“Dawn/Breaking” through the fog

As a Twi-hard, I’ll most certainly be going into the ins and outs of “Breaking Dawn.” The movie was just as good as I figured it would be… a little melodramatic in places, but I think all of the real excitement is going to happen in the next movie. With all of the nomads, friends of friends all over the world… although there was a teaser of action: werewolf on vampire action.

I never thought that imprinting was going to make that big of a deal… I guess that comes with the territory of only reading the book twice… I forgot that cardinal role: it is against pack law to kill someone a pack member has imprinted on.

I’m not sure what my problem has been this week… I have been in such a fog… I mean I’m still functioning and everything. Part of it might be, hell… Kristen Stewart might be rubbing off on me, her Bella is very low-key, montone… I think I’m withdrawing from society, becoming more of a hermit.
I wonder if my folks have noticed…

yesterday was a dead giveaway that something was kinda strange, not right… sometimes I feel like I get asked questions as if they’re fishing for answers, going beyond the surface.
I was like… shoot, I gotta stop using the word “nazi” to describe things… :sigh: I think that was how Robert referred to middle bro Estavez Ramon when he was doing the choreography for Oklahoma

strange, I still think in his terms sometimes and even quote things he’d said… I seem to really like the metaphor “I just left my body for a minute to see what else was going on”… in response to Jonathan Ross suggesting they go out wearing eye patches, sitting next to one another “to see if anyone notices”…

no, it’s just one of the strangest things I’ve heard in a while

I guess I went through a similar thing with Prince too… I mean, I’d so much as hear the word cream and start singing the song… or at least singing the word “cream” as if it had 2 syllables…

Probably what I’m afraid of is repeating history… if I overexpose myself, I’ll grow to resent that person.

Depending on what else is going on with me tonight… I have been delayed coming up the stairs at 10pm because my folks return from happy hour around 9:30… feels wrong to just slip off like that… even though I do it all the time ๐Ÿ™„
I’m thinking of watching “Kiss Kiss Bang Bang”… just to jizz myself back up a bit… but at the same time, despite the fact I’m coming up on the last month before the premiere of Sherlock 2, I don’t want to get myself so excited that I’m on edge.

Although this past week, there’s been quite a few jitters regarding that… as in, whether or not I’d get out this week to see it…

I’ve gotten distracted about a lot of things… in my outline, I got as far as Edward taking Bella to meet his parents… then I’ve kinda been on about Pokรฉmon Ruby, getting back into that a bit… I’d gotten through a couple more gyms, caught a few more Pokรฉmon… it’s kinda ridiculous, but once I got the safari zone, I wanted a Pikachu for my team…
there’s also an available trade: Pikachu for Skitty… so I thought I could get away from having a couple of eggs, catching a couple of Pichu, evolving them and the weakest of the two, I’d trade away…

I had just released this problem last night… Pichu evolves via friendship… in other words, gotta train it for a while, give it items, not let it faint, etc. … I’ve gone through this with Eevee into Espeon in the silver game… I got lucky at being able to get it to evolve at level 30 so i learned swift… but usually, my goal is 35 or 36 so i can learn Psybeam…

so the debate was, stick with Pichu which can use thundershock, but never gets to learn anything else useful like Quick Attack or Slam… or go with the Pikachu that was level 25 and just deal with the fact that it won’t ever know Thundershock… which is a rudimentary attack… but better that it know Thunderbolt and Quick attack… I can work around Thunder at a later point.

I think the greatest issue I’m having with the game is that there are no really good fire types and that’s the one thing I’m missing… that’s kinda getting under my skin a bit too… my team usually has a fire, water, psychic and grass type… then the rest just fall into place. I thought I could get away without an electric type, but I just couldn’t resist ๐Ÿ˜Ž I had gone with Plusle as my electric Pokรฉmon when I played Sapphire and it worked out all right… just not quite the same feel ๐Ÿ˜‰

I’d been really getting into that game this week, which has taken a lot of time away from everything else.

But yesterday, I went through my room, top to bottom… put everything in its proper place, filled two trashbags full of God only knows what… I’d lost track after a while. I freed up space for books, which filled almost immediately. I have all of my drawing stuff in one spot, all my writing stuff in another, even a place for my dozens of notebooks… I have, no joke, 9 spiral notebooks… some I never used, some I’d filled up (two of them were purple notebooks)… some with all kinds of stuff in them that I’d lost track.

