more on Captain America and “The Deathly Hallows”- GWTW style

I’m going to try to be very careful with how much I address “Captain America” in this blog, as in the things I’m going to be saying about it. I don’t want to be going and repeating myself hundreds of things with the same sentiments.

I don’t doubt that it’s going to be in my top 10 movies of this year… as in movies I saw for the first time… though I can’t be sure if I think it is THE best movie I’d seen all year. There are a lot of them worthy of consideration.

hmmm…
I guess yesterday I kinda cracked up a bit… as much as I love Cinemax, I gotta damn them for their timing on this and that… after sitting through (read about later in the entry), they showed one scene from Sherlock 2… so naturally I was looking through the paper, considering my options. And seriously, if we still had the Lexus, I would have taken off by myself to the theater in a heartbeat… and a couple hours time. With the ticket prices being as reduced as they are, I’d been considering the afternoon/evening showings… it’ll just be $6 opposed to the matinee $4.75… yeah, we’d gotten cheap locally which is great

naturally my mom thinks I’m nuts… the word “infatuation” came out… and dammit, I used that word myself but when she used it, it made me feel guilty… sure, I’m always feeling a tiny bit guilty about the power Mr. Downey has held over me about a number of things.
The last time I wanted to and succeeded in seeing a movie in theaters twice… was the first Harry Potter movie… it was just so… phew… it was just amazing to me… magical is a cheap shot, but that doesn’t make it any less true

I also remember the day pretty well… my friends just saw the first Lord of the Rings movie, were going to see Harry Potter for comparsion, asked me if I wanted to go… I agreed and yeah, it was great the 2nd time around too… we actually borrowed a pirated copy for a month and saw it 2 more times… I think in the past almost 10 years, I’d seen it 20-30 times. Out of all the movies, it is definitely the one that handled the book the best…
although “The Half-Blood Prince” was the last one I got really excited about…

I never did get to write that Harry Potter blog… and I guess now is a good time to really go into it…

I happen to remember that night extremely well for a number of reasons… it was New Year’s Eve… the Full House episode (on repeat on Family Channel) was the Twins Expo… and that night, I had the most horrible case of nausea… was up mid-morning sick… I remember coming downstairs and my dad was on the computer… it was like 3am

sucks that I tend to remember the negative stuff in my life more easily than the positives…
must be why I’m so desperate to erase the negativity that brewed from seeing Sherlock 2… come to think of it, though, if offered the opportunity, I will take it. but if not… I have a good feeling that I’m going to survive another a couple months.
I got through my 10-day funk, not really feeling entirely on top of things when it came to him… the fact I was burning to see the movie again, brewing with excitement… I was ready to move on for an purely enjoyable performance… and yes, Sherlock himself was very entertaining to watch…

:sigh: I guess I’ll stumble over to comingsoon.net to see if they have a DVD release date yet… I’m sure if I find enough distractions πŸ˜• πŸ™„ yeah right… it’s bad enough that there’s nothing on TV this week (until Thursday night of course) because a) X-Factor is done with b) movies are taking up all of the regular channels with the holidays and c) there’s nothing really interesting to watch in those movies

granted, there was some interesting stuff yesterday that my dad and I watched for a good 4 hours (again, more on that later)

while I’m on it, I guess I’ll go into the Harry Potter discussion… and by the way, those who couldn’t figure it out… GWTW= “gone with the wind”… although there was a 10-minute intermission in between, saw The Deathly Hallows back to back from 6pm to 11pm… got back to the Saints game just in time to see Drew Brees break Dan Marino’s passing record…

wow… I really do admire the hell out of the guy and even though the 49ers seem to be really powerful this season, I can’t help at this point but to really want the Saints to make the SuperBowl this year… they had such a great year, Drew Brees is definitely becoming one of my favorite quarterbacks (and I am in the business of great quarterbacks… they just need the right qualities, whether it be actual skill, humility, or whatevertheelsehaveyou… every instance last night of Drew Brees not giving himself the credit for obtaining the record, wow… he’s just an amazing human being in that regard)

let’s see… reading the Harry Potter books… I’ll start there…

I finally decided to read the first one in preparation for the upcoming movie (btw, yeah, it’s a little too early for a DVD release day, but I’m betting sometime in April… mid-late April)

I was hooked by page 12-13, as I’ve said… felt incredibly sad for Harry, his parents were killed, etc, etc. I believe my mom said that in passing a couple times but I never completely took it to mind, clearly

then when the Hogwarts letters started coming, always finding their way to Harry, there was no way of knowing where things were going to go except to Hogwarts…
all of the magical lessons, the creatures, all of that was just amazing to me, never read anything like this before… Quidditch sounded exciting, though I don’t think I remember that chapter too well… that was around the time the movie came out, so all of it came a huge surprise… including who the bad guy turned out to be… yeah, go figure, it’s the person you least expect πŸ™„ don’t you hate that

seeing everything come to life in the movie was even more exciting… nothing quite like seeing Diagon Alley and Hogwarts for the first time… just gotta credit John Williams’ score to adding that whimiscal edge to everything… I don’t need this movie alone to say how much of a genius he is as a composer (his sound is as signature and easy to point out as Danny Elfman, notorious for his Tim Burton-inspired work)

