late night “Midnight in Paris” follow-up review

I’m not quite sure where this entry is going to go.

I had meant to do a full-length one, which would include a review of “Midnight in Paris” and “Walk the line.”

It seems that a lot of my movie choices lately have been… well, falling into a number of different categories for starters.

1) featuring some actor I’m currently interested in (RDJ, Jay Barachel, Micheal Cera, Zach Galifiankis, etc.)
2) (more common lately) gotten some sort of award buzz (best actor, best picture, etc.)
3) completely spontaneous (“Midnight in Paris” is among that number)
4) featuring a director I’m interested in (David Fincher, Zack Snyder, etc.)

nothing short of interesting…

of course, with actors and directors aside… I totally lost my train of thought, shoot…

There are two kinds of spontaneous that could either result in excellence or epic fails.

I believe there were a bunch of movies I watched last year because I was feeling rather spontaneous and I was regretting my decision… as in “oh god, that’s so horrible, I’ll never get that time back”…

Bowfinger, I didn’t even see the whole movie, but not even Mr. Downey’s involvement will make me want to see the first 45 minutes
I think there’re only maybe 10 movies out of the 845 I’m up to where I decided they were so bad that I couldn’t bare to watch them again…

Gone with the wind was another…
Titanic isn’t quite there, but I refuse to watch it again for 2 very fundamental reasons:

1) too goddam long and
2) nothing… sorry, I’m gonna have to do this… sinks a love story like dying…

even if I were to watch the movie in 3D when it gets re-released this year, even with my matured intelleuct, being where it wasn’t when the movie came out, there’s no way I can justify, in my mind, watching that movie over again.
nothing worth watching Leonardo DiCaprio die

I can barely stomach the idea of rewatching “Less than Zero” in its entirity… it felt behind a mark as if I had tattooed “Julian” right on my arm…
pretty sick and demented, I know, but nevertheless, very true

anyway… bad movies…

“The Pick-up Artist”… very cringe-worthy for at least the first 20 minutes… feels like bad film making, but I’m sure both parties were novices at the time… not entirely their fault
The Back-up Plan and Bounty Hunter… ehhh…
Superbad, G-Force…

okay, maybe 25 out of 845… at most

I can’t completely stand by this claim I’m about to make because I’d only seen the movie once.

I bought two movies within the past year completely spontaneous… not really premediated (although this last time was somewhat true)… both cases were different… for different reasons, obviously

apparently Mr. Downey was aquainted with “the dude” but his son Indio was not… so he had to go and rent The Big Lebowski to educate him on who Jeff Bridges was…

I’m sure there were at least a couple of his movies I had seen… but for whatever reason, maybe in part because I’m harboring a tiny bit of a grudge after seeing him be the villian in “Iron-Man” :shrug: and hearing maybe one person saying that he was as good as, if not better than John Wayne in “True Grit”…
I ought to see more John Wayne movies, but I really liked him so much more than Jeff Bridges playing the same character… I just didn’t feel the same way about Rooster Cogburn in the remake

The Coen Brothers, I’d only studied a little bit… just seeing the True Grit remake, Fargo, Intolerable Cruelty (not super recently either) and The Big Lebowski doesn’t make me an expert…
oh wait, isn’t that half of their movies anyway?

I didn’t really see much of their irreverent flavor in the True Grit remake… but it was a little too serious, a little too much grit for my tastes… Halliee Steinfeld was also way too hardcore about the revenge business

to his credit, though, I did like Jeff Bridges as “the dude”… so yeah, nothing serious there… unlike the whole James Spader thing, the knuckles on my right hand get really white from too much clenching while watching The Office… the few times I do get around to actually watching the recent shows

shoot, I forget the name of the movie, but I saw the info on it and it said that this guy corrupts this well-to-do youth, played by James Spader… I’m falling off my ass laughing, thinking to myself that he doesn’t need to be corrupted… yes, in fact it does make me feel better that I will forever associate him with that character…
it won’t bring Julian back, but it’ll ensure that he’s never forgotten

hmm… that was kinda poetic… I’ll have to save that for another time

if “Walk the line” showed me anything… for the main part, it showed me that Reese Witherspoon really gave an amazing performance and deserved the Oscar… I love her in general, ever since Legally Blonde put her on my radar of favorite movie stars… but this was most definitely exceptional…

I think the part of me that really liked the movie did so because it was something new and different… having seen so much film lately, it’s nice to get away from the usual formula, all the cliches, etc, etc.
that included the music… I was grooving to every single song, had a great time, and dude, could totally chill with it forever…