It’s a huge burden to get all of this stuff organized. Plus my computer desk has lost a little weight in the biggest drawer, which isn’t even halfway full anymore.

what else is going on up in there…

Dancing with the Stars has the best top 3 probably in a while… but I am in so in JR’s corner… for him and Karina…

I’d hate to say it, as much as a Derek fan I am… I’m kinda sick of him winning all the time… he’d won three times… I think with Brooke Burke, Jennifer Gray and Nicole Sherzinger… ๐Ÿ™„ I still haven’t gotten over the fact she won over Evan Lyaseck… he and Anna was amazing together, my favorite dance has to be that Paso Dablo to “Bring me to life”… it was hauntingly magical

Derek seems to be invincible when it comes to his partners… almost always wins… I don’t know off the top of my head what’s what, but yeah… Ricki Lake is talented, but I want someone else to get a chance to win…

Cheryl hadn’t won since the 3rd season… I think she won with Drew [Lachay] and Emmett Smith back to back… Mario Lopez shoulda won that season…

Rob Kardishian is probalby one of the biggest surprises I’d encountered in reality TV in general… I didn’t expect to be in his corner, even believing he was a possible winner… he just got so good all of a sudden… his last name has got nothing to do with it, he won me over on his own merits ๐Ÿ˜‰
he is kinda good looking too, though not entirely my type

Word is, supposedly, “AMC” will NOT be given the green light online… Prospect Place only has funds to carry one soap, which will be the other that’s getting booted in January…
I would have been seriously pissed off had it been months ago… but I believe I’d moved on quite well… made a clear break ๐Ÿ˜‰

and… :sigh: Ricky Gervais is back to host the Golden Globes…

I thought that the Hollywood Foreign Press was kinda flickle in nominating Johnny Depp for best actor in a comedy/musical for “The Tourist” which doesn’t even qualify…
heck, Sherlock Holmes isn’t either one of those, though somewhat of a comedy… I guess :shrug: but yeah, I think Robert was deserving of that recoginiton for SOMETHING… he never wins anything

omg… after their presenting last year, he and Jude so totally shoulda got the cue to host the Oscars. Their banter is excellent…
and I have a little more proof of that… the 2nd trailer today (I can’t even remember the first cuz we just came in and it had just ended) was maybe 3-5 minutes. I was trying to be like Sherlock, attempting to absorb every detail in the trailer to log down for future reference… its impossible, of course. But life is more exciting when you get surprises…

one thing that is absolutely to be sure of… the scale of this movie is going to be so much huger than Victorian London… or at least I think its Victorian… late 1880’s… don’t crucify me for that if I’m completely off… the scale will be HUGE… as if Guy Ritchie didn’t make London look huge in the first movie ๐Ÿ˜‰

what else… the first trailer for “Snow White & the Huntsman”… starring Bella Swan and Thor, lol… I thought I heard that Johnny Depp was going to be the Huntsman in this, but… you know, no complaints… a fellow “Avenger”… can’t argue with that. It definitely looks like a massive scaled movie. I saw Ginnifer Goodwin’s Snow White as a rouge, a fighter in “Once upon a time” a few weeks ago, so I think I can handle the messing around with tradition

its gonna be very random, but I think every so often, I will get the bug… wanting to perform “Judas” whenever the song is on my mind… its my belief that I’d gotten the general chorus-ography down pat… I’ve got everything timed just right, there’s just the question about whether or not to take a step in one spot

last night I wasn’t feeling too hot… just in general, I guess… my mind was still in panic mode, making sure i got everything done in my room… my eyes would only let me cooperate to one drawer… I had to go through the last one this morning…

a few songs came to mind courtesy of JMac cuz among the things I found was a packet of his latest lyrics, which weren’t included in Departure… my playlist was Leavin’, Into ya, Makeup, My Baby, Relapse (my guilty pleasure which I used to sing at the top of my lungs in the woods back at college), Freaky and Not your enemy
one strange thing I noticed…
I was more into “into ya” this time around than before… I guess because I didn’t want Jesse to become like Justin Timberlake and certainly didn’t want him to be talking about sex in his lyrics… cuz that wasn’t the way I thought of him, didn’t want him to go there cuz I didnt think it was in his personality…

but as it turns out, since I’d been kinda switched on to that subject as of late, I was definitely feeling it…
I wasn’t the feeling the connection with him personally, per se… the song was a turn-on in general… didn’t really have anyone in mind, actually…
my dreams have been very vague lately where I can’t remember too much of the greater details… but I think some of the things paralleled what was going to happen in the movie… except in reverse order…
I guess from the discussion with one of my friends about my cousin’s engagement being a long one, lest the “per usual” occurs and they gotta rush the wedding cuz the bride won’t fit into the dress, that sort of thing… my mind’s weird like that sometimes