The Chamber of Secrets… until this past time, I didn’t find the movie nearly as good as the first… the first couple times, yeah, it was amazing to see everything coming back as it was in the first movie, plus the additional characters, complications… the fact Harry can speak Parseltongue

the book had a couple of littlle things that weren’t as prevalent in the movie… Ginny Weasley pouring herself into Tom Riddle’s diary… we only really see her writing it in, but not so much to the extra details… like there’s a scene in the book where she wants to tell Harry and Ron something, and Percy stops her, thinking she’s going to blab he’s going out with Ravenclaw prefect Penelope Clearwater… really pointing the exclamation point on how much the diary possessed her, though it would have made the movie a tad more creepier
as if the giant spiders and basilisk wasn’t enough for the creeps… I hate spiders, though not nearly as much as Ron Weasley (and coincidentally, Rupert Grint, the one thing he has in common with Ron aside from the red hair and coming from a big family)
I think overall, the movie ran a few minutes too long… for a while, it was the longest of the Harry Potter movies… might still be, actually… a little over 2.5 hours

The Prisoner of Azkaban… don’t remember too much about the book… or so I didn’t when I went to see the movie… all of it from Buckbeak the Hippogriff to the fact Sirius Black wasn’t as “black”-hearted as led to believe (yeah, I had to go there, lol, so sue me)… also didn’t remember the whole time-turner subplot…

looking into the movie as a film adaptation of a book… it could have done a little better, I guess.. there were some odd, out of place elements in there that was the director’s signature… Alfanso Curon must have a thing for shrunken heads… they were featured in a couple random scenes in the movie… the Knight Bus was given more oomph than I remembered from the book…
at school, one of the girls in one of my classes said she didn’t like it cuz they cut a lot out of the movie…

I think the movie, in some regards, was more of a companion to the book than taking it directly to film. i.e. it was geared towards people who knew the books and therefore didn’t need things to be explained to them
The Quidditch Cup being won by Griffindor was something that I definitely missed once I read the book a couple more times… I mean, they WON the Quidditch cup… something Oliver Wood had wanted for a long time (this was put off by Harry being in a coma during his first year and the event being cancelled due to the pertrifying of students in the 2nd year)… and his last year at Hogwarts, he finally got it… just one Quidditch scene wasn’t quite enough. It was more about Harry getting attacked by the dementors and it could have been the debut of Cedric Diggory… wasn’t brought into the picture until the next movie…
also could have done with an introduction to Cho Chang… the Ravenclaw seeker that Harry has a crush on in the next couple books… in the final Quidditch match, Oliver Wood was yelling at Harry for him not to be a gentleman, “knock her off her broom if you have to”…

another thing was the introduction of the Marauder’s Map… a magical artifact crafted by Remus Lupin, James Potter, Sirius Black and Peter Pettigrew, that was their map of Hogwarts, helps them keep track of teachers and also secret passages in and out of the school… Fred & George found it in their first year and just recently passed it on to Harry, who wants to get into Hogsmeade village (the only exclusively magical village in Britain) since complications at the Dursleys’ prevented him from getting his permission form signed…

they just say that “the map never lies” in the Shrieking shack scene, but never the fact that Harry’s dad, Sirius and new DADA teacher Professor Lupin were the ones who created it in the first place… a little backstory would have been nice.

one thing I did notice… Dumbledore had some lines in the book that eventually went to be spoken by David Thewlis… just as a way of making Professor Lupin a more important character, especially when it comes to Harry… the fact he’s a friend of his parents gives him a connection to him…

there was also a little more sqwabbling between Ron & Hermonine in the epic battle between his rat Scabbers and her new cat, Crookshanks, but whatever they did in the movie worked out quite well

The Goblet of Fire… the first time reading the book, I think my impression was “oh c’mon, you gotta be kidding me”… as if for once in his life, Harry could just hang back and not have to get involved in stuff… yet despite the age limit of 17+, he manages to get chosen as a champion to compete in the Triwizard Tournament… it was one of those “give me a break moments”… never suspected Harry of putting his own name in, but it just seemed ridiculous… and of course that it wasn’t fair that he had to go through all that… putting his life on the line yet again

the movie handled the majority of it extremely… the Yule Ball was great to a point… I thought it was more of a formal event, but halfway through it became a rock concert… I just didn’t buy into that personally, but that’s just me πŸ˜• I’m not keen on parties like that…
all of the tasks of the tournament were handled real well… the only slight glitch I have to complain about is the fact there were no monsters in the maze… there were supposed to be Dementors and I remember a Sphyinx being there as well… it asked the age-old riddle “what creature is on four legs in the morning, two in the afternoon and three by night”… and it was man

in the special features, I found out why Voldemort’s eyes weren’t red… they didn’t receive well in the camera or plain didn’t show emotion quite the same way… the book said red eyes and I was extremely disappointed that I didn’t get that in the movie… not that he was any less threatening the way Ralph Fiennes protrayed him

this is the first of a couple occurrences of Dobby not being used in the movie, I guess to save on the CGI bill, but also to give Neville a steadily more important role… thanks to Professor Moody, he reads about gillyweed, which allows Harry to breathe underwater to compete in the 2nd task

