“selling soap” for Sherlock 2: David Letterman

First, can I just say that I’m so not touching “Internet Options” for a while… I love having my subject bar filling in the most likely answer based on what I previously typed into there… makes it so much easier to remember what I called my Jay Leno entry… the one that got a completely irrelevent comment and the reason why I no longer allow comments on my blog

Second of all, you know I’m crazy about you, Robert, but sometimes your fashion sense worries me a bit when you do these talk show appearances.
Sure, it’s hard to compete with the leather jacket motif last week where I don’t believe he’d looked any more dashing (I think I’ll stick by that sentiment for a long time) and I did see him over 12 hours ago in that “Moviefone unscripted” clip…
seems a little wrong that I have the Regis/Kelly clip from last year ready to go, but what the hell… I had that loaded since this morning and I’m gonna need to watch it before his appearance tomorrow morning

it’s gonna be a hectic morning too… I figure I’ll get up with my alarm at 7:15… stay in the guest room until he shows up on GMA… and depending on the time, I’ll either go back to bed to maybe catch another 20 minutes or jump into the shower because it’s one of the few periods of free time I’m going to have tomorrow between everything else 🙄

It wasn’t Letterman that worried me last time so much as Craig Ferguson… he were wearing this ugly orange leather jacket that did nothing for him and it takes a lot for him to look good with the long hair 😉 I’ve said him being in costume or with a British accent… but he can’t be wearing anything red or orange… apparently that’s anytime

no joke, there was a pillar behind his head that matched the color of his shirt underneath that jacket. Plus the pants were a bit striking with a brindle pattern in them… I didn’t get a chance to look at his feet, but there have been comments about how cute he looks wearing sneakers with whatever else he’s wearing… but I’d love the sneakers more than this… I’m sorry, dude, but what were you thinking?

Plus I think he might be in need of a shave… just a bit… maybe it was my imagination, but I’m thinking he is keeping odd sleeping hours these days… some bags under those eyes and if I’m not mistaken… which I could be, I’m oddly a bit tired at 12:30 in the morning… his lashes were more pronounced as if he’d just come off the set from the “some like it hot” train scene… if you catch my drift

and seriously, you would think that the hosts tire of this by now… now what do I prefer… strange props/humorous comments or discussion of “the past”…
what Robert should have done, if only to get people to stop going into his troubled past, he should have become a born-again Christian… they don’t talk about their pasts, lol

but then again, there was his work on “Chaplin” that earned him an Oscar nomination at age 26… surely he’d like to remember that

I’m starting to think that there really isn’t a lot of time for him TO “sell soap” on these networks because the banter between him and the host takes up so much time… I was getting used to the glaring fashion flaws for a while too, so that’s why the show felt like it ended a lot sooner than it did…

Jay Leno felt like a good 15 minutes whereas this felt more like 7-10
but I was living in the moment then rather than working to find my footing…

and of course the whole thing was totally worth it. I won’t regret any of it.

“I have bad impulse control,” he told Dave when they discussed his blip on Jay Leno about whether he was having a boy or girl… yeah, he definitely seems to be in the zone as far as the whole “becoming a dad again” thing goes… pretty much, he said that Susan has not had to deal with morning sickness and “she’s a trooper”…
dude, the two of them are going to be so great together in the realm of parenthood 😎 they work so well together everywhere else. Nothing but the best wishes their way
tee-hee… of course, Dave had to ask which person this has been the hardest one… because I do kinda see a little difference in Robert that may have to do with some sleepless nights, I suspect… but he blew it off and said that he’d come off really bad if he said it was him…

gotta respect a man who has the utmost respect for his gal 😎

so let’s see, what else…

ah, the past…

Dave asked Robert about a few movies where he “suspects” that he wasn’t doing it alone…

“Home for the holidays” came up… I’m thinking “oh shoot, here we go again”… I know the story backwards and forwards about Jodie Foster’s confrontation in the trailer… he said that he had no recollection of that, trying to avoid the questioning… “I’ve been told it was one of the most relaxing moments of the year”… he also said that he was having a blast, but there’s something wrong with the picture if, at the same time, everyone else is all concerned about you

“Air America” came up next… naturally I’m wondering a bit on that as well… because the movie was kinda intense in places, in ways I never expected… but nope, that’s Robert when he’s mellow
“I was a sober, non-smoking vegetarian and I was miserable”

then “Tropic Thunder” came up and he ended up doing a few accents… Dave was skewering the pitch, so Robert assisted “I played an Australian actor who played an African-American“… though I totally don’t get why that was on the list… as he’d been clean & sober since 2003, maybe earlier, I could be off by a year or two… but naturally he claims for the umpteenth time that it was the stupidest idea ever…

worked out for ya, dude, got an Oscar nomination…
but I was kinda expecting a little something something about him not winning… but that’d be kinda rude, I guess… “I lost to a dead guy” wouldn’t go over well with the audience

 

then after the commercial, as a tie-in to Matt Damon’s new movie “We bought a Zoo”… Dave was holding this collage of pictures of animals…
they are actually the animals Robert has on his & Susan’s horse ranch…

two cats, a goat, a bunch of alpaca (5-7) and those two horses that Jamie Foxx came him and Susan for his birthday… and hasn’t ridden them since his last appearance on Letterman a whole year ago… Robert, do you have a phobia or what? lol… he dismissed it saying “it’s not like they need to be ridden”…

hilariously, that was the tie-in for the scene they were going to show… a little bit of that scene where Sherlock protests riding on a horse and ends up taking the smallest one in the bunch… the trailer is absolutely hilarious

omg… and he totally slipped into his “Queen’s English” for a short part of the show…
supposedly since the times of “Air America,” he’d gone to a few sayounces (spelling?) with the Arthur Conan Doyle Spiritualists Society…
and he played it off like, you know, those con-artist fortune tellers who search for a name who links to a person in the room…

looking back, I don’t know how much of that was even legit, if he really did go to these things…

I don’t think they talked about all that much, now that I think about it. I’m racking my brain and coming up empty

I think I’ll condense my next entry later tomorrow morning… watch the first Sherlock Holmes film that afternoon… then in less than 24 hours, Jimmy Kimmel

I went into the guestroom thinking how cool of all this is… seeing him make all of these appearances… almost as if its a special time of year, it’s own holiday… I’d gotten into the meaty part of the week when he’s just going to be everywhere…

so exciting…

 

and a little aside, seeing as this is a Prince blog:

after being part of tavern trivia for a little over a year, FINALLY they had a Prince question…
which singer wrote a song with the lyrics “You don’t have to watch Dynasty to have an attitude”

This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , . Bookmark the permalink.