my Purple Knights podcast about Come/TGE

http://www.divshare.com/download/15911484-de0

talk about a shameless act of self-promotion…

I’ll see how long it takes me, cuz it seems that whatever I’m on… for the sake of argument, I’ll refer to my favorite boyband as a “sugar rush”… and it seems to come with, what appear to be, symptoms that take a while to set in… very unpredictable, you see

anyway, I haven’t heard the show back yet, but I’ll trust the judgement of my partner in crime, aka: the founder, creative head and technicial/editing consultant of the purple knights… who seems to be a wizard at editing as it is 😎

perhaps sometime next week when I’m listening to some of the stuff he sent me… a couple of albums, which could lead to more Purple blog entries and a few comparsions for sure…

For You vs. Prince, for starters…
Rave vs. Rave… the original vs. the remix album…

the list could go on.

I think what threw me the most about the podcast was the fact we were able to cover all of the songs evenly without making it appear as though we were on one side vs. the other.

Even in the past 4 years, I get the feeling that I’d heard both albums so many times that I tend to romanticize and overthink them more than I used to… like I’ll only be able to think of them in one particular way after listening to them, or rather while I’m listening to them.

Man do I miss those good old days where I could chill with a Prince album, let the music move through me and I’ll brainstorm during each little moment in each song that peaks my interest…. I do have reason to believe, though, that there’s still a chance I could go back to how things were. Without the extra-fan-like worship I was doing…

just thought of something that relates to my hope of one day walking the streets of Minneapolis… one time I went to New York around Christmas time, I had a similiar idea in mind years back… but this entry is about Prince so I won’t let that “sugar rush” take me away from what’s important

We went into Prince’s “slave” years a little bit… those not too familiar… it was when Prince was on the outs with his record label Warner Bros, wanted the rights to his master tapes as well as putting out two albums, Come & Gold for his two competing personas (Prince of the past and O(+> of the present/future)… they didn’t want to give into his demands.
So he scribbled the word “slave” on his cheek as his way of saying that company has him in a binding contract that he compared to slavery…

This is around the point in the argument where the jaded fans take the floor, reminding us all that Prince had only just signed an extension to his contract that said he had to put out however many albums before they could let him go. I may be completely off, but I think it was a $14 mill. extension

okay, we really didn’t go into the “slave” years at all… we were trying to focus on the positives for the podcast and for Prince’s sake… we like to keep the atmosphere positive because a lot of die-hards sure ain’t.

Whether or not Prince’s creative peak could be attributed to the fact he was in a state of malcontent, discontent… quote/unquote “he writes his best music when he’s angry”
I can’t necessarily say that’s the whole reason why he hit his stride.

Prince’s career had experienced peaking and troughing before… at the beginning, he was getting better with each album… with Purple Rain being the crowning achievement…
some people saw the next album as steps backwards while others say it was a step to the side for re-evaluation, determining who the true “believers” were that would follow him through anything, not just one sound… as he got closer with Wendy & Lisa, tighter with their style of music in the 60’s psychedelic area… therefore we have a bridging gap… where the rockin’ edge Purple Rain had started to meander in and out of 60’s-esque material…
Parade built up on that with a little bit of something extra… I’m so crazy about the album that I really don’t like to compare it with anything else… it’s just different. A good kind of different in my opinion.

what would have been a monster 3-disc set called Crystal Ball became Sign o’ the times… which has elements of all the 80’s albums he’d done so far

although he went through some woods to get there, the unbeaten path if you will… I’d say that “Sign o’ the times” was another huge peak in his career, especially creatively

another trip through a different kind of woods takes place next… going back to his roots with The Black Album, spiritual rediscovery with Lovesexy… a few soundtracks that had a mix of elements old (Batman) and new (Graffiti Bridge)…

D&P was his first album that sounded new, but he was starting to incorporate many different elements at once… most of which he didn’t use before because… heck, he didn’t care about following trends or those trends didn’t exist beforehand…

O(+> builds up from there… and I could feel in some tracks that his creativity was peaking… much in thanks to newfound love and compatability that he found his new dancer/stage partner, Mayte
but the overall production of it has flaws, as I’d pointed out several entries ago

if I were to listen to the previous albums all in a row, especially from 1989-1992, I did see a bit of a progression there… and by O(+>, there were indications he was starting to find a new sound he could maneuver around in

going down that road even further… I don’t necessarily believe that Prince needed to be extremely emotional… angry, to generate the greatness in the albums that followed… he was already on his way there anyhow

specific tracks like Dark, Dolphin and I hate you… I could see being influenced by his ire at his record company as well as… perhaps whatever relationships he was in… but 9 times out of 10, people will blame Prince for his discontent with his love life… rumors float around all the time about him dating a couple girls at the same time… I’m not sure who the other party was but Jill Jones appeared to be a casualty of such a situation… which certainly would explain why when she’s interviewed she doesn’t want to be asked about him, among other reasons