I think the biggest piece of the movie that was missing was Sirius Black… only ONE scene, and it was in the fireplace via Floo Powder… he’s responding to Harry’s letter about his dreams, being in the tournament and just telling him to be careful…
after the whole incident of… well, Cedric getting killed and Mad-Eye Moody was really a Death-Eater taking polyjuice potion… Sirius comes to see Harry to make sure he’s okay and its here that Snape finds out that he’s actually innocent of the crimes he was imprisoned for (really, it was Peter Pettigrew who smoked Sirius, having him take the blame for killing 12 Muggles and breathing to Voldemort the location of the Potters)…

it sucks in the movies who they bring about these great characters and don’t use them to their full potential… really they are present so you get to love and enjoy them being there, only to have them get killed off by the end of the movie
Cedric Diggory… never thought of him to be anyone exceptional in the books, but can’t help but feel bad for him that he got himself killed… for just being one extra person in the graveyard that night… plus he was good-looking… this was long before he was cast as Edward Cullen or even Twilight’s existence… I just remember the day I found out who was playing “omg, the guy who played Cedric is going to play Edward”… too bad he didn’t get to keep his hot British accent for that role

Sirius Black is featured a lot in the next movie, only to be killed off by the end of it… that really sucks, I just gotta say

hmm… also the Quidditch cup match was cut out completely… there was a sidestory about Fred & George betting Lugo Bagman (he’s in charge of the gaming commission) that Ireland will win but Krum gets the snitch… that character was cut out completely… it was another companion piece because the other villian really wasn’t explained well… Barty Crouch Jr. was handed over to the dementors by Minister of Magic Cornelius Fudge & lost his soul in the process… it was his sneaky way of getting rid of a key witness that could implicate the return of Voldemort…

all of the people not believing Harry about that fact was extremely annoying in the next movie…

oh right, and Rita Skeeter wasn’t really used in the movie as much as the book πŸ˜• not that I could account for the lack, I mean she REALLY got under my skin reading the book… cuz she just seemed to be everywhere and knew everything, especially details of private conversations… aided by her being an unregistered Animagus (she can transform into a beetle)… her not being in the movie a lot was as good as the fact Gilderoy Lockhart was barely used as much as he was in the book… he was Annoying… he and Colin Creevey were a really bombastic duo, though completely unintentionally…

Lockhart was all about reeping the fortunes of fame and Colin was just a superfan of Harry’s… his involvement in the book had Lockhart under the impression that Harry wanted to up his celebrity status the same way… of course, Lockhart wasn’t completely honorable… he took credit for other wizards’ triumphs and oblivated their memories so they had no idea

maybe it’s because of the length, maybe because of all the drama, all the characters… the twists & turns, I think I can safely say that the Order of the Phoenix was my favorite Harry Potter book…

that’s why I was so disappointed with the movie… it’s 870 pages, so they could have at least written a screenplay half as long… it could easily have been a 3 hour movie with all that material…

a lot of the stuff was explained via montage…
Fudge denying the return of Voldemort
Umbridge roaming the hallways to make sure her new rules are enforced
The Inquistorial Squad trying to get into the Room of Requirement
Umbridge punishing the lot of Dumbledore’s Army for putting together an illegal organization of students

my mom keeps saying that Imelda Staunton didn’t have a frogface or didn’t have CGI to make her look as she did in the book… but she’s creepy enough without the CGI… I mean… ahhhh… can’t stand her, she’s horrible

the movie starts at the Dursleys… two dementors attacked Harry and his cousin, he has to defend himself and in doing so, he gets expelled for using underaged magic… πŸ™„
seems a little ridiculous to me, a Patronus charm is something that is used for self-defense only, what’s the point of casting it otherwise?
then again, Dumbledore said it right, that its a little excessive for such a huge trial for a simple case of underaged sorcerery

yeah, I think for the first half hour of the movie, everything was as it was in the book, as it should be…

I kinda wished there were more instances when Harry was screaming at the top of his lungs, just being angry about being called a liar and nobody believing him… being especially vocal in DADA classes when Umbridge is trying to teach them defensive theory rather than how to use defensive spells…
her discrimination of half-humans is much more notable in the book… she didnt care much for the past couple professors, especially not Professor Lupin because he’s a werewolf… she liked Professor Quirrel but of course Harry speaks out of turn, saying that Voldemort was sharing a body with him

there’s a lot more fireworks between McGonagall and Umbridge… the first time Harry is punished and is sent to McGonagall’s office, she congratules him for speaking up, but says to be wary of Umbridge all the same…
my favorite scene was at Career Advice, Umbridge was present, speaking out of turn, and eventually McGonagall said that she’d personally see to it that Harry becomes an Auror even if she has to coach him through his exams

one thing that I do kinda miss in the movies are Hagrid’s “Care of Magical Creatures” lessons… which go south after the Hippogriff incident… he touches the class about lesser beasts that aren’t nearly as exciting and definitely not dangerous… I think the Blast-Ended Skrewts were the creature of choice in the 5th year, and by the end of it, only one of them was still alive between a number of explosions, cannibalism, and whatevertheelsehaveyou…
in the 5th year, there were bowtruckles (think stick-insects but a little bigger and closer to fairies/pixes) and unicorns (there’s only one featured in the movie, dead, in the Dark Forest in the first movie)

