3 days and counting [to Sherlock 2]

I don’t know what it is, but can I just say how much Robert Downey Jr. makes me smile?

Probably covering his face as I type: “oh no, not another one of these”

Facebook was cool enough to post a link to the latest Moviefone unscripted with RDJ and Guy Ritchie asking each other questions.
I said during Jay Leno that I could listen to that guy talk forever… 4:37 is not long enough for something like this. I can never predict what the man’s gonna say. But I must say that he makes me laugh more freely than a lot of things these days.

I know I’d been back and forth with my blogs. Writing in a very irate tone one day in one blog, being over self-conscious in another. I guess you could say I’m drinking the kool-aid again because I’m going into all this without a trace of guilty.
It’s like being under the influence nitrous oxide for infinite periods of time… I don’t come to the surface all that much, but its time like these where I cherish being alive, just to feel like there’s no weight on my shoulders.

When clearly I have a problem with living in actual reality

Another little thing about Christmas that I love… I gotta log this away as things about Christmas that I love…

In the “New Girl” Christmas show, she’d just broke up with Justin Long (or rather, vice versa)… the one guy, Nick, who was so uptight about getting to the airport on time cuz he misses his flight home every year… he feels so bad about debacling her relationship by speaking out of turn that he drives onto a street she showed them earlier that day.
“Candy Cane Lane” where all of the houses go insane with the lights and displays. Not “Clark Griswold: Christmas Vacation” crazy but pretty close.

All of the lights were turned off by the time they got there. Everyone got out of the car and screamed for the people to turn on their lights… and the lights came on… simply magical moment, plus I love camerarderies like that… when friends ban together like that, especially in the unexpected way

I must say that I LOVE “New Girl”… everything I thought it’d be and more…

One thing I also gotta say about FOX… two things

a) they tend to have these holiday shows where the one person says “I love you” and the other says “thank you”… and by the end of the show, there’s a wrench thrown into the relationship (Jess couldn’t say the same back to Justin Long, and Ryan said “thank you” when Marissa Cooper said “I love you” on New Year’s)…  although I forget with the latter whether that ruined the relationship or not

and

b) they like to have shows covering Joni Mitchell and the characters saying how depressing the song is

I nearly flipped my lip when I heard Rachel singing “River” on Glee… as in “no, I don’t want to hear anyone else sing this song.”

Thankfully, her voice didn’t stick in my head and I portook (protaken?) of RDJ’s version… it gave me a lump in my throat for sure… and it made me kinda remember how much I had back-up vocals, lol

it’s something I’d always kinda had an issue with… like why do singers need back-up vocalists in the first place? But at the time, I was thinking about myself if I was going to be a singer… why do I have to have people backing me up… as if I could go into the music business performing live without anyone singing back up for me

the first time I really appreciated… not noticed, appreciated… back-up vocals were with Prince… sure, a lot of those are HIS back-up vocals, but I’m also a sucker for Wendy & Lisa giving him back-up… they just sound so amazing together, all three of them

certain songs, I even live in the back-up vocals more than the main one… all were Prince’s naturally, but still… some songs just have that gift

so yeah, when Robert sings, I hate hearing back-up vocals on the records because they help mask the ear candy I came to the party to enjoy πŸ™„ I know, totally lame, right?

that aside…
the Glee Christmas special was really good. I loved their whole PBS sponsered special too… it was in black & white in homage to the Judy Garland Christmas show (I didn’t even know if that show’s existence until I saw this)…
as much as Charlie Chaplin has given me a taste for silent films, he’s given me more of a taste for the black & white… such simpler times and so retro that its trend-setting…

makes me wonder what that new film “The Artist” is going to be like

but then again, I think I loved the special from last year a lot more…

they had some great numbers like “Blue Christmas”… its become a personal favorite as well.
“All I want for Christmas is you” was also great to get another take on, but I prefer the original naturally

