Sunday Morning, rain is fallin’ [here’s to Billy of Power Rangers fame]

You read right, I’m starting this entry with something as lame as the weather. It’s been on and off rain of the past 12, something hours… had quite a light show, a bit of thunder to go with it, but luckily hadn’t lost power at any point.

I’m starting this entry out on the computer downstairs, but already I’m considering moving things upstairs.
My sister and I are ridiculously easy to live with and I’ll take partial blame for her leading pretty much the same life, if not in more seclusion than mine. Older sisters are supposed to be role models but what the hell do I really have to show for it half the time?

Just a couple of things I did, she ended up doing. Originally not because she wanted to at all. I was taking my Tang Soo Do karate lessons so my folks signed her up… figured it might be good for her to learn some of the same virtues and values.
Honestly, though, I don’t think I really understand any of our 7 tenents or lived by them. Except for maybe perserverence. My admission’s essay for a couple of my colleges goes into all 7, but ends with that one in particular.

If I remember right, they were:
Integrity, Concentration, Perserverence, Self-Control, Humility, Indomitable Spirit… I’m forgetting #4 or #5, but I think it was two words… blank & blank

they were on the front wall of our dojo on top of the mirrors… it was a helluva place, very nice place.

Mostly good times… shoot [font change]… I hate this computer sometimes. I press enter a lot to create space to work on my blog in… but when I go back up, it always defaults to New Times Roman or whatever that serif font is… can’t stand it. Every Microsoft Office facet has it as default and I always work predomintately with Arial… just looks the nicest, I’ve been working with it for 11 years, roughly.

shoot… [font change]… kinda lost my train of thought amid a couple of things I did… reading a short story that was really quite interesting, something new and different…

I was about to make a point about something earlier, but in all honesty, I don’t really care to elaborate anymore.

Aside from the fact that my sister quit karate a couple months after I had to opt out… my scoliosis surgery required I give it up… at least for my recovery. I believe I would be allowed to go back in a year or two, if I really wanted to.
Honest to god, though, I’d been looking for an excuse to quit for a while. I had my black belt, so what else did I have to aspire to? Plus, I was 12 going on 13 and I didn’t want to leave my group for the teen division… where I really didn’t know anybody. I went to school with the same crowd for a good 4 years. I still remember the names of a few of my groupmates. In the very beginning, though, it was crazy how there were at least 4 guys named Ryan that I started class with. It was a popular name back (and one of them happened to be the younger brother of a girl I went to school with, one of the popular girls in fact). There were at least half a dozen people with the same rank as me so we had to decide every day where to line up. We’d be in a couple of rows of however many… the lowest rank is in the back and it ascends from left to right. One of the Ryans I remember being really crude and rude and seemed to think he was better than me. Every now and then, a student of the week/month would be given a special R/W/B belt to wear (for USA karate centers, lol)… and even with that honor, he put me down, saying that R&B ranked me above him but white brought me back down….

My mom mentioned at happy hour once that I was subjected to bullying in school. I can’t remember the details exactly, but it’s just as well that I don’t remember everything. I was so passive, such a pushover that I was an easy target. That’s all I can really remember. And of course for ages I felt like I didn’t belong anywhere. Nobody wanted to be my friend and I knew that the popular kids wanted nothing to do with me, for whatever reason… can’t quite imagine what that might be.

Mind you this goes back quite a ways… not just high school, where I didn’t really care about fitting in all that much except when it came to Drew… that guy I had a huge crush on my senior year and he was a junior… and had a girlfriend… but he had a circle of sheep that seemed to follow him everywhere and there’d be days where I’d give anything to be one of them. His way of greeting his friends was hugging them which shoulda been a dead giveaway of him being primed to come out of the closet the following year… I longed for the physical contact and just to feel like I mattered to somebody.