What I ought to do regarding his next album is to not go into it assuming this or that will come to pass… just not expecting anything at all really… his sound changes so much each time that I can’t expect any kind of stability.
that’s the reason I get so disappointed with him with each album, but that disappointment erases itself with time… when I come to accept that he’s here in his life

I’m definitely not the place I was… phew, I’m gonna be terrified out of my mind when I found out… “whoa, it’s been a whole year since I’d been on this path”… it’s pretty insane…
and I can’t entirely create “Less than Zero” to the…whatever, sexual awakening… I guess you could call it…
“Black Swan” probably did a lot more for that part of my brain… a helluva lot more… considering “Less than Zero” became a mad rush to embracing anti-drug messages more than usual

I think next year, I ought to carry around a hole punch or something each time I watch Jeopardy… keep track of how many correct answers I get in the following year… it’d make for an interesting experiment… if not a hole punch, then a pencil/pen

they did a category for final: actor-director… it shoulda been actor/director… cuz that misled me… I thought it was actors working with certain directors multiple times…

aside from Robert & Jon Favreau/Guy Ritchie, I thought about Johnny Depp & Tim Burton… always a magical combination… but no…

it was actor/director… the question was “name one of 2 people who had been nominated twice for best actor & director for the same movie”… the only one I could think of is Clint Eastwood cuz he acted and directed quite a bit…
and that was right… Millionaire Dollar Baby (which I refuse to see cuz the name makes no goddam sense) and Pale Rider

Warren Beatty (who don’t know that well) was the other

so as far as movie knowledge goes, that shows that I had learned a little this year.
and that Mizzou is actually Missouri University… I had no idea… just thought it was a funny name

I guess while I’m on movies, I soldier on to “Breaking Dawn”… then after that, I can go into more music, movies, etc.

 

There’s always a twist here and there in the movie that isn’t quite from the books… to more or less highlight the actors for doing what it is they do best. Charlie got a lot of great lines that derived a lot of laughs… particularly him basically saying that he knows how to use a gun and he implies that he will hunt down Edward if he causes any trouble

Billy Burke is great for the dry sense of humor throughout the films. That isn’t at all with Charlie in the books, but what the hell… he’s a cop and his teenage daughter is in love with a vampire… he’s also a bit shy as a man, not sure how to handle being the father of a teenager

the one thing I definitely wouldn’t change here or there is the actors who were picked to play their indvidual roles. I love Alice (prefer her “Twilight” hairstyle and miss it dearly), Jasper (the sourthern accent was apparently “Eclipse”-exclusive, but he looks great in this one), Emmett (his sense of humor is always there, that’s all I can ask), Rosalie (like Alice, she looks the most like what I pictured her to be from the books… she’s not even as blonde in this movie which I found a little off, though she was a lot nicer), Esme and Carlisle

I can say this or that about Kristen’s performance of Bella, but in most cases, particularly with the sequels, she has been all I can ask for this character.
One thing I found really odd, though… but I’ll get into that later… I like to keep things chronologically when it comes to movies

don’t remember too much of the book before the actual wedding (hopefully they address the fact Bella’s truck finally died on her so Edward has an excuse to give her a fast car in the 2nd part)… the bachelor party scene with Jasper and Emmett was good fun… seeing them come by Bella’s get to him

before the wedding, Bella has a nightmare about Edward slaughtering all the wedding guests… vague on the details, just a pile of dead bodies, his lips and her dress dripping with blood… I think in that dream, she sees Renseme the first time

the wedding was BEAUTIFUL… Alice went out of her way to make it look perfect… I did imagine it being in the Cullens’ living room, but to hell with that… the hairclip (which was her something old, new, borrowed & blue) was the greatest finishing touch, her dress was beautiful… she looked beautiful… everyone did…

there was a quick scene addressing the Denali sisters, Kate, Tanya and Irina, who was still pissed off about Laurent getting slaughtered by the werewolves (she goes to the Volturi in the next part when she sees Renesme, beliving it to be a baby that was turned into a vampire… a crime her clan’s leader got slaughered for committing)
I forgot how self-involved Jessica was in the books… she made a comment in the speeches about how Edward became all about Bella when she arrived and vice versa and quote “it wasn’t like she was head of the volleyball team or anything… president of student council”… also made the comment about Bella getting knocked up cuz why else would someone get married at 18

:sigh:

Jacob has always kinda been a two-way street for me… and the wires get crossed really fast with him… because he makes rash decisions too…
at the wedding he shows up and I’m with Bella, so happy he decided to come and sad that she has to say goodbye to him… then when he hears she’s planning to lose her virginity, he gets all bent out of shape… immediately I went from grateful he showed up to angry he was being so difficult…

as if its so hard for me to just flat out like him for any long stretches… I didn’t have that polarized attitude stronger than I did during “Eclipse” where there were plenty of instances where I enjoy being with him and the next, very annoyed

Team Jacob fans will definitely be happy with this movie because there was a lot of Quiluette coverage… scenes with Jacob, Leah and Seth… also kinda noticed there being a little added element of Charlie spending time with Sue Clearwater (widow of his friend Harry who died from a heart attack in “New Moon”)… its sweet

Sam is hard to figure out, though… he wanted Jacob to stay out of the union, the fact that Bella plans to become a vampire… yet when the baby becomes an issue, it’s all out war because they don’t think its capable of upholding the treaty

when it comes to protecting Bella from his former pack, I had his back

The honeymoon was everything I thought it was going to be… very romantic… no disappointments at all with the sex scene… there was no nudity and it didn’t last too long… about as long as the one from Purple Rain… time-wise

I swear I was on pins and needles the entire time, though… because I had no idea when the news was going to come out.
The montage was great… they took the concept of the chess board from the book cover and used it during the scenes where Bella wants to get into bed with Edward again and he’s refusing cuz he doesn’t want to hurt her anymore… the bruises weren’t nearly as bad as I read in the book, I think he was getting a little too sensitive about it, though I agree there were some dangers in it

finally she has a dream about getting into it again with him and she’s crying because she wanted it to be real guilts him into going through with it again…

The pivotal scene was handled extremely well… but I was nervous about whether or not they’d include a key element… to my complete relief they did…
Bella gets panicked when she hears that Edward wants to save her from “the thing”… and that idea is just tangible enough where I’m in the same boat as she is… at the airport, it finally happens: she calls Rosalie and asks for her help

Rosalie’s biggest qualm about being a vampire was that she missed out on humans experience… the only thing she was ever jealous of was the fact one of her best friends was happily married with a baby… that was something she couldn’t have now that she’d become a vampire. Naturally, she is on Bella’s side, the only one in this matter…
there’s some banter back and forth between her and Alice about calling it a fetus or a baby which makes sense…

For sure, my props to the make-up people for just giving the big picture to Bella’s deterioration…
the strange thing really was trying to wrap my head around the whole pregnancy thing… I didn’t entirely believe it, I guess…
some people can say that Kristen Stewart only has a select number of facial expressions, and in some cases, its the same story here… but in the other cases, even in the honeymoon scene, I saw a few degrees for her character that I didn’t see nearly as much in “Twilight”…

with time, she truly embraced the character and made it her own with all of the emotions she can bring to the table

and maybe… although one scene in “Eclipse” had me saying the same thing… the one thing were I was not on Edward’s side… plain didn’t like him… Kristen said in an interview that she genuinely didn’t like him in some scenes
I guess it just hurt to hear him say that marriage is about making decisions together and how she made the decision to go through with him without him… something like “you’d chosen to take yourself away from me forever”…

Leah rubbed me the wrong way in “Eclipse” but she was going through her growing pains… having just become a werewolf so she can’t get away from Sam… the fact he imprinted with her friend Emily when the two of them had been going out… talk about melodrama
she was hoping to imprint on someone so she could forget about Sam, put all of that behind her
the conversation put things in perspective for Jacob, I think… Leah was in a worst precidament of a love triangle than he could ever imagine

the one big werewolf scene was when Jacob fought against Sam, broke away from the pack and became his own alpha to protect Bella… supposedly the alpha can force his followers to submit to him and that was never fully addressed until now (well, except in “New Moon” where Jacob had to work around the order to not say anything to anyone about the Quilette tribe magic)

just about all of the critical elements from the book were there, but a few attempts at dumb blonde jokes from Jacob would have been great for more comedy…

a huge fight broke out at the end between the vampires and werewolves… I don’t remember that in the book at all… it was really cool

the delivery scene on the other hand… I was expecting a lot more blood, honestly… they said it was supposed to be like a horror movie… but there really wasn’t that much at all…
Bella supposedly dies on the operating table and Jacob runs out, unable to take his grief… then for whatever reason, he feels pulled back in by something…

the imprinting scene was surreal… Jacob was in the delivery room, I figured it would have happened then, but maybe when he locked eyes with Renseme, everything clicked… and she’s going to look so amazing when she grows up

for me personally… I think that the scene with Edward giving Bella CPR went on a little too long… I mean, she looked DEAD… as in not even getting the venom pumping through her veins would save her… he must have done 100 compressions in what feels like forever… 10 minutes too long, got less and less realistic and likely she’d survive it…
and yes, even in the realm of impossibility where a vampire and a human can conceive, I believe that was unrealistic

after biting her all over and the CGI showed the venom circulating… Bella’s life was flashing before her eyes… she was under morphine, which explained why she wasn’t wraithing with pain… something I was expecting, didn’t really see anything that indicated she was still alive

