How we got there: Giants/Patriots [Take 2]

looks like it’s taking…

yeah, my Internet’s been kinda weird and sketchy today. Maybe .org is carrying a couple of viruses among it.
Literally, after I sent a reply to a thread about our own editing ideas for Prince’s 90’s albums, my computer slowed down big time and I lost my chat connection a handful of times.

then I started loading this YouTube clip that was taking a while… as if it could only upload while the video was playing…

I kinda do realize that, yeah, I’m a glutton for punishment… I’m feeling some kind of guilt that I’m not doing my usual amount of time doing… whatever… last night was a major buzz-kill… whatever connection was there was kinda lost… I’m not sure if there are a number of factors or what.
Either way, it looks like the only cure is going to be finding something else to do with my time or waiting until April for Sherlock 2 to make it on DVD… so I can finally settle that vendetta and move on

Geesh…

“The Prestige” is gonna be among those movies I’ll look back on and wish I had that time back… it was like one of those movies my dad saw in-flight and said for us to see it some time because it’s one of those “pay attention throughout the movie” type deals…
kinda like what Sherlock Holmes turned out to be… Mr. Downey might have thought they dropped the ball in Act 3, but I loved pretty much everything after he “made the front page”… after nearly falling asleep in the theater just before the action started again (man, I’d have killed for a long pause in the action like that in the sequel… that’s what was missing), what saved the movie for me in entertainment value was the whole explanation, different things Sherlock saw throughout the movie that tied everything together… how he solved the mystery

Hmm… I’ve pretty much been looking at a lot of new films lately and have this glint of hope that I could guess that Guy Ritchie directed it… I had somewhat of a hunch that he was behind this movie because the costume design and set-pieces were definitely Victorian England like in Sherlock Holmes…
Christian Bale’s involvement should have been a red flag… but this was before The Dark Knight… so I wouldn’t have guessed otherwise

Christopher Nolan… :sigh: the only thing he directed that I liked was “Inception”… it was definitely one of the stand-out movies of 2010, between “WTF was that all about?” and “dude, that was freaking awesome with the special effects”… I’ve wanted to see it again since the first time, but Marion Cotillard, seeing what she brings to it, is the motivation I need, for sure

At the moment, as far as directors go, Christopher Nolan and Oliver Stone are two that I really don’t care for.
The thing I don’t quite get, though… I don’t know the universal impression of Oliver Stone, but with me, I know each of his movies (Platoon, Joy Luck Club) have left me feeling numb and/or distraught afterwards… kinda like a dementor attack when you think you’ll never be happy again…
the comments on IMDB on “The Prestige” said it was one of the best movies they’d seen in a long time…

seriously?

Just to get all this out of the way… it’s somewhat different than my ire towards James Spader… plain and simple, I just don’t like him or even trust him… I like to keep that delusional alive that he’s anything like the character he played in the 80’s…
Christian Bale… he just annoys me in general cuz he’s so overrated… it’s one thing about the Dark Knight franchise, but he never plays anyone likeable.
The worst of that… Christian Bale, not Hugh Jackman (the handsome one) came out on top by the end of the movie about two rival magicians in the late 1800’s

It was also the first movie Scarlet Johannson was in that I could pick out exactly who she was… usually I never recognize her in anything cuz she looks so different in each of her films.

After the first hour of the movie, I came to the following conclusion: These men have no redeeming qualities… so ultimately, it’s me asking what’s the point of all this and you really don’t want much to do with either one of them because they are very indecent human beings.
Kinda like what Edward Cullen said about Heathcliff of “Wuthering Heights”… didn’t get why Bella liked the story so much because he didn’t think he was redeemable in any way

The movie starts with Hugh Jackman drowning and Christian Bale being on trial for his murder (right now, I’m thinking “oh that’s just great, they gave away the ending already”)…
most of the movie is in flashbacks.

Both are working on becoming the greatest magician of their time, coming to each other’s shows to either pick up secrets or to ruin the trick…
It all started when the two of them were picked as volunteers (I think that whole thing is rigged if they keep getting picked to come on stage) to tie knots around this woman’s hands and feet and she was meant to escape from a tank of water… Christian Bale tied her hands and she couldn’t get out of them and drowned… that was Hugh Jackman’s wife

meanwhile, Christian Bale got the wife and kid that he always wanted, so it was more or less a trial of revenge.
Mostly revolving around Hugh Jackman trying to solve the mystery of this one trick, where Christian Bale would go through one door and come out through the other. He didn’t want to believe that he was using a double, but for his own version of the trick, he found a double… that ultimately turned on him

But once I saw the double the first time, I figured that he wasn’t dead at all… he had his double take the fall for him so he could have Christian Bale executed…
that was brilliant

but again… Christian Bale has the last laugh… he was using a double= his own twin brother… so his brother hangs for the crime of killing Hugh Jackman’s double… ahhhhhhhhhhhhhh….

neither of them were nice guys, but still… c’mon…

It’s a matter of personal preference… that aside, though, I don’t think it was a really great movie because you really didn’t like any of the characters… they were all very petty, self-involved… and the dialogue was so soft that I had the volume at 57 and couldn’t hear half of it… that’s the absolute worst

Another day, I’ll do an entry on how certain directors like to use the same people or team of people for their movies… cuz I’m seeing a pattern forming in taking Inception’s stars and putting them in the next Dark Knight film… that I can respect

strangely enough, it’s almost 1am here… and it doesn’t feel that way to me.. having the 2nd game on at 6:30 kinda throws my whole time off… it’s weird… I am starting get kinda tired, though…

