“Two Girls and a Guy” (1997)

I consider myself very lucky right now for a number of things. Aside from primo living conditions, great family, and all that cheesy stuff… I’m very lucky to have 600+ TV channels where I have access to all kinds of movies.

I’d actually seen 4-5 movies this week alone. Most of which weren’t intentional.
Didn’t mean to watch “Wall Street,” but my dad recommended it as it was on next and… what the hell, I figured I might as well… then I have some reason, I suppose, to watch the sequel with Shia LeBeouf, though I’m somewhat doubtful of him pulling off another grown-up performance. That’s not the only reason why “A guide to recognizing your saints” was a little bit of a disappointment… from his POV…

I liked The Greatest Game Ever Played and the new Indiana Jones movie (found the plot twist having a little to be desired… aliens sounds like a cop-out as an explanation) that everyone else kinda disliked…

:sigh:
I seem to be in the minority when it comes to loving movies like The Holidays and most recently, Suckerpunch… maybe I ought to spend Zack Synder a letter or something telling him that the movie at least has one fan. I thought it was pretty trippy, creative and listening to the soundtrack yesterday, yeah, it’s kick-ass…
my only complaint that I get out of it, aside from maybe it not being in chronological order. I find myself restricted to going through it in that way… the first track opens up the movie, but after that, it’s “where is my mind” and “love is the drug”… everything else is in order from tracks 2 to 6…
my complaint is, I believe it’s Bjork, on perhaps THE track of the entire movie that plays during the first trip into another reality… I can’t recall the name, but the song is just… no words, it blows my mind. She spends at least 2-3 minutes in the middle screaming and it just ruins the whole vibe I get out of it… I’m sure that was when the action was happening in the movie, and I don’t care if its her song or not, its the ultimate buzz-kill 😦

speaking of Zack Synder, cuz I happen to love his directing style and how he did that movie, I decided to watch “300” with my dad last night… it actually wasn’t as bloody or gory as I thought it’d be. It definitely wasn’t “Gladiator”… between that and “A Beautiful Mind” I have an utter dislike of Russell Crowe cuz he does all the same types of movies πŸ˜• that’s not stretching yourself, plus there’s the fact he won 2 Oscars in a row… let someone else have a chance I know, any excuse, I’ll take it.

the movie was also not entirely serious… in fact I can see why the “Scary movie” people decided to make a spoof of it… there is just some really goofy stuff in there that can’t be taken entirely seriously…
the sense of humor on the part of Gerald Butler and the other Spartans made it a good time, though I was a tad distracted, making sure I had plenty of prep time before my main engagement that night πŸ˜• not really prep time, forget that completely…
one thing I remember hearing in class was in Sparta, the women were equals among men so I was extremely pissed off about the anti-feminist views in this movie, as if the queen really doesn’t count for much. I mean, the king and queen are in charge, why is it that they also have a council too that’s more in charge than they are? that makes no sense…
naturally the best part is when she gets even with the traitor in their midst… it was one of those YES!! moments that had me fist pumping

the night before, I saw “From dusk ’till dawn”… Salma Hayek made a hot vampire, until she transformed… that was the only downside, Clooney didn’t get to become a vampire and the vampires were grotesque… like really groteseque… of course it was really goofy and campy in places…
also features a younger Juliette Lewis fresh off the set of Natural Born Killers, which my mom ID’d her from… I want to not want to see that movie… I know that Oliver Stone and I don’t mix at all and it definitely is going to leave a bad taste in my mouth…
I’d rather see Kill Bill than that movie… and considering how much I’d been digging Tarantino lately, it’s more likely a possibility

now… yesterday was interesting on a number of levels for a number of reasons πŸ˜•
for good and for bad…

it started out on shaky ground cuz… this is very strange, usually this wouldn’t cause discomfort for me or whatever… I was lucky enough to have another dream about Mr. Downey, but there was another vibe there that kinda had me off balance… I think I was asking him or wanting to ask him, again, about “Ally McBeal”… apparently they were shooting a Christmas special or reunion or something and he had a cameo… which is very strange cuz he was only in one season, why would HE get a cameo?
that’s the way I wanted it, but whatever it was about the dream, I didn’t like what I was feeling… as if having that question answered had an unbreakable grip on me. not to mention he was nothing like, the vibe was off, I’ll put it like that . it was such a displeasure that I didn’t write it down right away, I wanted to forget.
and maybe it seemed like he was a little unhappy as he was around the end of his run, etc, etc.