then everyone got together to sing the Band-aid track at the homeless shelter Sue Sylvester was volunteering at (I know, I couldn’t believe it either, lol)… as much as I hope that will hip more people to that song, appreciate it… I want them to appreciate the original vocals…

not just because they were all professional singers or super famous… but because they just meshed better together… and I didn’t get that warm-fuzzy feeling when I heard the wordless vocals… they just didn’t hit that particular stride that just feels like… I dunno… leaving my body for a minute or two

last year was really cool on the show because, not only did they start with the “Island of Misfit Toys” song from Rudolph, but they also had some Grinch tracks and that year’s guilty pleasure “Last Christmas”…
when I heard Rachel singing that, I was head-over-heels… so happy that they covered it and heck, I loved the cover

I heard maybe one other version, a little more upbeat last year and it was to the point I started to see visuals… it was that cool.

meanwhile, the day after I had that dream, I went on to YouTube to check out Taylor Swift’s version of the song…
I gotta say, though. some people are so MEAN… people were doubting her genunity in general and there was one comment wishing harm on her “for ruining my favorite Christmas song”…  she was being called such terrible names that I don’t want to repeat here…

I have actually gotten a bit used to the fact she doesn’t sing nearly as well like as she does on record, but what the hell… love her music, believe in what she’s singing, so therefore I stand by her no matter what all of them say.

for the record, though, as nice as her version was (a lot of people didn’t like how she country-ized the song), I just prefer the original, plain and simple. Maybe not the first version I heard (Ashley Tisdale did it at the Macy’s parade a couple years back), but dude… it’s got Linn-drum, it’s got that 80’s vibe… the synths that provide the main instrumental hook for the song, there is a certain intensity there that I feel builds later on in the song… that’s what gets me warm and fuzzy, I love it

certain songs can be redone over and over again like Jingle Bells (with or without the rock… speaking of that, I ought to see two things before the season’s out, the Mean Girls Santa’s little helpers dance to the song… and Beavis & Butt-head mocking the Hall & Oates video), Sleigh Ride and Winter Wonderland

but there are a couple that I don’t ever want to hear other versions of cuz why make others if the original is perfect:

-White Christmas (although I did love Larry & Ally singing that at the end of the show… but Bing Crosby is the only one I want to hear on the radio)
-The Most Wonderful time of the Year (Johnny Mathis all the way, baby)
-Wonderful Christmastime (Paul McCartney, accept no substitutes)
-Do they know its Christmas? (not that I know anyone else willing to cover it like Glee was daring to)

also just gotta say one more thing…

what was so wrong with the original version of “Santa Claus is coming to town” that they had to rockify it… like seriously… any other version I hear of it other than the one that’s plain and simple, I can’t stand… why do they need that extra exclamation point…
Jackson 5, Bruce Springsteen… seriously?

and as far as Santa Baby goes… I cannot understand the song and why a woman would want to flirt Santa to… well, use your imagination

this year, I really do disapprove of all the Best Buy commercials where Santa is getting dissed on his biggest night… by women, no less… like c’mon…

there’s a running joke that tailgates the fact that Santa’s reindeer could only be female because they’re the members of the species that have their antlers that time of year… it ends with “I should have known, only women could lead Santa’s sleigh and not get lost”… c’mon, people…

although it would be interesting if the reindeer were all female…

there are a few things about Christmas I take pretty seriously as it comes along with the tradition… I use “Twas the Night Before Christmas” as a guide to how things should play out… they name the reindeer and there are 8 of them…
and naturally because I love the Rankin/Bass Rudolph special, I live by that moral compass this time of year as well 😎

Childish notions, sure… but they’re all near and dear to my heart

as is the Charlie Brown Christmas special… I was so pissed off that they crammed it into half an hour and because of that, a lot of my favorite lines were nixed from it…

and it figures that its playing tomorrow night over an hour… and I’m watching X-factor that hour… :sigh: I need to get that special on DVD as well as all of those Rankin/Bass specials… although Rudolph might be good enough for me

nah… any DVD set will have the song “We’re a couple of misfits”… I grew up with the song that plays as Rudolph & Hermy leave Christmas town being “Fame & Fortune”… even though it makes no goddam sense in that scene, it is the more exciting song… and dude, it was part of my childhood… I watch the special every year on TV, hoping against hope that they’ll change it back…