Umbridge kinda steps on Hagrid’s toes during the lesson she’s supervising… being legimately discriminatory because he’s half-giant, he’s a huge Dumbledore supporter and he’d been gone for the first term without any explanation… she ended up getting quotes from the Slytherin crowd who can’t stand him for similiar reasons… mostly cuz of Draco Malfoy who said that Hagrid set a Hippogriff loose on him a couple years ago

let’s see… I’m not sure if I like the idea of more Umbridge, but McGonagall certainly could have been used a lot more

the scene where Harry has the “dream” about Mr. Weasley being attacked by the snake, I cannot say how displeased I am with how that played out… the interaction with Dumbledore was spot on, but for the sake of continuity/constancy, did Snape really have to give Harry his first Occulumcy lesson that night? I mean, he had just been woken up by a nightmare, the book talks about him being extremely sick afterwards.. that’s just a little too much, a little excessive

Harry and the Weasleys go to visit him in St. Mungo’s Hospital for Magical Maladies… another great scene from the book cuz they meet Lockhart there (has no idea who he is still due to a rebounded memory charm), Mr. Weasley talks about getting stitches (Muggle medicine that his wife is not sold on, lol), and the group of them see Neville, who is visiting his parents… it’s kind of a sad, uncomfortable scene that might have been a little harsh for the younger viewers to see, had they put it in the movie…
Neville’s parents were Aurors, dark-wizard catchers… and they were tortured via the Cruciatus Curse by a group of people that included Barty Crouch Jr. and prominently, Bellatrix Lestrange… tortured for information, but they didn’t give in… as a result, they were driven to madness and permanently stay in a wing of the hospital for long-term cases, i.e. those that have no cure

Dobby is in the movie just to find the room of requirement for Harry and the others to practice defensive spells… this task went to Neville… later on, he confesses to Harry about what happened to his parents (not long after the news of a massive Azkaban break-out, Bellatrix being among them)

what I REALLY missed was seeing the O.W.L.S. tests… I mean, they spent the whole year building up to that… Harry does an exceedingly amazing job in the practical DADA test, where the auditors asks him to perform a Patronus charm for extra credit (heard it from Amelia Bones, who was at Harry’s hearing)

Luna Lovegood, on the other hand… I love how she was used in the movie in several different areas… although Hagrid was the one in the book who told them about the thestrals (they’re dark horses reminiscent of the horses of the apocalypse and can only be seen by people who have seen death… Harry can see them this year because he’d just seen Cedric die), Luna tells him about them in kind of a cute little scene…
The book painted a picture of her being kinda strange, being out there and Harry’s friends not giving her a lot of credit for the oddball things she says… the actress that went on to play her was a Harry Potter fan and OMG… she was probably the biggest surprise in the otherwise abysmal film adapation of the book, she took Luna Lovegood to her own little level and just made her more lovable than looney

a few details were flubbed around for the saving of time… Harry finds his first girlfriend in Cho Chang and the movie kinda dismisses the romance betwen them, limiting it to just a few instances of blushing and the kiss… Dumbledore’s Army met its end in the movie because of her… supposedly she was served truth serum and her mom’s job in the ministry was threatened so she had to blab about it… that really pissed me off the way all of that worked out…
first of all, it was her friend, Marietta that did the blabbing, didn’t really want a part of the meetings, went because Cho asked her too… they just didn’t want to introduce another character that’d only serve that purpose (yet there were a couple of random characters in the previous films that were only seen in that movie… one of them was in the Prisoner of Azkaban, only in that movie)

Valentine’s Day was a huge deal for Harry and Cho, their first real date and alone time… at the same time, Hermonine asked Harry to meet her later that day so they can discuss “the truth” about Voldemort with Rita Skeeter who would write it for the Quibbler (another newspaper that Luna’s dad is in charge of… seeing the Daily Prophet only wants to swear Harry and Dumbledore’s good images)…
the two of them get to talking, Harry’s a little uncomfortable cuz he’s watching another couple at the pub getting a little cozy, not knowing what to do with Cho… he says something about meeting Hermonine and Cho gets offended really easily, thinking that he’s interested in Hermonine that way instead of them just being close friends… that’s how the relationship ends, not because of the D.A. meetings coming to an end… sounded like a cheap cop-out to me

the final scene that was in the book that I really missed on screen… after the incident at the Ministry of Magic that ended up Sirius getting killed by Bellatrix, Voldemort fighting with Dumbledore, trying to possess Harry and fails to do so… Harry and Dumbledore have a heart-to-heart in his office where Dumbledore explains why he’d kept his distance this whole year…
Harry is so angry that he’s throwing things and breaking them while Dumbledore isn’t the least bit upset with him… moreso, he’s upset with himself at how he handled things…

aside from that, the Ministry of Magic battles were handled exceptionally well, couldn’t ask for me

yeah, Harry wasn’t nearly angry enough for my liking in the movie… I mean, c’mon… JK Rowling got berated by a few critics & grammar snobs cuz she was using all caps and lots of exclamation points (including one of my creative writing lessons, lol), that was the least they could have done

and right and there was a scene where Sirius and Snape were kinda having it out at Order of the Phoenix HQ, Sirius wanting to make sure that Snape doesn’t mistreat them in the Occulmency lessons (where Harry needs to [doesn’t] learn how to block others from pentretrating his mind)… and Snape taunts Sirius for lying low while everyone else is out doing the fighting against the dark arts

