Feeling his medicine’s side-effect

I’m going to be extremely careful with my entries for the next couple days. I don’t think I’d experienced this polarized sensation before, but yeah… a side-effect of my brand of Substance D is bi-polar disorder. I change my mind every couple minutes, if not every couple hours… whether I feel good about this or that… whether I want to rush to the theater to see the movie again… whether I want to start counting days to when the Blu-ray/combo pack comes out…

or maybe part of my uneasyness is down to the fact I didn’t go there on my own this time. The last Downey film in theaters was “Due Date,” where I was in a theater with maybe 2 other people, who happened to be together, boyfriend & girlfriend.
I’d taken this whole thing to the point of isolation… I really ought to not be so self-conscious over all this. With Prince, it’s one thing. I’m worried about people misunderstanding him. I also don’t want it to see like my world revolves around a couple other people… that maybe I have a problem :shrug: that isn’t to say I’m not going to admit I have problems

For the moment, I’m feeling a mix of distrust I’d feel the same again, a little down because my attempt at writing that “speed-dating” storyline completely fell apart… while I’m wanting to hear, simultenaously, depending on the time of day… that the movie did well or it sucked in the box office… all of the comments on IMDB were right, people say things are flops way too early and it’s just before Christmas weekend… WB predicts it’ll pick back up

and as Mr. Downey said “we wouldn’t be out here selling soap for something we didn’t believe him”… he said that about “Due Date” and of course he’s head over heels for this project cuz it gave him the opportunity to work with Jude again, literally his partner in crime-fighting

earlier today, I conceded to a few points, recalling the parts of the movie that worked for me immensely, namely: the train scene, the stag party/wedding scene, the horse scene… and a few other random things

I guess now my computer desk is going to become a new kind of “shrine” ๐Ÿ™„ I have my Prince shrine by my boombox… all of his albums and movies stacked in their little piles here and there… I doubt there will be any more articles of him coming out anytime soon, but just for… I dunno… just to give me something to think about, I clipped out the other review in today’s paper that gave it 2.5 stars…

the guilty parties: Moriarty and how he was handled in the movie (pretty much said that Robert shoulda suckerpunched him real easily)
and I saw the word “overlong” in there…

I remember real well (well, duh, it’s still fresh) that going into or during the action scenes, I felt a serious disconnect. Maybe because I didn’t know what to expect and I was simultaneously trying to do what I said I wouldn’t attempt (analyzing it as it goes)…
most noteable was going into the wine cellar and later scrambling when they realized they were in the wrong place… felt a little bit of lethargy during one part of the stag party sequence… as in “where was this going, when was it going to end”… like seriously, endless fight scenes were taken to a higher level… time-wise

but everything that worked, the chemistry between the two guys and heck, any article that says how great Robert is, of course I’m in favor of

I could have written a blog last night, but everything in me was so convulated… for no apparent reason, I collapsed in tears… in much a similiar fashion to maybe once or twice when I was confronted with retellings of his past, the Oprah appearance & the biography I rewatched yesterday… but it lasted a bit longer than I expected… maybe 10 minutes…
so I wrote about Jess having somewhat of a breakdown, saying she’d never love anyone else like RJ, etc, etc.

I ended the night, even after my bit of animรฉ (Bleach looks like its about to take a good turning point), I listened to his album to give me a bit of ground to stand on…
needless to say, it wasn’t a waste of time… there were moments, sparks where the connection was still there…

right now I’m even considering… well, I’ll see how I’m doing in an hour from now… “Chances are” is on ABC so I could bunk out in the guestroom to watch…

several things can be to blame here… either I overdid it, I didn’t know a lot of the movie going into it (though I was hell-bent on not spoiling too much of it, I like surprises that just make me smile… much like seeing the trailers with Mycroft in full profile and his remark about horses)… or just maybe… eh… something about how Robert Downey Jr. comes off to me now… these days, there is something that isn’t quite compatible… sure, he hasn’t looked better (although “Ally McBeal” and all of 2005 are tough contenders), but the energy is different…

