Not feeling up 2 the task, but what the hell…

Yep, this entry, or so I’m betting on it, is gonna be one of those rants of boredom that turns into something as soon as I become inspired. Compulsively, I feel like I have to write even when there’s nothing to write about.

There is a little that I can start with, though.

1)
spent last night grooving to the first night of “Dancing with the Stars” and despite my really intense opposition to the name based on the cast, I’d more or less swept that under the rug. Out of interest of the time we’ll be spending together, I’ll be looking into ability and talent more than just who they are. I will, however, take exception to my favorites. David Arquette looked incredibly dashing in the text and reminded me very strongly of someone else… perhaps if I dyed his hair black, he’d make an outstanding real-live model of my imagining of my character angel… originally I had intended for Jonaseriah to be around that age, in his early-mid 40’s.
And J.R. Martinez who played Brot on “All my Children” for the past couple years… he’s amazing and to his credit, he is a battle-harden Iraq Veteran. The interview portions felt like being around the same guy he protrays on the show…
and by grooving, I was on my feet literally shaking my hips to each song, my attempt to shed even a tenth of a pound, enjoy myself and of course I had to be on my feet because I was

2) going back and forth between two TV’s to not only watch the premiere of that show, but the season finale of “Hell’s Kitchen”
each of the 4 finalists first had to recreate dish of Gorden Ramsey’s. Paul was the only one who chose Cod and it worked out in his favor. He got to spend the same at the Dodgers Stadium with his brother and other VIPS (the prize was spending the day with family)
then each had a chance at the pass. Paul did all right, but Tommy was getting under his skin with his lack of coordination and whatever else in the kitchen… naturally Elise had to be smug in the confession saying that yelling orders at people isn’t being a good leader…
yet she turned around and did the same thing when she was at the pass… OMG… I was worried cuz she probably handled it the best of anyone…
Tommy was calling the shots and already, I sensed it was a sinking ship. I finally threw my arms up and said “you know Tommy, I think you’re cute, but you don’t stand a chance at winning”… hilarity ensued earlier (forgot to mention) when the finalists got to spend a short 5 minutes with their families before their “recreate the dish” challenge… he was making out with his 19-year old girlfriend the whole time and Gordon’s like “psst, Tommy, cut it out, your mum’s right there”… supposedly that was a running joke in the series (as a montage would show later) about the age gap between Tommy and his g/f (he’s actually 31, and I thought he looked closer to my age)
Will did well, then after being hyper-critical with Elise’s garnishes, everyone got quiet and wasn’t responding back to him… something musta happened while I was in the other room cuz he managed to get everything under control…

so at long last, Elise was eliminiated from the competition along with Tommy…
and I can finally stop all of those hateful comments, which I still stand by by the way, though I don’t think I need to fly 300 or 3,000 miles just to give her a good ass-kickin’…

Will won the next challenge, getting 3/5 votes for his dishes from the BLT staff/judges, getting first pick at his assisting chefs.
To screw with Paul, he made sure that Carrie and Elise went to his team…. their squabbles are now legendary and I was covering my face in shame and hysterics…
the greatest irony was that ended up backfiring… the last picks were Krupa and Carrie and to get Elise and Carrie together, Will picked Krupa… who in turn became his kitchen’s Achilles’ heel…
weeks ago when we were all making our predictions or at least starting to… I think Paul was at least one of the people I picked to win. Because there was one night he led the kitchen and did it quite well… then I threw out names like Jennifer, Jamie and Natalie… none of which went as far as I had expected

so yeah, I wouldn’t have minded either way who won, but I think I was happier that Paul won…
strange thing was that Elise was his MVP and a huge part of the reason why he ended up winning
at least that will silence my dad and his brother who were jesting and joking that she was going to win

being a bitch doesn’t pay off on reality TV unless of course you’re on one of those zillions of MTV shows or any of the “Real Housewives” of Bravo… so I figured she wouldn’t end up getting it in the end.
And arrogance also proves to be the downfall in “Chopped” 9 times out of 10, especially when the arrogant contestant makes it to the final round