Kreacher was also a pivotal character, a catalyst, for the most critical part of the story. He’s the house-elf that serves the House of Black (which Sirius lent to Dumbledore for HQ)… Sirius treats him poorly, tells him to leave, but Kreacher goes to Bellatrix Lestrange, blabs a few secrets… in the book, Harry is checking the floo-network to see if Sirius is at Grimmauld Place after he has the vision of Voldemort torturing him… he’s nowhere to be seen because of actions Kreacher takes, keeping Sirius from answering the call

oh right… lost it… there is it
during the Occlumency lessons, Harry comes across some private thoughts/memories of Snape which brings a grinding halt to the lessons… he sees his dad torturing Snape just for fun and is definitely turned off by that fact… in fact, he feels guilty and angry about it… so he goes through the Floo Network to talk to Sirius and Lupin about what he saw, very concerned that his dad wasn’t who he thought he was

I think I could go on and on for things they did wrong in the movie, things that didn’t make it from the book…
oh right, and after he graduates from Hogwarts, Ron’s brother Percy never has any more lines… you see him in the 4th book in place of his boss Mr. Crouch (Barty Crouch’s dad), he’s the personal assistant to Fudge in the 5th book, only seen during the montages, and he sends a note to Ron, asking him to consider taking the side of the Ministry rather than Harry and his family (the reason why there’s an estrangement that takes place)… he is also seen in the last movie as well and he’s just there… nothing about a reconciliatoin or anything and that does happen

Okay, moving on…

the Half-Blood Prince… I think was the first time I went to the movies for a Harry Potter film in a while and was really happy about it… granted I’d only read the book twice by that time so I didn’t know things too well… but it was a great deal of fun
my only compliant, I guess, was that they changed around the Quidditch uniforms, they looked more like Rugby uniforms with the padding and all that

can’t believe its 1pm already, what the hell?

I really liked Jim Broadbent and how he protrayed the new potions master, Professor Slughorn… he’s hilarious
but I kinda missed out on DADA lessons taught by Professor Snape, I mean, he’d waited YEARS to get that post… at least 14 years… and he’s just given a mention, nothing more…

there was only one Quidditch match… oh right, no Quidditch in the 5th movie… because of a fight that takes place, Harry, Fred & George are banned from the Gryffindor team… that’s also the year Ron gets the position of Keeper and the Slytherins write a song about him… not the good kind… my mom misses that not being in the movies more than I do

Weasley cannot save a thing
he cannot block a single ring
that’s why all we Slytherin sing
Weasley is our king

and of course at the end of the last Quidditch match, during which Harry & Hermonine returned from the forest where Hagrid introduces them to his half-brother Grawp, there’s a new version of the song to mark the fact that the Gryffindors won the Quidditch cup

Weasley can save anything
He blocked every single ring
that’s why all Gryffindor sing
Weasley is our king

yeah, it is very catchy, I admit

there isn’t much to say against that movie, actually… they had more usage of that part, Cormac McLaggen… who misses out on making Gryffindor keeper cuz Harry favors Ron, tries to give Harry Quidditch tips, telling the players how to improve their game and during one match, due to his lack of teamwork, Cormac accidentally sends a Bludger into Harry’s skull…
luckily for him, Madam Pomprey had handled all kinds of maladies to do with magic and Quidditch

maybe that was taken out of consideration cuz the movies showed Harry in the hospital wing one too many times… there doesn’t seem to be a book without him there
a) at the end of the Sorcerer’s stone
b) after Lockhart magically removed the bones from his arm
c) after the incident at the lake with Sirius and the dementors… as well as the first Quidditch match, due to dementors
d) at the end of the Triwizard Tournament where Sirius & Snape meet, Fudge tries to get the real story out of him, etc, etc.
e) 5th book, 5th book… let’s see… I can’t quite remember… he was banned from the Quidditch team so it wasn’t related to that… maybe after he had that nightmare… I can’t be positive either way

yeah, everything in the movie was great…
the right empahsis was placed on the Half-Blood Prince’s potions book (which Harry inherits from the dungeons cabinet)…

they added an odd scene where Bellatrix and Greyback attack the Weasley house, trying to provoke Harry into battle… that wasn’t in the book, not really there for any particular reason πŸ˜• strange

the romance between Harry and Ginny was always kinda there, it wasn’t built up like it was in the book, where Harry was having a lot of conflict cuz he knew how Ron was about his sister dating Dean… but I think it was done really well too