A couple of my friends nowadays would probably tell me that I do matter to them, especially a couple I know that might feel more for me than friendship. But because of my superficiality, I’m not returning the favor at this time. I won’t, however, rule out all possibility in the future. Supposing nobody I had eyes for ever reciporcated, and I was really lonely… not to say I’d have to be desperate to consider taking it to the next level… I’d like to say that it’ll be at the time, should it come, where I decide that I want to be with a person who does care about me and sees me as beautiful. The whole “they were there all along” cliché…

ugh, that’s it I’m moving this upstairs. Sick of changing the font a million times, now I can’t select my text to change it with the mouse…

It’ll be a matter of me deciding that there are more important things than looks (ah, this keyboard feels so much better than downstairs or my mom’s netbook)

my left hand is feeling particularly heavier and harder to maneuver… I guess it goes with the territory of feverishly playing Pokémon Puzzle League yesterday… I was using the “Guest” file and completed both the Spa Service section and the Very-Hard of the 1-UP stadium… strangely, it only took me one attempt to beat Mewtwo… but between Gary and a couple of other losses, I was primed for a victory. One of the worst was to… ugh this is lame… my conceivable “romantic rival”… what really got me, though, was the fact that she relates the same way… at the moment who I consider the love of my life… that several girls in animé relate to boys…

Tokine kinda bullied and looked down on Yoshimori, didn’t think he had what it took to be as good as Kekkaishi as she was… he had a crush on her for years and had been wanting to win her over with his baking talents… for other reasons, she ends up feeling the same way about him by the end of the series.
Both girls were kinda bullies, although my mind tells me that the earlier case was a lot worse… I saw a potential of romance to occur between two characters that quarreled like brother & sister through most of the series… on a soundtrack no less, so they were just rumors, nothing seriously legit.
But after dreaming about the guy on his deathbed, writing a couple of short stories about him… I couldn’t resist and knew instantly on the day I heard that song that I felt something…

delusional, I agree… but that’s beyond the point now, isn’t it…

anyway… been watchin Pokémon reruns on Boomerang the past couple days so I wanted to check back into that world as I knew and loved it before everything changed.
The unfortunate thing is that as much as I despise the new cast of voice actors, who had actually been in place for about 5 years now, maybe longer… as long as they keep making video games, they’re going to keep making the cartoon to follow along with it… there’s no stopping it or getting rid of it, at least not for another 5-10 years

I lost all interest in Power Rangers, which started out AWESOME (enough that I wanted to learn karate from watching the series religiously… I also wanted to do gymnastics, though I didn’t openly voice my opinion on that, because I wanted to do all the backflips and stuff they did… blew my mind)… when my favorite character Billy was written out of the show.
Yep, the infatuation with any character of that name started there… when I was maybe 10, not even 10, actually… the only thing he didn’t get me hooked on was picking the triceratops as my favorite dinosaur (would always be Apata/Brontasaurus because of The Land  Before Time 😉 )… but he’s the reason I liked  the name so much and why blue became my favorite color…
everyone’s favorite characters were Tommy and Kimberly. I thought Tommy kinda got the short end of the stick, though… his character was the sickly sympathetic one for the longest time. All started when Rita Repulsa recruited him to be an evil ranger to use against the other 5… then he kept losing his powers over and over like the Green Ranger was cursed… luckily for him, his character got a complete make-over and became the White Ranger
part of me also thought it sicked that he got that end of the bargain when I think I wanted Billy to get more of the screentime… don’t know what it was bout him, maybe his intelligence and whatnot, but I admired the hell outta that guy

With every cast change that occurred, I stuck with the series… until the Zeo generation came around… everyone had to start over with new powers after… whatever hell broke loose, I can’t remember… Billy served as an intellectual consult to Zordan & Alpha… then there was word of a new power that could go to a new ranger… Billy got passed over and instead of him being reinstated, Jason got another chance to be an assest to the series…

man, I was pissed off… I mean, REALLY pissed off… still haven’t forgiven the writers for that.
And since then, Tommy had the end of his run, I don’t think Jason’s lasted more than another season… the recasts got recast and it was no longer recognizable as the series I came to know and love in my childhood. The series is still going to its zillionth reincarnation… and I could easily see it sticking around long enough for a 20th anniversery… dammit…

