reliving some Christmas magic [with lots of side-tracking]

I found myself in another rough night last night… I gotta stop going through all this… and I think today might be the start of things getting a little better… a little bit at a time, anyways :shrug:

Now I came across a bunch of interesting videos on YouTube, curious footage… the most curious of them all… Ben Stiller being presented the Charlie Chaplin award of Excellence for Comedy (something like that) by… well, obviously you know who… the guy who played him and got the Oscar-nomination for it…
dammit, I’m starting to think that that was the best chance Mr. Downey had of getting that coveted Oscar… but yeah, he wasn’t quite at his best at age 26, I can fully attest to that 😉 trust me

yep, the more I think about it, the more Sherlock Holmes came off as Captain Jack Sparrow in the beginning of Sherlock 2… there was a certain whimsical-ness about him…
I think I’m getting to the point where I can stop replaying the scenes in my head, what worked and what didn’t…

I’ve got myself a bit of a choice that I gotta make in 3 weeks when my folks are away… when they ask if I want access to my mom’s car, I’ll say yes for a change… 🙄 my sister and I can go to McDonald’s one night (I’ve been craving fast food like mad lately)… but I’ll leave myself the option of maybe sneaking off to the movies to rewatch it… maybe even getting the theater to myself so it’ll be just like what I do on YouTube all night… just on a bigger screen

I’ll leave it all on the table, though. Supposing I forget, supposing I’m not up to it, I’ll have that idea out there for later on… and whatever happens, happens… I’ll just be counting the days down to April… I’m assuming the blu-ray will come out 4 months after the theatrical release… depending on how well it does not that I want the movie to fail in the box office so I can watch it again earlier…

having things planned in advance to look forward to definitely helps… although last night, it didn’t stave an uneasyness about my situation of non-activity just overcoming me… it was pretty painful to go through that feeling of worthlessness all over again

what’s kinda getting worse is that I’m repeating myself in “Back to December”… at least really starting to get repetitive… I think that I’ll wait until Friday before I write the next chapter… or if inspiration strikes beforehand, so be it… but it has to be a geniune bit of inspiration, not because I have to, but cuz I want to.
I can only repeat things before I get self-conscious about them so many times…
I’m not quite sure how or where, but he’ll step back in and magically everything’s going to be fine

yeah, it’s a load of BS, but it’s my story… sue me for wanting miraclously happy endings all the time

I’m a bit of a masochist when I write, but usually I have the other characters going through their grieving and the trials of whatever they gotta do… that’s why I dislike doing first person sometimes, especially when its a female protagonist, too much of myself goes into them and I get self-conscious about that… everyone thinking I’m some kind of drama queen… well, yeah, of course I am 🙄
just saying that my stories haven’t felt really genuine when my character is the one going through all the depression and crap… I managed to nail down Julian for one story, did my best job trying to get into his head, making some changes here and there so it’s not quite the same story, but yeah, I think that turned out extremely well… a little better than my attempt at Larry Paul because, geesh, was my character pathetic? As if she couldn’t function with him, found some type of functionality and when he came back, well… I’d gone into it on this blog a couple times

Larry Paul was probably the perfect guy, the perfect boyfriend… wouldn’t find anyone better than that… and yeah, it is a tall order to ask for that kind of perfection even though it does come with a little baggage… a son, his mom who’s still in love with him, and him being friendly with his ex-wife… that last part actually wasn’t too bad, but it was Sam’s mom that got under my skin, wanting to use Sam to steal Larry away from Ally… that was just LOW

then there’s Harry Lockhart, a thief with a good heart and a good sense of judgement, definitely a respect for women, despite a little perversion here and there (hey, he’s a guy, what do u expect?)…
IMDB has been great the past couple days. In addition to them posting “50 lessons u will learn from Harry Potter” yesterday, they posted two all too familiar quotes… one from The Kid “well for starters, you have to purify yourself in the waters of Lake Minnetonka”

and speaking of Harry Lockhart, I read yesterday “it’s hard to believe it’s been a year since me and Harmony changed the world. And we didn’t mean to and didn’t last long. A thing like that can’t”