oh right… there was this HUGE battle scene in the book after Dumbledore was killed, nobody else died… mainly thanks to Harry lending Dumbledore’s Army his vial of Felix Felicis (liquid luck) that he won in Potions class after the potions book helped him produce the perfect draft of “living death”… my mom missed that part, but I didn’t mind nearly as much

now we’re on to the final two movies…
I don’t think its the best idea to do it all the time, every time… but it was interesting to see both parts back to back…

compared to the book, I thought the first part was really good… it made things a little less boring, there was a little more action to keep out the lulls of nothingness missed with hopelessness… three kids moving from place to place looking for Horcruxes and means of destroying them…

of course the 2nd movie, I thought was one of the best I’d seen this year… one of the most exciting movie experiences… the only thing, oddly, that I wished for was the fact that Sherlock 2 wasn’t one of the featured trailers… I had to mime shocking myself back to life with a defiliator, just so I could keep my mind where it ought to be… I mean, it was the last Harry Potter movie for crying out loud, had to have my mind and body where it should be

there was so much action, all of the magical aspects were handled really well…
it’s interesting too because since the majority of the movie takes place at a war-laden Hogwarts, it feels like it’s running in real-time… it’s all the same day, all in the same setting… it’s literally like being transported to another world…

the one time I got emotional was after Snape was killed and Harry was seeing all of his memories… well, that and him seeing his loved ones again with the magic of the resurrection stone

on the one hand, it was well worth waiting for all of this… I couldn’t believe any of it when I read the book.. that deep down, Snape loved Lily Potter and he really was playing for good the entire time.. he’s just a really good actor, a great faker…
Alan Rickman as well :falloff:

it’s so strange a cycle… how much seeing this part of the movie made me want to reread/re-see the movies just to look more into how Severus Snape’s mind could work in the different situations… reading a little into his actions after knowing everything…

it was touching and extremely liberating to see Snape just being emotional about all of these things… you never see him play any emotion aside from the usual snarkyness, the frowning and the occasional sneering of anger when Harry is reminding him of James…
but just to see Snape desperate, to see him sad… it was mind-blowing to me that he was capable of any of that and of course, I feel bad that he never gets to be shown in that light until he’s dead

tee-hee…
one of the 50 life lessons you learn from Harry Potter..
always remember to double-tap…

I was thinking about that during the scene where the death eaters aren’t sure if Harry is dead or not… instead of checking himself, he has Narcissa Malfoy do so for him and because he says Draco is alive, she covers up the fact he’s still alive to pay him back

yeah, all of it was pretty incredible and by the end of the movie, I’m wishing to go through it all again, to see what happens with the next generation…

James & Lily Potter redux, Albus Severus Potter (whether or not he gets put in Slytherin or Gryffindor)
Ron & Hermonine’s daughter
how Neville is as the newest Herbology professor…

and whether or not the group of them become friends with the newest Malfoy or enemies just as the generation before…
and with Voldemort being gone, what kind of stories could they have at Hogwarts

endless possibilities…

ok, now its 1:30… I ought to get downstairs to take the dog out, but I’m not quite ready to go just yet.
and it’s raining outside, so not quite yet

yeah, I think I’ll definitely have to check into Chris Evans, just to get to know him as an actor a bit more before The Avengers hits theaters…

I know he’s in that movie “Push” which features people with extraordinary abilities… he and Dakota Fanning team up to take on the organization wanting to use these people for their needs
and I’m also curious to see that movie he’s in with Anna Faris… I forget the name of it, I think it’s “What’s your number?” or something like that…
she’s going through all of the men she’d dated in her life, he happens to be her nextdoor neighbor who’s hiding out from his clingy girlfriend…
naturally, the two of them are going to end up together… such a clichΓ©, but whatever…

oh right, Chris Evans was kind of a bad, bad-ass in “Scott Pilgrim” as one of the evil exes…

ah… now that was one of my favorite movies this year for SURE…
like “Suckerpunch,” it was artistically amazing, incredibly trippy and just so original… gotta love it

I’ll have to see “Thor” a couple more times as well…
the pace of it is kinda slow in places, but intially I found the realm of Asgard to be extremely beautiful in its layout… I’m kind of a sucker for those types of worlds

at the current time, I can’t really peg or pinpoint any negativites in “Captain America”…
it’s so rare when I can sit through a movie and not once be asking myself when its going to be over, checking the time or whatever else…

Steve Rodgers is just unbelievable to me… no person is that good-hearted, that good-natured and after the transformation, it was like there was nothing he couldn’t do… each thing he did was without effort… πŸ˜• hmm… kinda the way I thought of Sherlock Holmes unless Moriarty came along… damn him for being a equal… takes away from his brilliance and actually makes me question it, especially when he makes miscalcuations that never occurred before