Wikipedia says its up to its 16th incarnation and 19th season now

I might have to dig around for the picture so that I might post it on my Facebook page (me and famous people, lol)… but I did get to meet Jason David Frank at my karate school… the guy who runs the place also happens to be best friends with Chuck Norris (never met him or saw him anywhere near the school, lol, but there were pictures of the two of them together in the lobby and in his office)… I don’t think I was even starstruck as far as I remember because I don’t think I made the connection that he was Tommy from Power Rangers… he looked completely different… like human and his own age of 30 something rather than being a teenager in the series, lol

Nice guy, though… he came by for a special work-out day when I was only attending for a year or so.

 

Never expected to do a rant about all that for this entry, lol… now I’m stuck in research to find out what the hell happened… but last I checked a couple years back, I was unsatisfied with lack of details
OMG… what is with these villians working to destroy the Green Ranger… not like he’s the only character in this series… sorry, still a little bitter over a couple of things

 

Got another movie to add to my growing list… “Life as we know it”
I started watching it, and wondering if it was going to take off at some point… I was under the impression was going to be one of those really lame chick flicks, really bad movies that you don’t mind spending a random afternoon to watch when nothing else is on.
But after a while, when things were starting to work it and it seemed like Katherine Heigl and Josh Duhamel were going to fall in love, that’s when things were getting interesting. My mom’s a sucker for these types of movies, so I’d totally recommend it to her.

Later today, like in an hour or so, I’m gonna check out my first viewing of “Butch & Sun-donce”… at least that’s how it sound when Jude Law says it…
he and Robert kept referring to the Holmes/Watson relationship of being more of a Butch & Sun-donce, lol…. so I’m finally get a chance to see the movie and see for myself if the comparsion holds water.

My impression from reading the actual source material is that Holmes and Watson are a little more at equal footing than the Abbott & Costello thing that the Basil Rathbone movies worked around.
But I don’t really see Watson as a man of action 90% of the time… he will do errands for Sherlock that occasionally extends to research on his own and spending time with the clients to gather information and report back.
Only once or twice have I seen Watson as the mil-atree man that he’s boasted to be (by Guy Ritchie and Jude Law… and their British accents, lol)… and only once where I really saw how much Sherlock cared for Watson, where he gets shot in the leg and Sherlock is broken up about it, thinking he got his friend in mortal danger. Sherlock Holmes is a man who puts very little into human relationships, he maintains an asethetic distance in his professional, going about it as if emotions would get in the way of his abilities…

I see Watson as more of a journalist first and a man of action second…
Sherlock on the other hand has a strange sort of habits… he can be very erractic, especially when something occurs to him about a case that tells him its a matter of life & death… he can be very inhuman when he’s on a case or isn’t… boredom doesn’t serve him well and he can be intolerable to live with, I believe, if he goes a long time without work. His intellect is like a muscle that needs to be constantly stimulated or he will go into a fit much like a muscle does when it’s overworked and low on oxygen, so lactic acid starts to develop and collect on them

but I’m more intrigued to see Butch & Sundance… I hear it’s a classic…
and of course, there is the reference to it in Beverly Hills Cop.
When Billy (oh shoot, there’s another one, lol) [Judge Reinhold] and Sgt. Taggart [John Ashton] are hiding behind a wall at the Maitland residence away from Victor’s hitmen, Billy says something to this effect:
“you know what I keep thinking about… the end of Butch Cassidy. …are almost out of ammo and… outside this little hut”…
then Taggart fires back and says “Billy, I’m gonna make you pay for this”…

Eddie Murphy was a huge reason by that movie worked as well as it did… Harold Faltermeyer’s score was GENIUS, probably my favorite score for any movie of all time… then the duo of Billy & Taggart was the icing on the cake… they are so funny together.
All the more reason why I had to see the sequel… my dad recommended this as well as the sequel because he knew I loved the tag-team and they’d be back for it… rumor also is that Beverly Hills Cop was my late uncle’s favorite movie.