I read that it started out one way… it was changed to “Fame & Fortune” in the mid-80’s (the year we recorded it), and then in 1999, they changed it back to “We’re a couple of misfits”…

I was so annoyed with ABC, though, that last night I actually dreamed about watching the special again, but it was butchered beyond recognition…

all those little things, man… cannot have all of that splicing and dicing going down, it gets in the way of nostalgia and tradition

and I forgot what I was writing about…

it’s quite the interesting scenario, really… I’ve seen so many interviews for Sherlock Holmes where Robert is on the road with someone else… either Guy Ritchie or Jude Law… I love the chemistry he has with those two guys. It really liberates him as this funny guy that makes me enjoy watching him…

hilariously, the headline of the webpage was “Guy Ritchie says RDJ’s British accent is flawless, unlike RDJ”… that’s a true LMAO moment…
on the segment, he said he never heard a more flawless British accent from an American… the accent is flawless, unlike other things about Robert…

even more hilarious… when he was reading the fan submitted question to Guy, Robert’s name was spelled out, but he read it as RDJ… :falloff: I know, total fan girl moment, but I SO do that…

strangely enough, with this movie coming out and everything, I know I ought to watch the original movie to get back into the swing of things… do a little comparing or whatever…
but I don’t feel like it… maybe from months of saying “no, I’m not watching that” when I saw it listed on TV… now, it isn’t anymore (it figures, but dude, I own it on blu-ray, duh, I can watch it whenever)…

the questions really were interesting… asking if the two of them wanted to do a non-Sherlock film… if Robert would like to direct a Sherlock film (he in turn asked Guy if he wanted to play the role and he said no… but whoa… that would be HUGE if Robert could direct a Sherlock Holmes movie… I have this feeling that he’ll be in the director’s chair by the end of 2014… that’s my prediction… might be a little earlier, might be a little late, but I know its going to happen soon)

another question was what would RDJ do if he went back to London in 1880’s for a day… he at first said he wouldn’t want to scare the beejezus out of Conan Doyle (my word, not his) and say “I’m going to play the character, I come from the future”… and adds “but then again, Doyle was a spiritualist” so he might buy into it…

the kicker… Robert being asked years from now, if the series of movies is still going which actor he’d want to take on the role… haha… he said that any young actor who is hot at the time has to pry the part from his cold hands…

:falloff:
dude, I can totally see him doing the role the rest of his life… I’ll have to get back to this notion after I’d seen the movie, but I’ll decide then if it’s something I would approve of, even if he never gets casted in another franchise

right now, I think it’ll be a long shot if he gets cast in another non-franchise movie ever again :falloff:

anyways… I’ll end it here and I’ll be sure to write an entry directly after watching him on David Letterman tonight

oh right… two things on Jude Law on Kelly today…

1) dude, get rid of the beard, it’s not doing you any favors and

2) this is in general… as much as I love seeing footage of the movie, I wish they would stop doing new scenes all the time… I’d like to be surprised by some things in the movie, is that so much to ask?

I got away with my wish of them not showing the “some like it hot” get-up in every single commercial… I wouldn’t mind seeing the same commercials all the time either, but I think they’re spending a little too much on time on the “dressed in drag” thing…
I’m used to it by now, yes, but I just think people are just harping about that way too much. Like there’s a whole 2 hours to the movie aside from all that 😎

actually, Jude commented on rumors about him and Robert remaking “some like it hot” and he said that he wouldn’t be comfortable with remaking that movie… cuz its such a classic.
I don’t care how good a chemistry those two have, that’s one movie that shouldn’t be remade…

well, there are dozens more, but I have no time to listen them all here

This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , . Bookmark the permalink.