I think the only negative really was the beginning when I couldn’t hear much of anything and I was trying to put the pieces together about the serum and the cube of Odin that Redskull is using for his maleovolent purposes… I couldn’t make heads or tails of whether they had a direct relationship or not… Redskull was definitely interested in getting a capsule of the serum so he can use it himself, to make his own army… but due to its destruction, the team no longer has the means to make anyone else like Captain America…

even funnier how the name came about as him being a mascot for the troops… which was Stan Lee’s intention I think, the reason he created him in the time he was created

and naturally I could go on forever about how much I loved the involvement of Howard Stark in this movie… I looked at the Wikipedia article to see, first of all if they had recast Tony Stark or it was another Stark and just to see the connection… clearly, this was something engineered more for the movie than the comics… why not use that familial connection because Iron-Man had become such a beloved comic book hero for the movies…

hmm…
as far as comparing it to Iron-Man… both were exceedingly mind-blowing the first time I saw them because I’d never seen anything quite like them before…
I mean, Tony Stark was kidnapped by terrorists (a nice modern twist), due to the accident, he had to make that mini arc-reactor to keep the stapnel out of his heart and to take on this organization, he creates this suit using his own mechanical ingenuity… before it became about Tony Stark being totally gorgeous and such a charismatic individual (i.e. someone I could fantasize about, lol), I saw him as your non-typical superhero… definitely not your typical origin story

and of course the real kicker is the fact that he gave away his secret identity… I mean who does that?
thinking about the other Avengers.. Steve Rodgers is well-known as BEING Captain America, there’s no secret there… Thor is a son of a god, so there’s no secret there… Nick Fury already kinda is a superhero, the director of S.H.I.E.L.D., no secret there… I guess Hawkeye was kinda out in the open in “Thor,” but he also has a costume…
I don’t think that Bruce Banner… well, maybe he does have the secret identity thing going on… I’ll have to watch “The Incredible Hulk” again sometime in the next 4-5 months…
now, Black Widow, she most definitely has a secret identity…

I don’t remember it all that well now πŸ˜•
but in “Iron-Man 2” Natalie Rushman is hired for the position originally held by Pepper Potts, as Tony Stark’s secretary… later on, Tony Stark finds out that she has another identity… and actually, he is confronted by Nick Fury a couple times… I remember two scenes…

one is where Tony’s in his suit, minus the helmet, sitting inside a donut-shopped sign in front of a coffee house and they talk inside… haha, maybe it’s a throwback to “Pulp Fiction” that they put in there for shizz & giggles…
and another towards the end where Tony Stark is looking through his profile, and therefore the line “textbook narscissim?… agreed”

hmm… I guess I’ll have to watch another 6-9 months for “Iron-Man 2” to hit FX cuz it sure as hell isn’t coming to HBO anytime soon…
Marvel studios being relatively new kinda complicates things…

speaking of complicated… well, not in the expected way…

I didn’t watch any footage last night, though I did find another Chaplin movie… well, he’s featured in it… that I’ll check into later tonight… A Jitney Elopement, it was on my recommended list on YouTube…

last night I had planned to write more for “Back to Decemember”… which I never got around to… a lot of the things had me thinking about a little something else I wanted to look into

yesterday, sat through two things back to back on a Cinemax channel…
saw my first full ep. of Perry Mason, which was quite interesting, I’ll be sure to catch a bunch of them over the next couple years to get a feel for that character, and therefore I can judge Mr. Downey’s performance more effectively 😎

after that, my dad took control of the remote and he found something called “Terror in the Aisles”… it was a compliation with some commentory about different things in scary movies, showed scenes from everything including The Shining, The Exorcist, Carrie, The Omen, Rosmary’s Baby, The Thing, The Fog… and there was one montage of scenes about the really phony/goofy horror movie monsters, including giant gorillas (not as big as King Kong though) to giant frogs… to killer vampire bats… :falloff: I mean, c’mon, that’s so cheesy

it was very interesting, though…
on the other hand, I do admit… when they were talking about how sex was used in these suspense movies… phew, I’d gotten such a dirty mind lately that it was expanding on everything that “Black Swan” and “Less than Zero” kinda set into motion for me…

I’d entertained the idea of writing a sex scene for quite a while, but didn’t quite have the guts to go through with it…
eventually I’m going to build up to such a thing happening between RJ and Jess… once I nail down the logistics about how/why he came back, how their relationship is going to work, etc, etc.

I find music to be an extremely simulating method of inspiration…
on a whim a few weeks ago, I listened to “Frozen” by Madonna and by the end of it, I had an idea for a scene with Julian…
naturally in the same vein as the rest of them, me feeling bad for him, putting hands on him… and of course he’s kinda the victim in the situation…

the brief scene I wrote, inspired by visuals I was getting from the song… the lyrics were extremely provocative and so spot-on that I couldn’t resist…
it takes place after a tremendous betrayal occurs on my part… he’s back in rehab or just put in rehab… but he’s mad because of something my character did, I believe something about her going on to be successful in the professional side of things, and because of that, she ignored people who were important to her, he feels abandoned, etc, etc.