The history between him and my dad, who became best friends, I found out a couple months ago was a lot more complicated than I already figured…
firstly, they weren’t even friends right away. My dad had a thing for my mom’s sister (for that record, my aunt set my mom and dad up, so this was before my mom and dad met), who was going out with a guy who was her senior by quite a few years… not sure how old he was, but they were seeing each other when she was 16 and they were officially dating once she became 18

there was a little romantic rivalry, I suspect… then along the way, when things cooled down for a bit, the two became the best of friends… along with two other guys, they all formed their version of the 4 Musketeers.
They did everything together from SuperBowl parties to hunting trips to fishing trips to all kinds of sheninagians (my dad told a couple of these stories that weekend at the shore house… I’m guessing a couple of drinks mellowed him out and he was in a mood for spilling gossip, lol)

my dad’s still under the impresion that nobody is going to be good enough for my aunt, who’s been a widow since 12/16/99… no coincidence, that was a huge time in my life for me… it kinda felt like the end of an era and the beginning of a new one… ironically it was the time of the dawning of the new millennium as well 😉
everyone was kinda starting over at that point too

funny how this entry started and where its going… pretty much going all over the place…

an interesting idea for a future entry would be a comparsion, blow by blow of Ferris Bueller and Charlie Bartlett… both deemed to be “the guy” of their generations, the guy that everyone wanted to meet because they seem to be the ones with all the answers.

Because it was the 25th anniversery and I hadn’t seen it in a while, I watched Ferris Bueller yesterday… straight away, I found myself quoting the movie to the point it was ridiculous.

Now, I don’t know it nearly as well as The Breakfast Club, which I believe I know 95% of by heart. I most certainly will have to test myself at some point 😉

An interesting comparsion I started making was the principals in the two movies… but there is a HUGE difference between Ed Rooney and Nathan Gardner… to Rooney, Ferris Bueller is his “white whale”… he wants to catch him in the act to prove to the entire school that he’s not as great as they might think… trying to debunk the myth that he’s the greatest thing since sliced bread… and it’s evidenced that Ferris makes him look like a fool, lol (his secretary, Grace, tells him this and he says “thank you, Grace, I think you’re wrong”)… and I remembered to pay attention this time… she makes a comment that he sounded like “Dirty Harry just then”… and yes, after seeing a couple of those movies recently, I’m inclined to agree with that 😉

Nathan kinda takes a backseat approach to this… he’s not out to get Charlie, but he’s keeping a really, really close watch on him… seeing as he’s dating his daughter and everything.
Plus being a new principal and everything, he probably still wants to handle things as if they were still keeping the “pal” in principal… Superindentant Sedgewick tells him a couple times that he’s not supposed to be the student body’s friend because they’ll never respect him otherwise.

…yikes… reading a couple of rumors here about why David Yost finally left Power Rangers… the harshest one is that there were a lot of homophobic slurs being thrown at him by people working on the series… but it was later revealed that it was over salary disputes… so for his remaining appearances, there was stock footage and voiceovers used to make up for his lack of being on set…
the story as to why he loses his powers and can’t obtain the Gold Ranger powers is still very unclear to me… mainly because I didn’t really watch the show as closely around the point. Him being there was my only reason for sticking around, even after everyone else I’d come to know had left
there’s some storyline about all of the rangers being de-aged except for him and in an effort to restore everyone’s powers, all of the power coins including his own are destroyed… he stays around as an advisor…
supposedly due to being in the Command Central explosion during which “negative proton energy” was absorbed by him… he was unable to obtain the powers of the gold ranger…

dammit this sucks…
I gotta find a little more clarification (YouTube might be able to help me on this)… but there seems to be a great deal of slurs going around this guy…
naturally I didn’t pick anything up as a kid, but word is buzzing around that David Yost might be gay… I can’t confirm if that’s true or not… but my overall opinion on that matter is, who the hell cares and why should anyone care one way or another if it is true… doesn’t take away from the fact that him leaving the show was a devestating blow to me…

