SuperBowl XLVI [46]

There are reasons I don’t like the idea of betting on football, attempting to predict anything or even favoring certain teams to go to the playoffs when the season had just barely started…

its seasons like this where you kinda see that the future is uncertain

I guess today I kinda played the optimistic while keeping the pessimism just close enough to keep me grounded :shrug:
that whole thing “the optimistic believes the future isn’t uncertain and the pessimist knows that and doesn’t care…”
and I felt like it was my duty today to be the optimist

sure, there’s no way of knowing how everything was going to work out in my head… supposing that at the very last second, the Patriots pulled the rug right from under the Giants… I dunno… I could have taken it badly… I kept telling myself that I was going to be okay either way, although I wanted the Giants to win a helluva lot more

a couple of people in the room definitely seemed to have their eye on me, very worried about what would happen if the Giants didn’t win…

it kinda felt like the other day during the Eukanuba dog show when the Standard Poodle won and my sister completely lost it…
that woulda been me a couple years ago.. maybe its cuz I didn’t really care so much for the competition that day or I’d just… I dunno, I didn’t really like anyone all that much in the show, and didn’t really like the way it was judged… narrowing it down by sight alone, then examining the dogs… just seemed a little backwards to me

I guess in the years I’ve dealt with disappointment in sports, I’ve developed thicker skin so I can take it when things go wrong :shrug:

There definitely weren’t a lot of people thinking that the Giants would make it to the play-offs, let alone the Super Bowl (one of these days, I gotta check my syntax in whether I’ve been doing this phrasing backwards my whole life)…

I thought the NFC East was anyone’s game for the longest time… I was asked by one of my aunts which teams I liked at the moment, I think this was Thanksgiving, I said the Giants… deep down, I kinda felt the strongest and most confident in their abilities than any of the teams I was following at the time…

I’m going to attempt to keep this short… but plain and simple, between everything, trying to keep the stress down a bit, trying to block out the negative comments flying around… it wasn’t like two SuperBowls ago when I was trying to block out cheering for the Saints when I was backing the Colts… everyone was on the same team, but of course, everyone else seemed to think that things were looking pretty negative for a while and something had to happen or it wasn’t going to turn around…

I kept looking forward, kept a cool head almost the whole time and yeah… in the end of it, at the end… it all paid off… everything worked as I thought it should

and I was right about one thing… it was going to be a close, low-scoring game… in fact, I was within one point of predicting the exact final score (my guesstimation was 20-17 with the Giants winning)…

Both quarterbacks were great the entire game… Tom Brady got back to being his usual annoying self, annoying me because he kept staying alive… but at the end of it, he and Eli got sacked the same amount of times… so that was kinda even…

and Eli didn’t let anyone down… Tom Brady threw the only interception of the game and I don’t even remember if any points were made off it (the field goal?)… clearly it wasn’t HUGE… but it was something…

I guess Eli and I had the same idea… don’t get too down about how things are going, just keep a cool head and moving forward… and sure enough, it worked out that way…

Victor Cruz got a great first touchdown when he had just barely gotten his hands on it… kinda like playing hot potato, but it was a good catch.
Hakeem Nicks caught at least three critical 3rd down receptions because the dude’s got big hands (their observation, not mine) and he can really jump

then Mario Manningham made the catch of the game… the longest play of the game… not quite Santonio Holmes in the Steelers/Seahawks SuperBowl a couple years back, but very close to being just as spectacular… he was just in bounds and got both feet down just before getting tackled… and then the Patriots wasted a challenge on that even though the coach was right there in full view of it…  

eh, there were a couple of miscues… the safety, two of the guys in the room thought it was questionable…
I know the following: a safety is committed two ways: either the ball carrier is tackled in the end zone or a penalty is committed by the offense in the end zone…
also know that an intentional grounding is called when a quarterback throws the ball and there are no receivers near his target area… it could be debatable that he wasn’t under enough pressure for it to qualify…

but there was a missed face mask call during a missed catch by a Giant…

and what’s up with those two defensive “12 men on the field” penalties? wow… I don’t think I ever saw one defense do that ever

of course, all the newscasters are comparing the Manningham catch to the miracle catch during the previous SuperBowl…

both were great catches, no doubt, but I still favor the previous one…

because I swear Eli disappeared among all those jerseys, an almost certain sack on third and long… miraclously, he emerged on his feet and threw it… and David Tyree caught it off his helmet (now that hail mary catch at the end of the 1st half of the NFC championship is definitely worth comparing to that… for sure… amazing catch)…

I thought Hakeem Nicks would get MVP for sure… but nope, I guess the voters didn’t think anyone else really did enough to really stand out…
what the heck… Eli deserves the honor because he was a great leader, the catches and the rushes started with him calling the plays, getting open, etc, etc. and he had the best attitude they could possibly have for this game.

and seeing as I got to making this blog because of a HalfTime show, I gotta talk a little bit about Madonna…. WOW… I can’t believe it’s been 5 years since I started on this journey with Prince… now I can only hope that I can start listening to him again…

first of all, shame on all the naysayers that said it was going to suck before the game even started…

Great opening number… the choreography, the costumes, the projections… amazing and the costumes in this number were gorgeous (I’m talking her outfit, not the Trojan soldiers, lol)… “Vogue”

went to “Music”… the pop blogger in our paper was wondering why that was there… it was her most recent hit song… from several years ago… started out pretty cool, although the choreography got a little blase after a while…

sequed into a collaboration with LMFAO… that I only know for one song, lol… but it guess it kinda worked…

then she went into her new single that has cheerleaders (haha, very Toni Basil) and Nicki Minaj backing her up… I can’t really account too much for her tastes in collaborators, but whatever… I don’t think a lot of people were going to get it… but yeah, even now I still kinda have the song in my head, so I thought it was all well and good…

then Cee-Lo Green comes out and I’m thinking ‘what the hell’… I mean, I get it, “The Voice” shows on NBC and he’s a judge/mentor…

this turns into something really spectacular (as hard as it is to believe, I put these together in the same breath)… her final song was “Like a Prayer”…
everything went really dark, there were lighters/lit up cell phones behind her… there was a back-up choir… great choreography, great projections…

around this time, I think I near lost it… not so much crying, but I was so swept up in the emotion of it all that I was lost for words… so amazed and just… wow…

Madonna’s great.
and I don’t mind so much the comparsions between her and Lady Gaga, in that Lady Gaga is a current version of Madonna… both made their way on the pop charts in different ways and are legit in different ways…

more or less, Madonna proved tonight that she hasn’t lost her touch… even incorporated some current acts into the show with her… which is something that rarely works in this day and age…

and before I completely forget, Melanie Amaro’s Pepsi commercial was AWESOME
go ahead & google it… it’s worth a peek

so yeah… never thought I’d get to say this again, certainly not so soon after the previous Super Bowl:

GO GIANTS!

This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

