I bow down as a “dreamscape disciple”

That’s right. I’m coining that for myself right now and I don’t care what anyone’s gotta say against it

I realize this kinda goes without saying πŸ˜• I mean I’ve devoted a lot of entry time to this particular phenomenon. Truth of the matter is that I’ve been writing down my dreams since December 8, 1999, the first time something I dreamt about inspired me to write.

Bits and pieces of my dreams have ended up in my writing in one way or another, but very few times have they actually influenced entire pieces.

Nina bumping into Jonas and she can’t see anything as a result… that was something out a dream I had when I may/may not have bumped into “David” and I couldn’t see anything… for whatever reason. I couldn’t quite explain that.

On the other hand, though, there have been a couple of feelings I’ve had in dreams that I later put into my writing. That’s the more or less the common scenario, rather than me dreaming about something and automatically I write a short story about it or whatever.

however…

the short story I wrote in homage (boy do I love that word lately… homage) to “Remember Me” as in… if I were in that situation, how would I be if someone I loved got killed as a result of something relating to the Iraq war or war in the Middle East…

all of that started with me sketching a dream I had that featured Robert Pattinson… for whatever reason he was at the same mall I was, we spend a good deal of it talking, but I didn’t remember the conversation too well. The only thing I did know was that I loved every minute of it. It felt special.

So I wrote a sketch of that, but took it a little bit further. Ultimately that became the climax of my short story. My character, Sam Manson (I believe that was her name), is at the mall, shopping to get her mind off things. She runs into this guy she knows from school and they get to talking, he tries to help her and ultimately she breaks down.
I came up with some BS that he happens to be a dead ringer for someone she loved and lost. I crafted the story mostly from raw feelings as a result of the 9/11 climax, but I crafted it where she loved a man who is just graduated from high school, he went off to the service because he wanted to serve his country… then he becomes one of many casualties in a crossfire at the Afghanistan/ Pakistan border

so much was my small period of being totally patriotic, totally getting the war in the Middle East, feeling invested in it for whatever reason.
it’s pretty un-American of me that it took an actor I cared about to be a casualty of 9/11 in a movie for me to give a damn

on the other side of things, that movie “Extremely Loud and Incredibly Close” (I hope I got the name right… my adjectives might be reversed) continues to intrigue me. The story is a post 9/11 drama where the boy wants to find something of his father’s, who happened to be in the one of the office buildings when the towers got hit.
I can’t quite put my finger on what it is, but there’s something about that movie that makes me interested in seeing it

maybe part of me is secretly (ok, not so secretly) hoping I can repeat yesteryear’s feat… as in, I went to the theaters to see a movie that I heard got a lot of praise and was highly considered for winning Best Picture… The King’s Speech was that movie and it definitely followed the trek of what an Academy Award Winning movie is like… and needless to say, Colin Firth was exceptional. Heck, I loved Geoffrey Rush even more as his speech therapist… very entertaining fellow (I’d only known him for playing Barbossa in the ‘Pirates’ movies).
It’s not a movie I’d see a million times, not nearly as many times as I’d watched “Chaplin” in the past year (I think I managed 6-7 times, lol… but I’ll try to keep it once a year from now on)… but I’d like to see it again now that it’s on Showtime 😎

it was a pretty cool feeling… just going out to see this one movie and that night, it wins best picture and actually knowing that it deserved the honor because you saw it yourself. How many times can you say that about a movie? Most Oscar-winning movies, I’d see long after they won

The Hurt Locker, I’m boycotting because I believe “Avatar” should have won instead… I mean, c’mon… everything about it was transcendual… it had the makings of best picture material… but no, the Academy never gives it up to the Fantasy movies… the last Lord of the Rings movie only got it because it was super long and it was the last movie of a triology. I liked the Two Towers a lot more and that didn’t win because, oh right, there’s one more movie left

my favorite movie I saw in the theater this past year would have to be the last Harry Potter movie, but in the fact of The Descendants, The Artist and perhaps The Help (I’m not ruling that out for a second… Oscar nominees are announced on Tuesday 1/24)
much like Mr. Downey probably won’t win an Oscar for Sherlock Holmes because he’s got a bunch of heavyweights to contend with just to get on the ballot… and him not being on the Golden Globes ballot means no Oscar for him this year… but I’m gonna keep hoping that I’ll get to see that happen