I guess that’s why Pokémon was such a good/easy pick-me-up… another franchise for me to be crazy about from the watching of the series to the merchandising…
then when the voice actors changed, college and the real world was calling.

I miss listening to his voice so much 😎 he was a good guy, still is…
should I be intimidated that he was born in ’69… meaning he was closer to my age when I was watching him on the series. I guess even when I was 10, I had a thing for older men

I’ll put it this way, Power Rangers was so huge for me that I got all of the action figures and watched the show religiously.

wow… he went through 8 series of call-backs 😎 that musta been a helluva casting process they did for that show

never thought I’d be doing Power Rangers research today…
I was thinking how it took me forever to animate yesterday, to really be happy about whatever it was I was doing.
The YouTube comments confirm that David Yost is gay… again I say, doesn’t matter… doesn’t take back the fact I was crazy about him and the character of Billy when I was a kid… good times
interestingly, all of the changes that Billy went through as a character, like all of that growth and slowly gaining confidence throughout the series… that was all David wanting his character to improve… I don’t think I ever heard of an actor having that much influence over a character they play before, especially not in this capacity

I felt good and alive when I started watching Ferris Bueller… and for the hell of it, I dunno, I felt the need to really multi-task… so I had my mom’s netbook in front of me, in midst of a 6-hour chat with my fellow Purple Knight… and we discussed EVERYTHING.
I’d hate to make this phony comparsion but I can’t really think of another comparsion to describe…

it’s the equivalent of that Hollywood/real life cliché where you have a boy and girl are on the phone for hours talking on and on… about everything… and it always ends with that “you hang up first, no, you hang up, no you hang up first…” that sort of thing… but we didn’t really go so much into that and we weren’t really in a rush to break things up after a while… just went on for hours and we just kept finding things to talk about until we finally were at total disclosure. Well maybe not total, but we were discussing real life issues, disability, overcoming adversity, flaws and pretty much everything under the sun. Had a lot of fun and it took a while for me to realize how relaxing of a conversation it was. It was freeing to not feel pressured to stick to certain subjects…

and certainly a relief for me to not babble unintelligibly about Robert… he came up maybe once or twice, the subject changed luckily before I could do one of my usual rants about him…
even more of a relief that I’m going through this entry not really talking much about him at all.

They say that Charlie Bartlett is like this generation’s Ferris Bueller… but the movies couldn’t be any more different… Ferris is already kinda established as the individual with all the answers while Charlie is kinda getting his footing, trying to figure out his place at a new school…
and I wouldn’t go as far to say that Nathan Gardner is an antagonist to Charlie as Ed Rooney is to Ferris… but he most definitely is uptight about him getting close to his daughter Susan, the only family/connection to the real world he really has…

Ed Rooney is like Captain Ahab… considering how he’s still kinda dealing with his alcoholic vices, Nathan doesn’t really have the time and energy to watch Charlie’s every single move, trying to bust him for whatever it is he’s doing wrong.

Another thing I noticed in Ferris Bueller for the first time… I was always under the impression that Jennifer Grey was the older sister instead of being the younger sister to Ferris… the way she acts has me under the impression that he’s the baby of the house and seems to get away with everything where she can’t get away with the things he gets away with…
but perhaps the strangest thing that occurs is how he could finally be busted and Jeanie could finally see her brother get in trouble for something… and she doesn’t turn him in, she covers for him. Maybe it’s because her encounter with Charlie Sheen softened her up a bit… but then the chase scene where she attempts to beat him to the house debunks that…
so I’m willing to bet that it’s a combination of her getting back at Ed Rooney for freaking her out by breaking into the house and maybe because it’s the one “I’m the only one who can bully my brother” type of thing…

but it’s evidenced Ferris is on the verge of graduation… so unless they’re fraternal twins, it’s pretty obvious (not enough for me to notice it all these years) that she’s the younger sibling.