and all of this was coming off another appearance, a surprise one at that at the Graham Norton Show… saw him and Jude listened in the info, so I watched it 10pm last night…
I’ll have to put an end to the mind games now cuz there were two things that made me suspicious he’d read comments (great, now I’m paranoid)… his sweater was just to screw with me and there was a segment at the end of the show where they showed a person on a monitor who’d talk until Graham thought they had enough time to talk…

the first of the two people was a girl that was almost scarily similar to me… not sure if she freaked me out (like looking in a mirror almost) or his expression/reaction freaked me out… she said that she loved RDJ more than life itself… (during which he had this expression on his face that seemed on edge, strangely enough… if not taken off guard completely, skeptical)… and when she was distracted by a poster of him on the side of a bus, she bumped into someone on a bicycle

right now, for whatever reason, it’s getting really hot in here… must be a hot flash (PMS is a bitch)… another reason why I ought to keep this entry as short as I can before I really regret saying something negative about him…
nor do I want to continue saying that everything is fine, trying to rationalize everything where I’m really hiding that something feels off

I’ll go through a search geared towards his most recent YouTube postings and see where to go from there…

in the meantime, a few things I need to really post on this blog so I can just say it:

the Giants kinda blew it ๐Ÿ˜• and Tim Tebow & the Broncos were kinda brought to a screeching halt…

but on the upswing,

Eagles won… probably their highest scoring game all season… LeSean McCoy now holding a new team record for number of touchdowns in a season

Colts finally won a game… against the Tennessee Titans no less, I used to think that team was such a threat when it came to the Colts. They’d spoiled a couple of playoffs or games in general…

and at last, part of me can rest in peace… The Packers lost a game and are no longer undefeated… I was getting real worried there for a while and I sure didn’t think this morning that KC would be the team to do it…

I don’t think it’s a complete fluke ๐Ÿ˜• I mean the defense has been weakening and allowing more points these past couple weeks… Aaron Rodgers was in the whole game, so clearly they weren’t giving up that easily.
My guess, Kyle Orton just needed the right team around him to succeed and the chemistry between him and the Chiefs… I’d never seen anything like it. Of the last 2-3 minutes of the game I caught, it was pretty unbelievable. The Giants couldn’t get away with that a couple weeks ago… but I guess, dominating most of the game comes in handy.

Obviously, the play-offs are still going to happen, but it’ll at least crack down the momentum a bit.

let’s see… I guess it’s a good time to talk about the playoffs (tee-hee… I’m always thinking about that one coach in the Coors light commercials)…

I think last week, I thought Francisco would be the NFC team… but I’m really liking the Saints right now, gaining a lot of momentum… plus Drew Brees is just over 300 yards away from breaking Dan Marino’s record for passing yards in a season…

AFC… it’s anyone’s game… Pittsburgh is looking good (I’ll see tomorrow, I guess… Francisco’s a tough customer)… I woulda said the Ravens a couple hours ago (before I saw how this game was going)…

the Patriots seem to be the logical choice… and if its Tom Brady vs. Drew Brees, eh… winner takes all, I guess…

as for the NFC East… the ball’s in everyone’s court, anyone could get into the playoffs… but at the moment, I don’t think any of them are Super Bowl ready, let alone play-off ready

all I really did to celebrate was post it on my Facebook status… my folks asked if I emailed my aunt’s boyfriend about it… apparently he didn’t know how the game ended or isn’t communicating to my aunt at this time, she didn’t know that the game ended that way…

thing is, I could say that the team’s horrible because they lost a single game… but that’d be a cheap shot, plus it wouldn’t be true…

actually, my reasoning is that I have to pick my battles with this guy… and the playing conditions aren’t favorable… the Giants lost around that time, so I didn’t have a bargaining chip to work with… I could say this or that and he could shoot back and say that my team didn’t do any better…

and even the Eagles winning today wouldn’t be enough for bragging rights, even if I wanted to go that route… I really don’t have the appetite for it. I’m just glad that… ah what’s that word… race for the perfect season is finally over… now we can focus on the more important things, like finding out who’s going to make the playoffs…

for all anyone knows, it could be a wild card that walks away with the Lombardi trophy again ๐Ÿ˜Ž

This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged . Bookmark the permalink.