & the news
  • Don’t you want me?, Human- The Human League
  • Straight up- Paula Abdul
  • Hold me now- Thompson Twins
  • Land of Confusion- Genesis
  • Billie Jean, Smooth Criminal- Michael Jackson
  • Jump- Van Halen
  • Like a Virgin, Like a Prayer- Madonna
  • Our Lips are sealed- The go-go’s
  • Venus- Bananarama
  • Shout (let it all out), everybody wants to rule the world- Tears for Fears
  • Dance Hall Days- Wang Chung
  • Time after Time, Girls just wanna have fun- Cyndi Lauper
  • Never gonna give you up- Rick Astley
  • Hazy shade of winter (also from Less than Zero, gotta see that movie), Manic Monday- The Bangles
  • We built this city- Jefferson Starship

More will come. Right now I’m just getting a little bored and want to be doing other things.
A lot of these are from Romy & Michelle’s High School Reunion, it has an amazing soundtrack! Not too bad for a movie made for TV in 1997 and features 80’s songs 😉

This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

