Interesting dreams and personal spins on reality

Ugh… I need a writer for my blog titles… they sound so… college paper-y… totally ridiculous

I’m not sure what I dreamt about last night except for what happened in the last 5 minutes before I woke up at my alarm
(conveniently set to go off at 9 so I wouldn’t miss Reelz Twilight coverage at 9:30)

I think a couple of my interests and alternate realities were mixing together… not together, but in the same part of the dream, there was Ash and Misty… though I can’t for the life of me remember anything of a storyline. I think it was taken out of the context of “Tower of Terror” when the Ghostly trio of Ghastly, Haunter and Gengar made Ash and Pikachu ghosts to show them what they’re all about… and he played around with Misty because she couldn’t see him…

not quite sure what was going on there, but part of me believes there were things hinted, maybe on one end, maybe both, that made the hair on my neck stand up :rolls eyes: business as usual

I think in another scene, I was spending time with my mom… we were out to dinner in an outdoor place that was kinda nice, but super fancy. Felt like something out of a movie (that was the general feel, again no real details)

then there was two distinct scenes before I woke up:

a group of people pulling a heist outside… behind a fenced enclosure, trying to set a bomb or steal something before a timer goes off… Jude Law is at the gate, I think picking a lock… or actually maybe he’s dismantling a bomb because when he lets another person in, he is drenched in sweat cuz he was so nervous of screwing it up (but Jude Law? strange, my consciousness was telling me that it wouldn’t be a proper version of the film without him, as if this is something he does a lot in the movies)

then there’s the strangest of cut-aways…

it’s at a premiere or a red carpet or something… a couple people are getting their pictures taken, in costume, with a backdrop that said something… I think it was at least a promotion…

but they were superhero related, I figured really quickly

oh wait… before that… there was a set of pictures being shown with Robert narrating… can’t remember any of them but the last one… he makes a comment “imagine seeing these two people together” as if it was the strangest thing in the world…
the cuts away to Susan, I’m guessing she’s dressed as Jessica Alba’s character in the Fantastic Four (wearing tight blue leather, but there was a skirted part of her costume)… and Robert was dressed as the Green Lantern with a green shield attached or projected from his suit or something…

the two were goofing around. then I get to the point where I think its so ridiculous and I’m laughing my butt off… just as soon as I can say “wait a minute, Robert plays Iron-Man, what’s going on”… I wake up…

now… I can’t help but notice, that this has maybe been… let me think… 5 times I’d dreamt about Robert… maybe the first time since his “how to act TV special” where he was himself… he’d been Sherlock Holmes twice…
and this is, I’m guessing, the 3rd time I have dreamt about him and I felt like I was laughing so hard that I make myself up…

Being around him definitely feels good… he makes me feel relaxed, he makes me happy… and I don’t believe I’d given him that acknowledgement since… well, I had my blue notebook nearby while I was downstairs so I could work on my Twilight outline away from my computer (or else I’d be up here all day)… but I saw the picture of Larry Paul that I put in there specifically so I wouldn’t forget what he looked like on the trips to the shorehouse… I proceeded to not only scribble a little note next to the picture, but I read my notes on his first Ally McBeal appearance

I was tempted at FYE to get the Season 4 boxset, but I decided against it. Wanted to conserve my money and spend it on a qualitative quantity

not quite sure why… but yesterday was exhausting for me… I had gotten up at a reasonable time… didn’t stay up super late…

I can only say it was fatigue as a result of PMS… whatever :rolls eyes:

and considering that I was considering laying down in my room, playing the Suckerpunch soundtrack, just to get some me time in… it wasn’t the best choice to watch Purple Rain that night… I don’t think I’d ever had an occasion where I was fighting that hard to stay away to see the whole movie

I took a short break halfway through… which I determined to be just after Apollonia runs out on The Kid…
I got to thinking beforehand how much I really enjoyed chilling with this movie, this late… and how I could do this so many more times…

I think after  “When Doves Cry”, I was starting to go a bit… the choreography for Computer Blue and Darling Nikki… and Sex Shooter were definitely helping…

then after that… yeah, I had to put up a little bit of a fight… it’s not the movie, it’s me :rolls eyes: I quite enjoy the movie

the Reelz question of the day a couple days ago was to list my top 10 movies of all time…
I can’t put them in order, but I delegated democratically my favorite 10 movies at the moment…

Tropic Thunder, Spirited Away, The Lion King, Harry Potter & the Sorceror’s Stone, Twilight, Kiss Kiss Bang Bang, Purple Rain, The Breakfast Club, Easy A, and Freedom Writers

eh… and considering how many times I’d seen it, I really should have put Sherlock Holmes in there somewhere… I was scrabbling at the end to pick another great movie and Kiss Kiss Bang Bang came up… :shrug:

I’m sure there are dozens more where those came from.