I nearly fell out of my chair cuz I was laughing so hard… like “I know him, I know him” :falloff:

where I’m going with this is pretty much comparing a couple times in his life where I thought of him as… phew… he just looks amazing…
I’ve said without thinking that he looks finer now than he ever did… but I can’t be 100% positive… he definitely hasn’t looked happier, I’ll give him that…
the newest Downey definitely has been giving him a bit of a glow too… saw footage of the premiere of Sherlock 2 and Susan’s pudged out a little bit… but she still looks beautiful what I can say, as much as I love the guy, I love them together and I definitely wouldn’t want my fanaticism to get in the way of that

I got out there fantasizing yesterday…as if it was bad enough that I posted on Facebook
“if I found Sherlock Holmes under my tree, the first thing he would do is explain how he got there and who we all are”… taken directly from the first movie when he figures out not only who bailed him out of jail but where he is… but it helps to know London like the back of your hand

that’s one thing I picked up about Sherlock right away… he knows his city THAT well where he could be blindfolded and still make sense out of where he is
it all comes with the territory of keeping his carnal knowledge to a couple topics… that whole theory about using 10% of our brains… I think he stores up “useless” information” in 1% and uses the other 99% to do what he does so well

perhaps the most interesting comment he made about the movie last night…
a couple of people have come up to him (13 year olds, I believe) and said they loved the movie and cuz of that, read the books and loved the books

:raising hand:

back to Ben Stiller, though, that was a helluv an intro Robert gave him… I mean, it was just like his Golden Globe acceptence speech, being very narsacsistic, making it about him… I guess saying that Ben hasn’t connected him since Tropic Thunder and that movie could have ended his career

I was very tempted to say aloud “yeah, and all those arrests, incareractions and jail time didn’t”… well, obviously that came to mine… he didn’t say it, but it’s good that he’s sticking to the present

in fact, he got very generous with his comments later… talking about the first scene they shot together (well, via the movie itself), where Kirk Lazurus is crying and dribbling and Tugg Speedman can’t cry… they were running through the scene a bunch of times, things weren’t quite right, he was checking the monitors between takes, doing this and that… and Robert gave him the hugest compliment he could, which is saying a lot from the guy who knows Charlie Chaplin better than anyone… that the way Ben Stiller handled the directing of the movie reminded him so much of the way Chaplin did it and as a comedian, he’s the closest thing to being what Charlie Chaplin was…

now I’m very hesitant to disagree about that… Ben Stiller’s had some good comedic roles, but he isn’t the best… nowhere NEAR the best… and as I said previously, a lot of his characters are JERKS….
but I think that of all of them, aside from maybe Something about Mary and Meet the Parents, I gotta see Starsky & Hutch again… mainly cuz Todd Philips directed it… hey, why not? after seeing The Hangover & Due Date a bunch of times, that dude is an up & comer for SURE when it comes to the buddy movie comedies

by the way, happy belated birthday Todd Philips (turned 41 yesterday)

yeah, definitely the more I see Charlie Chaplin’s work, the more I disbelieve anyone’s going to compare to it…
now supposing that they did more of that in the biopic, I’d have something to  compare it with, but no, all I got is the first scene The Tramp shoots for Mr. Sennett (Seneck?)… which is totally original, I have yet to find anything like that in his films…

I mean, I’m sure I know the answer if I told him this… he’d say that if I wanted to see Chaplin in action, to watch his films… and I guess that was the whole trick of the movie, to watch greatness back in the day when all it required with atmosphere-creating piano, physical comedy and body language…
a little too much of the movie is on the relationships, the scandals, more than putting together his films… the only film he really worked on putting together was “The Great Dictator”

roughly in the first 6 months of this crazy time in my life, I’d seen the biopic six times… and I think enough is enough… it’s the kind of thing I really only ought to see once a year… maybe even every couple years…

considering its a bit of a Christmas movie 😕 “Kiss Kiss Bang Bang” is something I’m setting aside from Sunday night (whoa, its really this next Sunday, unbelievable)… ill see how I feel at the end of the day and if it’s really calling to me, I’m in the mood, etc, etc.