I think his time with Carmen Electra was in the early 90’s… Mayte came in there somewhere and Nona Gaye as well… the most ponient of these relationships going array was Mayte & Nona… because the rumor was that Prince was going to propose marriage, Nona thought it was her and Mayte was the one he ended up marrying

I know of some of the gossip, but try not to read too much into it.
someone wrote a thread about how people hate Prince or love him…. things came up about denying he has flaws or that he’s human… considering him a saint is as bad as considering him the opposite…

the way I handle it… okay, I know the man is flawed, especially when it comes to his ego and the goings-on in the bedroom… that whole business about juggling girlfriends, whether or not that’s true isn’t the point here…
the one is I know he isn’t perfect, but I’m not going to spend my time being hung up on what I don’t like… acknowledge the flaws, but move on already. its time better spent

Comparing the two albums is good fun for any die-hard fans… and it would seem each side of the argument has their own merits

I find it quite unusual the approach I take to letting the Come album into my mind where it can worm its way around, work on me a bit in those 48+ minutes
I feel almost as if I tolerate the whole package more than most people, who aren’t particularly fans of certain songs… Papa and Solo are among those that don’t get a lot of love. One can be on the fence about and the other, I’m personally a huge fan…
the packaging makes it very depressing looking on the outside and inside, but even when I feel I’m in a dark place and I’m listening to it, it manages to cheer me up. It’s really hard to explain

as a whole, I believe Come is not only more raw and organic, but it is… shoot, lost the word… its artistic… in some aspects, it has me thinking about “Black Swan” and how that’s an artsy film and even though there are parts in it that are kinda off… I can appreciate the whole for what it is… although I have to say that Come makes more sense than the parts of Black Swan that are just, a little too out there

given all that, Come and The Rainbow Children should be similiar in that aspect…. they’re more artsy albums, I guess… but Come has generated a better following. The people that side with The Rainbow Children, for the most part, are the ones really unhappy with Prince’s other 2K albums

wow that’d be a helluva pair… the imagery of the Black Swan performance with some songs from the Come album… Pheromone specificially because the ballet director was trying to get Nina in tune with her sexuality so she could bring that edge of seducation to the black swan character…
we’ll certainly have to explore on that more later on

some people who are more familiar with the process of getting to the final pressing of the album are unhappy with Prince’s final draft of the title track… either that its too long, its too much in the inneundo, TMI with the extra sound effects… I think that all works for me just fine…

Space is perfection… no way around that…
Pheromone… same thing…
Loose… omg… wow… that’s a heck of a dance groove… love everything about it
Papa… okay, here’s where the gravy train stalls out a tiny bit… I’m not blown away to the point where I could play this all time, sing to it or whatever… in the overall package, it serves its purpose… it’s not my “cup of tea” so to speak…

Race is good… a cool groove to say the least… interesting subject matter as well as how he addresses it

Dark… where do I even begin… everything from the imagery, the lyrics, the vocals (omg, the vocals)… from a technicial standpoint, its brilliant

Solo is a song that polarizes a lot… either love it or hate it… I accepted it, at first, as an artistic venture into experimental territory… thought it was a brave “certain something different” for him to go into… but I guess me hitting that “so low” situation once or twice recently where I was tempted to listen to this song… yeah, it made it all the more relatable.
singing to it, I was close to losing my composure by the end, was so moved by it

then Letitgo is a great ending to a great album…

there’s something about the artistic and the rawness of this album… my god, I feel like I could go on and on about it right here… these two albums are fierce rivals for sure because each time I listen to one of them, I’m always in favor of it over the other… changed my mind several times

The Gold Experience is a little bit of everything…
we have mostly medium, one short and quite a few long songs here with lots of breathing room and lots of content to go with that “breathing room”

which is a good thing. I hate when songs go on for ages without really saying or doing anything… you don’t find that to be the case with any of these… there’s always singing or another verse or even a guitar solo for good measure, can’t go wrong with Prince slipping in a guitar solo in there

I guess this is the album to listen to when you want to have fun, to have a good time, get up and dance… because there are a lot of upbeat songs generating all kinds of excitement

and for some reason, my left index finger is cramping up a bit…

anyways… :yawn: …
what can I cover about this album before I run out of time and energy…

I can feel my interest waning already, shoot… guess I’ll skip ahead…

on my Twitter account, there was a mention of my phrase “soul tattoo” and I’d kinda come to realize that the definition of that could be different for every person… not just what song qualifies as that one song for them…

