Sherlock 2: not what I expected but I’ll take it just the same ;)

I’ll try to get through this entry the best I can… and I mean that ambiguously
a) I’ll try to recount as much as I mentally can… as the movie ended about half an hour ago and
b) I’d hate to predict it, but there might be a time soon… some point during this entry… I might have to use the facilities to counteract this fit of nausea that’s ceased me up for a bit

down the road, I’m sure that I’ll watch the movie again and be able to appreciate and enjoy more of it.

Talk about a serious case of deja vu…
it seems that I didn’t… gotta keep it together… I said that I didn’t quite get the first Sherlock Holmes when I saw it in theaters, and the case remains the same.

kinda the way it is with JMac’s albums… I don’t like or get them the first time I listen to them and after that…

but I’m not going to say that the movie was a fiasco, a disaster, I want my money back, etc, etc. because that wasn’t the case at all…

I’ve had several different kinds of movie experiences as long as I’d been an avid moviegoer. There was maybe twice, possibly 3-4 times when a movie made me collapse in tears. The ones that I remember were:
Harry Potter & the Goblet of Fire (after Cedric got killed)
Remember Me (after Robert Pattinson got killed again)
Pokémon the first movie… okay, fine, I admit it… and like a complete fool too, I knew what was coming…

actually, this seems very tame compared to that, but I’d be lying if I said there wasn’t a couple of times when I was ready to collapse, could feel the walls caving in around me… falling victim to the uneasyness I was feeling…

I had said that “Air America” was a little intense in the unexpected way…
this was very much like that, but more reasons. I’d still see the movie again, I mean, I owe him that much 🙄 doing all this promotion and stuff

Karma’s what it is… I built this up so much only to find myself getting cut down to size…

[SPOILERS from this point forward so stop reading if you don’t want to know how it ends]

 

I had it all made. We were on time and everything, quite early in fact. I sat down with a few more interviews, the last one no doubt being the one I saw at the end of tavern trivia, and caught the end of… it was a helluv an interview, great fun… and even more hope in the back of my mind that another album will be… just will be

my eagerness then ended up getting me in the hugest of trouble…
we came to the movie around 1:13, went into the theater… the movie was going… I was afraid it had started already, like at 1pm instead of 1:30… I think I blocked a lot out, so I can’t quite name what I felt when I realized we’d walked into the end of the movie…
I stumbled out of there, hugging a wall… Watson had typed the end of “The Final Problem”… the story that ends with Sherlock & Moriarty disappearing down a cliff… so naturally I’m freaking out that he’s going to get killed in the end…

the biggest question in my mind, though… I know that a sequel is being written as I type (ugh, not feeling too well right)… was his still being alive going to be shown in the film or would it be THAT type of cliffer hanger where everyone is led to believe he’s dead and the movie closes…

Spoiler alert, yes… and I felt like the air had been let out of my balloon, my bubble burst… everything that made me excited and hopeful that I was going to enjoy the movie… it was all gone

if I had stuck around from the last minute or two, then maybe it would have put my mind at ease for the rest of the movie… but still…

yeah, yeah, more or less… he’s still alive, was incognito at Baker Street and added a question mark at the end of Watson’s paper

right now, I’m a mix of [exhale] ready to collapse in tears again or just the plain old nausea… I doubt at the moment its gonna get so bad that I’ll have to rush to the nearest toliet…

usually the best way to handle any kind of mass of emotion is to sleep it off and cry it off… after getting the waterworks out of the way, another something washed over me and I found myself feeling kinda ill

I’m trying to look at this logically and I don’t want to say that I wasted an entire year for nothing… there was a lot of redemption in the movie, moments I was getting into it… just when I was a nervous wreck once or twice, it felt all the most intense

Ebert set me off on the right foot this morning… he gave the movie 3.5 stars… much better than I expected… I don’t know what I’d give it right now and I think I’d need to sleep it off, wake up tomorrow morning and add my grade at the end of this entry… need a good night’s rest (something I haven’t quite had in a while… I was awake for 18 hours straight the other day, so clearly I’m feeling a little ) “sensitive… what you need is rest… my brother Mycroft has a home in the country, beautiful grounds…”

yeah, something like that… [adding quotation marks]