it’s too funny in an ironic way that Lethal Weapon’s been on TV a dozen times this month and now I own it so I don’t need to wait around for it… that’s a Christmas movie TV…

umm… Shane Black… question, you’re not setting up Iron-Man 3 to start during the Christmas season too, are you? I’m starting to see a pattern with your movies, my friend 😉

not that there’s anything wrong with that… that guy’s a genius when it comes to writing off-beat comedies, things you don’t quite expect to see in movies… I mean, in the scripts, he writes these things that the characters are saying that you don’t expect them to talk about in movies… about the details…
it’s along the same lines of “Pulp Fiction”… the first conversation between John Travolta & Samuel L. Jackson

who has most definitely coming one of my favorite actors this year, the dude’s in so many cool movies and I didn’t even need him being Nick Fury to convince me to give him a chance… he’s just everywhere, that’s why he’s the highest earning career actor…
and oddly, his birthday is today… dude looks great for 63

a couple of nights ago, I kinda realized (rather stupidly, one of those “duh” moments) that Robert’s a couple months from turning 47… and I’d just gotten used to him being 46…
I’m not even used to being 25 yet and for the moment, I’m not liking it a whole lot

well, except for my mind drifting down R-rated territory because of a couple movies, that’s been extremely interesting that I’m pushing my own boundaries like that

naturally there’s a lot of side-tracking on my blog… but today’s definitely among the many days where I appreciate RDJ helping me procrastinate.

And I think that maybe this is the start of me feeling better, starting to come around a bit… shelving Sherlock 2 as a subject for a couple weeks, if not a couple months

let’s see… Christmas is about enjoying the little things because they’re what I get nostalgic about… sometimes I become a control freak at the same time… like how all of my Christmas songs have to be my favorite version and I simply can’t get into them the same way

haha…
a year ago, well more than that, I printed out the lyrics for Emmet Otter’s Jubilee Jugband Christmas (man, it was hard not to type “Jughead” instead of “Jugband”… that’s how Prince has affected my life despite the fact I haven’t spoken to him in a while… what the hell… haven’t listened to him in a while… the fingers were typing away and I couldn’t stop ’em)… maybe I meant to say I haven’t spoken ABOUT him in a while

and I think I kinda neglected them for a long time… but I always knew I had the lyrics printed on two sides of a sheet of paper… I remembered some lyrics, but not all there are some great songs in that…
Jim Henson sure knows how to make Christmas homey and bring it close to home… DETAILS are everything in that from the little marionettes (it’s so cute during the scene with the slide, the only one where you can see all those strings… LOTS of strings… I totally believe that they’re real characters and not just puppets) to every little sound effect, all the birds, especially when it comes to finding the right notes to end the songs…

I think the strangest thing in there… there’s a talent contest that Emmett & his ma enter with the intention of using the prize money to get each other something special for Christmas… they both do great in their acts…then the Riverbottom gang comes in and performs this rock song that just screams 80’s… and they end up winning the talent contest

one of the judges, Doc Bullfrog says that the gang had that little something extra that the judges were looking for in the winner…
now, I’m crazy about the 80’s, obviously… but man, I never thought I’d hate seeing the incoming of rock n’ roll making the folk music & jugbands look obselote

not to say that I hated the rock n’ roll song… in fact, it was too good to hate… its just you spend the whole time routing for the main characters and the bullies end up winning

transcending reality is quite the interesting thing

then afterwards, there were a couple of Disney shorts on Family Channel…. they played on the recorded VHS before “Mickey’s Christmas Carol”… which I don’t think I want to see this year… that’s one of those Christmas specials that has kinda turned me into a blubbering idiot the past couple years… mainly in the theme song and naturally the graveyard scene…
I also gotta add that detail at the end, where Pete is revealed as the ghost of Christmas future and he throws Scrooge into his grave…

