At the moment: things grinding my gears

Peter Griffin: You know what really grinds my gears, it’s when I can’t find the droids I’m looking for
random stormtrooper on Tatooine: yeah, I know, what gives with that?

yeah, but seriously… there are maybe a handful of things I feel I need to address at the current time…

last night has the potential to really turn out bad… and in my dreamscape, let’s just say it was a bit of a tease (all G-rated, promise, that other dream was a one-time occurrence) and of course,  my mind is playing that Johnny Hates Jazz one-hit wonder “Shattered dreams”

I’m not going to go into great deal about it… though it was strange all of the things intermingling in a number of dreams I had.
There was a “Gilligan’s Island” set-up where we boat to a random beach somewhere with a lot of land attached to it so it’s not like a desert island (also, I’d never watched the show so go figure) and the captain seems to want to put the impression that we’re deserted there when the boat is clearly still working. Meanwhile, someone runs into a swarm of black widows (tiny suckers too)… and I try to tell the captain he’s out of his mind… then I go into some random closet and it starts shaking, as if I’d wondered into the belly of a huge trapdoor spider… cuz the door closed behind me and stuff… but it’s all wooden inside… none of this making sense…

then I guess there was an instance of wish fulfillment about someone that I really haven’t spoken to in several months…

but I said I wouldn’t get into it cuz he more or less told me to stop volunteering about dreaming about him… I thought I had stopped, but clearly part of me still wishes for it… dammit…
what’s the point of dreaming about someone you care about a million times if its not going to go anywhere? Whoever controls what we dream about (I highly doubt that it’s entirely my doing… like why would I volunteering torturing myself… geesh, that almost sounds like Kurt from “Glee”… ‘I don’t believe in God, that he would make me gay and tell his followers that it was something I chose’…

by the way, that whole thing about Cynthia Nixon choosing to be gay infuriating the LGBT community? All of the comments on Yahoo! didn’t quite get it… they called them a bunch of hypocrites…
I read the article like this: she said she chose to be gay and is going to marry her partner of 14 years… they’re mad because she’s promoting homosexuality as a choice when their shtick is that it isn’t a choice… “we were born this way”… that sort of thing

just about anything to get off that topic… if I’m going to go into it in length, I’ll be on my own PC, not really going into it with anyone… which is what I used to compulsively do all the time…
I just hate how all the dreams were pulling my leg and it came down to nothing… at the current time, at least :shrug:

that reminds me: I don’t think I ever finished my college memoirs… there were a lot of great events in the final semster, but literally I think they’ve all gone out of my mind… or I more or less let all them go or wrote down the best of them already

I’d like to write a story based on all that because it has truth in it… even though one of the items exploded in my face recently, I’d like to put to memory all the good things… something to come away with and heck, probably will be one of the truest things to reality I ever write… and I think I’ll look back on it with more fondness than my Lindsay Lohan album fic… well, it started with scenes inspired when from I listened to her “Speak” album… but after the first couple, just went to pieces.

If I remember right, it went like this:

Symptoms of you– more or less talking about what I’m like around him when I’m crushing on him
Disconnected– refers to the duelity of my multiple personality disorder (yeah, on those grounds, the story should have gone so much better than it did… it was GROSS wish fulfillment if there ever was such a case)
Nobody ’till you– the first conversation (fictional) where I felt like he was on my side about something and it was like being lighter than air
First– “I wanna come first”… being jealous of the ‘sheep’ following him around everywhere,  his close girlfriends
Speak– the dominant/rebellious personality screaming for the meek/default setting to not be afraid to speak your mind… but in seeing she can’t, this song plays (in my head at least) while she takes over…

after that, things get a little lost and convulated… there are a couple reprises throughout… this is the whole thing, where when I write, everything plays out like I’m watching a movie 😎 I’m very visual that way

I guess the next song is:
Everybody wants to know your name– talks about how everyone wants to know who the hell I am because he’s this popular girl who dumped his girlfriend for a nobody…
First (reprise)– the dominant personality, I guess wanting to alienate him from society, wants him all to herself… going so much as to seduce him… which I never would have thought of while writing it, but in this day and age… :shrug: why not
Rumors– things start to get a little out of hand, they know nothing about her so all these rumors go around, I guess more or less calling her a ‘boyfriend stealing, backstabbing bitch’… maybe I ought to add a few things about her dissing her own friends as well, not just the ones that became such after getting involved with him… they follow them all the way to the dance

then at the dance, things are kinda crazy… there are all kinds of mean looks throughout the masses… I don’t know where this epiphany comes from, but the rebellious personality starts to see the error of her ways… figuring out that she’s made her ‘host’ become a completely different person and nobody really knows her as well as she did… used to find her endearing in fact… boy, this is messed up, lol…
Anything but me sums all that up in a nutshell, but regarding this and the three songs before it… I really didn’t take them to the extremes of the previous set… didn’t really incorporate any lyrics or imagery into the story… why is it always the middle where everything starts to fall apart?