I knew first of all that I couldn’t go into the movie trying to see EVERYTHING that he sees and furthermore, after seeing the movie… okay, a little clarity is setting in, feels all right… though I’m far from feeling perfectly fine
there are a couple scenes where I don’t think I’d be able to see the clues and put the pieces together.

now that I think about it… yes… I still think it was worth a Golden Globe nomination, though probably not an Oscar… this year’s far too competitive

was it better than the original as a couple of people (including Sherlock himself) have said?
I can’t say for sure at the moment… I’m feeling pretty run-down and tired from the whole thing… there was just way too much action in some points for me to keep my equilibrium, my balance…

the one thing that kinda caught me off guard were all of the trailers in the beginning of the movie… I didn’t think to keep track of all of them… there were a couple new ones…
The Grey One (starring Liam Neeson)
another Sacha Baron Cohen movie (that had me tilting my head, trying to figure out WTF)
the newest Underworld movie (which I’d seen one before… the trailer)

and to cap it all off, the newest “Dark Knight” trailer… :SIGH:

do I really have to say it?

I don’t care if this is also a Warner Bros movie… you have Iron-Man himself, Tony Stark in this movie and you couldn’t have shown the trailer for “Avengers”… how in god’s name is that possible?

It felt like a slap in the face really… from the almighty DC universe 🙄

the movie started kind of an odd way… man, the thing that really sucked about the whole thing was that the trailers took away everything I came into today with… the excitment, the anticipation of it that I’d been keeping locked up inside for nearly a year now… everything has led to this point, so of course I’m thinking “what am I going to do now?” as if my life was building up to this moment and I have nowhere left to go

man, it was a LONG movie… never quite knew how long it was going to take. I felt it in places yesterday during some of the action/battle scenes… they seemed endless and in this movie, it was pretty much the same story with a lot of the action scenes

Irene Adler has more or less, a cameo in this…
she appears in the beginning, Sherlock is in disguise, trying to intercept a package from her… lol… of course, he thinks these 3 (4) thugs are after her and he wants to protect her when really, they were after him…
there were a couple Holmes-a-vision scenes and… my God… it makes the last movie look like nothing (okay, I’m starting to get a little euphoric, feeling a bit better already… it does help to talk about these things)… I would read the stories and Sherlock would look even more extraordinary than Robert’s interpetation of him…

shoot, I’m dizzy just thinking about how he orchestrated the rest of that fight scene… but what had me confused, strangely enough… I know that face rather well, but all of his actions, his mannerisms, this speech… they were oddly similar to Captain Jack Sparrow… I felt like it was either a homage or otherwise inspired by Johnny Depp… either that, or I was manically disassociating because those two happen to be my favorite actors…
except I didn’t go the extra mile with Johnny Depp… the extra mile to psychosis and fandom, needing to know every detail I can get about him…

the next scene… Irene delivers the package, but Sherlock’s right there… it was a bomb… he disarmed one trigger and had to clear the room to get rid of it… earlier on, he took a note out of the package that leads him to his next rendezvous… but first, he throws the bomb into a sarcofagous to be auctioned… and I let out a little scream when it goes off because I think it’s going to be a huge bomb… 🙄 I was way too jumpy

then Irene has a rendez-vous with Moriarty, who certainly knows how to clear a room… his presence and the relationship the two of them had in the previous movie was extremely evident here… he decides to tie up a loose end since she’s succumbed to her feelings for Sherlock… strangely enough, I don’t remember if she drank the tea offered to her because one way or another, that was the last we saw of her in the movie

as if I thought it was strange enough that she and Sherlock were acting lovey-dovey at a couple points before her demise… I guess it was all an act

then enters Watson and the movie feels like its where it should be… strangely enough, it was like the person who wrote the introduction in the Sherlock Holmes volumes… Watson’s absences in the stories he isn’t narrating is extremely noticeable… that chemistry that the two of them have definitely was the missing ingredient in the movie so far…

okay… so Watson arrives back at Baker’s street to find the study filled a jungle… yeah, I’m totally guessing that’s typical and why not… [and I’ll answer the next question, I don’t think I’ll be able to do a complete retelling of the movie… there’s only so much I remember… the waterworks are most definitely beyond me now, but the lump in my throat and the bit of nausea, that’s still kinda there]

haha… I assume that he started growing the plants to figure out the contents of the poison dart he found in the scuffle he had with the 4 men… but he launched a couple at Watson who was hiding behind a newspaper…
I saw him by the window, but of course, I fell for one of Sherlock’s older tricks (bringing brought to screen for the first time)… it was a wax-waden bust of him when he was really dressed in camoflague to blend into one part of his walls…