Carlisle assured Edward that the transformation was taking place… strange how they made the room all comfortable for her… put her in a nice blue dress, combed her hair… perhaps the coolest of all the CGI was making her pale, taking away the bite marks… I swear she looked like Snow White, she was so beautiful.
and as I predicted, the movie ended on a similiar note to “Avatar”… close-up on her eyes, which open, showing that they’re blood red

it’s kinda funny that that was the first thing that came to mind for a couple reasons… for starters, the “Snow White & the Huntsman” trailer… but the way Bella described Esme the first time she saw her “an actress from the silent film era… Snow White in the flesh”… wow… I can’t wait to see what happens next

it was kinda weird that the entire movie was building up to this moment and I was just aching for more… just to last a little bit longer…

well, I did get one more scene… we stuck around for some credits cuz I didn’t want to move, I was somewhat mesmerized by the whole thing… they showed the Volturi, and stayed true to a scene they showed in a trailer
they got the letter that Bella had become a vampire and Aro says that “they have something that I want”… he had been longing to see what Bella would be like as a vampire because she has somewhat of a glitch that makes her immune to some special talents… forgot who said it, but they said “you are safe in your own mind”

that’s why Edward can’t read her thoughts, Aro can’t and Jane (played by Dakota Fanning) can’t make her wraith in pain by simply looking at her… I think her mind power is to make her enemies believe they are burning from the inside out

 

I suppose I can attribute my withdrawal yesterday and I guess what I could call a panic attack…
“Suckerpunch” gets to me, as I’ve said, like few other things have… there’s always those types of movies that stay with you the moment you see them…
I got the soundtrack and felt myself transported to that… I would have liked for my favorite track to have been toned down as far as the screaming goes, but yeah, it was awesome…

and of course by the ending, I was feeling bad that everything went the way it did… but I guess it was all for the best really…

its a great movie with great music and I was very tempted to get up and find my own groove to some of the songs.

One of them was called “Rabbit Hole” which was incredibly interesting… because the lyrics were drawing from Alice in Wonderland

I’m hoping that one day that movie inspires me creatively… just as “Spirited away” had… that’s another movie I had planned to rewatch but never got around to it… that and “Thor” should be the next DVD’s I watch

meanwhile… I’m up to 14 movies for the year and depending on a couple factors, it could end at 15 with Sherlock 2… if my dad’s up for it, we might go see “The Girl with the Dragon Tattoo” which looks INTENSE…

but I’m totally up for the kind of adventure, action and comedy that Sherlock has to dish ๐Ÿ˜‰ he’s always a great deal of fun. At least with the placement of the trailer, I had time to cool down (not that I really needed to this time, until going to see Harry Potter in July) so I could focus more on that actual movie at hand… and I most certainly did.

Escapism is a great thing to get from going to the movies and this is one of the few cases of that I’d had this year… where I thoroughly enjoyed lingering as long as possible, even if (in the case “Suckerpunch”) the ending is a letdown… there are very few times where I can say that I don’t care how a movie ends because the rest of it just blew my mind that much ๐Ÿ˜Ž

sweet dreams are made of this, who had the mind to disagree, I traveled the world and the seven seas, everybody’s looking for something…

strange how I said that Rihanna song from the X-Factor last night wasn’t all that great because it only had a couple of lyrics she repeated over and over… but that Eurthymics song is brilliant with the two quatrains it has that are repeated over and over again ๐Ÿ˜Ž

I guess it comes down to the music that supplements it… with “Sweet Dreams”… it’s a musical masterpiece complete with string or string-like instruments

all I can say on X-Factor really is that kid rapper has made an enemy for himself: it’s called America… he truly thinks he can bring hiphop back… he is a representation of why I don’t like the genre very much at all… going so far as to HATE it with a passion…

Chris Rene represents a part of hiphop I can most definitely embrace… if the artist can handle it really well, bring a balance between music, singing and spoken word, then they’re fine by me

Stacy’s days have been kinda numbered cuz I really didn’t like her song choices… they didn’t do anything for her.

This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged . Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to “Dawn/Breaking” through the fog

Leave a Reply