Over– is the slow dance she asked him for and he is giving it to her… I have yet to really determine when, if at all, her original personality is allowed to shine again… but I’m starting to think that maybe… just maybe… she’s the one that breaks it off… then after making the declaration, she defaults and has to make a quick escape

Speak (reprise)– this all takes place in a delusional realm, inside her very mind amidst this huge breakdown… the tables are turned and the default is screaming the lyrics to her dominant self… saying ‘you told me this and that… it wasn’t a big deal… I had to step out of my comfort zone… you ruined my reputation… you ruined me’… the list goes on

[I can’t keep] Something I never had– plays when she returns to school the following Monday (the dance was a Saturday)… but I’m starting to think that there may be a way to make an exception… during my senior year of high school, three albums were the soundtrack of my life… possibly four… with Plus One’s 2nd album… they’re a Christian boyband, but I swear their 2nd album is nothing like the first… and maybe it was because I was depressed at the time I was listening to it… but in the middle, there are three tracks that make me think they’re anything but a Christian group… cuz a lot of it is very demoralizing… a little too hardcore, hard rock to make sense for this group…

the others were Ryan Cabrera and Ashlee Simpson’s first albums… I got them together for Christmas, I think… but anywhere, there was this one song by Ashlee Simpson called “Better off”… I used to play it everyday when I was walking out of school at the end of the day… it was such a good easy, breezy track that I could see myself putting in this otherwise “Speak” dominated story…

some positivity has to come in, but I don’t know how/where… the plot device I use to lessen the melodrama/pressure… the dance was the Spring Fling… but she shows up at prom, having not seen him at all since she broke up with him… I never explained why that was… maybe he was away for a week or two for some extra special elite choir event :shrug: but I can’t see them meeting again until at Prom where…

this makes even less sense… he completely forgives her… even after manipulating him and stuff… and offers to give her that slow dance anyway… to the song “Last moment in Time

ending with the two of them kissing… fades to black… and a reprise of Nobody ’till you starts playing… the credits are scrolling on the right side of the screen while the two of them are slow-dancing… all very sweet and beautiful… very teen movie, soap opera-y… but it’s poetic… when I play the soundtrack for this story, I like to replay “Over” as well… but I doubt there’s a way I could use both of them in the credits and it works… so yeah, I think I’ll just stick with the one song cuz it fits…

the whole story is a little too predictable, a little one-sided for my tastes… plus I’d hate for anyone I went to high school with to read it and truly think I am a ‘boyfriend stealing, backstabbing bitch’…

I got the most interesting, if not the most writing material while I was in high school… haven’t been super prolific since, but yeah… aside from my writing and being part of the performing arts things that I was… and yeah, the instances of my high school crushes… I really didn’t like high school much at all… college better fit the bill of ‘the best years of my life’

my flaws never showed moreso than they have in the past 2-3 years after graduation… the mere inability of being able to interact with people I hardly know, taking a long time to even warm up to people…

I played through a list of some of my favorite one-hit wonder tracks… that almost had me spiraling out of control (omg, just cuz I said it earlier, I now have a couple Plus One grungy tracks playing in my head… I really did feel like I was going crazy cuz I used to listen to that song ‘Going Crazy’ maybe twice in a row… I guess when I was trying to learn the words, especially when the first part of each verse is so soft I can barely hear it)…

“Closer to Love” was a song that played regularly, almost everyday when I was just starting at the lab… it’s by this guy called Mat Kearney, who isn’t a one-hit wonder so much as that song is the only one of his that I’d heard on the radio… but its a pretty good song… beautiful, especially the way it closes… I’m a sucker for great closing arguments for music

led me to Carolina Liar’s “Show me what I’m looking for”… it’s kinda righteous in its way, but my absolute favorite part is the instrumental break 2/3rds of the way through… the melody playing on 80’s synths… I’m a sucker for that too…

which led me to Lady Antebellum’s “Run to you”… I loved their first single, but because of its elusiveness (it played regularly in the beginning, but now its next to never), I think I like this one more… man does that group have some great melodies… I ought to get at least one album… no need for the first cuz I have “Need you now” on one of my NOW albums (I first heard the pop version and I prefer it that way… just the way the instrumental break breaks down and how it ends… the original country version has too many strings… they remind me of the “Layla” strings that start to come in towards the end of the first half and slowly build throughout the 2nd… ending with perhaps the greatest single note of any song… the bird call 😎

I love that kind of high I get from music, just hearing the right notes being played… I swear, it’s like cloud 9 more than anything else… because music works through your ears and makes you feel tingly inside in the best of occasions…

then there’s the other side of the coin… the songs that tend to bring me down… Plus One did a bang-up job of that with this album, and to add to the masochism, those songs I mentioned were my favorites… :smacks palm against forehead:

after Keane’s “Somewhere only we know”… which I will forever associate with the ending of “He’s just not that into you” when Alex (Justin Long) comes knocking on Gigi’s (Ginnifer Goodwin) door to return a pen… a little inside joke from the beginning of the movie where he tells her that he just might be in love with her… even after the whole shooting her down a few days prior… oh I don’t care…
although… I think I preferred him when he was that intelluect love guru type… that kind of authority is a HUGE turn-on 😎

…I guess things kinda went downhill…

I wanted to hear “If you only knew” by Shinedown… which I love because it sounds like the end-all, be-all love song… the lyrics are amazingly poetic:

it’s 4:03 and I can’t sleep
without u next to me, I toss & turn like the sea
If I drown tonight, bring me back to life
breathe ur breath in me cuz the only thing I ever believed in was you
if you only knew…

but it was that whole phenomenon that I discussed when it came to the David Cook album… it felt like a lot of things I had been feeling lately were coming together in that one song, reminding me of what I’d been doing to myself and I just felt horrible about it…

I’ve developed a helluva guilt complex, my conscience eating away at me from the inside out for not acting…

I followed with “Fall for you” by Secondhand Serenade… moopy, but beautiful…

there may have been one or two other songs after that… but I ended that half hour with a single song that worked to fix everything…

“Hero” by Nickelback… it is just amazing in general… beautiful harmonies, which I know the band for quite well…
omg, they are like the reversal phenomenon of Kris Allen…

their singles are so amazing, very poetic and just Chad Kroeger’s voice… all of it just shines so brightly… but I bought the albums cuz of the singles… and everything else in the album, I don’t like to listen to… the songs on the radio promote a clean-cut image… but they sing about sex in probably the most brutal way in some cases, they sing about drug addiction… just not the most pleasant of things… there was one song called “High” that I really liked that did cover addiction, it’d make a good companion for Katy Perry’s “Circle the Drain”… same issue but two completely different takes and sounds

more or less… the rest of Nickelback’s material is very demoralizing… if not vulgar… in content more than actually cursing (though there were a couple of f-bombs here and there, but not as many as a gangsta rap track)…

I think I’ve wasted maybe $30… rounding off… perhaps $35… just so I could have the singles.

All the right reasons has the majority of the songs I was hearing on the radio all the time… I liked the title track a lot too, but aside from that, I guess I like the song ‘Next Contestant’ though that’s pushing my limitations… and I find the 2nd to last track a little… I guess boring and repetitive… but the rest I like are all singles:
Photograph, Savin’ me (BRILLIANT musicality), Far away (beautiful), If everyone cared (I think I heard that played during a “Heroes” commercial… brilliant message)… and of course “Rockstar”… the only thing I took issue with… it played over a million times in maybe the 2-3 years it was on the radio and I’d hear versions where they censored to the extremes… bleeped out a drug reference and the word ‘ass’… “dress my ass with the latest fashions, get a front door key to the playboy mansion”…

I think the issue with the rest of the album, aside from “Animals” (vulgarity and very chauvinistic in nature)… the hard rock aspect was too hardcore

the singles made me interested because it sounded like a rock band with a heart and soul… having good music but with poetry and just an oddly harmonic voice despite it being a little rough around the edges… I haven’t heard anything quite like Chad Kroger before 😎

Dark Horse was the latest release at the given time… both albums have 11 tracks…
but I take greater issue with the tracks I hate here than I do with the previous album…
I can’t even type the title of the first track… but it is VULGAR beyond belief… I almost felt ill the first time I listened to it…
“Burn it to the ground”… it is very rough around the edges and makes for a good rock anthem… but there’s a single lyric I take issue with.. I assume “balls out” means going to the full extreme… but, yeah, despite my recent “transformation” regarding my attitude towards sexuality, sex in general, etc, etc… that still bothers me a bit

omg, I got this album at the same time as “Viva la Vida”… just for the title track… I haven’t heard an entire Pink Floyd or The Doors album… although “Sgt. Pepper” was very strange in parts… Viva la Vida reminded me of that so much that it was crazy… it’s very… out there, I’ll just say 😎

for the past couple years, I guess it started with my InuYasha DVD’s… I like to save all my receipts… as my own insurance policy, but I’ve never had to return something cuz the quality sucked… I guess I like keeping track of when/where I make my purchases

eww… “Next go round” I had to look up the lyrics in the booklet to confirm what I already knew… sex was the subject and it went into… not graphic detail… there’s mention of a lot of sweat… but it repeats doing it ’till the sun comes up multiple times… one might as “how is that different from Prince talking about ‘working up a black sweat’ and ‘let’s pretend we’re married and do it all night'”… He was DISCRETE by comparison… I know, that’s a total shock but it’s true

“Shaking hands” is EXTREMELY borderline… it just pushes the envelope enough before it falls off the table… it talks about this really hot girl who rocks the world like the Wicked Witch of the West, her digging for gold…
phew… this is dirty… but in different ways than the previous songs… some vulgarity, but yeah, this girl is HOT.. cuz she’s been all these places, done all these people… A-listers, politicians and stuff, lol… it’s pretty insane, she’s the local shank, it seems

It’s pretty insane that the song actually “S.E.X.”… is the tamest in the bunch… ‘its always the answer, it’s never the question and the answer’s yes’… something to that degree :shrug: I can actually listen to this one and get into it a little bit…

f$%# me… I didn’t intend to go into my entry with all of this in mind, lol… I’ll be here forever…
I have it marked down that I only skip 2 songs… but sometimes I will mark down songs to 1/2 a point cuz I’m on the fence about them…
I guess it’s just those two songs I mentioned that I really refuse to listen to… the nature of them just doesn’t work for me…

‘never gonna be alone’ I’ve heard on the radio a lot… and I got sick of it really quickly, lol… so I don’t care to listen to it now…
but there’s a similar song on there “I’ll come for you”… is just beautiful… if there’s any Nickelback song that deserves that distinction, this is it 😎

then of course there are the rest of the singles… ‘gonna be somebody’ is very epic in nature, momentous… ‘if today was ur last day’ was a companion to ‘if everybody cared’… then ‘this afternoon’ is kinda like “Rockstar”… it’s a fun chill-out song to close the album out…

Silver side up, I’d only heard through maybe twice… so I don’t really remember much about the other songs… I like 7 outta 10… which isn’t saying much… I got it for the one single I couldn’t get out of my head ‘How you remind me’… some great vocals on that one… but I’d have to listen to it again to be sure what’s wrong with the other tracks…
I don’t think they’re vulgar so much as they depress me… nothing really happy in this

Never again- about domestic abuse
Woke up this morning- being down on oneself’s (it’s like looking in a mirror, isn’t it… and u wonder why i hate mirrors)
Too bad- about a parent who abandons a household just barely getting by
Just for- about taking a guy apart for hurting a nice girl

…I guess I can understand where the title of the album comes from but geez… this is depressing stuff… I’m sure someone has to talk about this kinda stuff, but to monopolize an entire album with this negativity… I can’t condone that

boy is this day getting away from me…

I always tend to feel better after writing and going through all this, it takes my mind off things…

so anyway… then there’s Kris Allen… that has failed to impress a lot of people because to them, he’s just one of a million singer/songwriter types…

after seeing the X-factor, I can for sure say this and know that I’m in the right sense of things…
an artist can succeed or fail based on the promotion of his record by the record producers… it could be a matter that the producer doesn’t allow him to record songs that truly cater to his personality… it could be a matter that the people who pick the singles are doing so for the wrong reasons…

when I first heard Kris’s album, my first thought was ‘this wasn’t anything like what he did on American Idol, not the type of music I expected him to sing’… it was different, almost indie in nature…
but after having some time away and hearing it again, appreciating my favorite tracks even more cuz I have reasons to back me up… and I have more reasons to back up my statements

I’ve said that the record company utterly failed in promoting Kris by giving the DJ’s the weakest song to play… everyone can universally agree, who watched the finale, that ‘No Boundaries’ was the worst song written for an Idol winner in the history of American Idol winners… and I have multiple reasons to say that I still love Kara DioGuardi’s songs… she gave a great ballad for Ryan Cabrera and loads of good songs for Ashlee Simpson and Lindsay Lohan… then of course she’d written a sur few for Gwen Stefani (more people are willing to back her up than these other two, even though I personally don’t)

hmm… Lee DeWyze’s ‘Sweet Serendipity’ and his inability to get any other singles on the radio… that literally ended his career as soon as it started… it might be cuz more people voted for Crystal Bowersox than him, but his career barely got off the ground… nobody really believed in him… including me… I didn’t buy his album even though I voted for him the majority of the series (by the finale, and based on some of the comments on Yahoo, I put my votes to Crystal, but to no avail)… either way… I’m thinking that just maybe… ‘Live like you’re dying’ isn’t the WORST Idol first single ever…

but I’ve heard it on the radio enough times to really… well, actually I completely skip over Adam Lambert too… they overplayed ‘what do you want for me?’ to the point where it is unlistenable…
“If I had u” hasn’t played nearly as much but I still prefer it for that single reason, lol

I can only hope that nobody reads this and automatically thinks that I’m anti-Adam Lambert because of his sexuality… obvious or not, that wasn’t the reason he was just a thorn in my side throughout the season… I simply can’t believe nobody made so much as a comment to the fact that his screaming is unlistenable and intolerable… still getting the ringing out of my ears… how does nobody comment and say that it’s ear-piercing, annoying that he does that all the time…
theatrical? maybe a little bit… he puts all of himself into every performance, but to me, it’s usually overkill…

cut out the screaming and sticking to just ballads and slow songs, I can kinda see the artist he is and somewhat respect that… but 90% of what he does (that doesn’t include him being open with his sexuality on stage, which got him bumped from an award show a couple years back… I’m not going to tear that down… it’s just being open and honest… besides, Prince did the same thing in the early days of his career and that might have unnerved some people but it wasn’t like a huge red flag or anything that kept people from taking him seriously… you know those old stories where he’d kiss Gayle Chapman and then kiss Andre Cymone during his earlier performances in the smaller venues and such… )…

“If I can’t have you” (that song on the Saturday Night Fever soundtrack I can’t remember the artist of) and “Mad world” were his two best performance because they were tender slow songs…

not to mention the lighting and just everything about his “Mad World” performance… came to closest to blowing my mind of anything he did… and strangely enough, because of that and the dance sketch written by, I guess it was Mandy Moore, with Billy Bell and Ade in the SYTYCD all-star season…
lately my attitude is that everything Tears for Fears touches/does is golden… that was originally their song, but because I heard it as a ballad first… I just prefer that version cuz it really brings to the table the way I interpreted that song…

I’m a little hypocritical, I realize…
in saying that I don’t think people give Kris Allen enough credit for winning American Idol… everyone thought it was Adam’s game to lose (can’t imagine why, honestly… does no one else except for a couple of my friends think that his screaming is like nails on a chalk board… and that is still true… I heard this song on the radio yesterday that I thought was Jason DeRulo… but then it turned out to be Adam Lambert… I shoulda kinda figured cuz he has a new single out, coming out with a new album this year… for at least an hour afterwards, it was with me and not for the good reasons… it jostled me up because it is audially hard to listen to… I’m sure it’ll play a million more times like Adele’s “Someone like you”… both I can’t listen to because the vocals are ear-piercing and unsettling in places… )…

at the same time, though, Clay Aiken I still believe was the rightful winner of American idol in Season 2… Ruben was like every other R&B singer out there… maybe part of it was a racial thing with me… but I dunno… that’s kinda of a huge thing to bridge between two seasons…

supposing I had to choose between Fantasia and Adam Lambert being the only people left on the planet who are singing, recording music and everything else was banned or otherwise destroyed… I think I’d sacrifice my hearing first… because for different reasons… down to their vocal style… errrr…

I can’t even go into it…
but I swear she did one guest performance on American Idol that had Simon questioning backing her up… his jaw was on the floor during her performance… can’t remember much other than her having bright red hair… and everything about it was just too horrendous to remember much about…

the thing is, though… is that when it comes to American Idol, I want the winner to be someone unique and original that wouldn’t have gotten a shot otherwise… and they have to have something there that would make me want to run out and get their album when it came out… because around that time, I was in dire need of some good quality music… and better late than never, I reeped some of the benefits in Clay Aiken, Jordin Sparks and Kris Allen… Scotty McCreery… I haven’t listened to yet… I’m still waiting to get through Daughtry’s new album before I start over with a new one

Fantasia and Adam are unique, but they’re not who I’d want to listen to after the show… they had nothing of substance, for me, that I wanted to run out and buy…

sure I wanted Clay Aiken to win and still back him up… still believing the whole thing was a fix (who knows… maybe they were onto something believing a lot of peple massed calling during the finale to have Kris win because American is… well, homophobic… like seriously, I had no idea that Clay Aiken happened to play for the same team… didn’t think that was a possible factor when it came to the finale… but I just saw this amazing person with this amazingly unique voice that was a thing of a beauty I wanted to behold…

and it should figure that after a couple of years… personal things here and there… he did retire for personal reasons in the best possible way (becoming a dad)… it sucks that people just DYING for him to come out of the closet overshadowed his amazing voice…
this is actually another case… lost my train of thought… oh right… the record company let the artist down…

[haha… my mom asked me if I’d seen this Robert Downey movie ‘two girls and a guy’… and I’m like ‘oh yeah, totally’… as great a movie that was and how important it was in its small way, I would rather stick to the positives, knowing him as he is now… I thought I could get away without mentioning him once for a week… but it just happened that way]

Clay Aiken’s first album was so good… I loved it… Jess Cates became one of my favorite songwriters that year… s/he did this Greg Raposo track called “Worthless” that slowly grew on me and kinda became a good luck charm, kept me cool and relaxed in the face of adversity with my grades… and did two songs on this album “I will carry you” and “I survived you”… all of the songs, even though I’d taken difference to 2-3 of them, I love them all for different reasons… they really put his unique voice to good use

then he did this song of love song covers that I think I only listened to once, lol… I prefer him singing his own stuff…
and then… “On my way here” is probably one of the biggest disappointments I came across in my life… and it’s not to the degree like a couple of other follow-up/sophomore albums where I just was so offended and so unsettled… plain and simple, the album sucked… there was not even a glimmer of the production of the first album… there was only one song “Fallin'”… I believe it’s called… that I really liked and got into… everything else was just… boring…

hmm… come to think of it, I don’t think Clay Aiken got put on the radio a lot either… so that might have slowly contributed to the dropping from RCA a couple years back (he decided to take a few years off too)… but yeah, it was kinda in league with Michelle Branch’s follow-up… didn’t bring me what I expected and I just didn’t enjoy myself a whole lot…

so I’m pretty much saying that I prefer Clay Aiken to Ruben, despite the fact Clay didn’t win American Idol (he should have, though… I still believe it to this day)…
yet I’m backing up Kris Allen despite the fact almost nobody remembers his name… one too many instances of “Kris who?” and I’m just going to FLIP OUT…

then there’s the whole matter of the otherwise wasted Season 5… (I can’t even remember when Prince performed… the finale of what season… I think it was that season, lol… so not entirely)… everyone was toting Chris Daughtry as the guy to beat and it was probably the biggest upset in Idol history that he was eliminated before Katherine McPhee (but hey, she got that role in the series “Smash” so she must be doing something right… even if it took her 5-6 years)… Taylor Hicks was an original, but not someone I’d care to buy into… just weird… I guess…

but yeah, Chris Daughtry got eliminated… omg, this is so funny… I actually don’t remember ANYTHING that he performed that year… I can’t remember anything he did on American Idol… except becoming probably the greatest success story in the history of the show…

you could bring up names like Jennifer Hudson (who won an Oscar on her first try… dammit, why does a near-veteran like RDJ have to wait for perhaps a 3rd try for that true recognition… sorry, I’ll stop at two)………………………. uhhhhhhhhhhhhhhhhhh…. seriously was there anyone else? :falloff:

I can’t even remember anymore…
everyone was toting that Pia Toscano’s elimination was the most shocking moment of the last season of American Idol… I still believe James Durbin was a little more apt for the American Idol title than Scotty… who wasn’t perfect and wasn’t the best guy on the stage, though I near committed crime every week pining for him when he was still a minor, :falloff: …
Pia wasn’t interesting… sure she has a big voice, but she brought nothing else to the table and pretty much gave the same song every week…

Casey Abrams, that has to be my most shocking moment… twice in fact, lol… he didn’t deserve to go either time… although his Nirvana cover was pretty horrendous…

“I don’t like him, that Kurt Cobain, he took my cricket”…

:sigh: three…

Constantine didn’t do too bad either… he did “Rock of Ages” and got it enough attention to where they’re making a movie of it…. without him… that’s still a bit of a letdown and probably the only time I disagreed with Adam Shankman on anything

but yeah… I don’t know the new album super well, yet… but I think I can easily say that Chris Daughtry was the best thing to come out of the American Idol franchise…
his band has sold out arenas, millions of albums sold, two (potential three) super successful albums… I don’t remember anything about what he did on American Idol because his songs were so good

the man has such a gift with songwriting that it’s crazy… I love what he brings to the table 😎 could chill with him for hours….

what were my other peeves at the time I started this entry…

those weren’t so much on my mind this time ’round, but whatever.
It came down to two things:

“The Grey” (the mere idea of it, I think I’ve flat out refused to see it)

and what I’ll address first…

there’s a story on Yahoo that Conrad Murray wants to be released from prison…
“I’m not a menace to society… I know I can’t practice but I’ll seek employment elsewhere”…

…just… WTF…

all of the comments were as predictable as mine… along with “a guy in prison wanting out, this is so breaking news”… you gotta point

overall, I think watching Dateline on NBC on Friday night where they went into this case in depth… that was what made me almost like rabid when it comes to this…
there was evidence that the good doctor was busy talking to a girlfriend of his for several minutes, failing to notice his patient stopped responding

sure, it’s one thing for a dead guy to get an Oscar… they deserve it in most cases (… four)

but it’s another to blame the deceased for their own death when clearly you were the one thing separating them from life & death

I was too angry for words with my Facebook status… finally figuring this…
it really infuriates me that he’s downplaying his own negligence and not owning up to what he did… instead saying that it wasn’t entirely his fault…

plus saying he should be on death row, voluntary/involuntary manslaughter or not… or better yet, give him to the dementors of Azkaban so he can suffer a fate worse than death…
it’s not the mere repeatibility of the news coverage and “can’t this guy just go away already”…

I said it bothered me when my dad made the comment to stop bringing up Michael Jackson and “he’s a freak”… still does in fact… I can’t think of enough words to string together to counteract that

but it really annoys me that the good doctor is so unsympathetic… showing no remorse about anything (his behavior after MJ’s death was even more troubling than what contributed to it… him not even telling the family until long after it happened… covering his ass)… and he doesn’t want to do the time… doesn’t seem to think he deserves this…

dude… it’s just a 4 year sentence, first of all… and whatever kinda treatment you might get, you probably deserved it… that’s a little something called karma…

this is an easy target for me to do a little comparing about prison sentences and what crimes could make you more of a menace, but I’m just gonna leave it alone…

no need…

I don’t know the status on Lindsay Lohan and whether or not she’s doing the community service for her D.U.I. or doing prison time or what… oh wait, there was that story recently so she’s out of jail… but I believe that the best thing she can do is do the time for whatever she did and move on… because this has been going on for a number of years… running away from doing the time must get so exhausting after a while… don’t you just want to have that off your back so you can finally move on?

I know I would…

now for “The Grey”…
storyline is that a bunch of guys are in a plane crash, landing in the artic tundra, having to find their way home and surviving… not sure how interesting of a movie that could be

but what really has me objecting to the whole thing…
it is not a new idea/institution… using wolves as the villians in these movies… but I’ve just about had enough of it… no wonder the WWF keeps saying that Sarah Palin wants to lift restrictions so people can shot wolves from helicoptors…

I’m talking real wolves… werewolves is a different matter entirely… and you’d wonder why I wasn’t Team Jacob, lol

it starts with the story of red riding hood and the three little pigs… then Hollywood gets their hands on this and in just about every occasion they can think of where it qualifies… “I know, let’s use wolves… people will buy into that”

not an animal lover like me… I’m surprised PETA didn’t have a stroke upon hearing about this movie…

this somewhat coincides with something else I saw last night… “What would you do?” (Grimm was on hiatus for the week to make room for the finale of “Chuck”… never saw it but amazed it took so long to go, it seemed to be on the downgrade for a while)…

one of the scenarios… three actors, a couple and a girl working at a pet store…
the couple is looking at a pit bull, looking to adopt her so they could train her for dog fighting…

Michael Vick has gained unwanted notoreity because of his dog fighting involvement… but simply because he could have helped the Eagles to that SuperBowl win… still waiting on that… one of the girls at the lab didn’t buy into it at all because she was an animal lover…

well, it would seem he learned his lesson… did the crime, did the time…

but anyway… the scenario took less than a minute to get me feeling hot & bothered… the guy was saying that ‘she’s too docile’… wanting to rattle her cage, asking if she’s had a history of abuse or neglect… if she’s got a bad temperment or whatever…

that bothered me more than saying how much money they could make on her in a week and getting her into the ring ASAP…

everyone who goes to buy a dog LOOKS for a docile puppy, a good natured one, that’s what people want in dogs… you seriously want to mess up a dog so bad, making her vicious so you could make an easy buck…

by the end of the show, I was almost in tears… I couldn’t stand what was going on… only one person really approached the couple and spoke their mind about it…

my words are so jumbled up in my head right now that all I can say is “how could you do such a thing?”…
like seriously… I could not get over any of that… I went to Facebook on their page and spoke my mind on that… even if I’m no good with confrontations or verbally speaking my mind, I would do whatever I could because I was willing to stop this abuse from happening

it’s one thing that my sister watches a lot of Animal Cops… which I can’t watch because its so graphic and so depressing…
but it’s another seeing the before and worrying that the ‘after’ is going to happen….

luckily it was all a simulation looking to see if anyone would step forward to save the dog from utter and certain doom…
the worst of it is that pit bulls get this bad reputation… they are actually banned in some states because of these stupid dog fighting people… I’d seen a couple of episodes of Pit Boss… courtesy of my sister… it not only promotes acceptance of the little people… I think that the name’s not important so much as just being treated like everyone else… but it also promotes pit bulls being a good breed of dog that’s been given a bad name because of those dog fighter types looking to make a quick buck…

I don’t watch the show a lot, but I totally get where Shorty and his gang are coming from when it comes to the dogs… more people should follow in their footsteps, definitely…

my love for wolves goes all the way back to my childhood… Universal Studios released an animated film called “Balto,” a fictionalized account of the hero sled dog who led a team carrying valuable anti-toxin for the Diptheria outbreak in Nome, Alaska in 1925 during probably one of the greatest blizzards (as in worst) blizzards they ever had…
even if it took place in present day, I still think it’d be hard to get the medicine to Nome without using sled dogs…

after the event, they founded the Iditarod sled dog race that happens every year… which goes along the trek that the sled team took…
and Balto got a statue in Central Park dedicated to him (one day, I hope to go see it for myself, so on my bucket list)

when you make a kid’s movie based on real events, there’s a lot of stuff that’s made up… they put a love story into the mix with Balto & Jenna… a rivalry between Balto and the lead dog Steele for not only Jenna but the glory… Steele’s used to winning all the time, but Balto is half wolf and rarely gets a second look by the people… misunderstood more like…

that was when I first heard of Kevin Bacon and Bridget Fonda (I only saw her in Lake Placid, though, trying to gauge that familiar voice)…
Kevin Bacon ought to do more movies I’d be interested in seeing cuz he has a great voice too 😎

naturally with dogs and animals in general, you have to make stuff up for it to be entertaining for kids… definitely hit that mark with me 😎 still one of my favorite animated movies, right behind Spirited Away and The Lion King…

it’s also kinda neglected… and I should give a little praise to correct this… there were multiple sled teams that went out to get the antitoxin… not just one group of 7-8 dogs going the whole 3,000 miles (I believe it’s either that or 6/7,000)… they all deserve their credit too, but Balto’s team was the final one to take it back to Nome

and there’s the whole matter that Steele and his team took a wrong turn, got lost because he didn’t know where he was going… and they all ended up down a huge cliff, which put their driver in a coma… therefore all these dogs get to be a lesser form of anthopromorphic… they take on human qualities and achieve them, but that’s usually a word reserved for animals that have physical human characteristics

of course the town more or less accepts Balto after he comes back a hero… which is all very nice… definitely a great happy ending to all this… adversity finally pays off

I haven’t seen all of the 2nd sequel they got out of this, but I did see “Balto 2” a couple of times… it buys a little more into the Inuit culture and mythology…
Balto and Jenna get together, have puppies and one of them looks more like him… and all of her puppies found homes except Aleu (I know, that’s a little too easy considering where they live, derive from the Aleutian islands and all that)

long story short, they all kinda realize (really easy too) that nobody wanted to adopt Aleu because she looked like she was part wolf…
sure, any dog that has wolf in their blood might be a little harder to train/handle than a purebred dog… I know there’s some waryness surrounding that fact… but I think if I had the chance, I would adopt a dog that was part wolf if they had a good enough temperment… extremely docile and affectionate…

Wolves aren’t the big guys here… nobody in Hollywood seems to realize this… it’s just such a cop-out that they do this all the time… wolves live here… wolves can be vicious if they’re hungry enough… but most of the time, if life is good, they’ll leave you alone… they stay away from humans… they get shot for going after herds of farm-raised animals… but this occurs because they have to eat, not because they’re doing it intentionally…

the mere thought is just sickens me and after a while, it gets to be too much…
if I had the opportunity, I’d work to reshape the image of wolves so they get the respect they deserve… the WWF wants petitions signed so they won’t be taken off the endangered species list because it would open the doors to poaching all over again…

now, I look at being taken OFF the endangered species list to be a good thing… you don’t want animals to be endangered, you want them to have a large, healthy population… it’s ludricuous to me that people who promote animal protection don’t want one of their goals to be realized…

taking off the list would mean that their conversation efforts paid off… that’s a good thing… why do you want to make everything so dark by bringing poaching back into it…

and seriously, unless you want to get even with a wolf for killing your entire livestock, why would anyone want to poach them? You get nothing except for fur and that’s just a trophy… something you can hang up in your goddam house… it’s completely pointless… and I can’t condone animals being killed for something so senseless and immaterial

it’s gotten less over the years… I saw it on Family Guy, when Stewie became president of the world he wanted to sign a bill that banned all direct-to-DVD Disney sequels… aside from The Lion King and Lady & the Tramp (the original, as I’ve said, is unwatchable… all these negative things about animals brought into it… from an animal’s POV no less so it comes off a lot worse than it is… but still… it rattles me to this day)… all of the sequels have been pointless…

but I think the last offender to this that’s still getting under my skin… is the Air Bud/Air Buddies franchise…

“Air Bud” alone was a good movie, though the animal abuse he took from his previous owner, really was hard to watch at times… but then Air Bud did every other sport you could think of (it’s funny, I think in “Full House” when they were holding that basketball tournament, they replaced the dog who played Comet with the one who played Air Bud… cuz it looked like him and could shoot just like him… he came on really quick just to show up Jesse, lol)…

and the dog got cancer or something after the first couple movies so he wasn’t even performing his own stunts… it was computer animated… I never saw any of the sequels, but I think they did football, soccer and volleyball among many other things

but someone at Disney HQ realized “oh, kids today love puppies, let’s use Golden Retriever puppies”…

so the buddies franchise began… aside from Space (I started saying after seeing the title “Abbott & Costello go to Mars”… once you go to space, there’s no redeeming yourself… ends a franchise faster than you can blink… you know its bad when you’re doing it in spaces), Spooky (haha, for Halloween, get it)… Santa Buddies… and recently Treasure Buddies… like Indiana Jones but with puppies… ahhhh…

I started one of my stories, my most recent story… got the idea and ran with it a couple months later… after seeing the trailer for “Sled Buddies”… it was perhaps the most anticlimatic, infuriating movie trailer I’d ever seen (it was on the Ratatouille DVD)… it starts talking about this epic tale of courage, showing a husky puppy… it looked like something I could jump into without a second thought…
the second thought came and I went into reverse so fast my head was spinning…

Siberian Huskies, Samoyeds and Alaskan Malmutes were bred specifically to take on the Artic terrain…
seriously, I’m dying to hunt down the person who came up the idea and give him a piece of my mind (that’s the safe alternate to what I have in mind, trust me)…

who is their right mind would have a bunch of Golden Retriever puppies, dogs that were bred to retrieve ducks in water and fields for their hunting owners, pulling a sled?
just so you can have kids getting into the movie, you put these popular puppies into sleighing reigns?? WHAT??… what’s wrong with Siberian Husky puppies?

they could easily have done with that and been perfectly fine with it… but nooo… they had to use the puppies for this franchise and they’re almost completely computer animated… they’re talking and its so fake that its not even funny

as a fan of “Balto” and the sanctity that sled dogs stand for, I am offended almost beyond words…

makes me wonder how the hell Disney is still afloat… aside from The Princess & the Frog, Tangled and everything Pixar (except for “Cars 2” I heard that was an unwarranted sequel, though not direct to DVD, still a waste of theater dollars and it was shown in 3D… people wanted their money back)… Disney hasn’t brought up anything worthy of mention in years…

they’re alive because of their TV networks like ABC and the Family Channel…
oddly enough, they haven’t ruined the sanctity of the Marvel movies… they own Marvel, but except for maybe The Incredible Hulk (that was so-so, didn’t really care for it as much as I did with Thor or Captain America)… they really haven’t tampered with it… the movies still rock

and if I can manage it, I will see the next couple Marvel movies in 2D… I shudder to think of what The Avengers would be like in what might be a rush-up job that could ruin the entire movie for me… I’m more worried about that than whether Tony Stark, Steve Rodgers, Bruce Banner and Thor can be in a room together and the movie would rock more than suck…

hmm… I think what I ought to do… because I think I only saw “Iron-Man” once… between the time it came on DVD and the release of the sequel… the sequel just blew my mind and it was such an awesome ride, loved it, etc, etc… I could easily see it again and maybe think differently cuz I’d seen the original more times than I can count (maybe 6 times within the past year… almost every time it was on FX… which was like once every other month)…

I’ll study up on the other Avengers I have on DVD… a little bit of Wikipedia, this and that… I know Tony Stark better than I probably should :falloff: talk about him enough…

but yeah, I can approach the movie from his POV… knowing what I know about the other characters whether or not I buy into what’s going on… and from there, I can’t lose… Tony Stark hasn’t disappointed me as of yet…

Sherlock Holmes… that’s another story… he might be like the Jesse McCartney album of movie characters… I don’t like it a whole lot the first time, but after revisiting a couple times, I start to get the hang of it…

so yeah… I totally neglected what I said before… I’m up to maybe 5 times I broke that allegience…

 

but anyway…

going back to Jesse McCartney again… and Kris Allen… those are two examples of the type of musical artists I like to check into… the singer/songwriter types and while their voices aren’t spectuclar, they’re just distinct enough and I believe enough in what they’re bringing to the table…

I’d put them alongside John Mayer and Rob Thomas as well… they’re just different enough, bringing with them a different flavor of music than the next guy… it’s kinda fun, actually

it took me a little while to make sense of Kris’s album, but I took a lot out of the details I completely embraced… as a result, it’s back on my iPod, minus his cover of “Heartless”… I’d rather watch him perform that a couple more times than what the album version of this cover was… kinda disappointing 😕

This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged . Bookmark the permalink.