Randomness #3 [at the movies]

I figure I have about 10 minutes for another quick blog before I have to get some things done.

Summer’s going to be over before we know it. It’s already the middle of August if you can believe it.

For some reason, I was hoping this month was going to go by fast.
It’s also strange because I’m having a little difficulty remembering which season it is when I get up in the morning. Listening to “The Sacrifice of Victor” while coming back up the hill to my house from work and getting so into the song that I’m looking at the changing leaves on some trees under the pretense that its fall.

It’s still summer and I’m thinking “oh the leaves are going to be coming down soon and it’ll be winter.”

I’m really trying to make time speed by so it’ll be time to go to Australia soon. But of course.

There’s still a lot to be taken care before we go. My wardrobe will become more and more of a priority as the days drag by. I’m not about to let those Aussies catch me in a bunch of dumpy t-shirts that I lay around the house in, lol.

Oh, I know. I can’t watch for the month to end because then that would mean the beginning of football season. Or should I say the “official” beginning of football season. I don’t put much stow in preseason because you don’t have the complete roosters on the field. They’re mostly rookies and 2nd string folks, therefore the action’s not going to be as good.

And I think that I’m hoping that the season will start soon before I forget that I actually like football, lol.

That would be horrible. Me watching football and not feeling anything for it. No excitement or anything.

The rest of the summer is gonna drag now that all of the reality shows are done.
We have our new head chef of Hell’s Kitchen.
We have America’s favorite dancer 2010.
We have the next food network star.

I picked two of the three who won. Although you probably couldn’t have picked a better cast for the finale of “So you think you can dance.” Everyone was just as likeable as the next. As much as I wanted Kent of Wapakoneta to win, Lauren definitely deserved the title with the way she’s made a name for herself.

I don’t think you’d ever seen a more brilliant female dancer. And she’s only 18 or 19 and she was performing the Cha cha and Argentine Tango with such feminity, the room was on fire.
Or maybe that was just her partner, Pasha from season 3.

I’ve always kinda had a thing for the Russian dancers that make it on the show. They have such talent easily when it comes to how they move their hips. They lit the dance floor on fire.

What I didn’t quite get out of this season were ballroom numbers. There was only one Samba, one Quickstep, one Waltz (Viennese) and only a couple Tangos. Aside from half a dozen Cha-chas, there were mostly Jazz and Contemporary numbers.
Which I can’t complain about too much because Travis Wall choreographed some AMAZING routines. Then again, it seemed a little unfair for just those types of routines to get used all the time. Considering that the majority of people who make it into the top 10 (this time, 11) are usually contemporary dancers. Tough as they are, it doesn’t challenge them enough.

Okay, so I want ballroom dances so bad, I should be more into “Dancing with the Stars.” But there’s just something about the younger crowd that really brings something special to the show. I don’t know about you.

So after reality TV is over with, there really isn’t much left… Psych at 10pm on Wednesdays, occasionally “What would you do?” on ABC, for all I know, the NJ Housewives could be on their last couple episodes for the season.

Although it might give more time for us to watch the movies I’d been getting.

“She’s out of my league” has become one of my absolute favorites after Tropic Thunder.

There’s those kinds of movies that have a couple of players with distinct personality quirks that just excite you every time you choose to spend time with them.

Every guy in Tropic Thunder, even Les Grossman (played by Tom Cruise) has his own quirk that makes you come back to the movie for a second helping.

And hell, if I hadn’t been so into the movie, I wouldn’t have gotten as much a kick out of Brandon T. Jackson as Grover the satyr in the first adaptation of the Percy Jackson series.

What’s even more funny about the movie is that I’m looking at some of the actors and can’t help but connect them with their role in Tropic Thunder when I see them in other movies.
So you can imagine how difficult it is for me to get Ben Stiller playing a nice guy in “Night at the Mueseum 2″… and actually, I’ve seen more of Ben Stiller playing nice guys than being jerks that are stuck on themselves.

The only other role he played a jerk was in Dodgeball with Vince Vaughn and Justin Long.
And maybe a small role in Anchorman: Ron Burgandy.

It’s funny to see these movies where you have multiple star casts. Because after seeing a couple of them, you start to get them a little confused with one other.

Take for example: He’s just not that into you vs. Valentine’s Day

With the first, you have people like Drew Barrymore, Justin Long, Jennifer Aniston, Jennifer Connolly, Ben Affleck, Bradley Cooper and Scarlet Johannson.

Then with Valentine’s Day, it’s at least twice that, maybe 4x the star power.

Bradley Cooper is the only guy in both movies. We all know him as one of the breaking out stars of “The Hangover.” That certainly was the first movie I saw him, not necessarily his first one.

But you have similar characters in both movies.
Though right now, I don’t think there’s anyone quite like Justin Long in “He’s just not that into you.”

I first saw him in the movie “Dodgeball” as I mentioned earlier.
Then I saw him in “Accepted,” which turned out to be an okay movie, not bad, but not great.

Now, Justin Long played “love guru” Alex in “He’s just not that into you.”

I never saw the movie “The Love Guru” with Mike Myers and if I’m being honest, I refuse to see it, never will.

I’d give that role to Justin Long in a second because he is absolutely brilliant in that role. He is brilliant and intelligent and well, its no wonder Scarlet Johnnason’s character Gigi fell head over heels for him.
Now I’d better stop before I start drooling uncontrollably. In my eyes, that was Justin Long’s role of a lifetime 😎 nothing better.

Valentine’s Day is a gathering of everybody who’s anybody in cinema, little known to worldly renowned. I’d have to see it again, now that I have the DVD, but we have all these people.

Ashton Kutcher, Jessica Alba, George Lopez, Bradley Cooper, Julia Roberts, Emma Roberts (her niece, not her daughter), Taylor Lautner, Taylor Swift, Hector Elizando (sorry for the spelling), Kathy Bates, Jennifer Garner, Topher Grace, Anne Hathaway and maybe a couple others I’m forgetting.

Ebert complained that this movie had too much star power so it was hard to keep track of all the storylines. But believe it or not, as with the previous movie, all of these characters are connected in one way or another.

I’d say that Justin Long was the only thing missing in Valentine’s Day, but I don’t think he’d be able to fit in anywhere. There’re just so many people, lol.

I loved the addition of Topher Grace because I’ll always remember him as Eric Foreman on That 70’s Show, which was where Ashton Kutcher got his start in acting.

That man lives a charmed life because he seems to have everything. Sure, Demi more has a bit of an age advantage over him, but the two have a geniunely happy marriage. And even more, he and Bruce Willis, Demi’s ex, have an outstanding relationship as well. It’s not very often that ex-husbands get along with present husbands of the same woman.

And on that note, I should get going. Get out of the house for a bit.
My story’s coming along great today with all the time I have off to really  think things through.

I’d been an avid movie goer this year and soon I’ll be due for another one. But I’ll have to see what happens cuz I’m not sure what my next movie’s going to be. From now on, I’m going to be a little more choosy with the movies I go to so I can further ensure myself a good time 😉
It’s kinda pointless to go to the movies just to get out of the house unless you’re really into the idea of the movie

This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