I’d gone into a few examples lately about how adult Disney can be sometimes… there’s a coffin in the bottom of the pit that opens, revealing lots of red smoke and fire… that’s Disney’s interpretation of HELL… now that is frickin’ scary, man… when you really think about it… I mean, a couple versions I’d seen of The Christmas Carol, they didn’t go that extra mile,  they show a gravestone…

we were watching part of Mr. Magoo’s version and my mom made the funniest comment when they did the gravestone “yeah, and how far in the future is this, cuz you’re going to die someday anyway”… now that’s hilarious

The Christmas Carol is a great story, yet a couple of versions make me a little too sentiment… and they so happen to be my favorites… Muppet Christmas Carol has two moments where I’m just overcome…
it’s a bit of a musical :shrug: so there are a bunch of songs…
the goodbye/break-up song that Belle sings to Scrooge… man, it makes Rizzo cry and makes me cry it’s so simple but “the love is gone” being repeated over and over again, ahh… I can’t stand it…

and of course, with Kermit’s nephew Robin playing Tiny Tim…ahh… he’s such a great Tiny Tim…I hate when he dies in the future

now, im not sure where I heard this… if it was that TCM special where they were talking about all kinds of Christmas movies by theme… or if it was Mr. Magoo…
but they said that Tiny Tim was crippled and suffering from tuberclusosis…. WHOA… I didn’t know they picked out an actual disease that he had… and that was a huge thing back then too… there really wasn’t any cure, or at least not much of one, back then

anyway… a lot of these cartoons… boy, I REALLY got sidetracked there…
they were old, I mean, they were around, I believe, in the 50’s… came out in the 50’s…
maybe even the 40’s…
from playing Kingdom Hearts all those times, I know the latest Mickey’s voice quite well… in “Pluto’s Christmas tree,” it’s really high
I also find myself fascinated every time how much more of Donald I can understand… it used to be that I couldn’t understand a single word

in his “Snowball fight” cartoon, he keeps calling his nephews “you little devils”… like whoa, nice language :falloff: it’s a great cartoon, full of laughs…

a little something, something… I’d been to Disney world twice… well, the 2nd time we just did the Animal Kingdom (brand new that year)… Disney Land once…
my favorite Disney character has always been Donald Duck… I can’t quite know why, that’s just something that’s always been… I never saw him any of the times I went… that’s a bucket list item for sure 😎 a picture with Donald Duck at Disney World

after that… watched the Glee Christmas special again… the one from last year… never gets old… great songs, one and all… I think that’s a Glee album I have to get at some point 😎

then afterwards…
I have a thing for off-beat comedy, always kinda had but it’s been prevelent this year…

Jess (Zooey Deschanel) on “New Girl” and Max (Kat Denning) on “2 broke girls” are primo examples of that…

this is the third year they’ve aired the SNL Christmas special hosted by Gilly
my folks don’t really get her, don’t really know why she’s funny

I dunno… its hard to explain, but it’s one of things… I get off on that kind of stuff…

in a lot of the interludes, it takes place at this elementary school, Gilly is up to some sort of mischief, the teacher repeats her name and each time she gives one word/one syllable responses

Gilly?
….yeah?
Gilly?
…..what?
Gilly?
….sorry…

usually ends with something exploding or blowing up
there’s always this pause before she says anything, but its usually those monosyllabic responses

then there’s just about every classic SNL Christmas sketch… as old as a bit of Eddie Murphy spoofing Mr. Rodger’s Neighborhood… to the present with three of the somewhat current female castmembers (Amy Poehler & Maya Rudolph among them) singing about Santa being their boyfriend… and they’re all cool with the fact they’re all dating him at the same time…

I really don’t get the song “Santa Baby” but I don’t so much mind this updated version of that…

let’s see, what other classics:

  • Steve Martin’s wishes for Christmas, which include
    • all the children in the world getting together and singing
    • revenge on all his enemies
    • a large check getting paid to him every year, tax-free (I forget the amount)
    • ultimate power (more or less, God-like power)
  • Andy Samberg & Justin Timberlake’s song (y’all know the one I’m talking ’bout)
  • Justin Timberlake vs. Salvation Army Santa, in which Justin’s a cup of soup that sings, asking for people to give money to “Homelessville”… a skit he’s done recently with Lady Gaga, but this is the original version, lol… last night got me thinking how much I want/hope Justin Timberlake to stick with acting, he’s funny as hell as long as he’s not ruining the music industry
  • Mary Catherine Gallagher (Molly Shannon) singing “Sleigh Ride” with Whitney Houston
  • an animation short of Darlene Love singing about Christmas eve being “Christmas for the Jews”… cuz all the Christians are at home and the Jews can roam the streets
  • Adam Sandler’s “Hanukah song”… the best of them all, haha… now I’m getting some of the words
  • a disfunctional family dinner with Hugh Laurie guest-starring…
  • a disfunctional nativity scene with these two smug adolescents playing Mary & Joseph, she’s such a Valley girl…they’re both chewing gum, think that the donkey is people in a costume and “this baby doesn’t look like Santa”… need I say more
  • Will Ferrell impersonaiting Robert Goulet
  • and to top it all off… Alec Baldwin and his “Schweddy Balls”… :falloff:

great stuff…
yeah, I don’t think it gets much better than that…

last night became a complete/utter wash-out… but I think I’m working my way back, feeling a lot better… I’m cautiously optimistic at this point, but contigenecy plans help a great deal

just 4 days until Christmas

so now I’m onto this mornig… set my alarm so I wouldn’t miss it

“Christmas Every Day” was this TV movie that used to be on family channel every year as far back as I can remember… the movie came out in ’96 so it’s pretty old wow… that’s pretty trippy, considering I was only 10 at the time…
it was on for at least the next 3-4 years, always looked forward to it… then they just stopped showing it, whenever ABC bought the channel from FOX… it was Fox Family Channel years ago.

much like, I guess The Zack Files… that was a show on Fox Family Channel and got cancelled after ABC bought it (I doubt it had anything to do with the exchange in ownership)… I spent a lot of time looking for it and finally I found some ep’s on YouTube… and that was enough to satisfy me… I kinda started to see how lame the show was…

not that I believed this movie was the greatest in the world, but I think it was the missing ingredient this year… what I really needed to start to feel the Christmas spirit.

I think what pissed me off over the years was all of these remakes of this movie… there’s “Christmas do-over” starring Jay Mohr and this year, there was “12 dates of Christmas”… that was extremely lame, I couldn’t figure out what was wrong with all of those other days of Christmas where she did everything right

so finally after so long, I got to see the movie again and it was everything I remembered and more

first of all…

lucky 7 :finger cymbals:

he lived through 7 Christmases before getting it right

and yep… here’s yet another primo example of this phenomenon… Erik Von Detton (who I later saw in “Princess Diaries”… a bit of a jerk in that, but I saw him here first)… played Billy Jackson…there’s that name again 😎

the only exception I can think of at the moment… Billy Covington (Robert’s character in “Air America”) didn’t do much for me in that department aside from making me worry he’d get himself killed at some point

let’s see… he hates Christmas, the first Christmas is a disaster, he yells at his sister and on a dare, she got him say “I wish it was Christmas every day”…

it takes place in this sweet little town, Greenwood Falls… I think in the north east somewhere… or mid-west, whatever…

Robert Hays (whom everyone knows from “Airplane!”) plays his dad who owns a local store and loves knowing his customers as he does.
His brother come with his wife and their daughter JC… now his brother and his family live in D.C. and he’s super rich, super successful and wants to build a value-mall in the town… which everyone is opposed to

whoa… never thought I’d be one for being against progress…

there’s friction there…

Billy struggles with his jumpshot through the entire movie, can’t quite get it right

there’s a Christmas pagent where he narrates and ends up getting his butt kicked by the local bully…

part of it he spends trying to romance the bully’s girlfriend and gets with her by the end.

