Upcoming Entries

Let’s see… 2011 is closing out in a couple weeks’ time… and it seems like all of the really exciting entries, that I’m really looking forward to putting out that have legit substances… they’re not going to be for a while.

The closest thing to that will be my Christmas entry… however I rate it on a scale from 1 to 10… right now, I’m feeling more confident that it’s going to be an 8. Last Christmas felt like maybe a 6, but the one before that felt like an 8 or 9… maybe 8.5… because I got everything I wanted, and then some 😎

the “then some” is what I’m always looking forward to every year.
And I’ll definitely be getting something like that this year.

The purple knight himself, the ultimate “pen”-pal, sent me a Christmas present courtesy of Amazon.
That is going to be the first present I open up Christmas morning… as in, I’ll have it next to my computer desk the night before and while I”m checking the Internet, I’ll open it up…

haha… of course I’m doing the whole “let’s see what it can be” game… shaking it lightly to get a feel for what’s inside the box… I’ve got maybe 2-3 guesses and any of them are legit considering the conversations we have, what’s hot with me right now, etc, etc.

depending on what it is or isn’t, I know one thing I’m definitely going to get the next time I get to hit a mall… unless I use part of my VISA gift card, I’m short at least $10 for what I have in mind…

well, anyway… that aside, I’ve got that to look forward to.

I got through the rest of my Christmas playlist today and it was pretty awesome 😎
I got to all of my personal favorites, which I conveniently (I gotta learn to spell that word sometime) left to later on in the playlist…

when it came to the Band-AID track, especially the repetition that takes up the last 90 seconds (roughly, might be more or less), I was halfway between feeling lighter than air to ‘omg, I wanna cry this is so beautiful’… the resonation of the harmonies is just… it’s clichΓ© to say this, but it feels like one of those instances where you know that there’s a greater power out there

then I had “Wonderful Christmastime”… guilty pleasure for sure…
quickly followed by “Last Christmas”… which I still don’t quite know all the words to it, but hell with it, I feel somewhat of a connection to the song, whatever I come out with will be close enough to the actual article

I read into the lyrics and got a little bit scared after a bit…
I do NOT want to be the person another person sings this song about… as in I let them down because I didn’t appreciate what they gave me, etc, etc.

it’s much easier to play the victim in the situation because its all I know never had the success of being in an actual relationship to know what that’s like

let’s see, what else…

saw “The Usual Suspects”  yesterday and the movie was all right… I mean, it was interesting, had a couple laughs here and there, but once those were gone, I admit I was falling asleep, almost considered throwing in the towel and curling up upstairs for an hour…
but I stuck with it and… well, the twist in the ending was so chilling and so cool… it made the whole thing worth the wait 😎 I can’t say that about a lot of movies

I said to my purple knight earlier that a couple of RDJ’s movies have been the types of movies where I’d be unsure if I wanted to stick around for the whole movie… half the time it worked out and half the time, it didn’t… “Zodiac” might be one, if not the only example of any movie where I can’t say I was glad I stuck around to see how it turned out… I was almost falling out of my seat when I heard someone on Biography talk about that, saying “I wonder when Robert Downey Jr. is going to come on next”… Paul Avery kinda detoriated after a while as the movie went on… the sad true story of a journalist who lived hard & fast

I’ll definitely go more into detail about all of it in the entry I’ll set aside to write the first Friday in February: “A year with RDJ [and his movies]”
as if I need an excuse to talk about him, but heck, I’m super excited for that entry

needless to say, there have been very few of his movies I’d been disappointed with… and 99% of the time, it isn’t his fault that I’m disappointed in the movie… either cuz his part was small or the writing was bad or something…

part of the reason I’m also putting out this entry is for another “sighting”… I guess you could say πŸ™„

I find it extremely strange how rarely I get to catch any of his movies being televised… but he wasn’t always this huge A-list movie star… not all of his movies are as easy to come by as Sherlock Holmes was on HBO (Due Date has successfully taken over the duties of that, but I will simply refuse to watch that on TV… even if I catch it at the beginning… there’s little point in it cuz I own the movie on DVD, I can watch it whenever the hell I want to, lol)

speaking of “Due Date,” last night was a good night… a real good night 😎
I started going into it thinking about it as a Todd Phillips film, how Peter Highman is a character like what Bradley Cooper played in “The Hangover”… an extension of Todd Phillips, the straight man in the situation

some of it, I just found so comical because… well, I can’t say that numerous interviews makes me an expert on his personality, but I can pretty much vouch that in no way is Mr. Downey wound up that tight, gets that stressed out… rumor is that he stayed in character while on set (one occasion that was repeated several times was when he insulted Zach in front 40 extras, saying he needed acting lessons)… but seriously, I could definitely tell he was playing a role. I wasn’t buying into him being such a jerk… and yeah, Peter Highman is a bit of a jerk in places