 

so yeah… the movie was an interesting experience yet again…
I thought about it in passing last night but didn’t get a chance to say the fact I kinda think of Morris Day when I watch “Canti” perform on the X-Factor

speaking on that, it is so hard to pick who’s gonna go home each week… everyone’s so good…
it just comes down to the song choices and for a lot of people, I don’t like what they’re singing, but I like them… Josh, I didn’t like his song, but I liked him… Rachel, I didn’t like her song, but I liked her…

other than kid rapper over there, I can’t really pick anyone I want to get rid of… needless to say, its gonna be hard to weed out people cuz everyone is exceptional… I never had that luxury on American Idol… there was always one person I hoped didn’t win… a thorn in my side… and depending on how far he gets, kid rapper could be that person, but its too early right now to be sure

two things that are definitely coming up for discussion:
it sucks to be Paula Abdul who had to say good-bye two weeks in a row…
and according to the comments on Yahoo, a lot of people really don’t like the host, Steve Jones, they think he’s mean-spirited… he’s another obnoxious brit…

Simon has gotten my respect over the years. Although I have been at odds with what he believed to be talent this year, I’ve eaten my words once or twice… and he has done the same so we’re about even.

Drew continues to surprise me every week… there is something about her voice that is so unique… it’s just a matter of finding her niche and she does have potential…

as of right now… Lakoda Rayne will be getting my votes until they don’t need them anymore… or Melanie needs them more than they do (last week, she did “Man in the Mirror” and in light of Dr. Murray being SLAPPED with a Guilty verdict, I knew she didn’t need my help to stay in)
kinda sucks that it took until the later rounds for me to get that the Stereo Hoggz had something going on… that they were special and equally talented

I don’t really beg “Canti” as a potential winner… he’s as good as the R&B people of today… like Jason DeRulo, Ne-Yo, maybe a little bit of Usher… his swagger just does me in the same way Morris Day had in that short time where… whatever was going on was going on… I loved his Bobby Brown cover two weeks ago, but this week was just as good… that’s where I differed from Simon’s opinion…

Chris Rene makes hip-hop look good and sound good and I’d definitely buy his record if he won… I think that Simon just might have the strongest group so I’m not sure what his chances are…
Josh the burrito maker… his voice is exceptional… but I’m not sure if he has enough fanbase to get him super far… Leroy Bell has potential, but it depends on him getting songs like last week, ones where he just blows the competition away… he gave me chills like none I’d gotten before

Stacy has potential, but again, its about song choice I liked last week’s better than before, but I’m not sure if her musical identity is solid yet…

from there, I can’t really say who’s going to be in the top percentile later on everyone’s just so good

 

I cool down about the Joe Paterno situation until I see more coverage over it… then I start to lose it all over again… when the scandal came out and was breaking ABC news, I figured it had nothing to do with him, he was going to be fine, no big deal…

but NO… this is something that happened 15 years ago and yeah, he could have done more… but as I pegged it a couple days ago “he was just the messenger… you don’t shoot the messenger… and that’s exactly what they did”… he gave word about it, the people who heard it from him dropped the ball, so he shouldn’t have gotten punished for it…

pretty much that’s all I can say before I explode in whatever it is I have exploded into on this issue

quick note about Chris Rene’s song pick from the soundtrack of “Dangerous Minds”… I heard that song on the radio years ago… like grade school years ago…
the really dark choir chiming in the background… that was the one thing I remembered about the song… and the ending was the cherry on top of a pie that was just freaked me OUT… it was very eerie and made my skin crawl… still does that