3) to my greatest relief, Kate Beckett did NOT die in the season premiere of “Castle”… but the atmosphere in the precinict had a really eerie feeling similiar to “Beverly Hills Cop II”…
and even more strange, I have said that they advertised Rick Castle’s books for sale bookstores but they never do… found “Heat Rising” at Target earlier today (I’ll pick up my copy another time, lol)

4) I was away without cable TV all weekend so I didn’t catch any football.. did catch some scores, though… unfortunately, the Eagles will not be entitled to Michael Vick as quarterback for a while… :sigh: I figured they could take the Falcons, but between the concussion and heck, Matt Ryan seems to be a rising star…
last I checked last night, the Giants were besting the Rams. probably more to the credit of Brandon Jacobs (who probably broke a record of Tiki Barber’s in doing so) than Eli Manning…
other winners I can recall from the top of my head are the Jets (doing quite well as I understand it), the Packers (I have to ask the question: is 2010-11 Heisman winner Cam Newton really as good as they say he is cuz he isn’t winning any games for the Panthers yet), and the Saints

it’s too early to really predict or say anything… so I guess I won’t. I have my concerns, yes, but if the Giants taught me anything in the 2007-8 season, it’s… well, check out that title of that famous Journey song, speaking of which…

5) yeah… Glee’s coming back tonight and “New Girl” premieres… so excited!

6) just gotta say, the Emmy’s suck because they don’t recognize anyone from my favorite shows. American Idol never wins best reality show, Modern Family keeps sweeping categories (WTF? why does it have to be something I don’t watch)… but nothing is more unforgiveable than Steve Carell not winning… they do it in the Oscars all the time, even posthumously… for their last great role or even to make up for past snubs, actors win Oscars even when they weren’t the best of the nominees… Cat Deeley not winning best spokesperson for a reality show, I can probably live down, but come on, give the girl some props, she’s amazing at making everyone look good even when they’re not the greatest…
Jeff Probst? WTF… as if its bad enough the show’s still around after all this time, you’d think they’d done all of the deserted islands in the entire world by now…

I could spend a good 20 minutes fuming about the Emmy’s so I’m just gonna cut it short.
at least when it comes to movie award shows, the voters seem to know what they’re doing half the time… the Academy and the Hollywood Foreign Press are full of perfectly intelligent people

strange to say (a lot of strangeness today, I guess) that seeing Moulin Rouge over the weekend (first time in YEARS, forgot how cheesy a lot of the stuff was) had me wanting to rewatch “Fur”… seeing as Nicole Kidman stars in both and that was the last movie role I saw her in recently (meaning I saw her in, not like I saw about a lot of other people “I haven’t seen them do a movie since….”)…
and if I must say so…
oh bloody hell, Ty Burrell just won an Emmy for Modern Family and he plays Diane’s husband in the film…

has me thinking maybe I should do a little research on her beforehand… the last time I saw the movie, it was another YouTube whim… like with “Charlie Bartlett” where I saw it listed in parts being uploaded onto YouTube… Robert mentioned it in passing on the Jonathan Ross show “did anyone see Fur”… after only a couple hands shot up “oh my god, I’m so glad I did ‘Iron-Man'”… a YouTube comment predicted my next move “better a lot of people saw Fur after seeing this interview”…
after watching the movie, I looked for more stuff alone, only to find a short two-part “documentary” behind the making of it

my mind was pretty addled after seeing this, I’ll have to admit, but I don’t mind doing so…
I tried my best in my entry “The film simply known as ‘Fur'” to convey what I found so [fill in the blank] about it.
I’d experienced the numbing sensation left behind by a couple of Robert’s performances. “Less than Zero” is rightfully so and goes without saying… “Zodiac” was mostly because of the length, not so much Paul Avery himself, although I was taken aback about the fact he died, leaving Robert nothing to go by but his articles and heresay from his colleagues… I knew he had, though, but seeing the state he was in later in the film had me worried (a pulmonary embolism isn’t less/more pleasant than a drug overdose, but knowing he had suffered from emphyesma his whole life put my mind a little at ease)…
this was a slightly different take on that feeling… I didn’t want to curl up in a ball and wait for the pain to go away, but things about it had me wanting to linger as much as I wanted to leave it behind. If that makes sense