Robert said there’d be more disguises in this movie…
I counted at least 7… possibly 8, kinda blinked in one scene where everything was being explained

he wore another one to be on the down-low while he and Watson went to their next location… which Watson believes to be for his “stag party”… I’m sure the British equalivant of the bachelor party… the two of them (like the old “married” couple they are) argue their different takes on marriage, which ends with Sherlock saying that it’s better to die alone than to live in the slavery of marriage, lol

here we meet Mycroft Holmes for the first time… and having the two of them together was pretty extraordinary… there is a reason why Sherlock says that Mycroft’s intellect is greater than his… the only difference is that he doesn’t have the desire to do anything with it, an under… utilized… that’s right… underutilized gift (shoot, that’s a big word, lol)

they go this place that, Watson notices, lacks anyone he actually knows… seeming to be under the impression that his rubgy buddies and fellow med students would be there too…

actually, Sherlock’s there for a social business call… we meet our new female star, Noomi Rapace… whose character I can’t even remember the name of at the moment…

Watson, meanwhile, is gambling like a mad-man… something that Sherlock tries to get him out of, but Watson will have none of that… since he seems to have forgotten to throw him that stag party (stag pa-ty… tee-hee, cute British accent)… anyway…

Sherlock tells the girl’s fortune and realizes that there’s an assasin there waiting to kill her (I saw him go in there, but not come out… I did notice that)… we go into Holmes-a-vision again, but this time, she gets in the way of it, throwing daggers at the guy that she kept in her corset…
the first massive fight scene (the one before that was just a warm-up, trust me) takes place here… going all over that particular place with twists at every turn… like seriously, it was insane, but the good kind, kept you guessing all the way through

so maybe 15 minutes later (it feels like 20 and could be as less as 10, lol)… well, Sherlock had bumped into Watson, which scattered his winnings all over the floor…
Watson comes into the room, asking what the hell happened… :falloff: Jude’s so cute and funny when he’s totally drunk

oh, and the slip of the tongue on Robert’s part happens as he’s making the toast to “Dr. John Watson”… although he slips a different name in the middle of John & Watson that I can’t remember… he’s looking elsewhere, the canopy where he meets the girl

much to his credit, though, I gotta commend him for this.
As much as Sherlock is opposed to Watson getting married, he does the honorable thing and makes sure he gets to the wedding on time… though with a few bumps and bruises here and there. You’d think he was the type of person who’d work to prevent this, but no, he has a great sense of decency and knows he has to let Watson go

doesn’t last long, though…
he meets Moriarty shortly after and finds that he sent a couple people to go after Watson…

so we have the train scene… a LOT of insanity here and it goes beyond Sherlock’s lamest disguise… there’s a little bit of backtracking that goes on here to explain his methods later on, but dude, how did he know to do all that to put a wrench into the works?

he throws Mary off the train, only for her to be intercepted by his brother, who’s going to look after her… I didn’t think too much of that except to keep her out of harm’s way… but when that was explained, blew my mind… I love the unexpected

oh yeah, I’m starting to feel a lot better now on all accounts… 🙄 but I’m sure my mom’s gonna talk about me in a very condenscing sort of way when we go to talk to people about how we liked the movie… I’m sure that knowing things as I do now that it’ll be a lot easier to swallow the next time, but my god… was it long…

cool… Sherlock brought in a million dollars from midnight showings alone… not bad at all

let’s see… of course, Watson’s all bent out of shape about how things turned out and Sherlock vows that if he works with him on this last case, he’ll never bother him again :falloff:

yeah, it’s definitely the type of thing that helps to take a step back and break it down piece by piece to trully get it

aside from the distraction of the odd disguise choice, the train scene was as good as they built it up to be… but it was pretty insane how Sherlock concocted all of those explosions in the artillery of the hunting party

okay, I’ve got a few blanks here to fill… they came across the girl and her fellow gypsies in Paris…
there’s a peace summit at the hotel at the time, but they hear that the next bomb is going to be placed at a wine cellar the girl’s brother Rene used to work at

and it’s more than a little trippy that Sherlock completely miscalcuated the next hit… it would be at the peace summit, to cover the tracks of the murder of one individual… I think it was changed at the last minute because Moriarty realized that there was a better angle to place his sniper riftle for the shot

it was around this part where I could feel myself falling to pieces, my world crumbling from the inside out… so it was hard (right now, its kinda surreal remembering that… I think my mind is starting to repress a lot of the unpleasantness left behind) to watch the next couple scenes with enjoyment…
although, c’mon… seeing Sherlock on horseback is nothing short of comical… that teeny tiny pony

and I draw a blank here too… in conjuction with my condition… don’t know how/why it got to be at the point that it was
maybe because the danger was extremely tangible… I mean, Moriarty is SCARY sharp… “just as brilliant as you are and infinitely more devious”… Irene Adler wasn’t kidding, she was deadly serious about that…

the threat was tangible in the story, for sure, but not quite like this. although at the end of reading it yesterday, even though I knew how the next story went, I was a tad emotional, but mastered myself in no time at all (and I didn’t have to turn the page to make that happen)

I’ll most definitely go into things pretty heavily come next February… I’m off to happy hour in half an hour, roughly, hopefully I finish this entry by then… but it’ll be far from going there the day after “Less than Zero” when I definitely wasn’t feeling all that great, but I doubt anyone could tell the difference. I have such a reserved, somber outer appearance to begin with

right now, I can recall the movie as if its no big deal and the way I put it will be to better the memory of it. But I have a sneaking feeling that deep down, if I get within a wavelength of it, it could set me off… as if I’m a sheet of glass that just got glued together again and one little dent could send me up the Thames

I don’t often go into movies anymore without getting analytical about them… Shawkshank was easy, no doubt about it… but everything else, I think I was getting to the point where I analyzed how I felt every step of the way and if something didn’t work right, I’d wait until the end to see if it justifies the means…

I had meant to go into this movie with the best of intentions… having become such an “expert” on all the material… between the books and just RDJ in general… I could go in and enjoy myself, picking out what works for me and what doesn’t

I tried to view it as a whole, as a critic, as a moviegoer, none of that worked… and I feel this permanent pit in my stomach where the pieces don’t quite fit together in my mentality

at the moment, I’m only recalling this really difficult scene to get through because it was just that… well, frightening… and it was kinda difficult cuz the screen go a little disjointed for some reason and it took them a good 20 minutes to finally fix it…

plain and simple, Sherlock got himself into a pretty compromising position with Moriarty… I couldn’t even tell (maybe due to the screen being disjointed) where he was being held off the ground… it looked like he was being hanged but he was probably just hung on a hook that really took its toll on his shoulder, though I suspect that it was meant to be play out as a noose…

all of the torture was to figure out where Watson sent the telegram to… I guess it was instructions for Mycroft… for the great reveal that happens later on… he and Mary were working together to crack codes and such

meanwhile, Watson is in a bit of a showdown with Moriarty’s hired gun, Colonol Sebstain Moran… and finally get the artiliery to get the better of him… which prompts a building to fall onto of the other scene going on…

Sherlock’s all banged up from the experience, but appears to be fine… man, that was scary… Moriarty was extremely threatening here as if he was going to off him there and there

then that connects to another scene, the last one I remember seeing in all the trailers (at least at the moment)… where everyone’s running through the woods to get away from the gunmen and there’s this huge explosion, a lot of stop & start photography…
and again, it ends on a bit of a sore note… ah, I can feel myself seizing up a bit just recalling it…

Sherlock stopped breathing, but luckily he gave Watson a wedding gift that would end up saving his life… I’m guessing a needle full of adrenaline…
ah, like when was it all going to end?