and I almost hate to say this on THIS blog of all places where I’m so anti-rapper and whatever the hell else… I have considered YouTubing Eminen’s “Lose yourself” just to hear that Oscar-winning song once… cuz I have heard and am familiar with the beat because of its use in the Chryslar commercials a couple years ago… in the small bit of the song with vocals that I heard, I heard actual words being said…
the two peeves I have about rappers is when they throw in a bunch of random profanities cuz they feel like it, its how they express themselves and has no real point… and even when they don’t, it’s slurring a mass of words together where I can’t make out ANY of them… that’s a WTF thing for me that I’ve never been able to comprehend

in some rap songs that I’d come across, courtesy of my college roommates and anyone in my court of apartments on campus, I’d heard computerized beats that I really don’t qualify as music… true WTF moments for me in so-called “rap muisc” are when the beats don’t sound like they could be written or played by actual instruments… or if the lyrics don’t mean anything.

They say that spoken word is a method of self-expression as much as music is and I’m all for self-expression… but if I can’t see the art of it, there’s nothing clever about it or I’m just unable to understand anything of it, then it doesn’t work for me. But if a message is getting across in the words, and I can decipher what those words are, then by all means, the stuff I don’t quite get… I might be more leninent towards rap and hiphop in other words. Its just a matter of who it is and how they do what they do.

I will give a little more about this in my next entry… but just saw Michael Jackson’s “This is it” on VH1… pretty amazing stuff, most of which is incomprehensible. I’m just glad I didn’t just break down at some random point because… you know… the whole thing is very bittersweet

right now I’m doing more of this entry while watching Comedy Central… the featured comic tonight is TJ Miller… aka. Stainer from “she’s out of my league”… he’s hilarious as a comic too … more on him later as well 😉

its a more difficult task than anticipated, I didn’t think through firing up my mom’s netbook (where the font keeps shrinking the faster I type)… thought I could multi task… almost navigated away from this page… dammit…

the one thing I dont get about him… he must be a lot older than he thought. he was married for 27 years before getting divorced… which means he has to be in his 40’s… or late 30’s…

and I just sent it by complete accident…

anyways… I was gonna go on to talk about some stuff that came to mind while watching Purple Rain the other night…
it would seem that as time passes, I’m really starting to think that Prince isn’t the best role model… the idea keeps impressing on me that he’s just… not… well, he’s a pretty flawed individual… he has an attitude… a superiority complex, doesn’t want to let anyone have any breathing room… control freak…

Here’s the strange thing, though:

I’m under the impression that Prince is kind of a jerk… at the given time… he certainly hasn’t been doing himself any favors as of late. He’s a musical genius and I never really let his flaws get to me… not quite like this.
I had one strange thought after another… mainly these two…

I actually had the nerve to think to myself: well, he’s been celibate for a couple years, maybe that’s why he’s being extremely difficult… like seriously… I feel awful about talking about his ego like that… it’s really none of my business… I tried to stay out of his love life because I didn’t want to know that many details… his control freak tendancies apparently seep into his love life as well… I’m going back to his marriage to Mayte as my only point of reference and I’ll admit, its messed me up pretty bad. I’m sorry that I got curious about it. I’m still better off not reading that article where she was asked questions… really would have blown for me, my thoughts on what seemed like the perfect marriage… they related to each other so well as if it WAS biblical… Adam & Eve in the flesh

then I got to thinking… this is real strange… I made the humility comment a couple times before. But here’s the strangest of it…
I’m getting bent out of shape about Prince being who he is… and I’m even thinking along the lines of the people on .org that I left to get away from… his musical genius doesn’t excuse him from being a jerk…

and YET… I hate doing this, but it seems strangely true for the situation… I let Robert get away with the fact that he had the troubled past, I made peace with it, and moved on… don’t look back because he doesn’t look back… I can forgive him, but not Prince thats what it kinda felt like

but here’s the truth of the matter: Robert gave up the “really dumb stuff” about 8 years ago… roughly… he’s built himself back up and is living the good life because he stuck to his guns… his healthier, sober guns, lol…

great … now Bleach is on and I won’t be able to finish just yet…

the crux of it is…

last I checked, Prince hasn’t changed his attitude all that much… and it would seem… it might have gotten worse recently… trying to impress control on previous proteges and all that

say what…. is going on with all these strange creatures…. gotta abandon this entry for now and finish after the show’s over

 

ahhhh… dammit…

Bleach is never going to finish, is it?