I’ve got only 38 minutes to do a movie review and I’m not quite there yet…

to remedy the situation, I went back to my notes, trying to recapture a certain vibe…
I think I was worried that my dreams weren’t carrying over what I was really feeling about certain things and situations…
and I most definitely think that I managed something…

I only have a couple days left to finish “Back to December”… I kinda wanted to write it over the course of this month… so I was worried I wouldn’t have any more to write or actually, I was afraid that I’d just brought him back into the story and it isn’t anywhere near what I imagined. Like it completely fell apart once he got there

rereading so much as the first two full ep’s he was in was all I needed… I recaptured something, started the chapter over again and… wow… once I got through the logistics of his story, solidifed his return and whatnot… I think I blew the roof off over the course of an hour +

omg… I can’t believe it, but I actually wrote my first legit sex scene… as in going into the details as much as I was comfortable with going into, it was out of love rather than… well, everything else where I felt the need to address it…
it sounds strange, a virgin writing a sex scene, as if “what would I know about it” right?… and a couple R-rated movies isn’t enough to really make me an expert…

but I was feeling a certain vibe, and I’d be lying if I said writing it wasn’t a turn-on cuz it sorta was… it was perfect the way it worked out, I had no idea it was going to about…
you know, its like that old saying about having someone to catch you when you fall… I imagine my first time being a situation like that opening up only when it was someone I trusted with my life… and wow… I blew myself away for nailing down what I did…
far from writing a sex scene with him in mind, recapturing the things about him that made me feel in love with his character, I couldn’t have asked for a better opportunity to nail it 😎

so… onto the movie..

not that it would have made a difference in my sleeping pattern or not (seeing as I was up until maybe 1:30-2 trying to fall asleep), I decided to wait until I digested it, had time for it to work on me before I wrote things down… because it was a lot to take in…

hmm…
I won’t know this for sure until a later date, but I have to say that I don’t think I’d experienced so many highs and lows with one actor…
where there have been a couple movies where afterwards I was feeling out of sorts, a little sick to my stomach, and the extreme case, crying my eyes out for a good 10-15 minutes after the ending credits (for the moment, “Less than Zero” takes up that category on its own but there might have been another)

I dunno… I think most of it is just what I get for putting myself in his shoes, his mindset and leaving myself to believe I could route for him to succeed…

I took in the movie as it was happening and stuck through the ending credits with mixed feelings…
for sure, I would definitely watch the movie again. I’m not going to avoid it like the plague.

:sigh: I ought to know that I should expect anything whenever he does an R-rated movie. Most likely, its going to push the envelope…
this was another one of those movies and I’m fully under the impression, haha… I can’t watch this in mixed company, no freakin’ way…

there’s maybe one or two scenes of concern πŸ˜• one of them being where he feins a suicide attempt to prove a point… but the other is a pretty hot… and I mean HOT sex scene between him and Heather Graham… call it oral sex, 3rd base or whatever…
the list of content said “brief nudity”… I think maybe it was too dark to really see much of anything, but it was on her part instead of his (considering where my mind was when I was writing some 10-11 hours before the movie, haha… I think I fooled myself into thinking I’d be open, despite how maybe 2 seconds of “Less than Zero” had me blushing, averting my eyes or whatever… shoot, I’ve got problems)…
supposing he pulled a Mel Gibson ala Lethal Weapon… oh snap, I gotta just stop there before I get really out of hand :falloff:

okay, onto the actual movie…

James Toback wrote it in 1998 when Robert was fresh off a couple arrests for drug possession, I believe rehab and was currently on probation and/or a suspended prison sentence…
he wrote it specifically for him to give him something to take his mind off things but also to give him something to think about, things to consider about the path he’d chosen

this is the same guy who wrote/directed the, I believe, inept “Pick-up Artist”… and after this, I suppose that’s worth another look just for a comparison…
he did have some moments of brilliance in his acting, most of which was towards the end of the movie, the 2nd half if you will…

one thing I gotta say for James Toback
thank you for incorporating all of Robert’s talents and using them to their full extent…

but I gotta address everything in order…

the movie starts with, I think somewhat of a cop-out… the two girlfriends are sitting in front of his apartment building, waiting for him to show up. after talking for a while, they start to realize (well, Heather Graham [Carla] starts to) that they’re dating the same guy… and naturally they’re pissed off… who wouldn’t be?
Lou (played by Natasha Gregson Wagner… I looked her up and don’t recognize anything she’d been in, kinda looks familiar to) goes up the fire escape, breaks his window to break into his apartment and she buzzes Carla in