Here’s the deal…

Indeed, it will be the Giants & the Patriots in the SuperBowl game… it’s sure to be an amazing game. And definitely not the same game it was 4 years ago… different players, different strategies…
not to mention that the Patriots weren’t the nearly invincible team they once were… but the fact they don’t have a perfect record on the line means less pressure on their part

Honestly, I don’t think I had a more exhausting, nail-bitting Sunday… maybe ever…

and that’s the perfect word to describe it: exhausting

The reason why I don’t watch a lot of baseball is because there are a lot of periods of non-action… whereas in football, there’s almost always something going on…
and today, not so much…

I would have expected, for sure, the NFC game to be super close… but c’mon, The Patriots played amazingly the week before… they ought to have had this locked up from the get-go

oh wait… they were up against the Broncos last week, that explains quite a bit.
The Ravens definitely weren’t the pushovers they were the week before where you couldn’t tell who was going to win… neither team really excelled in any area… there were just a couple more turnovers and penalties (how about all of them) on one side than the other

I never thought I’d be dying to see the Patriots win, actually cheering them on… because I kinda know the team and their players… definitely more so than the Ravens, where I just know maybe a couple of people.

Funny how both games came down to a single kick to determine the final score

:yawn:

The Patriots were definitely the better team going into the match and it seemed like an easy win… but then the Ravens got their second wind and started proving to be more than anyone expected them to be…
it was definitely ET-ish that Tom Brady threw a couple interceptions… which he never does. He’s a guy I note for being the most accurate quarterback I know… Aaron Rodgers definitely had the accuraccy department locked up this season and I was seeing his running game carry over to Joe Flacco… when he was running, I didn’t know where the hell that came from, lol

anyways… long story short, it came down to the Ravens kicker to kick the tying point…
instead, he missed and phew… that was it… dodged a major bullet with that one.
no joke, one of the Facebook statuses on my news feed said “I’d hate to be that kicker”… can’t help but feel bad for the guy. He certainly didn’t want those cameras following him after the game

For sure, I’ll have to give it up to Tom Brady for his honesty “I sucked today, but our defense won it for us”…
he knew, I knew and all the players knew that he probably had one of the worst games of his career that day… but the team came through for him and managed to hang in there

When it came to the NFC game, I was very impartial until maybe halfway through the 3rd quarter… when the 49ers started to come back a bit and the Giants offense was detoriating… but as the 4th quarter rolled around, I got to thinking about contigency plans… I could accept it if the Giants lost the game.
Ultimately I decided that even though I was getting too tired to cheer anymore or yell at the TV, I wasn’t going to give up hope until the very end… could just rest on the fact it was a well-played game.

One thing Eli definitely needs after this game is a full-body massage… he took so many hits that I swore he was sacked more than 10 times… but it was like 6 sacks, 10 hits and 63 dropbacks… something like that… it was getting repetitive that he kept ending up on the ground. But when it really counted, he made the good plays and… hey, no interceptions… that’s always good news (although the sacks probably were just as bad)…

Victor Cruz was, again, one of the MVP’s for sure… but, I swear, I don’t know about how those guys were feeling, but I think I was getting a taste of their lethargy… :yawn:… yawning just thinking about it…
the lack of ample action in the game had me so exhausted that I just wanted it to be over at some point… I almost didn’t care who won the game… just wanted it to be over…

it came down to turnovers… both of them were committed by the 49ers… the team that was making Drew Brees sweat the week before with all those plays of them knocking the balls out of people’s hands during the run..

one was a freak accident.. during a punt return, the ball bounced against a 49ers leg, a Giant recognized it and took the ball in for a touchdown…. except during a punt return, the moment a defender touches the ball after its touched by the offense, they can’t add any forward progres… I think they got a field goal from that

when the run came to matter later on, Ahmed Bradshaw was the man of the quarter… he didn’t get a lot of 1st downs, but he got enough yards when it really mattered

we saw our first… never mind… keep forgetting that the Steelers & Broncos went into overtime because it was over so quick… first official postseason overtime…
again, it was to the point where I was trying to stay in the action, but just so tired… just wanted the game to be over… if the Giants were channeling anything, it was definitely that feeling

during another punt return, a Giant forced a fumble and they got the ball on the 29 yard line…
again, it was one of those moments where there’s a run, I blink and a Giant comes out with the ball and I wonder how the hell that happened… well, it was legit… Bradshaw made his contributions…
the 49ers tried to freeze Lawrence Tynes, but nope… the kick was good… Giants won the game…

the cool part, I think, was the fact that Tynes was the first guy they interviewed after the game was over… gotta give kickers their due… and David Akers definitely did his part of the 49ers… it woulda been great if he got that chance to be in the SuperBowl and really rub it in the face of the Eagles that were foolish enough to let him go… botched kicks or not, he’s definitely one of the best

Now I can’t 100% say that the Giants are at the top of their class along with the Patriots… there’s still a few levels or calibars separating those teams… the Giants don’t really have that championship pedigree as of yet… they don’t seem like that type of team, the one you can rant and rave about all the time.
There’s never a time where I’m comfortable with saying they’re the best team in the league cuz I’d seen plenty others playing plenty better… I’ve said it a bunch of times and still believe it to be true…

best to go from another angle…

my impression is that the Giants are like working-class/middle-class citizens… whereas the Patriots are among the rich & famous, the celebrities that most people could never hope to touch

or better yet…
the Giants are Clark Kent and the Patriots are Superman

This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.