They just started another story arc… after a couple weeks of filler that really have no place in the overall storyline…

:sigh:

the show started with the following premise:

one fateful night, Ichigo, a young man who has been able to see spirits, receives the powers of a soul reaper from someone named Rukia… basically soul reapers are guardians of souls in the soul society, which I believe is some sort of heaven… they usher good spirits to pass on and they purify bad spirits (otherwise known as hollows)…

In Rukia’s place, Ichigo has had to defeat several hollows in his town… after a month passes, Rukia gets taken back to the soul society by her older brother, Byakuka and his lieutent, Renji, who happens to be her childhood friend… apparently, in transferring her powers to a human and lingering in the world of the living, she committed a crime… and therefore must be executed.

Ichigo and a couple of friends (each having their own spirital powers) spend a good 20-30 episodes going through the soul society to save Rukia… and in the end, it turns out that one captain of the 13 court guard squads (made of soul reapers) initated all of this to happen so he could retrieve a powerful device that had been placed inside her by…

another long storyline, but I’ll shorten it… a man in the world of the living who knows a great deal about the soul society and hollows, somewhat of a source of sage advice for Ichigo and his friends on earth… Keisuka Urahara… he was a former soul reaper captain that was banished to the world of the living (the backstory was shown just recently… apparently he was framed for a crime of illegal experimentation)… he placed an item called… now I can’t even remember…

but the storyline goes that Captain Aizen and two others (Echimaru and Kaname) assembled their own army in the hollow world of Wakomundo, plotting to overthrow the soul society…

Ichigo’s friend, Orihime has defensive powers like forming shields, but it was her ability to heal that got Aizen interested in her… he kidnapped her, prompting Ichigo and his friends to go to the other world to save her…

we had JUST gotten to the point in that storyline where several fights started to take place… Ichigo against one of the most powerful guards of that world… as well as some great battles in the world of the living… the final battles were just about to begin…

and now THIS happens…

apparently, a new enemy has appeared and the first thing to go wrong:

the soul reaper’s main weapon is a samurai sword called a Zanpakto (might be wrong on the spelling) that not only take on different forms as they advance, but they have their own beings… it’s more of a spiritual connection than just wielding a sword… the zanpakto and the soul reapers are partners…

or so they were until the new enemies “freed” the Zankpakto from the soul reaper’s control… therefore they can’t use their swords to fight the new enemies, who plan to destroy the soul society

I’m not sure what unnerves me the most… the fact they’re so powerful or the fact this is yet another story arc to sidetrack from the main one… as far as I can tell, when that ends, and Aizen is finally defeated and all that… the series can finally end… we’re at over 200 epsiodes now… I think close to 230, but I’m not sure of the exact number

after Aizen and the others left the soul society, there were a few other storylines…

I believe the next one was about another race of beings called Bounts… and I can’t even remember what their purpose was…

there was another about a princess… which coincided with another… this storyline got right in the middle of the “rescue mission” regarding Orihime

because Gin Echimaru abandoned squad 3, they’ve had to reinstate a new captain… Amangi, I believe his name was… he seemed like a great guy, nice and everything…
his 3rd seed that came along with him seemed kinda suspicious to the lieutent of squad 3, Izaru Kira…

back to the princess, she has to take over her family’s clan, which is like a royal family that rules the soul society… whereas the soul reapers protect it… there have been a series of assasination attempts so her two guardian friends, Kenryu and Enryu, brought her to the world of the living to protect her

long story short… the new captain was the one behind the assassination attempts the entire time… he really wanted to get to the head captain, who had let his father die in battle…
boy do I hate those storylines where the son has to avenge his father’s death (that’s supposedly why Marik was about Yugi in the Battle City Tournament arc of “Yu-gi-oh” in the original translation)… even worse is when the guy you come to trust turns out to be the bad guy… that’s definitely the worst