πŸ˜•
although after the whole scene after he talks about how his dad left when he was a kid & Ethan laughs it off “my daddy would never do that, he loved me”… I can kinda see why his patience was out the window after a certain point… that story has me quivering a little lip and “oh, that’s so sad”…
and yeah, after the car accident… shoot.. how the hell did they ever survive that? I still can’t figure it out

so, long story short, had a great time (I think I got inspired to pick the movie up after hearing one of the songs from the soundtrack at tavern trivia, at the bar… “Hey you” plays during the “clam bake” scene… the car is reeking with “medicial marijiuana”)

and I’ve decided that… February 27th is my guess for Susan’s due date… but regardless of whether that holds true or not, that’s the day I’ll watch the movie with that in mind.
yeah, I cannot see Robert being THAT stressed out about the whole thing, in fact he has looked downright… phew… I’d said the happiest I’d ever seen him, as if he’s glowing too

then I think I proceeded to make an odd comment with that in mind in a conversation… like how a couple of people have asked him about writing another album, so there’s the pressure to do that again…
I’d say now its time to take the pressure off and let the man go to it whenever everything is place.

the odd comment came with associating two incidences of pressure from the press…
“Due Date” inspired dozens of questions from interviews about whether he wants to have more kids, with each ending with “that’s up to the missus”… on one red carpet interview, she joked “it’s like everyone’s become like my mother”… asking about that…

to which I said… it’s one thing to have this and that take place and yeah, there’s going to be a new Downey in the world…
but it’s another thing to push for music to be written, that can’t be rushed, it has to be inspired and it’ll come about in the moment that it’s right…

naturally, you can see where that gets a bit uncomfortable
I mean, can I even say it… not that making love automatically has that outcome or that that “business” is easier than writing music…

yeah, I’m just gonna stop right there and I give my apologies to the Downeys if that came out wrong
I sure as hell am not gonna go all Howard Stern on them… shoot, not only was he making me blush what the questions he was asking, but DUDE… c’mon, that’s extremely private stuff, the casualness with which he brought that up worries me

Robert, whenever you feel like writing music and that you don’t think the songs suck, feel free to make another album… but when its cool with you 😎

that’s what made “The Futurist” as good as it was… it was something he did for himself, not because he was being badgered about it.
and yeah, a new album would be nice, but I’d get along fine if this was all he’d done musically 😎

moving on…

another “sighting”

I never thought this would happen… I mean, I don’t know which studio James Toback is affiliated with, but the fact that “The Pick-up Artist” only airs on Fox Movie Channel suggests it isn’t a huge film…
I’ve expressed a great deal of desire and interest in seeing a movie that he not only wrote & directed, but he wrote it specifically for Robert while he was out on probation… his attitude (hmm… maybe on that note, I should check out that James Toback interview where Robert’s talking about him for 10 minutes… it’s a nice little candid interview), approach rather… policy… “if you give Robert work, he’ll be distracted from doing the really dumb stuff”

it didn’t always work… I mean, he kept getting work, people still backed him up for a very long time… I don’t know how much of “U.S. Marshalls” I saw… I watched maybe the first 1/2 hour-40 minutes on TV and then watched all of his scenes on YouTube… it didn’t hold my interest long enough and… my expectations about “Sherlock 2” were raised a bit high for the same reason, but he himself expressed a serious disdain for that movie

and yeah, that kinda rubbed off on it a bit…

boy am I doing a lot of sidetracking today…

“Two girls & a guy” is going to be on a Cinemax channel next Thursday… I nearly flipped out when I saw that cuz I couldn’t believe it… I thought it was too small/independant of a film to get aired on TV… but wow, I really can’t wait for that to go down…

it was a very important project for him, regardless of whether or not it helped him find in a light in the darkness… there was a significance to it that I definitely need to see for myself πŸ˜‰
I’d seen maybe two scenes out of it… one was where he’s talking to a mirror and it transcends reality pretty famously… and another is where his 2 girlfriends confront him, telling him they know he’s a two-timer and he fakes shooting himself in the head… something that definitely disarmed me quite a bit…

It’s one thing to see him deteoriating slowly, but it’s another to… phew, that’s just scary, I’m sorry… and luckily that’s not what it came out to, it was just to make a pretty cruel point

let’s see…
I’m definitely super acquainted with the kind of person he is from 2003 to the present, aided to his movies and many an interview…
acquainted with him from 1987 to 1991…

not so much during “the dark ages”… which they’re slowly becoming…
“Home of the Holidays” was definitely pretty obvious, but the 2nd time around, it didn’t worry me nearly as much. πŸ˜› yeah, I’m making excuses

a little bit of “One night stand”… a lot of it were very bleak hospital scenes, a little disarming as well…
“U.S. Marshalls” again..