 

so… ultimately it’s the creator’s fault for changing up the casts… every couple of seasons… that was how it was done in the Japanese series (I didn’t know until a couple years ago that the footage was all taken from Japan, there was some voice dubbing…)… it was more on the brand than the actors…
I’m sorry, but that’s a really _h_tty … way of doing business… a word is coming to mind that I really do want to type, but can’t bring myself too… I don’t roll that way at all. I see something I like and I get comfortable with it running the way that it is. I hate when things are changed like that.

The fact it’s so frequently now… ugh… I really hate it.
the word officially is from David’s words that he got a call that Billy would no longer be a Ranger because it’s about time he’s moved on… as all of the other characters kinda had at this point.
Now he’s going to discuss why HE left the show… and it’s definitely a weighted topic. It’s to the point where he’s apologizing in advance if he starts bawling his eyes out
and it seems like they will discuss him coming out and some things he dealt with on set as well… there are some comments alluding to that and someone was in shock that everyone is talking about one of their childhood heroes this way…

so I’m going to end this entry here… maybe add a little onto the end later about my reaction to the rest of this. I think I definitely want to have the full attention of the video for this, sounds very important

it was a combination of the two… as the show runs the way it does, Billy had to be written out of the show at some point. But David walked off set and quit because it was a hostile environment. I’m cuing up the Nostalgia Critic video about the Power Rangers movies… and hopefully I won’t fall to pieces while watching…

bottom line is:
David dealt with such harsh things on set that I can scarcely believe it was going on myself… in fact, I was FURIOUS at hearing one thing he said.
His castmates were being called in by producers and questioned about his sexuality. That’s absolutely revolting and disgusting. Why should it even matter to these people?
Finally he had had enough, he walked off set and the show… had a nervous breakdown that included contemplations of suicide… he checked into a hospital for 5 weeks to work out issues… before that, for 2 years… this was even more disheartening.

I called out Michelle Bachmann’s husband for being part of this program where people come to him in order to attempt “praying the gay away”… David took part in one of those programs… omg, I’m gonna cry just typing this… he was so unhappy with himself that he was willing to do anything include this ridiculous practice to come to grips with it.

The final part of the interview, which I will post here because I recommend it to just about anyone who’s willing to lend an ear to listen

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=TmlcuY8bOUk&feature=fvwrel

ends with him doing somewhat of a commerical for the Trevor Project, asking teens and people who are struggling to call hotlines if they need someone to talk to and help them… the “It gets better” project.

A couple years ago, I think I may have heard rumors that he was a gay and I may have dismissed them. I didn’t want to believe it… but then again, I don’t remember much of where my mind was on a lot of issues a couple years ago… I’ve had a few preconceived notions that I may be completely making up… I mean, if you were crazy about a guy for a long time and found out you  had no chance with him, that was kinda of my state of mind back then.

Now I’m in full blown support about this. In fact, I’d see commercials during “Glee” for the “It gets better” project and I’d applaud (not physically but definitely in my mind) everytime… it’s a great cause and it’s doing so much for so many people…

We live in such a good generation where we can openly discuss these issues and you don’t need to feel ashamed about any of it.
I know Lady Gaga is a big supporter of it. Due to his part in “Glee,” Chris Colfer is a big believer in it. And now I can add David Yost to the mix. I can officially, without a doubt, add him to my list of childhood heroes.

now if you’ll excuse me, I think I feel a nose bleed or a major crying jab coming…

This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