that sort of thing…
so she’s apologizing to him, he’s not giving in to her right away, but as she puts hands on him, he starts to bend to her will…

phew…
I just gotta say that I’m definitely caught off guard by my characters behaving like this… as if sex is the answer to their problems… more or less, it’s her way of making it up to him, making him feel better, like he’s worth something… and each time I go into it… okay, this is only the 2nd time πŸ™„ it just unfolds right there… not a word about using protection or anything, its completey spontaenous

there’s something wrong with this picture I used to be someone who stood by no pre-martial sex, someone who hated promosciuity, relationships being solely because on sex, and although abstainance is my go-to (well, naturally I have no other choice at the moment, lol), protection is the next thing compared to unprotected sex…

it happens in soap operas all the time and the only negative consequence that comes out of it is an unexpected pregnancy that kinda screws up relationships… a lot…
only in this last year did they take another route: STD’s…
because she’s afraid Jake cheated on her with his ex-wife Cara, Amanda has sex with JR, freaks out that she’s pregnant and instead finds that she has HPV, which becomes cervical cancer and she ends up getting a hysterectomy (I hope that’s the right term, lol)…

dude… if I’m talking strictly from Bret Easton Ellis’s story, I have no idea, considering what he’s involved in, the kind of things Julian could have picked up… which kinda points out that the idea of unprotected sex with him would be a HUGE mistake in general…

as far as I can surmise with the way I’d been writing about these things, I can’t quite peg him down as someone carrying an STD… but he was, until recently, an addict…
looking at things from that way, being a realist and all that, it seems like the worst idea in the world

but it was something I simply couldn’t get out of my head… therefore I took the story I started while listening to that song… that one scene I wrote and extended it to include some graphic details… well, not really super graphic, no body parts are named/discussed, but it’s extremely implied that the dirty is occuring

geesh… makes me sound like a really selfless person, then… supposing I’m one for pity sex πŸ™„
a virgin being all for pity sex? now that’s a strange picture indeed… never in a million years did I imagine I’d be in this place…

and sure, the way things get out of hand during sexual activity, I wouldn’t put it past anything that it could unfold the way I wrote it…
it starts with my character being kinda emotional, feeling bad for her actions and wanting to make things right… then as they’re getting into it, his emotions start to breach the surface… something that never occurred before, certainly not this openly… as much as he could say how he felt betrayed, cut off from everyone else, actions were speaking louder than words when the scene was playing out in my head

at the moment, it was just impossible to imagine the sex scene to unfold between RJ & Jess… right now I have no idea where that’s going to go…

I went into it with Prince very briefly in my “Come” album fic… but aside from that, I never wrote about sex in a positive light…
the only other time where it was implied… well, I have mentioned once or twice that rape scares the hell out of me… I went into it a couple of times with deleted scenes from the “white tiger” files…

at the time, I found that a terrifying idea simply because… again, no experience on my part, the mystery of it and just having to go through it against your will… scary stuff…
naive as it sounds, I see my first time being after I really get to trust someone and want to capitalize on the sparks flying between us… whether it be on the honeymoon or beforehand, that’s how I see things playing out

I didn’t really have an idea about the mechanics of it and maybe once or twice there was a scene in a movie, actually one in an animΓ© “Angel Sanctuary”… when I was maybe 14-15… I had no idea what was going on there and it was particularly graphic, it was definitely implied, though…

after seeing a couple of those R-rated movies I’d mentioned a couple times, yeah, my mind has definitely been curious about what it’d be like…
and yeah, pity sex… go for it…

I think I pretty have it figured out… one way or another, I want to feel like I’m needed… that’s something I want in my life, just to feel needed by someone

the other thing we ended up watching was “Wall Street”… which I’d never seen before and it was an interesting movie… very much so… Michael Douglas, again, is an amazing actor, he has such an authority about him that you just want to be on his good side no matter what… and its nice to see Charlie Sheen really pulling his weight onset… I don’t care much for him at the moment, but back in the 80’s, he was a good actor…

πŸ˜• and of course, I got a little oversensitive when I discovered James Spader had a small role in the movie…
right now, I’m thinking “what the hell…” as in why does he get all of these roles of people who are in respectable positions… he’s part of a business in stocks in this movie… he’s a head of a rival department store in “Mannequin”… and he’s a CEO for Sabre in “The Office”… at least the critics didn’t seem to like him so maybe he’ll stop mucking up the hallways in Scranton…

just… “what the hell…” why does he get all these respected roles and what Robert Downey ever have to show for the 80’s…
he was a school bully a couple times, he was the best friend of the protagonist a couple times… and he was a tragic drug addict that got himself killed… its things like that that get under my skin…
of course, I’m playing up the delusion, a sick joke I keep replying in my head that James Spader is a drug dealer that gets to walk scott-free and nobody questions that

yep, I gotta let these things go… but I don’t really plan on it…
I’ll admit, James Spader was good looking back in the day, but he’s a scumbag in almost every role he plays… yep, just for one role, he’s not earning my forgiveness anytime soon for being an enabler, enabling Julian to an early grave…

so yeah…
gotta see more Chris Evans movies, rewatch Thor & Captain America a couple times before May…

I think I’ve cooled down again about going to see Sherlock 2… there’s really no rush… especially cuz “Two girls & a guy” will take my mind off things…

in roughly 2 days, 9 hours and 38 minutes

I just gotta keep my mind a clean slate going into it and everything should be cool 😎

This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged . Bookmark the permalink.