I guess I can write the entry I meant to write…
I was just in a bit of a panic earlier between a number of things… gotta send another email to ask about the PT lab position, why they haven’t gotten back to me… just been hanging over my head for a while and it’d be nice for some closure whichever way it goes… then of course there’s my dentist appointment tomorrow… the last time I came, went back a couple of times to have a few tiny cavities fixed up… hopefully I’m done with those for a while…

my CD player is on its last legs, I think… I started to play Daughtry’s album and it was skipping through the first song… it was gut-wrenching… then I started writing this entry while listening and had to relisten to the first song (oddly enough, only heard the song twice and it figured into one of my dreams, not last night but the one before that… wait… yeah, that’s about right… it was a different night than my R-rated dream, anyways)

and actually, I find myself quite impressed with the majority of it. I’d played through only the first 12 songs these past two times… and can honestly say that I’m crazy about all the songs except for maybe 2-3 where I’m either so-so or not really interested in hearing them anymore…

the first song, Renegade, would make an AWESOME single… as would the title track…

there’s this one song, track 8, called “Gone too soon”… the lyrics are pretty easy to decipher… it had me choked up and pretty darn near cryin’ my eyes out… its sweet, sentimental, musically and lyrically… and vocally… pretty much 10’s across the board

“Something good” is something I used to think was too sentimental to mean much… but this time around, it just worked…
yeah, chilling with the album felt like spending time with contemporaries and 80’s music… not in sound so much as vibe… something like Richard Marx and Bryan Adams was what I was feeling

back to “walk the line”…
the first time I saw Ginnifer Goodwin in a super serious role like that where she was extremely dramatic…
I only knew that Johnny Cash died a little before the movie was made, had a troubled past and that he and June got married…

I just had no idea that it would take the whole movie for them to get together… it was close to ridiculous after a while… the whole movie felt like “would they or wouldn’t they”… but I knew they would get together eventually… just felt really long chronologically (and by the way, thumbs down for the new format of the fox movie channel… they sure as hell weren’t showing commercials this time last year)

unlike my previous round of going into details about checkered pasts and stuff… I don’t think I have much interest in digging up the exact details of Johnny Cash’s drug addiction… there really is no point in it… not that I needed to know what he was abusing to draw comparisons…

I just knew in a couple scenes that he had been on something… I dunno, I think Joquain Phoenix was worth an Oscar for this cuz he definitely had the addiction part down to a tee… just that glazed look in the eyes was a little too familiar… sure, I’d only seen the movie twice, but I remember things like that a little too easy

in part, it looked like they romanticized the whole thing… he was crazy in love, wanted to be with June and that was his motivation for using… aside from the fact that he was addicted… there’s more to addiction than just being down and depressed that you can’t be with someone you want to be with…
of course, I’m not an expert cuz of just one movie, but its my opinion

Reese Witherspoon was most definitely excellent… I don’t think I’d watch the movie again, but it was worth seeing at least once 😎

I’m sure at some point, I’m going to tabulate a list of actors and the characters/roles I directly associate with them or that I loved them best in…

my favorite actors, they’ve the luxury of me picking out multiple movie roles for them as to what I associate them with…

Reese Witherspoon will forever be Elle Woods in my eyes.
Emma Stone- Olive Pendergastt
Michael Cera- Scott Pilgrim
Adam Brody- Seth Cohen
Justin Long- Alex [“the bartender”]

more on this list later…

Rachel McAdams, it used to be just Regina George until I saw a bunch of her movies… I think I’d more likely lean towards Irene Adler more than anything else…

but Owen Wilson, unlike her, I’m most definitely going to be associating with “Midnight in Paris” from now on…

by the way, those who haven’t seen “Midnight in Paris” and wouldn’t like to hear about all the details,
SPOILERS AHEAD

you’ve been warned…

Owen Wilson was, not quite ‘a dime a dozen’, one of those good looking actors that I see in movies all the time by association, but I don’t take too seriously as actors because of the parts they play… they’re kinda throw-away characters, certainly not ones I’m going to be blogging about or thinking about weeks/months later, wanting me to return… and if I rewatch any of his movies again, most likely it is not because I’m curious to see him

I did complete that one chapter where I wrote out details about the dream I had… pushing myself even further in the goings-on, but adhering to one set of guidelines… it was quite fun, actually.

:yawn: I’m starting to get a little tired, so I’ll see what I can hash out in the next 10 minutes

oh… pressure, pressure, pressure…

I guess I’ll have to save my discussion about Owen Wilson and whatever happened in 2007-8… I believe I heard something about… yeah, I’m just not going to touch whatever went on until another day…
more to the point, I’m glad he’s still here because I doubt anyone… well, almost anyone :falloff: any excuse I can make, I’ll use it… could pull off this part the way he did…

in fact, I think that it was great beyond that. Not because it was a great part, but because I’ll bet he got a lot out of it… it’s got to be a little more intellectually simulating than doing those guy movies all the time

when I first heard about this movie, I’d considered seeing it, but wasn’t super serious about it. But from what I heard, it was really good…
also the names Fitzgerald and Hemingway were thrown around, but I didn’t quite understand why… didn’t know if this took place in the 20’s or something else…

story is about an engaged couple, Gil & Inez, spending time in Paris
Gil’s a Hollywood screenwriter who’s having trouble finding anyone interested in publishing his novel, which is about a man who runs a nostalgia shop

there are a few scenes here and there, mostly in the beginning, where Inez’s friend Paul is giving them private tours in different parts of France where she’s all about how intellectual and knowledgable he is… more or less making Gil feel like he’s inferior by comparison

one night after a wine tasting, when Inez opts to go dancing with Paul and his wife, Gil walks back to the hotel, gets kinda lost… he’s had some to drink, but not entirely drunk out of his mind…
an old Peugot stops and a couple of people ask him to come with them