right away, I start to get concerned as time goes on as to how much screentime he’s gonna get… there are literally 15 minutes of them talking about him, things he’d said simultaneously to both of them, comparing notes, trying to figure out what to do to him, how to get even… going as far as to talk about the relationship he has with his mother, starting to believe that she might be the third woman in his life (haha… call me whatever, but it was when I really saw the signfiance of everyone’s favorite 4-syllable curse word… what it really means and yeah, that’s pretty nasty)…

as for his talents… of course, I see Robert Downey Jr. as Mr. “Multi-talented”…
omg, I could not believe the extent that James Toback had me do this movie… in the first 5 minutes of screentime no less, he returns home from wherever he’d been in search of another gig (much like real life, he’s an actor having trouble getting hired)… he’s alone (he believes) in his apartment and starts singing Cumo Sancto Spiritu… I don’t remember a lot of the lyrics but we did that in concert choir once…

then he was playing piano… I was having a great time and he hadn’t even said a word yet… singing and playing piano, it was like cloud 9…

until things started to pick up. He was calling his mom, left messages for his girlfriends, and getting into it with his manager because nobody seemed interested in hiring him…

Carla decides to pop out of her hiding place, they get to talking… it oddly turns to her being asked about her fidelity, he’s asking if she’s been seeing anyone else… either that or he’s getting really defensive about something, not quite sure why he’s being given the 3rd degree (or whatever that degree is, lol… I can’t remember… it was 3rd or 5th)…

he ultimately says that he’s so in love with her that every other women repulses him…
prompting Lou to come out of the closet she’s hiding in… and wow… there are fireworks when the two of them are trying to get him to admit why he was seeing the two of them at the same time, keeping it secret and all that…

his way of dealing with it, several minutes later, is trying to prove a point… stripping down to his briefs, feining shooting himself in the head while he’s drenched in blood (sadisitic jerk, makes me wonder where he got all that fake blood from, lol)

he also happens to be good with improv, according to the imdb trivia…

let’s see… what else…

I think I saw the clip of Siskel & Ebert giving this movie a good review, saying that the scene with him talking to himself in the mirror was like he was giving himself the 5th degree, addressing his current personal troubles… transcended reality…
there were a couple of mirror scenes where I was just on the edge of my seat… if not that, there were several instances while he was talking to his girlfriends where I saw something in his eyes that didn’t add up

I’m willing to bet that this movie is the closest I’m going to get to seeing just how troubled and messed up he was around this time… his acting masked a lot of it, some of it was aided by it and the rest of it… it was kinda scary and unsettling, I’m not gonna lie.

him talking his way around and through his lies was definitely transcending reality… because when you’re a drug addict, a lot of what you do is lying, that’s how you prolong it to the extremes that it can often lead you to… putting him under the microscope served its purpose for sure…

the movie was very much like a play because it was all taking place in his apartment and only three characters…

It was interesting how he and Carla spent the most time together, even had that sex scene and cleary that didn’t change anything… she was still pissed off that he was lying about all this stuff…

Lou, on the other hand, she’s the feister of the two, definitely… does the most mouthing off, calling him every name in the book several times… dozens of f-bombs…

shoot, I gotta finish this later… the movie’s starting…
false alarm, I have half an hour

yeah, of the two of them, Lou was definitely putting him through the paces…

then later on, it didn’t seem like she was at all mad that he and Carla had a little private time and he didn’t ask her the same…
he said it didn’t even come to mind when it came to her… very strange πŸ˜• I guess she didn’t strike him as that type of girl who just wants to jump into it with a guy because it’s convenient… for a number of reasons, she was the one I was kinda supporting, wanting him to end up with and its cuz she reminded me of myself a little bit

before I by-pass the improv… supposedly after he gives himself that pep talk, he’s in the tub, talking to his mom about why it took a while for him to call her back.
Robert totally made up this story about there being a body in his apartment and two detectives are giving him the 5th degree about it because he’s a suspect… total BS, it was so out there, but in a strange way, it kinda worked

the girls spend some of the time asking him about his mom, if he’s using her as a cover-up for his actions or whatever… he seems very offended by the insuintion.
he spends a good amount of time, while he’s fending off his girlfriends, talking to his mom, asking how she is, seems under the impression that she’s not doing that well… sounds very ill, so he calls a doctor, gets a call back and is annoyed further when the doctor doesn’t seem as concerned as he is… he would know, he talks to her 3-5 time a day