I think George Clooney won for best supporting actor in Syriana, but never best actor… I’d love to see him win best actor this year for The Descandants, and perhaps best director for The Ides of March… but we’ll see how the ballots work out. There’s definitely going to be a lot of interesting things happening

yeah, it’s awards season, what can I say? I’m excited

 

I got really sidetracked, didn’t it?

so much for my dreams determining the state of mind I’d have for the rest of the day.
like I said a couple days ago, I have a date with James Dean this afternoon in “Rebel without a Cause”

I know nothing about it other than the fact he was a bright young actor in his time and he didn’t have the priviledge of enjoying his success… I’m led to believe that he died long before his time

so yeah, I like to write down my dreams, but often times, the ones I write down usually focus on a small group of people.
namely celebrities

and every other high school crush, or later in life, that I’ve had

“David” has the record of all of them with maybe 63 dreams… those spanned from October 27, 2002 to maybe 2008… which is a long time to be thinking about the same guy… who told you that you weren’t their type.
I swear I’d flip out if he came out of the closet too… it seems that I have the biggest trouble picking out the guys who play for the other team… Drew was something I probably should have anticipated… what straight guy hugs all of his girlfriends each time he sees them? That’s what got me off…

as for my beloved musical actor… I gotta find a code name for him one of these days because I don’t really feel comfortable with using his actual name… that should have been SUPER obvious, but I definitely wasn’t in tune with picking out the gays from the straights :shrug:
and given my solidified position on things, I feel guilty for even typing that, even if that is true

now that I’m thinking about, there is one little thing that’s been bugging me…
about the Actor’s Studio footage…
when they were talking about Home for the Holidays, Robert introduces his character Tommy in this fashion

“It’s funny you should mention that because that was a real turning point too… I play the healthiest person in the family”
Then James Lipton adds “who’s gay…”
“Who’s gay, yeah…”

I don’t know, something about his tone just bothered me a little bit… Robert certainly didn’t think that was a big deal, the way he gave his response was very ‘matter-of-factly’… as if it made no difference one way or another to him

Given, Tommy Larson being gay did boost his storyline a little bit… to his sister Claudia (Holly Hunter), for the most part, he’s kinda like her gal pal, he’s there to listen, gives her great advice and… oo… all those kind of things that made me wish I were related to someone like him, super nice guy…
if not a little bit of an odd ball… I can’t determine and I don’t really want to speculate if Tommy’s quirks were written into the character or they were as a result of… well, him being strung out on black tar heroin :shrug:
there’s maybe one moment in the movie…. well, actually two, but one of them is just a scene where Jodie Foster told him to “gross your sister out”… and there’s something about a nose story that I can’t remember say what it was about but it offended her so much that she got out of the car and started walking home, lol

but the other moment I’ve said a couple times, him kinda goofing around, “attacking” the car that is holding Steve Guttenberg and his family… you’d think it was something out of a horror movie, more ideally the movie he did called “In Dreams” where he plays a serial killer
…it’s just very odd, offbase, doesn’t really fit in with the rest of the movie… just kinda sets up the fact that he and this part of the family don’t get along too well

all hell breaks loose at dinner and his sexuality is called into question when everyone gets wind of the fact he married his boyfriend in secret… and a question was asked about whether he wore a dress to the ceremony

geesh, there is just no easy way to talk about this stuff at the dinner table in these movies without it offending at least somebody. I speak, of course, of the conversation that takes place in “The Family Stone” after Diane Keaton makes a comment that she hoped all of her sons would be gay so they’d never leave…
and Sarah Jessica Parker questions this and says “I don’t know if anyone would wish for that”

pretty much everything comes crashing down from there…

so yeah :shrug:
Tommy Larson is gay, but so what? what is to you, Mr. Lipton? Is it really worth mentioning cuz I didn’t like that tone…

kinda goes in the same context of this one question for the NJ 101.5 radio show where callers weighed in on whether or not the achievements of gay Americans should be put in the history books… a lot of people said that there’s no point, is there need to call attention to that? All of these people were Americans, what does it matter if they were gay or black or whatever race or sexuality that is…

again, I got super side-tracked… but I’m rolling with the punches as they come to mind…
this’ll make for a helluva more interesting entry than what I posted last night… I kinda knew it was a mistake a few minutes into it

all in all, the BCS series turned out to be a total waste of my time… none of the teams I picked won with the exception of the Gators… go Gators…
I picked Stanford cuz of Andrew Luck, they lost
I picked LSU cuz… well, I don’t really like Alabama, but Alabama won and pretty much dominated… like what the hell?