next scene at the ice palace… or at least it looks that way… here, they meet up with Mycroft again, it’s a peace summit in Switzerland… they locate the girl’s brother (her and Watson) while Sherlock goes to play chess with Morarity

this is where everything was coming together… first with the world’s craziest chess game… they started playing but they went into dialogue about how things are going to end up turning out…

after dancing around the room with the girl and Watson (tee-hee… they’re so cute together), Sherlock surveys everyone there and has Watson take over with the final words of “you know my methods…”

everything goes down in there, the two of them continue their chess game by calling out there moves aloud… now that’s something I’m definitely never going to be able to piece together even if I see the movie 100 times…

then after that, in Holmes-a-vision mode, Sherlock goes through what would be the final showdown between him and Moriarty, how every move is going to work out in the duel…
but the scariest part is where Moriarty intercedes on Sherlock’s mental monologue, playing out his methods of attack which ends with him throwing Sherlock off the cliff

neither come to pass, but Sherlock kinda realizes that to end this, he needs to take him down with him… Watson sees the two of them fall into nothingness and…

must say, that was extremely anti-climatic… if not surreal… like I didn’t know if I was buying it… thinking maybe it looked like a cop-out to me more than anything else…

and maybe I got more mental than I ever had in saying this… in the parts of the movie where I was feeling extremely ill-at-ease… my eyes on his eyes, trying to find something in them that was a reassuring presence, that he knew everything was going to work out and he’d be okay
and a little tish-tosh about trusting him and wanting to see that he’s not going to let me down…

and that works on a couple of levels… naturally 🙄 yeah, I’m more mental than I’d ever been

I’m not going to be able to get a handle on all the details, but I definitely found some of the important ones… the assasin going into the room but not coming out…
and after writing “The End” Watson opens a package with the most ununsual contrapation… which happened to be Mycroft’s…
Sherlock was using it in Switzerland, his own source of pure oxygen… which definitely seemed to take the edge off after a pretty rough day… getting struck up, a builiding falling on him, running through the woods, nearly dying…

Sherlock’s a bit of a klepto, isn’t he? or at least has the makings of an excellent criminal (i.e. pick-pocket)… I dunno… for all I know, Sherlock could have sent that… or Mycroft could have sent it on his orders… that would be his cue to come out of hiding, so on and on…

but yeah, much in homage to the camoflaguing Sherlock did in the beginning of the movie… he did the same thing again…

I’m sure after a few more viewings, I might see that the movie is as good as the original… right now, I can’t say that for sure… I don’t think I liked it better, although the jokes were a bit funnier in this one

“get that out of my face, it’s not in your face its in my hand, get what’s in your hand out of my face”

they did that for the trailers but that’s all it was… no need to do that joke again

Watson got more opportunities to shine here too… I love the gambling scene where he ends up completely plastered

for sure, Robert upped his game by making Sherlock Holmes the super-human that he is in the books… I was even more pleased with his performance this time around, although I can’t say the storyline was as good as the first one…

it just got a little convulated after a while and it felt a little too long in places

at the end of the day, I’ll give it to you straight.

at the current time, Mr. Downey… I cannot say I agree with your belief that this is better than the original film
as an action movie, it had a lot of action, but maybe a little too much… a little too fast-paced in places without a lot of slow scenes to even it out…
as a comedy, there are better jokes, definitely
the cast was all really good, at the top of their game

and right now, I guess, I can say that I give the movie a B…
I might bump that up to a B+ after a certain point, but right now, it was just way too much to take it at once…

yeah, I can take on and on moments of interviews on various mediums, but I can’t handle a 2 hour action/adventure movie… that’s kinda messed up

I did say months ago that I really had come to prefer seeing the interviews than him in his movies… and I thought that reason was cuz I saw them way too many times and the effects have worn off…

great characters, but not the best plot/screenplay

one more small thing: Ebert wrote a comment that intrigued me about the movie… it was as if he didn’t see the first movie at all because it was so 2 years ago… something to effect of not what you’d expect to see from Sherlock Holmes…

like, hello… the first movie was nothing like the original misconceptions either

This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , . Bookmark the permalink.