so in the later scene (just gotta say this guy loves mirrors, he did this scene with his back to a corner of long mirrors), he’s talking to the girls, they’re trying to get answers from him.
then he starts to do a lot of deflecting, something that addicts tend to do to protect themselves… he asks them how many people they’d been while they were dating…
Carla said about 5 guys…
and it would seem that Lou is bisexual… she said she’d been with 3 girls which throws him for a complete loop… he gets to the point of mouthing off at her, calling her some deragatory names, which he later takes back and apologizes for

that would definitely explain her earlier proposal, after he gets into it with Carla and she’s off making a phone call…
Lou suggests, without saying the exact phase, a menagΓ© trios, lol… I’m surprised that he didn’t come out and say it, but dude, its so obvious that he knows exactly what she’s talking about…
I can’t help but think about Seinfeld when the idea comes up, lol… total ensuing hilarity

the idea never comes up with Carla and it would seem that the two of them are more conventional when it comes to relationships and sex…

I was waiting for some big resolution, but nothing like that came and the ending kinda left you hanging a bit… overall, I can tell that Lou decided to opt out and he and Carla are still together

being concerned about his mom, he leaves the apartment to check on things. before she takes off, Lou leaves Carla her phone number for anything, not necessarily sexual but just to stay in touch

ultimately, as the critics said, they spent the movie berating him but at the same time, manage to recapture/rekindle why they fell for him in the first place… as if his infidelity didn’t matter…

as it turns out, he was right. His mom passed away, I believe from emphysema or something relating her smoking… he is a complete mess…
I’m all for these types of scenes where the guy is inconsolably crying on the command… Robert is among those amazingly talented individuals that can manage it like that… Carla had stuck around to help handle a few phone calls for him that he couldn’t even begin to…
there were at least 2-3 minutes of her holding him and massaging his head and back to tell him everything was going to be okay

the movie ends with him playing piano with her beside him. He said that he likes to go into music because there are no words to them, it helps him get through stuff… and it would seem that what he was playing was an original composition by him called “Snake”… according to the critics…
It was beautiful

so amongst all the lies, he was telling the truth about his mom and she meant a great deal to him…

for a number of reasons, that included, the movie felt like a letdown… but I didn’t regret waiting around for it to air. It was everything I thought it’d be and more. It wasn’t Oscar material by any means, but that didn’t matter… there’s nothing like a series of acting exercises for a troubled actor.

my overall impression is that I saw bits and pieces of his acting that I could trace to other roles he’d done… line delivery or facial expressions, body language…
sometimes it was more obvious that he wasn’t in a good place… it was enlightening, but I’d be lying if I said it wasn’t a little disconcerning…

so much so that once I got my Internet back, I couldn’t feel much relief watching him on GMA talking about his album… a direct contrast to the movie

yep, I knew for sure that he wasn’t at his best physically or mentally… but his acting wasn’t by any means detracted by what he was going through… it made some scenes a little too close for comfort, though not nearly to the extent of “Less than zero” which had me wholly believing he was as addicted in real life as he was in the movie

that’s always going to be the par for the course, that movie, as far as troubled Downey roles go…

it took me an hour longer than normal to fall asleep after that… the sorrow that engulfed me wasn’t nearly to the degree of a lot of previous exposures to knowing just how hard the mid-late 90’s were for him… it certainly wasn’t like watching Biography the 1st or 2nd time where it took hold of me.

but yeah, I couldn’t help but feel saddened by it… knowing there was a lot more trouble to come, but in the short run, the movie did give him a little perspective… when it comes to addiction, there’s no such thing as a silver bullet or quick fix… it’s a process

naturally, it’s another opportunity to say how lucky I am and all of his fans are, how lucky he and his friends and family are that everything worked out okay, that he’s doing so well these days

in the back of my mind, I’m always going to be aware of his past, but I don’t let it cloud my judgement of him.
in fact, for maybe the past 2 months, its felt like I’d proceeded to claim amnesia the way he’s been… just saying its in the past, no need to worry about it or concern myself with it anymore because of where he is now…

living the high life, perhaps the highest its ever been…

haha…

and yeah, becoming a dad again is definitely going to trump his “summer of love” that was 2008

I gurantee it

and “The Avengers” coming out a couple months later isn’t too shabby either 😎

This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , . Bookmark the permalink.