good thing I don’t take college ball SUPER seriously or I’d be a little more pissed off than I am… not sure if it was more about it being a shut-out or that LSU was #1 and they didn’t look like it at all.
it was so one-sided that each time I’d flip the channel between the game and “Castle,” Alabama had the ball

meanwhile the paper is talking about Tebow’s latest “miracle turnaround” and that the Giants are more than ready for their game with the Packers… in both cases, I really do hope that the hype is lived up to… and regarding the Giants, if they could have a cushion of 3 possessions going into the 4th quarter, I’d very much appreciate it…

I really hate watching games where I’m on edge the whole time that my team is going to lose… I like competitive, definitely… I don’t really want to see another replay of Giants & Patriots, though… because luck might be more with the Patriots this year…
besides, I’d like for things to be interesting… getting new teams involved and such…

truth is that my attitude about the latest Giants/Patriots game… it was so unbelievably close and competitive that I don’t think I would have felt too bad if the Giants lost because they sure as hell gave it their best…
on the other hand, I was pretty pissed off that the Packers won in the last minute of their game… I think I just wanted an overtime match and it just ended way too quickly for my tastes

I’m pretty fickle when it comes to whatever the hell is about this game

I don’t know who’s playing when, but here’s the breakdown of next weekend

Giants/Packers (I’m gonna be PRAYING for a Giants victory here, if only to keep the ball rolling from Sunday’s awesome game)

Saints/49ers (49ers have been pretty powerful this year and they are a team to be reckoned with… and I’d been keeping an eye out for them to win since Steve Young retired… but regardless, I’m loving Drew Brees right now, so I really would like for… ultimately a Saints/Giants NFC Championshp game… during which anything could happen, but I’d love both teams to go to the Super Bowl)

Patriots/Broncos (unless Tebow gets another miracle, and he definitely needs one, I don’t see this game shaping up too well… I don’t know what the vegas odds are, but I’m willing to predict that a Giants/Broncos SuperBowl is the longshot, as in 200-1 odds… and definitely something I’d love to see too)

Texans/Ravens (this game is purely inconsequential to me… I don’t really care either way who wins… Houston is long overdue for a SuperBowl appearance so I’m kinda siding with them… but I just like saying the name Joe Flacco, so I kinda would like the Ravens to get their due as well… depending on who goes up against who, there are few scenarios where I’d pick the Ravens over anyone else)

my predictions:

Saints & 49ers will be a SUPER tight game, but with the ball running for Drew Brees, I’m picking the Saints

Giants & Packers… I’m hoping it’ll be a super tight game like the last time, but I’m hoping and praying that it’ll be the Giants (they might be more confident, but I’m still very skeptical… if this is anything like their SuperBowl year’s momentum, they have a good chance)

Patriots & Broncos… I see the Patriots winning this, hands down, but you know, can’t count out Tebow just yet

Houston & Ravens… whoa, I can’t really predict this one… it’s tough… my gut says… I’m almost willing to base it on a coin toss… because it’s definitely a 50/50 thing…
based on the history of the Ravens in the postseason (dropping the ball), I’ll have to go with Houston

so unless something really outrageous happens (and this year, ANYTHING could happen because it has)…

I see a SuperBowl with the Patriots vs. Saints/Giants

I’ll put it like this… unless it’s the Packers who make it all the way, I’m betting on the NFC to come out on top

I think that Drew Brees and Tom Brady will bring the best quarterback match-up that the NFL has ever seen… since, I think, John Elway and Steve Young… those two were pretty competitive back in the day

I’m always up for the realm of impossibilties

folks just called from Arizona, so chances are good that if the phone rings again today, it’ll be my call-back or confimation or whatever else you wanna call it :shrug: I’ll see what happens, I guess

anyway, this dream I had πŸ™„

I think it was pretty much taking me to task about something I was thinking about the other day with the whole skating/gymnastics spectucular with Nastia Liukin and all those other athletes…

I can’t remember his name too well, but there was this one guy… I think it was Stephan Sharp or something like that… I’ll have to check my Facebook status of a couple days ago… Shane Harper… :falloff: not even close…
anyway, he’s a Disney Channel artist (yeah, big surprise right)… he just turned 18 last year (lucky me, so I won’t be interested in a minor, :falloff: …) he did this one song called “one step closer” that just had me… had me… it was super sweet and he was playing acoustic guitar… not to mention he’s kinda cute

yeah, I might have to watch myself there… I like to research the artists I pick up, but lately I’ve been more missing than hitting… aside from my latest trifecta (Maroon 5, Taylor Swift, Katy Perry) and Lady Gaga, I really haven’t gotten anything that I enjoy listening to…
because I listened to his album once, I simply cannot listen to David Cook on the radio anymore… I was getting this really bad feeling while listening to him… as if the music was telling me that there was something wrong inside me… you know, a little too honest for my tastes

opposed to The Futurist, which has me wishing I was a better person every other time I listen to it… the lyrics just hit too close to home for me…

Smoke & Mirrors by Lifehouse kinda felt like that too, but not super strong…

that explains why I didn’t really listen to much new music this year. It was mostly The Futurist and Lady Gaga… with a little bit of Taylor Swift here and there… a bunch of Maroon 5… the whole drill

Nastia did a balance beam routine to the live cut of Taylor Swift’s “Haunted”… and I definitely knew which song it was before the first lyric was sung… I recognized it right away… it was in a lower key than I’m used to. Like I said, Taylor Swift kinda sounds a little more masculine… kind of an odd thing to say, but it makes her out to be more of a tomboy than she is…
it was a really well done routine as well 😎 gotta love Nastia and the best of luck to her in the 2012 Olympic games

its kinda funny, actually… a few years ago, Carly Patterson hosted a event just like this one where she did a floor routine to “La La” by Ashlee Simpson and Jesse McCartney was one of the live performers they had 😎

Carly Patterson won the all-around gold medal in 2004 and Nastia won the same honor four years later… and they both came from the same gym in Plano, Texas…
in fact, when I was “scouting” for the next huge gymnast in one of the US Championships, I had my eye on Nastia right away because they said she came from the same school as Carly…

I also wrote Carly a fan letter and got a reply back… but it was somewhat of a generic reply that probably got sent to everyone the only thing is I don’t know what the hell happened to it. I’m betting its in a landfill somewhere πŸ˜• same goes with the Comic-Con guide that had Veronica Taylor’s signature in it

oddly enough, there is a connection there…
my dream had all kinds of stuff going on in it…
I heard my favorite “Suckerpunch” track being played during another movie or another trailer
I was watching PokΓ©mon and it so happened that in back to back shows, one of them had the new voices and the other one had the originals… the only ones I will watch, totally boycotting the series for the past 3-4 years, however long its been… but the original cast was working on a newer show because I didn’t recognize anything in there

yeah, I’d been out of the game for so long I don’t recognize any of the new names of PokΓ©mon :shrug: those were good times, though… if not a little insane at times

and yes, insanity has kinda followed me around since I was 13… go figure

but prominently in the dream, I saw JMac in the most random of places… on the street… but it was kinda like an old desert town because it wasn’t like a concrete/asphalt road or anything… they had dirt roads, but indoor & outdoor shops…
I tried to master my nerves and approach him… which I did… I think he had in the back of his mind that he wanted to get some distance (you know that whole thing about outrageous fan encounters)… I think I wanted to see if he remembered me, which I doubt he would (he must have met 1,000’s of fans between 2003 and now)… then I asked him something like “i’m sure you’re getting this all the time, and its probably top secret but when that’s new album coming out”…

then one of the people he’s with hands me a sample album cover… that oddly enough looks like something of Prince’s… I think it said 3121 on it, but the cover art was like something from the Lotusflow3r set…

I’ve kinda made peace with the fact that Jesse isn’t a mainstream artist… he’s not universally known for many things… definitely not as well known as Grayson Chance and Cody Simpson are becoming (they were also part of that gymnastics/skating show this past weekend)…
but dammit, sometimes I wish he was

on the other hand, though, the crowd he grew in to Six Flags when he did that concert in 2005… that says otherwise… he’s not universally known, but in small circles, he is HUGE…

I think I mentioned in the dream something like “wow, I think it must have been, maybe 8 years since I saw you last… July of 2003″… when I woke up, I realized I forgot about 2005… but there are a couple reasons for that

a) I didn’t “meet” him in 2005, just came out for the concert and
b) I’m probably going a bang-up job trying to block that show out because I was kinda disappointed in him

it’s one thing that it took him forever to show up (like, for crying out loud, dude… you kept us waiting for hours… one between waiting for the opening act and another between the opening act and when he showed up… stuff like that gets under my skin a bit, especially when there’s no explanation whatsoever about why the tardyness happened)
and another that the sound-system didn’t do him any justice… meaning that he doesn’t sound all that great when he’s performing live

I mean, yeah, part of me expected him to sound exactly the same as he did on the record because I’d heard those songs hundreds of times… but he sounded a helluva lot better at Point Pleasant than he did at Six Flags… I cannot figure out why there was such a huge difference other than the sound-system making him sound bad…

or his voice just doesnt sound good in huge venues… I got his LIVE album which had all the same songs, but he sounded just as, not good, as he did at Six Flags…

needless to say, unless there’s a meet & greet involved, I don’t think I’ll be going to another one of his concerts…

it’s one thing that his next album might mark his trip into unfavorable territory (he’s still working with Sean Garrett, who’s responsible for a lot of the songs on his last album that I really didn’t like too much at first… one of which I simply REFUSE to listen to but because it was more of a rap song… and I don’t think he even had lead vocals on it… he was more or less featured with Sean Garrett doing the majority of the work)

but it’s another when he doesn’t sound good live… I’m not sure if that’s something I can live down or forgive πŸ˜• sorry, Jess, I love ya… but it just doesn’t showcase your vocals very well

maybe I ought to put that poster back on my wall… I’ve got a bunch of different faces around my room looking back at me… my high school graduation being one (regrettably), my Dream Street poster (during which he was probably 10-11), Lady Gaga, Prince all over my stereo…

the one thing super noteable about the dream…  Jesse looked like he did around the time of his second album… blonde hair, bangs, etc, etc. I was never really a huge fan of his dark locks, not to mention the last couple times I saw him, either in pictures or whatever else…

let’s just say he’s starting to become more and more of a dead ringer for Theodore, the chipmunk he does the voiceover for πŸ™„
he’s gotta get back on the road and start performing again (Yeah, I see how I’m a hypocrite at this moment, lol)… please, no offence meant, Jess, but you’re pudging out a little bit in the face…

eh, of course if I had it my way, he’d still be blonde and he wouldn’t be selling out to hip-hop

BUT… on the other hand, whether I see it right away or not… it seems that the progression in his music seems to coincide with the progression of my mental maturity… he writes about love and relationships because that’s all he has experience with :shrug: you write what you know… the stuff he sung about in his second album, I could chill with it for hours… it just sounded like the kind of things I would say if I found myself in similiar situations…
his most recent album, though, it took me a while to really understand where he was coming from… not to mention his lyrics have gotten a tiny bit more racy… that’s just me, though. I’d “known” him for a number of years and wasn’t really willing to accept the fact he’s growing up, he’s maturing and at his age, people like him drink on occasion (I remember being in fury on the messageboards once when a picture was released of him drinking when he was 17-18, I didn’t believe he’d be that type of person)… and boys will be boys, sex will undoubtedly start seeping into his lyrics as far as the subjects he addresses

at the time of the release… lordy, I can’t remember which year it was anymore… I always get the two years confused… The Click Five’s 2nd album, which had my heart in stitches for weeks, perhaps months, I think that came out the same year as… well… the summer of Prince, when he was a huge part of my life, etc, etc.

I think the year after that, 2008, was when “Departure” came out… but I can’t be positive… I knew it was another close-to-breaking point… haha, I think I took the lyrics a little too seriously in places… because it was as if he knew I’d stopped listening to him for the past year or so…

“how do you sleep” felt like he was calling me out totally insane, I know… and “Over” was talking about ending a relationship… yeah, I definitely took a lot of that personally

as if that wasn’t bad enough, the song after “over” was a rap song and it was a true WTF moment for me… I was caught off-guard and definitely hot & bothered about it for a couple of tracks… at first I was saying to myself “there’d better be nothing else like this”… I found myself face to face with two songs in a similar school of thought…
“Into ya” was talking about seducing a girlfriend to the bedroom and I’m thinking “you can’t be singing about this, you’re not that type of person”… I knew I wasn’t…
and then “Makeup” was something also a bit off… not the type of thing I’d expect him to sing… I think it’s about an exotic girl he’s really into and keeps saying “you’re sexy and you know it”

I dunno… I’m very hesitant to believe that I’m going to like “Have it all” right away…

there’s a “recharged” version of his last album that I haven’t gotten… I’m not sure if there’s really a point in doing so… I mean, it has all of the same songs, with a few additions… remixes… I do not want to hear Ludacris ruining “How do you sleep” by adding some rapping to it, the song was perfectly fine as is… even if the synth line caught my attention intially and several times had me in emotional cardiac arrest (okay, that actually describes my Click Five reaction to “Jenny” more than this… which wasn’t super bad, but you know, it messed me up a bit the first couple times)…

I think I heard part of “Body Language” on the radio, but the signal was never good enough where I could actually hear enough of it to determine if I liked it or not….

here’s my overall outlook, though…

according to, whatever Wikipedia was quoting, Jesse said that “Have it all” was going to be about him pushing the envelope more than he had as an artist… getting to the point where he doesn’t want to be boxed in musically or because of subject matter…
that’s definitely very daring on his part, I have to say… I’m all for originality, setting yourself apart, taking risks, etc, etc.

but I’ll have to face the facts that I never went into a single JMac album and came out jumping up and down… I’d either be caught off guard because it wasn’t what I was expecting, I’d be maybe a little underwhelmed (“Right where you want me” was more underwhelming, I think, than me getting excited)…
“Departure” was an emotional rollercoaster… I’d be with Jesse through a lot of it, but I’d go through moods from track to track… it starts out good, I’m taken a little off guard by the break-up song, nearly screaming at him for the rap song because he was (per my mind set at the time) selling out to what is trendy which is roughly Justin Timberlake in a nutshell…
“how do you sleep” had me thinking I was being unfaithful πŸ™„ can I just say “insane” more…

the next two songs had me freaking out and worrying he’d gone to the dark side…
“Baby” had me a little… eee… because his vocals during the chorus rubbed me the wrong way, it was just… weird… then there were moments later on where I totally recognized his vocal style
“Told you so” was another odd moment that made me feel like I was being unfaithful because Prince had become my favorite artist overnight…

my music picture was like this over the past 10 years… maybe 5… (ah, last October marked 10 years since Dream Street was huge in my life, got the album 10/2001)… I was a pop music, boybands kind of girl… Dream Street was my big moment that didn’t last too long… that year went by too fast…
meanwhile, while going through treacherous, uncharted waters (for me), I was waiting for a new album from any of the DS alums… I figured Chris Trousdale would be the one, but nope, still waiting on him πŸ™„

“Beautiful Soul” came out fall of 2004… didn’t quite get it right away, but soon enough, I did…
more experimenting here and there… I got his next album at the same time as Aly & AJ’s deluxe “Into the rush” album…

it took me a while, but “right where you want me” became my jam, my chill-out album to which I’d chill during a bad day 😎 made me feel a million times better… and I was crazy about all but maybe one or two of the songs…

“Daddy’s little girl” kinda rubbed me the wrong way… especially when it came to this one lyric “shake what ur momma gave ya”… my mistake, that was my first JMac-related WTF moment… what the hell does that even mean? what is it that girls inherit from their moms, their bodies in general or specifically their busts or their booties?

in fact, the song made Jesse sound a little like a dirty old man… he was saying that this girl just turned 18 and that “daddy’s little girl is now my baby”… I dunno… I do occasionally did my share of daydreaming, but I never thought of Jesse as that kind of guy… the song sounded like a joke, like something concocted from Hollywood or whatever… an exaggeration/hyperbole

the other song I didn’t really get too much was this song called “We can go anywhere”… here’s the strange part, though… around that time, I was starting to write my Prince-inspired story… an Aly & AJ track “Shine” kinda had me thinking about Prince as someone who shined and I wanted to, as they sang “walk the line that falls behind you”… it was a beauty… the feeling about him I got from that song was what got me started writing…
but when I was writing about him coming up with a couple of the songs, one of them was “Back in the Water”… I just loved that song so much at that moment that it worked into the story… then there was one day, it had snowed and I was going through the woods between the on-campus apartments and the campus… and I was humming “we can go anywhere”… considering what it’d be like if the song started with one part at the beginning that repeats rather than ending with that piece of the song…

soon enough, writing about that song rehashed in the story, under a different name of course… I got to really like that song more and more…

back to Departure, though… after “told you so”… I think the rest of the songs kinda bounced off, didn’t remember them too well… “Relapse” became my guilty pleasure, the one song I’d love to listen to everytime I picked up the album… I brought my CD player with me to go through the woods on some days and I’d be singing that to myself kinda out of breath because I’d be walking at the same time, but yeah… good times…

“Freaky” followed the path of the other songs I disliked before it… so at this point, I was very upset with Jesse and how he resolved to put together this album… it didn’t at all reflect the way I saw him as a person, but again, I hadn’t really seen him around in a couple years. A person can change a lot in that small timeframe, I know I have over the past year or so… very much so…

but then, perhaps the perfect and I mean PERFECT moment… the best timing, the best placement, the best content, the best everything…

“Not your enemy” being the ending track of that album. There was no rapping on it at all. It was a nice, slow ballad… great lyrics that I definitely know Jesse is capable of delivering so I was not at all surprised he co-wrote this one…
then the clincher was the final chorus “how you do expect things to get any better, if you keep me on the sideline, don’t you know, there’s a million things I wanna do but you gotta meet me halfway, you gotta try”….

as if he knew that I was going to, possibly, never listen to this album again unless there was something telling me otherwise…
I cannot begin to describe what that felt like… it wasn’t his intention, but he definitely suckered me into listening to the album until I could make sense of it… and for the most part, I do like it more than I did going into it… I actually like and will listen to all of it (except the rap song, that is an abomination)…

and I’d found myself once or twice liking this album a little better because I’m a little older, a little more mature now and “right where you want me” is a little juvenile in comparsion, as far as lyrical content goes :shrug:

let’s see…

Sean Garrett was responsible for the abomination as well as “How do you sleep” (the only thing he penned that I will overlook completely, just because I happen to have a soft spot for it)…
“Into ya” and “Makeup”… so he was the key factor to the majority of the songs that had me wondering what the hell Jesse was thinking in signing with them

I believe Eric Hudson is the party in question regarding of the hits (opposed to the misses) on the record… the album has CD-ROM features where you can access the album insert online, each page had song lyrics and credits and sometimes an interview clip from Jesse talking about what kind of day it was when he came into the studio to record
a couple of these times were when he came into the studio and Eric Hudson wanted to show him the latest thing he wrote (I want to believe he was the party in question because he also produced those songs)… “My Baby” and “Not your enemy” were moments where Jesse was floored by how the music spoke to him, how it felt right… so he came up with great lyrics for those… also penned “Told you so”…
“my baby” wasn’t Eric Hudson’s doing, though it was one of those magical moments in the studio… that was penned in collaboration with JR Rotem, who has written stuff for Iyaz (I like this one song “Replay”) and Jason Derulo… so that’d explain why I ended up liking that song quite a bit too

now,
the greatest difference between the two albums that was extremely tangible in how everything worked out…

well, for starters, Jesse co-wrote 4 tracks on his debut album: She’s no you, That was then, what’s your name and get your shine on…
he wrote all but one track on his 2nd album (and I kinda really like the one song he didn’t write “Feelin’ you”… cuz that’s just… whoa… I’m all for that kind of seduction even though it wasn’t directly from his mind…

Departure had only THREE co-writing credits…
My baby, told you so, not my enemy… and his contributions are very tangible on these, especially the last one… it just has that certain something extra…

let’s see… if this tracklist holds water… there’s no telling what’s going to happen… Jesse tweeted a few months ago that he’s going to return to the studio to work on some new material… so maybe some of these might not make the cut…

there are 11 tracks

at the moment, I’m checking out all of the songwriters, all the producers… at least the familiar names to see their contributions and such to other artists…

I think Jesse said regarding this past record he wasn’t as keen to write his own songs this time and instead was putting his trust in other people’s music… well, right now, I’m a little indifferent, but had this been right after listening to it, I wouldn’t have trusted his judgement very much… in fact, having Sean Garrett’s contributions was a bad call in my opinion

okay, I gotta check out this guy’s stuff to see if there’s anything worthy of mention…

Yeah- Usher… (its a good party anthem, featured at all of my school dances, but it isn’t spectucular)
Destiny’s Child, Chris Brown, Mary J. Bilge (artists I really don’t care for)
Pussycat’s other big single “Buttons” (just eww… I really didn’t like what the Pussycat Dolls were doing to the music industry at that time)

Enrique Igelasias- do you know……………………ummmmm……… I digress, I love that song

Nicole Sherizinger, Beyonce (none of them are the songs I’ve attacked for just being… I just hate ’em)…

okay… 2 songs out of dozens that I just hate on sight for being in the music industry (where taste is not as big a commodity as it used to be)…

as far as “Have it all” goes… I can anticipate two songs that I might take issue with…
both of them are JMac/Sean Garrett collaborations (Jesse speaks the world of him, but I dunno… I really don’t like a lot of what this guy has to offer… maybe its a behind-the-scenes thing)…

one of them features a rapper called Xynga… who I’ve never even heard of… so I’m betting that’s gonna be another ill-advised rap song Jesse has no business working around

hmm… speaking of ill-advised… when Jesse says pushing the envelope, I wonder if that means his lyrics are gonna get explicit… beyond just skimming of an f-bomb in “how do you sleep”… whenever the song’s on the radio (however rare it is), its still here there…
the lyric is “remember ’round my way where we used to f$%^#…” and I can’t remember the rest of it, lol… its been a while, something about him using all his tricks to steal her heart…

pretty strange
I don’t take MAJOR issue with my favorite artists cussing in their work, but it can’t be like every other horrible rap song that has endless strings of explicitives… if there’s something in there, it has to be something that describes the moment where you can’t do anything else but use the right words for the situation

Eric Hudson & Claude Kelly come back to collaborate with Jesse on one track… which I’m sure is going to be one of the better ones, despite the fact I haven’t heard any of these songs… except for “Shake,” which he performed on a daytime talk show (I think it was Regis & Kelly a while back in 2010)…

aside from Jesse having 9 of 11 co-writing credits here… that’s very exciting, I enjoy his lyrics a great deal… nothing puts your personal stamp on something more than that…
Kevin Rudolf, who did that song “Let it rock”, co-wrote and produced two of the songs… I’m betting those are going to be pretty cool as well 😎

everyone else, I kinda don’t recognize, but whatever…
if I go into this album without anticipating or expecting anything, I think I’m more likely to be surprised and enjoying it… I’d love for just ONCE to hear a Jesse McCartney album the first time and fall in love with it that first time 😎

he’s my favorite singer, but boy, he makes things so complicated sometimes…

and supposing his content is a little moreso on the sexy side than I’m used to :shrug: maybe my trip into uncharted waters in the movies last year served me well and I’d actually be open for it this time…

checking up a couple of these songwriters and seeing what they’ve done… I think I have a little more confidence going into this record…. whenever it comes out πŸ™„ c’mon Jesse, don’t keep me waiting too long

if anything, my worrying about this album and my concern that maybe I was going to hate it as much as I really didn’t like “Departure” the first time… that was what transcended from reality, deep down that’s something that has had me a little nervous

oh right and I listened to 1999 last night… which was fun for the most part, as long as I was staying awake that is… by the time I got to “all the critics,” my mind wasn’t entirely in place

whatever, I wrote the entry I set out to write and maybe another day I can talk about that album… it’s not like I haven’t done it before

This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged . Bookmark the permalink.