“Rebel without a cause” and Returning to a good friend

<FONT face="Arial

I never got to tell how my “date” with James Dean went Tuesday afternoon

first off, “Rebel without a cause” and everything surroudning the movie, its infamy, his infamy, etc, etc.
that has stuck with me like a lot of the really good movies lately have… (well, not always really good, but in this case, it was).

The basic story is that James Stark is a JD (juvenile deliquent) with a good heart and tries to stay out of trouble, but trouble keeps finding him… and when trouble finds him, his mother decides that the family has to move to a new town to start over because she can’t handle it. meanwhile, his father is the reverse, he’s a gutless [fill in the blank] that has Jim up in arms everytime he won’t back him up or stand up with him

the movie starts at a police station where we meet three of the central characters.
Jim was brought in for public drunkeness (don’t know how he got that way, just was, I guess)
Judy, played by Natalie Wood, was roaming the streets because she comes from a tough household
Plato, played by Sal Mineo (I hadn’t heard of him until this movie but his performance is not to be missed… he is almost a dead ringer for Ralph Macchio), was brought in because he was shooting puppies (at least that’s what it sounded like)

all of three of them see each other briefly while there

the next day, school is starting anew (and actually, this film takes place at San’ Mo’ High… aka, the high school that a lot of the Brat Pack went to, notably the Estavez/Sheen clan, Rob Lowe, and Robert Downey)… Jim is a new student there. Plato sees him and is immediately in awe of the guy on sight…
the class is going to a field trip in the planterium… where Jim and Plato officially meet. Plato is talking to Jim about checking out this old abandoned mansion… meanwhile all of the other kids, most of which seem to be in this gang are checking out Jim and his car… proceed to slash one of his tires and the ring leader, Buzz, challenges him to a knife fight…

Jim wants to stay out of it, but has no choice… it was a pretty intense affair, but he wins and gains respect while doing so…

he meets the gang later on, where they play a game of chicken (by the way, don’t call Jim ‘chicken’, cuz he don’t like it)… he and Buzz drive these cars towards a cliff and the first one who jumps out is a chicken… Buzz gets caught up in the car, so he can’t get out in time before it goes over…

Jim, of course, wants to do the right thing and go to the police. His mother wants him to stay out of it (as in why does he have to take the rap for it when there were a lot of other kids there). When a couple of the guys see him at the station, they come after him…

meanwhile, Judy and Plato run away and Jim meets them at the mansion… it becomes more obvious that Plato is a bit unhinged, unhappy with his living situation (all I can gather is that his mom is dead and his dad is almost as good as dead to him, the only person that cares about him is, I believe that’s his nanny)…

bits and pieces of the movie were a little hard for me to wrap my head around, especially when it came to Plato’s mentality… I guess because he felt like he didn’t have a family, he tried to play it out so Jim and Judy were like his makeshift family

eventually, everything kinda falls apart. The three of them relocate to the planeterium, Jim tries to make a deal with the police and despite the fact he removed the bullets from Plato’s gun, the police think he’s still armed and shoot him before he can make a move… the mistake is also kinda made because Jim gave Plato his jacket

one thing that really stuck out from the movie was the red jacket… I read that the movie was originally meant to be shot in black & white but to compete with other big films at the time, they went to color… which was an excellent decision…

and my assumptions about James Dean… I thought he was going to get the axe in the movie so it was kinda lucky that he wasn’t the one who died…
strangely enough, all of the three actors died young…
everyone knows the Natalie Wood story (now perhaps a little better)
Sal Mineo was a victim of a homicide (and has kinda been passed over as an unknown)

James Dean was involved in a car accident… oddly enough, he was ticketed for speeding a few hours prior. But he and this other guy were driving… the guy coming towards them was going the wrong direction and the two collided…

James Dean died within 10 minutes of impact, a month before the movie was released…
one thing I will say for him was he made an extremely compelling JD… I knew he was good inside, but you know, life sucks that way… you try to be a good guy and stay out of trouble, and for one reason or another, it just isn’t possible to avoid these things

as a result, he has dozens of songs written about him.
“Jack & Diane” by John Cougar Mellenacamp, I can’t recall the actual lyric, but the one I do know is “Speechless” by Lady Gaga

I can’t believe how you looked at me without those James Dean glossy eyes

yeah, that movie was something special at that time…
and my only major criticism about it was the music… it was so dramatic in places that it was ridiculous… I know you’re trying to create a mood, people, but c’mon… you’d still get the same impact without going out of your way to make it super loud and obnoxious

I’m definitely hoping that I’ll be able to get back to work on the next chapter really soon… while I still has some remote interest in it

but as for last night… I think I may have gone out of my way, just a bit, to avoid any of the press associated with promoting Sherlock 2… first off because I’d seen the talk shows as they played, like a month ago…
and second, maybe because part of me is still rueing… not wanting all those gitters and the negativity to take me over again

clearly I haven’t entirely made peace with the whole matter, with him… part of me just might believe that, yeah, he let me down, saying that the sequel was better than the original…
I thought some of the action was incredibly overstated… going through the woods with all those cannons going off… wow, it’s almost exactly cut from the same cloth as the slaughterhouse explosion in the first movie… I thought the violin and slow motion made it a little too overdramatic

for the same exact reasons, I really wasn’t sold on that scene… it was extremely tiresome after a while… it was probably only 3 minutes, but it felt like 5…
the slaughterhouse explosion lasted maybe 90 seconds and it felt like 3 minutes at times…

I thought I was being assured about having a good time at the movies and once again, even though I know that its not the Basil Rathbone Sherlock Holmes (which I didn’t realize until I saw the first film in early 2010), I came in not getting quite what I was expecting…

let’s just say the action was a little too hot to handle… too much to handle…
they were talking about seemingly endless chase scenes in the original… truthfully, I think the scene that took place at Watson’s stag party… that was just as long the “meat or potatoes” fight scene… featuring 7′ tall Robert Malliot as Dredger…

the whole note throughout was me freaking out if the two of them were going to get out alive and unscathed at the end of these confrontations…
I caught a little more of a glimpse of the ending than I bargained for… but again, truthfully, considering how anti-climatic it was with the two of them falling off the side of the cliff…

it almost had the same feel as what happened in the first “Lord of the Rings” movie when Gandalf was taken down by that demon-thing… at that time, though, you accepted it and moved on, not knowing he’d come back until the second movie

BUT… I had only just reread “The Final Problem” the night before… the words on Watson’s typewriter were shot for shot the same as the book… of course, it should been extremely obvious that Guy Ritchie was going in the same direction

the trick was whether or not it’d be a cliffhanger or we’d catch a glimpse of Sherlock before the screen faded to black

hmm…
I can talk my way about and around this as much as I want… nothing is going to entirely remedy the situation except for confronting my fears head on… knowing how the movie’s going to end, I can relax through the majority of it :shrug: much the way I could relax through some of “Air America” the other day… I know that Billy Covington is going to see the end of the movie

geesh… it’s not like a Robert Pattinson film where I have to check spoilers to see if he sees the end of the movie he’s the one I kinda need to worry about for the next couple years πŸ˜‰

so yeah… there’s a lot of turmoil still brewing in me afterwards…
all I can do to learn from the situation is to not hype things up so much next time… when Prince had those 3 nights of Jay Leno, I knew to keep it all to one entry that I added to everyday, lol

surely with “The Avengers” I can do the same thing…
I’ll just watch a little more of Chris Evans, see “Snow White & the Huntsmen” for another look at Chris Hemsworth, watch one or two Mark Ruffalo movies… in addition to watching Thor and Captain America 2-3 more times between now and May

and as for my blogging about it… WHOA… I think I ought to just make an entry for all of the actors in question… just as I saw Jude Law for all the interviews, I’ll check out Chris Evans, Mark Ruffalo, Chris Hemsworth, Scarlett Johansson, Jeremy Renner and Samuel L. Jackson doing the massive press tour they’re going to go on…

whoa… that’s one huge A-list cast… a lot to live up to and hopefully it will be a massive nerdgasm for all the fanboys and girls 😎

I might also need to check into Josh Whedon a bit too… he’s the director so maybe checking into his style in March and April will help me get a feel for what kind of movie its going to be

when it comes to directors, I’m definitely a little more versed in their styles than I was a couple years ago… before I even paid attention to all that extra stuff…

soooo… yeah, last night…

I was hoping and praying that night would turn out okay, I’d enjoy myself, etc, etc.

I checked out a couple of clips, including Jimmy Kimmel this last time, a couple great Robert/Jude interviews and that “Extra” interview where he talks about Perry Mason, Yuctan, the possibility of another album…

and while on that, I think I put down some more possible lyrics that I could put together on a date to be determined… keeping it real

the entire time last night while in the thick of it, I managed to leave the negativity behind and thought it as merely… well, it’s just as good as us hanging out…

Jimmy Kimmel was a funny appearance in him saying how crazy it is that people are so interested in hearing in hearing him talk about himself even though he’s being asked the same questions all the time (well, duh, of course, Robert… only because you explain yourself so well)

He strings all these words together and sounds so intellectual and eloquent while doing it… I wouldn’t say I write EXACTLY like that, but I wish I could translate what I type to what I say… I might be able to make a better way for myself in this crazy world

he doesn’t take himself super seriously all the time, so maybe that’s the trick.

I’m sure there are dozens of people out there just like him who just have this way of getting you interested in listening to what they have to say…
he just happens to be the one I’m spending a lot of time on/with and he happens to be extremely good looking (how he looked in that Extra interview, I want to steal that for my desktop, haha)

so yeah, spending this time felt more like hanging out with a good friend… and if not anything else, I think what I want most is that kind of friendship/relationship with him… at least it’ll help keep all of the crazyness and fantasizing to a minimum…

wouldn’t want to do anything to mess with the perfect Hollywood couple (yeah, I truly believe Team Downey is even more awesome together than Bradgelina and TomKat… they’ve got nothing on this love fest)

I was also a little uncertain last night of listening to the album again… finally, I talked myself into it… and though it more as reflecting rather than placing him at that particular time in his life, as I’ve often done with the album…

in other words, picturing him singing the lyrics and he looks as he does now, rather than he did in 2005… 46 is the new 40, RDJ is proof of that 😎

again, it felt like just chilling out, listening to old stories and all that… all in good fun and… boy, it was just relaxing throughout the whole trip…

sure, it’s only through means of the actor/admirer “relationship”… but every now and then, it’s great to embrace that kind of feeling… being the so-called “company” of someone that makes you this happy

now, if only there was a way to put a spin on this enough to write about it, without it necessarily turning into a romantic relationship… there’s only so many times I can put that spin on it… :shrug:

hmmm… I don’t think I’d ever written a story about a relationship that didn’t have romance in it…
Alex & Casey was one thing, although I think once or twice I felt like I was putting a “bicurious” spin on it from my narrator’s POV…

but an older man and a younger woman that he has no direct relations to… that’s kinda tough, but hey, if I manage to put something together, that’s a high I haven’t quite experienced before that I’d love to look back on in a couple years when I’m rereading my material

I may be going to get new socks tomorrow and with that, an excuse to go to the mall… I have my eyes set on Ally McBeal, and might consider myself a copy of Enrique Igelsias’s latest album, considering how his singles are just too catchy to ignore…

the rest depends on what I see at Best Buy… I still have 40 something bucks on my giftcard from my birthday… The Soloist and Wonder Boys will be among my considerations if I can find them…
but possibly, it’ll be more like The Holiday and Zodiac (which I saw for baragain prices) 😎

I won’t know until I get there, though… and maybe it couldn’t hurt at some point, despite its fulity to being found… to find out which genre “The Singing Detective” would be in… at least I’d know where to look even if I’ll never find it

Honest to God, dude, I’m trying to keep my fandom to a minimum… despite what a lot of my entires say… last night was definitely special as it gave me a different kind of high, free of endorphins or adrenaline… I guess maybe I was just high on having this person in my life in the manner that he is… as a mentor and in most cases, as a good friend to hang out with

and yeah, now I’m finally going to close down this entry, I’ve got stuff to do before happy hour tonight

This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , . Bookmark the permalink.