perhaps the strangest (again that word, lol) part was that there was such a build-up of sexual tension between Diane and Lionel that even while I couldn’t really see his face, I knew Robert’s acting was at the top of his game, perhaps even to a greater degree when he’s in full view.
seems a rather harmless venture as I’m not as attached to him as I was around that time… but I’m quite curious… even after I may have said it’s not a movie I’m likely to sit through again

reading the Wikipedia page now…
whoa… she committed suicide… phew, that’s a lot to take in. I had no idea (well, obviously, how stupid of me to even say that now)
wouldn’t have known that from the film either, she seems pretty well to-do, put-together… then of course, there’s the obtruse fact that the “romance” that occurs in the film is completely ficitional. Lionel was a compiliation of two of her best noted subjects, but most of it is a fictional account of what she did.
it’s noted unfortunately that despite the fact she had branched out in her subjects, she’s best known as the photographer of freaks… part of the picture involves Lionel introducing her to the world of circus freaks and really getting to know them well in the process (getting to know her subjects on a personal level is noted here as something she was well known for)

ah, how silly of me… the film’s about her yet my focus is on her costar that happens to be suffering from hypertrichosis, which inevitably cuts his life short…
I guess part of the reason I was left on the edge of my seat at the end is how Lionel kinda swims into the sunset of the ocean… saving himself the agony of his lungs deteriorating to point of uselessness by going into the ocean to drown, dying on his own terms.
A lot of respect to him, but yeah… I hate when Robert’s character die in the movies… that’s why after “Less than Zero” when I was researching his work that I checked spoilers to see whether or not he died in any other films…

as far as I know right now, they also include:
Charlie (AIDS)- “One night stand”
“U.S. Marshalls” (gun shot)
and either Restoration or Richard III, one of those period pieces where he has a small role

now onto funny things…
one of the funny things listening to the NJ radio talk show was people calling in about limbs they’d lost…
Harry Lockhart jumped to mind almost immediately cuz of his finger… I believe the ring finger on his left hand… trying to get rid of him, Harmony slams the door on his face, lobbing his finger off… gets it sewn back on, thugs rip it off not even 2 hours later… after shooting one of the thugs in a house later on (not the one who ripped it off), he puts it on ice and that DAMN DOG THAT COMES OUT OF NOWHERE eats it…
what a horrible night that was for him…

then I thought about something else, another role where Robert lost a piece of himself somewhere… now I can’t remember, dammit… (other than his mind  )…
I’ll remember later

yep, he just kept creeping back into my head at random times over the past few days.
Last night, I actually didn’t watch anything and merely settled for (at least) listening to “Every breath you take” and it feels like something I could definitely listen to on repeat for a long time… it was very restful, a bit unexpected when I can definitely peg down where he’s the one singing…
I could only really extract one thing I remembered from a dream last night… and it was looking into those eyes across a table… even more strange, I was thinking after the fact that I was in the universe conveyed by the 14-minute Volvo commerical where there are 4 versions of Robert running around, looking for confidence… the versions being him at different points of the journey… a real mind-trip…
because there was a guy next to me that looked just like him and I think there was some making out involved… at this point I kinda lost my train of thought and forgot why this other guy was around. I think I said something like “I thought he was you”…

not sure if he looked displeased, pleasant or whatever… the true Larry Paul across the table from me…
he’s still very much with me whether I know it or not. Spending as much time in the Downey universe as I had over the past… whatever, I think I’ll stop counting months now… I’m naturally going to draw allusions/references regarding him from all kinds of places

not having much else to really say at this point, I think I’ll cut things short here

This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