I can only really explain it by going into what “Gold” did to me… I heard the first chords during the first time I heard the song (actually coupled with a performance as part of his L4OA mini-movie) and it was like a part of me was touched for the first time… there was something about it that I reacted to almost immediately

I almost want to say in that insistence, it was like an unspoken truth from deep within that I didn’t know about until I heard that song

basically “soul tattoo” is defined as a song that you feel a personal connection to, it may have been there for you in a time of need… through it or under its influence, you can find answers to what you’re struggling with… or even revealing that you know something isn’t right or something is right…
I guess the easiest way to explain it is… that connection, it’s on a spiritual level, it feels good to hear, from it you can get unspoken wisdom… which comes in the form of a feeling more than actual words

I actually lifted that phrase from a Plus One song of the same name… they’re a Christian boyband and the song was… well here’s the chorus (yet again, I’d post this a bunch of times over the years)

you’re the answer to the questions
the reason to the rhyme
you’re the rhythm to my heart when it beats out of time
I’m so thankful, Lord, that you are mine
it’s true, that you are my soul tattoo

in some instances, I guess if you consider yourself a spiritual or religious person, it could be the one song that speaks to you in God’s voice or Jesus’s or whoever you believe in…

the key phrase are “answer to questions… reason to the rhyme… rhythm to my heart when it beats out of time”…
as if listening to that specific song can help put the planets into alignment so chaos can cease and order can resume

I think I wrote down a definition for myself somewhere… but I ought to hammer that out, find it or whatever and forward onto anyone who will listen

“Gold” is the only song on either of those two records that I don’t approach the same way everytime… different thoughts occur to me, usually whatever is relevant…

speaking so highly of Come earlier in this entry, I’m putting myself under the impression of other people… that Prince worked TGE to death where he overdubbed and overproduced when his idle hands had nothing to do while he waited for the album to be released

Gold and Shh are among the songs that have me wanting to forget I said any of that… because those are definitely shining stars…

Shh is what Space was to Come… the sensual, seduction track that goes very slowly, takes you along for a ride with it with velvety vocals… except Shh has a few guitar solos for good measure, really GOOD guitar solos, might I said…

the electric guitar is ultimately what separates the two albums… Endorphinmachine, Shh, Dolphin, I hate you and Gold have that going for it… if anything was peaking, Prince’s guitar playing most certainly was… and… wow, so far the only evidence really coming to mind right now to back me up is ‘The Morning papers” from the O(+> album

aside from Purple Rain, obviously…

this is probably the first time where Prince used his guitar to replace his vocals… I have said in the distant past that Prince has this incredible ability to channel emotions through his guitar in a way his voice could never match… vocals can only get you so far. There are different tones that can be intercepted from a single guitar solo…
in Shh, there’s a little bit of seduction, bit of sadness, a bit of triumph
Dolphin has some angry and sadness, mostly in a tone that’s asking “why oh why”
then “I hate you”… my God… it’s comparable to the screaming in The Beautiful Ones and Darling Nikki… because it says so much… you get everything from a single medium. And with the final “I hate you” guitar solo, you go through several emotions at once, sometimes at the same time…

man, sounds like a Robert Downey performance… how he’s able to “play two emotions, usually opposites at the same time and if he’s really swinging, he can hit three”

Gemini… Aries… I’ll have to look into that a bit, I guess

I don’t feel up to watching him on YouTube but I’m still making references in my blog entries… go figure :rolls eyes:

its complicated because I want to say that Come is the preferable album to me at the moment because I can listen through all the tracks easily… doesn’t feel like a stretch to get from one place to the next…

Gold has issues with that because of the segues, yet I’ve decided at this point that I can’t go without hearing them… I see they have a purpose now (what is that… I guess somewhere in that podcast, I said something about that)… I guess the fact that I don’t really feel up to listening to We March and I’m now boycotting Now forevermore kinda gets in the way of things

I think the thing I liked most about Gold this past time around was my ability to chill with the tracks for great lengths of time. I wasn’t really in a rush to get anywhere… could lay back, be within that emotion, that vibe, that story for however long it goes on for… that’s something I certainly haven’t gotten to do with Prince in ages

there are bits of beauty in certain tracks that go beyond words… the most beautiful girl in the world… yeah, I can point out all of the overdubs that I love and most people could do without in favor of the original “single” version… Shh is extremly beautiful and like Gold, has many depths of beauty

12:13… this is mostly about my brain starting to burn out, but I think I’ll stop this entry here before it gets too out of hard with my therapy…

listen to the podcast, hope you enjoy and I hope I get up the courage (at some point) to listen to it myself… but I got a bit of business still to take care of while I’m still in this territory of my subconscious

This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