then there’re brief moments that don’t feel as brief in 2000-1 between “Wonder Boys” and “Ally McBeal”… he must have been a GREAT faker in those days cuz he definitely seemed to believe in every scene he did… per a few entries ago, that’s the only time I’d disagreed with James Toback regarding Robert… a sitcom not being enough challenge for him and that’s why he eventually got fed up… there must have been dozens of other factors, for sure, but I’m not going to go into guesswork about triggers and stuff… only he knows what went down and yeah, one day, I’d love to ask him about it, but until then, I’m not going to speculate about anything

plain & simple, not a lot of his roles during the “dark ages” looked interesting enough where I wanted to see them for myself… I’m still searching random movie titles on the TV guide in hopes of getting a hit but I rarely do… but I don’t want it to be the case that just because he’s in it, I have to see it… I have reasons for wanting to see this or that film…
easy access has been a gateway for a lot of ones I wouldn’t have bothered with otherwise… Charlie Barlett & Fur being among them, I was glad to have indulged my curiosity

yeah, it goes without saying that that will be like Christmas to me… seeing that movie when I’d been wanting to for quite some time… and yeah, this year, even a couple months feels like forever

now I think I can safely say the winner of “The X-Factor”…

I would have been happy with any of the winners, but I got a little bit worried when Chris Rene was voted into 3rd place… and part of me was saddened quite a bit, but that’s okay, he’ll be fine

I can’t say much for the guest stars…

50 Cent was so foul that I had to change the channel when kid came busting through to put in his bit… just no… I couldn’t take it…
I don’t always agree with what Pitbull does in his stuff, but his collaboration with Ne-Yo had me thinking “now THIS is how you’re supposed to do it”… that’s some good stuff

I cut out for most of Justin Bieber’s performance… cut back in to see if it was done yet and caught a glimpse of Stevie Wonder before the next song started…
it was refreshing to hear “Santa Claus is coming to down” being relevent without having that atrocious Jackson 5 arrangement… between that and when he invited Drew onstage (well, duh, I totally forgot she was the huge Bieber fan and wanted to join the competition to meet him), I never thought I’d say this, but he earned a bit of my respect that night as a person

Leona Lewis did a really moving song that… wow… there was almost no words to describe how pretty that was.
then the duet between Melanie & Josh, I didn’t know if it was an original song or not, but it was beautiful… I got goosebumps… the start of it had me thinking about a Taylor Swift track, “Long live” which ends her newest album…

all the Christmas covers were cool…

and then when Melanie won, that was like the coolest thing ever… it’s about time we had a winner of these shows that can’t go on singing their final number wow, just wow…
naturally, this will go down in history, not only as whatever she aspires to and becomes, but also as the success story that almost didn’t happen…

yeah, cuz he was so smitten with Simone & Tiah, Simon let Melanie go at the end of that round…
talk about the biggest no-brainer in the world… she might not have been given the best song to sing, but dude, you cannot teach that kind of raw, natural talent…

if not for his change of heart, I definitely would been sore with Simon for just… forever, I think…
Melanie more than deserved to win and yeah, I think she’s gonna be pretty huge

hmm…
I told myself that the day I heard “Back to December” on the radio, that would be when I write the final chapter of my story, which may or may not have the same name… I’m still deciding between it and “Blue Christmas”…

at the moment, my eyes are starting to go and I don’t know if the mood’s quite right… so I think I’ll hold off until tomorrow night…

two exciting football games tomorrow…
NY/NY, Philly & Cowboys…

I think I’m a little too tired to really go into details, but should be interesting to see how it plays out…

I get the feeling that the Giants are gonna beat the Jets and that Philly is going to be tight with the Cowboys, no idea if it’ll work in their favor or not…
but if the Giants lose, the Eagles have more of a chance of making the playoffs… but if the Giants win, the surge is over…

:shrug: whatever works, I don’t think I really care anymore… the NFC East isn’t going to generate the SuperBowl winner this year

the future entries I’m looking forward to putting out:

“2011 @ the movies”
“List of [new] movies I saw this year”

a little something about how 2011 was in a nutshell, just to cap the whole thing off…

hmm… and I guess after that, it’ll be pretty quite for a while… I asked for a couple movies for Christmas so I’ll be sure to go into those as well…

getting a little tired now, but I have a sneaking suspicions that 5 minutes of YouTube and he’ll wake me right back up 😎

This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.