Let’s see… what goes wrong the first couple days…

the first day is the first day…

the 2nd day, he is experiencing deja vu and keeps saying that they’d already done this or that… it was pretty much the same day over again

the 3rd day, his parents call a doctor who says he’s perfectly fine “It happens all the time”… haha… it happens all the time that kids are saying its Christmas again?

the 4th day, he tries to learn some karate from Bruce Lee movies… he starts a huge argument at the dinner table by outing his uncle’s plan to build the valu-mall… at the pagent, he replaces the water in the buckets with chocolate sauce, which gets him in a heap of trouble with everyone…

starting with the 5th day, he tries to make everything better… or tries to make it the perfect christmas for him… he takes the girl out for a joy ride in his uncle’s car (dude, he can’t drive, he’s 13), gets her a present, kisses her, beats up her boyfriend and she rejects him because he’s just like him…

the 6th day is short cuz he hears about these accidents on the radio and spends the next day trying to preven them… a flood still damages one house

and finally on the 7th day, he gets it right… he actually starts listening to people, things get really sentimental here and there…

he wrap up the cuckoo clock dad gave mom for their first Christmas
he talks to the nextdoor neighbor about his dad & uncle when they were kids
he sprays salt on the driveway so Uncle David doesn’t crash into the garage with his new Jaguar
he talks to his aunt over a game of cards about what she’d like to do, getting back to work and all that

he adds jellybeans to the jar so a poor boy and his mom win a raffle
he finds the girl the bracelet her dad gave her with her name on it
he makes the jumpshot in front of everyone
he replaces the water in the buckets at the pagent with snow (as originally intended, he put water in there on Christmas eve to get back at the bully)
he gives food to the elderly women that his dad has helped provide for in the conditions of her place and his aunt gives her a makeover

the old man and elderly woman meet at the party, get introduced actually… how sweet

let’s see… Billy gets his mom a blank canvas to paint on
his dad and uncle reconcile, recalling the good old days and he decides not to build the mall in the town…

his younger sister Sarah is afraid of what’s under her bed and has slept in his room the past couple nights… he shows her under her bed and he put a little Christmas village down there

I think the greatest thing that tops it all off…
at the beginning of the movie, Christmas eve night, on the street there’s a drunken neighbor dressed as Santa, in a horse & buggy…
this is replaced with Santa Claus and his 8 reindeer… and that’s pretty much the sign that Christmas will finally end at midnight this time…

that was definitely a souvenir of that time when I still truly believed in that Christmas magic… and that was what I definitely needed, that extra ingredient

“Twas the night before Christmas” is the one story that really is what I believe to be true about Christmas… 8 tiny reindeer, the sleigh…

oh right, that was another SNL sketch, John Malkovich reading the story with his tedious interruptions just ruining it for the kids… including the estimated weight of Santa’s sleigh and going at their speed, they’d burst into flames

you know, I know the unspokeable truth and everything, but seriously… whenever I hear someone saying “how is it possible for one person to deliver all those presents in one night”… and all the estimations about his speed, the weigh distribution and all that… I don’t buy into it…

you don’t need to explain how there can’t physically be such a person… it’s unbelievable if you get scientific about it… the day my parents told me, it was horrible… I didn’t want to believe it wasn’t true and of course they tell me that we’re seeing my aunt & uncle that next weekend, something to look forward to so I can forget being sad…

the kids in “Glee” couldn’t believe Brittany still believed in Santa… they’re in high school, yeah… but it kinda annoyed me when I heard someone say recently that so-and-so believed until they were 11-12 and “that’s a long time”

I heard about it when I was 12… and there’s nothing wrong with believing in all that for such a long time…

actually, I think one of the kids in my neighborhood said “I know that that isn’t true… your parents put the presents under the tree when you’re sleeping”… that was when I was maybe in elementary school… and I didn’t want to believe him then…
I just thought it was ridiculous for anyone not to believe.