 

then I think I completely lost where I was going with the relevations and such…

I definitely feel myself being pulled in that general direction… but aside from watching Sherlock Holmes at the beginning of December, there isn’t too much else I can/want to do.
caught a new trailer for Sherlock 2 today… I had no idea Irene Adler was going to be back… apparently it was a teaser about her asking Sherlock to have breakfast with her…

seems commonplace and everything, but I know better… there’s gotta be something going on.
plus there’s the fact she had been working for Moriarty during the entire movie… she wanted Sherlock on the case, or rather he did because he wanted a piece of Lord Blackwood’s machine meant to poison Parliment (with the exception of his loyal subject that had taken the antidote unknowingly the other night)

it would seem that my dream predicted me catching yet another glimpse at the sequel… which I most certainly can’t wait for…

as for Breaking Dawn, its strange… I’ve gotten so leery, despite my curiosity, about seeing too much of the movie… too many scenes being shown in the commercials or scenes while whomever is being interviewed… I want to be surprised more than anything else

 

a few interesting comments I can make about the special earlier today…

Rob Pattinson was “unknown” by majority before he did this… hello, I thought everyone was Harry Potter fans and knew him from the movies… I’ll never forget my reaction when I found out he was playing Edward… I was like “omg, that’s so awesome”… mainly because he’s totally cute

Taylor Lautner, I researched and saw the credit under “sharkboy and lavagirl” which I refused to see because it looked really lame… as in “I’m too old to be into this kind of stuff”

Kristen Stewart… I’m not positive if I knew her that well… I saw “In the land of women” a 2nd time, that time knowing that she was going to play Bella… and I was trying to see that… didn’t quite get it, but I had faith

one part of a set-piece tour… someone went to a couple different places where the first movie was shot… Charlie’s house, the forest, the beach… the diner

WTF… there was no diner in the book… Bella cooked for Charlie… the deleted scene mentioned “I cooked in Phoenix”… that’s one thing I’m definitely steamrolling past to put exactly as I remembered it

geesh… I’m pretty ridiculous about keeping things strictly by the book… I’d rather delete some minor details than change some major details completely around… there are some conversations I can weed out a little bit… one thing I did notice that’s kind of strange… the majority of what I have in mind happens before Bella and Edward become a couple… here’s what I’ve got as a rough outline

new girl arrives in Forks. new girl is “trendy”… all the guys are interested in her. girl meets vampire. vampire drops out of school for a week to get away from girl. vampire returns. vampire saves girl. other boys ask girl to dance, she refuses. vampire tells her skipping class is healthy, she regrets ignoring his advice. girl finds out that boy is vampire. girl nearly gets mugged in Port Angeles, vampire saves girl again. vampire takes girl out to dinner. girls says she cares more for vampire than he cares about her.

then after they have the scene in the meadow, it goes down the following:

vampire takes girl home to his vampire family. vampires love baseball. tracker vampire wants Bella. girl and vampire friends go to Phoenix. girl meets tracker vampire. vampire boyfriend saves girl again. girl wants to be a vampire, vampire refuses. vampire takes girl to prom

I’m pretty vague on a lot of details after Edward saves Bella from the van… conversation and all that…

the story goes that Edward goes back to ignoring her for a while… meanwhile, the boys start asking her out to the next dance, she keeps refusing them. I’d like to add a little something about Mike and Jessica… Jessica hopes Mike will go with her, she’s sulking so Bella can only assume Mike turned her down. Mike asks Bella, who tells him that a) “its lady’s choice” and b) you should go with Jessica, and don’t keep her waiting, its rude…

then Edward blocks her in to give Tyler a chance to ask her (each time, she gives the Seattle excuse)

chapter 4 is sure to be covered by very little in my version because a) nothing hugely consequential goes down and b) all the more to make room for the good parts… also c) if I make too many parts too long, the entirity will have a larger running time

before I get sidetracked, one more thing I got from the special:

Kristen loved “Twilight” before she got the part and she said she not only was under pressure to get the character right, didn’t want to ruin her… but she said that she played her as she imagined her when she read the book

translation: Kristen gave her own version of Bella for the film, put her own stamp on that character. She interpreted her as an angsty, suffer on the inside type so that’s how she turned out.

at that midnight showing, I recalled really being impressed with her performance to the point of surprise… I was kinda nervous about what she’d bring to the role, but she surpassed my expectations. there are a few things I don’t like about the way she did the character, but hey, all the props, Kristen, for really embracing the character, making her someone after your own heart

I guess more than anything, I am curious to put together how I imagined that character in my head.

 

This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