They stop by a club like something out of the 1920’s where he meets Scott & Zelda Fitzgerald, Cole Porter and Ernest Hemingway…
as it turns out (and it took me a couple of minutes to fully grasp that this was the phenomenon), the car transported him to Paris in the 1920’s… where, apparently, all of these famous writers and artists were living and hanging out in their time… phew, that alone is pretty impressive that all of these famous people would be hanging around in the same city or even in the same room

I recognized the guy playing Fitzgerald (and him being F. Scott Fitzgerald the first time I heard him use the term “old sport”… what Gatsby liked to call Nick or whichever male aquaintance he was talking to in the book) as Loki from “Thor” and Zelda (I saw the dedication to her in the book when I picked it up the other day) as one of Scott Pilgrim’s band…

Hemingway, I didn’t know the actor off the bat… but dude, he was really close to the real thing, I think… his dialogue was most engaging… if I could hear him read Hemingway on tape, it’d be so much more interesting than just reading them a little too much exposition to muddle through… he’s hardcore, that man

naturally after having such a night, we have cliche #1:
the party that has the adventure tells the other party… the other party doesn’t believe them

cliche #2 comes that night:
the party has the other party come to the same spot they were the last time the extraordinary happened… the extraordinary happens after the other party had long gone…

the trick was that the car didn’t come by until the clock struck midnight… ala, the title of the movie

Gil leaves his book with Gertrude Stein (played by Kathy Bates), cuz Hemingway says she’s the only person he’ll let read his work… kinda goes on and on about how writers are competitive and he doesn’t like other writers for a number of reasons like I said, hardcore

at Gertude Stein’s, Gil meets Adrianna, played by Marion Cotillard… the current muse of Picasso, but has been here and there between other famous artists of the time…
she is, as he says, extremely lovely… definitely breathtaking and gorgeous… I’d only seen her in “Inception,” but after this, I’ll definitely want to keep an eye out for her… she’s brilliant

a discussion occurs over a painting Picasso did and the next day, Gil, Inez and her friends come across the same painting in a musesum, again with Paul narrating the tour… Gil offers his 2 cents and everyone looks at him like he’s nuts…

cliche #3:
one party keeps disappearing off to some unknown location every day/night, so another party (in this case, Inez’s father) sends for a detective to follow the one party…

due to the complications of time/space, that gets out of hand real easy

just like Gil throughout the movie, I became more and more absorbed by the movie when it took place in the 20’s… so very interesting and whoa, it’s such a trip going back, seeing all these famous people together in one place

Adrien Brody as Salvadore Dali… he only has one scene, but dude, cracks me up… hilarious that he’s so out there

and even more cliches…
one party spending so much time in another place finds love in that other place

Gertrude Stein likes Gil’s book but says that he shouldn’t be so… what’s the word… something like ‘fragile-minded’… its clear that his writing lacks conviction and confidence… which is pretty true to the point

Gil seems to be falling more for Adrianna… until the night comes when he discovers they have one unfortunate thing in common…

He’s escaping his life in the 20’s, what he believes to be the golden age, and she wants to escape into the 1890’s (which they do so by boarding a horse & buggy) where the likes of Toulouse-la-trek and Gougan (excuse the spelling, please) lived about

cliche 5/6…
upon seeing that the other party is doing the same thing the first party is doing, the first party realizes they can’t escape from their problems and have to face them…

oh… and the news never comes out, though it gets close once or twice, that he might be in love with another woman… instead, through a comment Hemingway made about his book, Gil realizes that there’s something going on between Inez and Paul…

shoulda been glaringly obvious, though I just suspected it a little bit, lol…

so yeah, basically, that’s it…

cliche 6/7…
through all the adventures, the first party realizes they are not in love with the other party

that was something I was definitely expecting to happen after everything went down… my dream wasn’t even anywhere near close to anything, lol… the two of them really didn’t have much going on in the romance department cuz they didn’t spend a lot of time together

oh right…
and that detective… he hit one grate too far and ended up in Versailles during Louis’s time (I always forget if its the XIV or the XVI) where he got the guards ordered after him for intruding…

Gil stops going into the past and tries to make sense of his present… in doing so, he comes across a woman he’d seen a couple of times. She runs a small shop and was playing Cole Porter on her turntable…
there’s a nice sense of unity here too that I just loved…

he says in the beginning narration that he loves Paris in the rain and of course, Inez doesn’t see the romance of it…
but it starts raining and the girl says she doesn’t mind it and Paris is prettiest in the rain…

uber romantic for sure…

with me, I don’t think I’d mind the rain so much, but it depends on whether or not I get my socks wet (no tolerence for that) and whomever I’m in the rain with

and I think it’s best that I end things here for the time being

This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged . Bookmark the permalink.