and of course, on “Ally McBeal” during that one case where a newscaster spoke the unspeakable truth, he got fired from the network and he sued for wrongful termination… the prosecution won out… one point for Santa Claus…
one of the witnesses was a grandson of a network exceutive and Ling was cross-examining him… asking him what he really thought of the Santa Claus story and how he looks intelligent enough to know the difference between fact and fantasy…
and someone said, I forget who, something about how kids would feel in finding that their parents have been lying to them for years about this… as if since they lied about this, what other lies have they told…

now… I think I can safely say that I don’t really believe in the tooth fairy or Easter Bunny anymore… that’s a bit much…
but Santa Claus… shoot, man, of course I believe such a thing is possible… I won’t get all scientific or technical about it…

although when it comes to him being the one who distributes presents under our tree… I’m not quite so sure if I buy into that anymore, having the wool over my eyes for that detail…
I could believe, for sure, that he’s delivering toys to all the children… my sister & I are in our 20’s, so that’s not nearly as much of a blow…

I don’t think I can quite imagine, as I did with all those Christmas specials I love, Santa’s workshop on the North Pole and all that… but just the physical manifestation of him being there… going to all those houses every Christmas eve with his 8 (sometimes 9) reindeer

a little fun fact:
taking exception to any of those specials where they have all of his reindeer, Dancer and Cupid are the only two reindeer I’d never seen established as characters in any Christmas special/movie I’d ever seen…

°Dasher- Santa rode him to South Town in “A year without a santa claus”
°Prancer- I think he had a cameo (played by Stainer from “she’s out of my league”) in the new Ice Age Christmas special…. plus the whole movie “Prancer” and “Prancer returns”
°Vixen- she’s the baby reindeer elves Jingle & Jangle ride to South Town to look for Christmas cheer, they disguise as a dog, she gets put in the pound and Santa has to pay bail (“A year without a Santa Claus)
°Comet- he may have been Olive’s wing-man and ride home in “Olive the other reindeer” and was the reindeer in Rudolph hosting the reindeer games, which included teaching them how to fly
°Donner- Rudolph’s father
°Blitzen- the injured reindeer that Olive replaced in “Olive the other reindeer” and leads the one-horse open sleigh that takes Mrs. Claus, Jingle, Jangle and Iggy to see the Miser Brothers

gotta love it, man… gotta love it

and by the way,

Snow Miser rules 😎 while I’m taking about that special that has at least 3 different reindeer in it

I think except for “It’s a wonderful life” I’d gotten through all the necessary special.

and the pes de resistenace… my favorite skit on the SNL special…
the “alternate ending” of “It’s a wondeful life” where Uncle Billy remembers Mr. Potter taking the money, they all go to his house and beat the crap out of him… YES!!

and the best part, they find out he’s not even a cripple…

Lionel Barrymore, on the other hand, was definitely not faking it… he’d dealt with illness his whole life (part of the reason he didn’t appear in a Christmas Carol, when they were shooting he was in poor health and they had to do a recast)…

one more thing… this is officially the end of the entry

the movie following the other one on Family Channel starred someone called Roma Downey…

I went to research to make sure they weren’t related…
then I totally remembered… duh… Downey was a stage name that Robert’s father adopted…

Robert Elias Sr. & Elise Ford…

haha… and whenever asked about the crossdressing scene (dude, everyone’s asking about that and how can you not)… he responds with “I look like my sister on steroids”…

Allison Downey… I wonder how she’s been… definitely doing something other than show business… and if not for the “Inside the actor’s studio” I wouldn’t have known he had a sister… though can’t be sure if it was an older or younger sister…
but I believe she could have been in some Downey Sr. productions… he joked that “we were right there” and something about working around child labor laws

as a reminder of his ancestral line of Russian Jews, Robert has a tattoo on his ankle that says “Elias”

P.P.S.

not even 24 hours after I posted this, we watched “Merry Madagascar” where apparently, there’s a rivalry between the penguins and the reindeer as Santa used to be stationed in the south pole.
so in the Romeo & Juliet fashion, one of the penguins and one of the reindeer fall in love.
and that reindeer’s name was Cupid…

so all of them except for Dancer have been characters in some Christmas special/movie at a given time

This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink.