My “acute affinity” for wolves… and dinosaurs

I’m not sure if alliteration is something I’ve always done in my writing or just something I’ve been doing more since finding out what it is.

The definition, more or less, is a string of words that start with the same consentant… but I think it’s more of a poetic term than writing in general… hope I spelled consentant right

Anyone who got through my previous entry :shrug: I have no idea what kind of readership I have here. At least with my writer’s blog there is a way to check that out… here, not so much… but I’d like to keep the really deep, thought-provoking, fanatical conversation here… in the blog that not everyone is going to see, certainly not seeing me as the writer of it. Anonymity is great that way.

Getting a break from my usual track of subjects feels really good. I mean I have my YouTube tab still open and everything and I hadn’t watched whatever clip that it is yet (some random press conference)…

and come to think of it, the big entry I’d been building up to… depending on my mood, whether I really want to go deep or not right away or wait… I can’t really say when I’m going to write that entry. I wrote my “aftermath” entry the following morning… was in zombie mode nearly all day… and Saturday, I took care of a few things, and everything got started.
A bit of exciting news in relation to that, but I’ll keep to my topic… a little more anticipation, I guess

the other big story I came across that day…

The X-Factor is getting almost a complete white wash…
I had a feeling that Steve Jones wasn’t going to make it to the next season because so many people on Yahoo (well, they complain about a lot of things and we don’t see eye to eye on ‘The Grey,’ but on this, I happen to agree) really couldn’t stand him… they said he was cold, unfeeling, rude and inconsiderate… to paraphrase

he kept saying how the producers were yelling in his ear to keep up the pacing for the show, which is why he pushed the girls to make their votes as to who they wanted to send home on Thursday

me, personally, I didn’t like the whole sing-off idea… whoever sings the best ‘save me’ song stays for another week… American Idol came up with the one “save” concept a few seasons ago…
they saved Matt Giraud (which was warranted), Michael Lynch (who was not… I heard all of these comments online that he was going to be booted earlier than he was cuz he broke the roles… but then again, they said that Season 8 was fixed and Adam and Alexis and Allison (I think it was those three… not sure about Allison) were going to be the final three… I didn’t want to believe Adam was going to get as far as he did, but I knew something had to be up when Alexis wasn’t saved… yep, that’s one of those things I’m never going to let go as long as I live, lol)

…and this past season, there was Casey Abrams… who got saved within the first 3 weeks… on the heels (like a week) of his horrendous Nirvana performance…

I’d gained a little more apprecation for “Smells like Teen Spirit”… though I don’t know where the hell that title came from… but I don’t believe it’s the best song of the 90’s… to me, that decade was all about bubblegum pop, the last part anyway…

and I think I’d put… no joke… an *NSYNC or Backstreet Boys song at the first spot… they got the most radio play, had the most fans of anyone… and it’s probably the whole posthumous thing that Heath Ledger benefited from…

(not gonna give that up either, apparently ):-?

good news for Casey, though, he has a record deal and… I saw James Durbin has an album out, officially 😎 one day, I’m gonna get my mitts on that piece…

but I made a couple of good purchases while at Target… finally picked up a copy of the latest Pirates movie (not gonna get a better price… not to mention not able to find the DVD in many places)

and also something I’d been meaning to get for AGES but never found the right album or deal…

a Bryan Adams compilation… I don’t think I’ll be able to fully explain myself until I listen to it, but yeah, whenever I hear him on the radio… he’s just something special… I kinda think of him as another Richard Marx type… singer/songwriter, but he’s more about guitar than piano (although I believe Marx plays both)… and he’s a little more of a rocker, I guess… just a tiny bit more…
but he’s great at ballads (Heaven and Everything I do are personal favorites)…

I first heard of him on the soundtrack for “Spirit: Stallion of the Cimarron”… but don’t remember much about him and his contributions to the film… great movie, btw… it was among the 4 films that lost to “Spirited Away” as best animated picture…

but… kinda like Hall & Oates, I guess, if there’s a comparable phenomenon… he just kept cropping up in places, like he did this song, did that song… sounds fantastic… so for years I’d had this affinity for him but never but an album… it was a pretty brilliant move and at a great price
anytime I can get an album for less than $15 is a bargain… less than $10 is a STEAL

Tears for Fears is probably the last band I’ll get a compiliation of 😎

we were also checking out a lot of games at Target and I kept thinking that after a couple drinks, my mom’s sisters will be on the floor laughing so hard they’ll asphyxiate…

there were ones where you had to supply your own answer and based on the samples on the back, I filled in the blank…

one was “what celebrity has no right being a celebrity”
any of the Kardashians :falloff:

most underrated band of all time… I had trouble with this one… so for the time being, I said Guns N’ Roses… never really got them either

I swear I was onto something before Bryan Adams happened, lol

I guess talking about X-Factor…

they fired him… for good reason, I guess :shrug:
they fired Nicole… that was warranted, definitely… she was a little too emotional, a little too attached to the contestants… the bickering between her and Simon wears a bit after a while… I guess… but the whole Rachel Crowe thing… that was definitely cause for action… no judge should be that emotional about making any decisions

Paula was one thing… it was like a conspiracy that all her groups got booted early and yet a rapper made is as far as he did…

Chris Rene has some taste at least… I kinda like what he brings to the table and I was really pulling for him as the show went on… he has a presence so good for this sort of thing that he’d make hip-hop listenable for me… someone who more or less loathes its creation and presence in the industry

it’s just kinda messed up that this kid isn’t gonna go away… because LA is in a position to sign him… the industry is in retrograde as it is and, as far as I can see, has only just started to right itself again… I don’t know if it can survive another person like that ruining any sanctity the industry has left…

I tell you what… I think he and Kanye West should get together and go bowling on Pluto… so I don’t have to hear from either of them ever again… with egos that large to cash, they deserve each other…

let the record also show that I loathed Kanye before the Taylor Swift incident and that only adds fuel to the fire

just sucks that they fired Paula too… it wasn’t her fault how everything didn’t work out… if Melanie didn’t win, I think I would have said “I can’t account for America’s tastes”… they backed her up, so I think they’re just…
I just kinda worry that Simon won’t be the one producing her album… LA is and he could just turn around and whip another version of Rihanna… I don’t know what kind of singer Melanie is, really, but she is better than Rihanna and she shouldn’t be strictly pigeonholed into the Leona Lewis/Mariah Carey category either

of his reporterie, I don’t think that anyone except Usher really has any merit :shrug: Usher at least has some great songwriters… I’m currently loving his track (well, I have since I first heard it) “DJ’s got us falling in love”… another Max Martin creation… by sheer coincidence… that dude is the king of catchyness… the songs I can’t get out of my head, but don’t really want to go away… for the most part

anyway, everyone on Yahoo pretty much said the same thing… keep Paula and fire LA…
she’s a more warming personality to see every day, LA is a little too business oriented, a little rough around the edges… like it or not, he has a more legit place in the industry as a recorder producer… just not someone whose artists I buy into very much :shrug:

I was just thinking of what Prince might think of today’s music industry… if he stands by artists like Lady Gaga or Adele or just doesn’t stand by anyone except for his small circle of close friends…
I just know that he digs Alicia Keys… I dig her song “No one” and kinda dig “Empire State of Mind”… but I’d say to Prince, I respect her talent, but I just don’t “get” her the way I get who I listen to

different people speak to different generations… I can respect his opinion and I can only hope that he could respect that I have my own opinions… both have right to be heard and acknowledged, agree to disagree

never imagined Prince would be the one sidetracking me here :shrug: but if anything, all of these entries were major sidetracks from him… the reason I started this blog in the first place…

geesh, am I gonna be able to keep going with my intended entry…

it’s kinda the way that I had this dream about “Lady & the Tramp”… me attempting to watch it and skipping through the parts that get me into emotional seizures… it’s a long story… I think I’d have to mute a good half hour of the movie…
seeing things from the POV of a dog kinda makes it harder to bear sometimes… I’m gonna pick up “White Fang” again cuz one of my friends said it gave him his love for wolves… I think I remember seeing part of the movie with Ethan Embry (I think that’s his name)… and I think I remembered more about that than the actual book… I read it my senior year of high school during lunch period

granted, not a lot about that movie is really animal abuse, but they see things differently so it looks darker than it really is…
I’m surprised that I just didn’t hate cats after seeing it… I love cats… but those two, Si & Am… they were BEASTS… I really do hate that whole cliche, someone causing trouble, another trying to stop it and that second person gets the blame for it in the first place

after Aunt Sara arrives, it just gets really dark and gloomy for a long time… well, Tramp livens things up a bit for a number of reasons, but then the pound scene… ahhh… how can u stand it… after seeing a few shows of Animal Cops, its a little unrealistic and the reality is even more disturbing…

this is the part of the being rational… as to explain things to myself to lessen the pain… as far back as I can remember, I simply cannot make it through this movie… I’m a complete mess… between all those reasons and the style of music they had back then… its nostalgic in the least pleasant way… the way it begins and ends in song… that does it everytime…

the characterization, for what its worth is really good… especially the whole “He’s a Tramp” number… where Lady kinda finds out what kind of dog he is and… actually that’s a hard scene to take too… when she’s yelling at him when she’s in the dog house, asking about all these other dogs he’s played around with and more or less tells him to get lost…

it’s all very emotionally jarring to me, that movie…
and there are two scenes that follow one another that are terrifying, if not backed by more depressing…

the scene with that big ugly rat… this is a kid’s movie?! that’s very disturbing… and ah… why? Aunt Sara really is blind isn’t she… Tramp ends up in the back of a dog pound track because she thinks he was the one that got in the house when it was really the damn big ass rat…

then the whole accident in the storm… also kinda scary, not as much as the rat, though… backed by the whole… shoot, they did the “Bambi’s mom” incident all over again… luckily, Disney opted for a happier ending this time…

I’m gonna need a minute… first to get something eat and second… ah… I just need a minute

oddly enough… the sequel to this movie is an awesome movie… more or less cuz there’s a little less drama, more great characters and the music is easier on my ticker… much easier

Just to liven things up a little bit… more my thing than this blog… I doubt anyone would get this and probably would think that I’m some nutcase…

but I’m not too far off…

rewatched the list of Nostaglia Critic’s 11 saddest nostalgia moments… I’d seen maybe half of them and only certain ones stick with me:

11. “The Muppet Movie”- goodbye song (don’t remember much of that movie really aside from the “fork in the road” joke)
10. “Follow that bird”- blue bird of happiness song (never saw it)
9. death of Littlefoot’s mom (one of a couple moments that stuck with me… I vaguely remember having a conversation with my mom just asking “WHY?”… it was a very touchy moment… and I’ll comment on the whole series of movies to what I remember later on in this entry)
8. “American Tail”… yep, I agree, though that movie didn’t have me crying the whole time, but it is sad in plenty of places
7. the end of “What’s Opera, Doc?” (seen it, and yes, it’s sad, but didn’t really get to me like other things have)
6. Snoopy’s goodbye party in “Snoopy come home” (never saw it)
5. death of Artax from “Neverending Story” (ahhhh… that was another one that stuck with me for a long time, one of the few things I took away from that movie other than the fact I saw it in 1st grade at school… but after getting past that scene, which is emotionally jarring as it is, the rest is cake… one of my favorite nostaglic movies of ALL TIME… and to a degree, it’s part of the reason I believe in fantasy as much as I do)
4. death of Charlotte in “Charlotte’s Web” (definitely yes… cannot agree more)
3. the funeral scene in “My Girl”… I don’t remember much about this movie other than where its set up, Maculy Culkin being in it (he’s the one the funeral is for)… there’s this one scene I remember where the heroine literally hits puberty… I don’t know why that stands out… lol… but anyway, the funeral is sad… I can’t remember his name but just that she’s asking why he’s not wearing his glasses… ahh… so sad πŸ˜›
2. the death of Spock in Star Trek 2 (never saw it… and really, doesn’t register anything with me really… I’m not much of a Trekkie)

and of course… the end-all, be-all is EVERY SINGLE DAMN DISNEY MOVIE EVER MADE

I wish I knew how to spell it, but that’s the pes de resistance… the cherry/frosting on top of the cake… he brings up a good point, how did we survive our childhoods and how is Disney being responsible for all this?

Don Bluth got his fair share with those two films (American Tail, Land before Time)… but Disney?

wow… I’ve made this point with Pinochio a number of times… how in the world is this geared towards kids? or rather… WHY… in god’s name WHY?

some really mature stuff happens in these movies that you really can’t see until you’re older…

I’ve noticed a couple things myself in later years… but I can’t recall many right now… the things I have noticed weren’t actually movies I’d rewatched recently either… and at the same time, I’m kinda afraid to… yeah, I’m a complete coward

every Disney movie has someone dying or at least going away…

they showed all these scenes from different movies… and on the backside of everything shown so far, my issues seem less important… and it helps to have this guy making hilarity out of all this with his witty comebacks and remarks… :shrug:

of course the big three are The Lion King, Old Yeller and Bambi

why put yourself through a movie when you know the ending and you know the ending is a horribly sad one? I know how Old Yeller goes without seeing it because of its notoreity…

simply REFUSE to watch that one… poor dog gets rabies and has to get shot… I know its a fact of life but that’s such a lame excuse for an ending, like the rest of the movie was a complete waste cuz it ends in tragedy

hey, Romeo & Juliet is one thing, but I cannot condone the death of an animal for an ending of a movie… that’s just not right

this and Where the Red Fern Grows… that was a movie I really liked… up until the dogs died… WHY??

the most hilarious part of all this is he comments on the next scene in Bambi… we fastforward a year later and it’s all joyous and happy, lmao… as if blowing off that whole “death” scene…

I think I would have appreciated that in Lady & the Tramp on the backside of everything else that went wrong… four cute cuddly new puppies wasn’t enough to make me forget everything else… not by a long shot…

I had meant to really do more with all this, but I kinda ran out of steam…

The Lion King has got to be my favorite Disney movie of all time… the death scene was a part of… ahh… so lame, me doing this “the great circle of life”

and seriously I didn’t see the connections between it and Hamlet until much later on… when someone actually put it on Wikipedia… oh dude, of course… but I didn’t want to read too much into it, I thought the ideas was too original to speak up against

The Little Mermaid, I think was another one of those movies…
if u really look at it, that movie is SCARY in places… Ursula is a really creepy villian… and I totally didn’t get she was meant to be a drag queen type… (I thought she was just big boned, lol… big cartalidged?),,,

the scene on the third day when Ursula decides not to play fair, turns herself into a human and steals Prince Eric… that’s just wrong, I’m sorry… that’s not playing fair at all… and now I just lost my internet connection :sigh:…

I’ll keep writing, copy/paste and post later, that’s all…

I think, emotionally, I blocked out the whole fight scene between her and Eric… because he stabs her with a harpoon and there’s a lot of lightning and stuff… scary…

but what really gets me… well… okay, I’m forgetting the scene where King Triton blows that fit… that’s scary and also depressing, of course…

the very ending when the two of them have to say goodbye… well, according to the sequel, goodbye wasn’t for forever… but anyway, at the moment, I couldn’t get through the last 30 seconds without tearing up…

I had since got through/over it… I haven’t seen that movie in ages, but I’m a little hesitant to do so… for a couple reasons… I don’t know why

Aladdin & The Lion King and Pocohantos… I loved the mid 90’s of Disney movies… great movies… and Aladdin was my first trip to a movie theater…… that I don’t remember anything about…

never gonna get to the namesake of this entry, am I?

 

I wanted to go back to Universal Animated Studios for a bit… a couple of their works stand out…
All Dogs go to Heaven… though I don’t remember it too well, I’d seen it twice, the last time maybe 4 years ago…
American Tail and its sequels (“Fievel Goes West” was a lot of fun… the first time I heard the names Amy Irving… LOVED her character in this… and John Cleese, who I’d seen a lot of in later years… and earlier too… A Fish Called Wanda, Harry Potter and of course, Monty Python “its just a flesh wound” lol

I don’t remember American Tail super well aside from the basic plot… the characters Tony and Tiger (we see more of him in the 2nd movie)…

Fievel Goes West is a lot of fun… great movie between the whole storyline with Tiger becoming a town sheriff to take on the cats… and the side story about Tanya wanting to become a singer, Cat R. Wall (John Cleese) falling in love with her voice and Miss Kitty (Amy Irving) pampering her and giving her votes of self-confidence… Tanya finds her own way in this which is kinda nice… I just remember “Somewhere out there” from the original… as far as musical numbers go

and so it would seem that a lot of the harsher things about kids movies occurs behind the scenes or that the realities are even more depressing than the fantasies…

that whole ‘reality is stranger than fiction’ thing…

I didn’t know this until I read the comments under this Nostaglia Critic video…

it’s one thing hearing about what happened to… shoot, I’m gonna forget his name now… his last role was in “Kiki’s Delivery Service”… his wife shot him… Phil Hartman… that’s some sick stuff…

I don’t remember much about it way back when… what the movie meant to me rather than what I took away from it… the good (loving dinosaurs) and the bad (the death of Littlefoot’s mom)… just hearing that I rented it from Blockbuster so many times that my grandma bought it for me…

The Land Before Time has to be one of my favorite movies growing up… but in reality, I haven’t seen it in… wow… 13 years, at least… It kinda became pointless when I saw it and its sequels so many times that I literally typed up the script from memory

I remember Pat Hingle being one of the few actors that stayed with the rest of the movies… or at least to the transition from this to the first sequel “The Great Valley Adventure”… LBT came out in 1988… phew, that was such a long time ago and I was only 2 at the time… so I was crazy about dinosaurs and MTV way back then…

the sequel came out in 1994 and several direct to VHS sequels followed… and I believe they’re still making them… occasionally… after the 6th one, I kinda stopped buying into it…

I’d seen all of them up until the 10th one… when Littlefoot actually gets to meet his dad… didn’t know he had one… so they address this issue… except he didn’t mean to disappear, they just lost track of each other before Littlefoot was even born

these movies are really good at teaching kids valuable lessons… that was kind of a big thing in the 90’s I’ve noticed…

to cut myself a little short… I’ll sum up these lessons and move on…

but not without giving homage to where its deserved… except for Pat Hingle, none of the other cast members stuck around any of the sequels… the sequels more or less kept the same cast for the kids from parts 2 through 4… then another cast for 5 & 6… Littlefoot changed more than anyone else… it started with Scott McAfee… then Thomas Dekker (who I’d seen in other stuff since then)… and I don’t know who else after that

someone wrote in the comments “the actress who played Ducky, her father shot her”…
and everyone was saying WTF in response to that…

I looked it up and I was just STUNNED beyond words… almost beyond words, I’ll admit to sum up what IMDB told me on the computer downstairs…

Judith Barsi was born into an acting family… her dad started to drink and became abusive with time… wouldn’t let her mom work (now that sounds kinda familiar… eh… good thing Purple Rain didn’t decide to go the full monty the way this worked out)…
she became a successful child actress, brought home a lot of money and I mean A LOT of money… also read that she had to get growth hormones cuz she was only 3′ 8″… she died when she was 10… and also that she was born tiny too…

but as her success grew, her father got more abusive (though she didn’t want to report anything even when asked… there wasn’t a lot of evidence, we’ll just say)… threatened to kill the family a number of times… until finally one day he did… he shot her and her mom and then killed himself…

just… wowwwwwwwwwwwwwwwwwwww…. that’s really creepy the way things work out sometimes…

and supposedly at the end of “All dogs go to heaven” there’s a little mention of something being in her memory…
she did the voice for Anna-Marie, that’s why… her last movie too…

 

we definitely live in a cold, harsh world sometimes…

anyway, morals of the movies:

Land Before Time: teaching about acceptence and perservence
Great Valley Adventure: responsibility (part of the storyline is that Littlefoot befriends a baby T-Rex he calls Chomper… who returns in “The Mysterious Island”)
The Time of the Great Giving: cooperation and there’s an anti-bullying message too (has three older anti-heroes, Hyp, Nod & Mutt… though Hyp is the meanest of them all)
[my personal favorite] Journey through the Mists: acceptence and further cooperation…

I really responsed to Ali, one of Littlefoot’s younger “cousins” that visits the Great Valley, they’re migrating through place to place because every place they’d been has changed and gotten too dangerous for them to live… she’d only grown up with longnecks and was shy around Littlefoot’s group of friends…
of course, Cera is the same old pain in the butt she is in all these movies… the outspoken one who really has no nice way to say much of anything…

the one thing I never understood was why she was never used in any of the other sequels…
and oddly enough, I checked her profile… Julianna Hansen is a year older than me and that was only her role EVER… I thought she had a nice voice

kinda strange how with some of these movies, the female characters are my favorites that I can’t seem to get out of my head…

The Mysterious Island… locusts came and destroyed The Great Valley (how very strange that this was the next sequel after Journey through the mists… where the whole movie was kinda bout that)…
more cooperation, I guess… that was a big theme in these movies… and I guess acceptence… Littlefoot meets Chomper again and his parents who really aren’t as bad as they come off in the previous film…

Saurus Rock was the 6th movie… had a visit from Cera’s nieces Dina & Dyna… she kinda needed a taste of her own medicine (although I have other reasons for really disliking Misty from the PokΓ©mon series, her attitude and Cera’s are a big part of why I didn’t really like either character)…

Land Before Time became a very musical series… three songs per movie… the original just had “If we hold on together”… later sung by Diana Ross during the credits

so musical that they released a VHS just with all the songs in a collection…

Saurus Rock, I just remember Kris Kristofferson (haha… that name has me thinking about “Fantastic Mr. Fox” and the fennec fox Kristofferson) doing the voice of this new longneck that Littlefoot believes to be the infamous “Lone Dinosaur”…

I think the music kinda started to lag after the first couple sequels… nothing really well written…

just read the back cover of the VHS… supposedly this rock carving keeps the bad luck out of the Great Valley… when it gets broken, they believe that the new longneck should be kicked out cuz everything was fine until he showed up… that sort of thing :shrug: that’s just poor writing

after that, there was
The Stone of Cold Fire… where we learned about Petrie’s uncle Pterono, who was exiled for flying off rather than helping his friends in a perilous situation… the stone, of course, is a fallen meteor and there are these two rainbow faced dinosaurs that Littlefoot meets and its suggested that they’re from space the way the metor was…

ehhhh… I’ll say it again… once you bring something to space, that’s it… there’s no redemption after that…

The Big Freeze… the dinosaurs deal with an Ice Age and a herd of club-tails come through, Spike considers joining them (they never did find out what happened to his family, they just found his egg in the first movie and it was never really addressed… just that Ducky adopted him as a brother)

yeah, the ice age thing makes a lot of sense πŸ˜•

Journey to the Big Water… there’s a small ichythosaur named Moe that Littlefoot befriends… and I don’t remember much else after that…

I own the first 6 movies on VHS, the next two on DVD and I kinda stopped caring after that… despite what the Universal Executive Producer wrote to me, Littlefoot, Cera, Ducky, Petrie and Spike never grew any older…

“you’ll find the dinosaurs growing up with you”… what a crock… I don’t remember much about the letter that I have been unable to find… but I remember that
she also sent me a plastic prototype of Spike, a model to draw from… which was pretty cool 😎 I admit… he’s in the basement in that tub container with all my other dinosaurs… makes me wonder if there’s something to the Toy Story universe… do they miss me when they’re down there? I came across them looking for Christmas decorations a couple months back but that was the only time since…

that was so much fun… reinacting all of these movies using my dinosaur figures…

“We’re Back: A Dinosaur Story” was another great movie… never forget John Goodman after that
😎
lol, Julia Child did the voice of Miss Bleeb, curator of the museum of natural history… we went there after seeing the movie but I don’t remember ANYTHING

Walter Cronkite played the good guy, Dr. New-eyes… his evil twin brother, Professor Screw-eyes… Kenneth Mars (never thought I’d see him play a bad guy, I knew him as Littlefoot’s grandpa… and kinda didn’t realize until later he did King Triton too… may he rest in peace… all three of these guys)

oh yeah, dinosaurs were the best… u want on theory on what killed them?
meteor hit the earth, kicking up all this dust that blocked out the sun, killing the plants and inevitably killing them via heat stroke and starvation

being cold blooded SUCKS…

another thing I know Universal for…

the next time I go to the natural history museum, I want to stop by Central Park to find Balto’s statue

also kinda forget this… I wrote a paper about wolves for my “Writing about nature” class… we had to explain, also using references and stuff… how something in nature functions/works… I explained about wolf packs and their hierarchy

I’d only seen wolves with my own eyes a couple of times in my life… the two that stick with me the most…

that summer I spent at my aunt’s (that ended with seeing Jesse McCartney in concert), we went to the Chester County Fair… there was a wolf by himself in an enclosure that’s about half the size of my bedroom… he was very restless in there, looked very sad… and there were a couple of unruly kids howling at him… when he was pacing, like he didn’t want to be anywhere near this… I felt so bad for him

the 2nd time was at Busch Gardens, Richmond… they have a show featuring wolves doing tricks, but they’re so hard to train that you just let them do whatever the hell they want half the time… you can’t really expect them to obey every command…

those creatures are just BEAUTIFUL… I explained a few entires ago how I’d had this affinity for wolves for a number of years… nearly my whole life… as of 1995

dont remember very much before that

my grandma (the one who’s deceased) knew this and adopted a wolf in my name… his name was Hinton… that was my show and tell project in 7th grade and my turn started just before the bell rang and… probably against their will, out of respect, my classmates had to stay and listen to me stumble through my project…

I stopped getting updates after the first…  i guess we had to pay every month to the WWF or something…

but they’d always been a huge part of me… however little or huge that part was… lol… totally contradicted myself there…

but anyway… they’d always fascinated me a great deal… so amazing, beautiful creatures…

so I watched the 3rd Balto film and it kinda met my expectations… which were low to begin with…

the first movie had a lot of sanctity and sincerity regarding the treatment of the subject matter… it was also the only movie that was clear cut from start to finish…

I didn’t take much issue with the voice acting changes… I mean, they got Lacey Chabert to do the voice for Aleu in the sequel… so that wasn’t too bad… but everyone else, so-so… Jodi Benson has this habit of turning up in odd places… she did the voice of Jenna in this movie, but probably did so for the 2nd movie too… she also did the voiceover for Lady in the “Lady & the Tramp” sequel… to me, that kinda seemed like a cop-out, getting her to do the voiceover…

everyone knows she’s uber famous for doing Ariel’s voice, though I’m sure she had an outstanding career before turning to voice acting

Maurice DeMaurche did the voice for Balto in the sequels… not exactly Kevin Bacon, but all the same, he doesn’t let the dignity of the character get away from him…

I’ve always kinda noticed that there really wasn’t a major villiain in any of the sequels…

in the original we had that Grizzly Bear for one huge perilious sequence… who dies by drowning after its all over… and there’s Steele… being a major, in Jenna’s words “glory hound”… wanting everything to be about him and he’s just plain mean to Balto… as is everyone else, but he’s the worst of them all… between the “stealing his glory” thing and challenging his affections for Jenna

I don’t remember what happened to Steele at the end of the movie, though, lol…
after Balto asserts his place as head of the sled team, he screws up Balto’s marking that got him to the team in the first place and he comes home, making up this story about losing the medicine, Balto falling off a cliff and saying for him to take care of Jenna… totally ridiculous…

I guess the movie ends with him… after Balto comes back a hero, the other dogs turning on him and leaving him behind in the boiler room where they’d been hanging out this whole time… that’s about it, yeah…

in the sequels… let’s see… circumstances are Aleu’s enemy, nobody wanting to adopt her… she and Balto come across a wolf pack that has two alphas… or at least the 2nd wants to be alpha and the other is the old leader… I guess whoever that was, he was somewhat of a villian…
but the overall meaning of the movie was very Inuit/Indian/spiritual heavy… with Aleu trying to find her place in the world… which seems to be being the new pack alpha after something happens to the other two

but in this one… Wings of Change… not really… there’s some confrontation and competition going on, but no real villians…

another thing I noticed… don’t remember much except for maybe one distinct musical number in the first sequel…

there are like 4-6 songs in this movie… and I had to ask WHY… why do we need to break into song to explain these things? and back to Jodi Benson, I love her, but this was just really lazy writing… hey, she has a great voice, give her a musical number

the story is about the incoming technology of bushplanes, which could take over the mail delivery from the sled team (one of the dogs being Kodiak, played by Sean Astin, son of Balto & Jenna… one song suggests he might have been the runt of the litter who strived for greatness)

then Boris gets his own storyline with newcomer Stella (another cop-out, I know)… trying to cover up the fact he’s afraid of heights and therefore afraid to tell her he doesn’t fly

that was kinda lame, yeah…

Balto meanwhile sees this bushplane in flight and fascinated by the idea of flying… he meets the pilot, Duke, who is very sweet towards him… I saw maybe a flash of this movie once and thought he was the first human to really accept him (even though after the whole Diptheria ordeal, the town still heralds him as a hero) and decides to adopt him, I guess…

I’m not sure how that really panned out, whether Duke became his owner or not…

but there’s this competition between the plane and the team and the winner delivers the mail. Balto relucantly becomes lead dog, knowing they don’t stand a chance… of course they win by default… due to a number of conditions, Duke’s plane crashes and Balto returns on his own to rescue him

I’ll try to recount whatever little I can about my story on wolves… somewhat of my message that they deserve respect and all that…

After her dad dies in a car accident, Hallie Fischer has to go live with her free-spirited mom in Alaska. She meets some new friends, one of them becoming her new boyfriend (she kinda leaves his old boyfriend Andrew high and dry after a while… kinda my own fault, lol… with my biases… another thing I drudged up from reading “Twilight”)…

a couple of times, she comes across this wolf that seems to come from nowhere… but they develop this close bond… she believes in part that her dad’s spirit lives on in him and he’s there to make sure she’s getting by all right… I called him Tahoe… her new b/f Joey gives him that nickname after seeing him hanging by his Chevy a couple times, just minding his own business…

if I could manage it, I got all the husky names in this… the promonient ones from huskies I’d come across in life… either on TV or in person… Tahoe was the name of our neighbor’s beloved husky who died quite some time ago…
Jayda is the mother of the puppies that later become Hallie’s sled team (she and Joey take part in a dog sled race for money to save their friend’s outdoorsman shop)… that was the call name of the Siberian Husky in Westminister that year (she didn’t even place)

Jack is the husky who belongs to this older man (in his 30’s/40’s) that Hallie befriends… gives her sled dog tips and so many other things… I don’t remember much about what he brought to my story… but trust me, my intentions were poor…
Jack was a husky I met at a Petsmarts… they had this adoption day event where there were a couple of dogs on led for people to meet and pet and all that… Jack was super sweet, my god… I love huskies 😎

I think I’d only met a couple personally in my own life… that same neighbor, she has a Samoyed called Sky… he is just so beautiful, but I hear he’s a little unruly at times getting huge last I saw him… coming up on a year old, I think

all the other names, I think I just made up…
Sage becomes the lead dog… she has somewhat of a sagey gray color and Hallie thinks she looks a bit like a wolf, despite the fact Jack is the father of the puppies…
Silver & YinYang are two other names, I don’t remember too many of them…

oh, there was another red dog in the litter… I think there were at least two… Joey adopted this as his lead dog… I think his name was Rouge… named after a husky I saw in a kennel at Fashion Island in Newport Beach… or some kennel/pet store out of town

anyway… the sled races goes that Hallie gets ahead later on (she also had made Sage the lead dog because she wanted to speak out against the norm, which was to use the male dogs as lead dogs and the females were just for breeding… she’s opinionated and I guess she’s a bit of a feminist too, lol)… until something happens… runs into trouble with one of the competitors (who nobody really saw coming at all… he was the same person wanting to buy the outdoorsman shop and turning it into a snowboarding boutique)

she’s lost for a number of days until Joey goes out to find her before a major snowstorm hits…

it seems that she and her dogs were found by Tahoe and his small pack of misfits, got them to shelter and the dogs were close by to keep her warm until help arrived

I think I kinda had plans for that early on… but for the most part, “Hope in Alaska” was the biggest expression of spontaneity that I’d ever written… wrote it all longhand, typed it up later and didn’t make any revisions at all until I started typing it up

 

I had meant to mention this earlier during all those nostalgia sad moments… there are legit things and non-legit things that I get emotional about… I mostly went on today about the non-legit things… cuz I doubt every single person would get my meaning with the majority of all that…

and I’d been greatly affected by a couple of movies over the years… some more in sadness than any kind of joy… but yeah… being sad over a character dying in a movie… that’s a perfectly normal notion… I say this because, yeah, in a couple of days, I’ll go into such gross detail about it that I will probably… nah, I think I’ll be okay… it does me good to think aloud about these things with myself.

like I said, depending on my mood… the entry I’ve been building up to… will be written and posted within the next 48-72 hours… give or take a day or two… “worst” case scenario, I don’t get to it until after my SuperBowl entry (which is sure to be epic and depending on when we get back, who wins and if it was a good competitive game, it could be up as early as Monday at 1:30am :shrug: )

I guess it helps that my Internet isn’t back yet so I can actually remember to type these things

going back to Bryan Adams…

I heard “Cuts like a knife” a lot on the radio when I was commuting the lab… and it’d usually make a morning look a little brighter… I guess πŸ˜• its kinda sadistic, ‘cuts like a knife, feels so right’… kinda like Mellancamp’s song ‘hurts so good’… ‘sometimes love don’t feel like it should, hurts so good’
Cougar is great at what he does, even though the only song I fell in love with was “Jack & Diane” (oddly cuz I first heard its sampling in a Jessica Simpson song, lol… my mom flipped out when she heard that occuring, saying that she stole it from another song… and I doubt she actually wrote that song… like it all the same

I’ve been known to mix a couple songs and their artists up because there… let’s face it, there are a lot of similar sounding artists out there… even I can’t get them ALL right…

I thought “Girls of Summer” was another Bryan Adams track… okay, maybe I didn’t think that, but I suspected it was someone I heard of… like Rod Stewart maybe… but that’s Don Henley, who has cropped up a bit too… he’s got something good going on

I heard this song on the radio around the same time that “Cuts like a knife” was almost a daily thing…

it went a little something like this “runaway train never comin’ back, wrong way on a one-way train…”
I thought for at least a year and a half that it was a Bryan Adams song… I looked for it on my CD and didn’t find anything like “Runaway Train”… looked on Wikipedia, nothing like that in his songs… I Googled it…

I was SO wrong and I couldn’t believe it wasn’t Bryan Adams… it was a thought-to-be one-hit wonder band called Soul Asylum… the song came out in 1993…
that doesn’t take away the fact that I thought it was a great song 😎 the chord changes are so beautiful in the instrumental breaks

uh… thinking about that song and a couple of other (actual) Bryan Adams songs… I keep thinking about this one Richard Marx track called “Should’ve known better”… the beginning of it… great song, great soulful lyrics and vocals… yet so sad

This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

