Meandering Philosophy entry

Topics to cover:

“The Power of Myth”- Joseph Campbell & Bill Moyers

three critical/difficult periods of Downey’s career annonting to the realm of myths

It was one thing with Prince where because of him, I checked into all kinds of music to see about his influences and such… but I’d prefer to stay out of the rabbit hole of researching the Jehovah’s Witness faith… I’m not nearly curious enough for that

but it’s another thing when Robert Downey Jr. is either teaching me about the difficult issues, helping me confront difficult issues and so on.
Checked into Campbell & Moyers the other night just to see where he was getting his research from. Apparently during this last inhalation of sobriety, he dove into some really philosophical material to find something, anything to help explain things… and wouldn’t you know it, he is just that sharp and that smart that he really understands this stuff, really adhering to it…

I’m also spending some of the day re-reading my works about Julian… well, two out of three… I don’t think I want to really touch that last one because it certainly wasn’t super philosophical, wasn’t really going anywhere (except into uncharted waters… well not quite… I had alluded to a sex scene once before that)…

going through my iTunes library, I ended up going back to some of my old favorites… well, not super old…
I got to “Circle the Drain” by Katy Perry… followed it up with “Frozen” by Madonna…
I realize I keep doing this to myself on a regular basis… touching on that really touchy territory where I would do just about anything, try anything in an attempt to explain this to myself… finding a way for it to have a better ending than what I ended up witnessing

strictly speaking, I could go through life (though I wouldn’t rule out the idea of a reversal) and never see “Less than Zero” again… certainly not the movie in itself entirity…
I doubt it’s going to be something I’ll forget anytime soon, but I could cling to this and be completely satisfied with my own version… and technically, I suppose I’d left enough gaps in this short story where it could easily be about any other addict in his late teens, early 20’s… yes, life is cruel and unfair at times and not everyone can get that perfect Hollywood ending.

now I’m POSITIVE that I wouldn’t have taken this seriously if any other actor had played him

if anything, what I have in front of me is a major test of character… what can make a person change… I tried to make it so the changes weren’t too far off base… as if I didn’t completely rewrite his psyche when he has his reversal of fortune…
there was a lot there that I really didn’t want to tamper with too much. I know I tend to write things predictably and make it a little too easy for someone’s opinion to change

that was my starting point writing fanfiction when I was 13… changing character and personality completely to suit my own needs…

long story short:
Julian is one of two critical, philosophical/psychological facets of Downey that I’m still making peace with or figuring out… I believe I’d done all I can with this and I’m satisfied with the results… which is its something I can come back to and remember exactly why I put a month into putting all of this together

strangely enough, Robert being as philosophical as he is, the Charlie Rose interview of 2003 is one I’ve gone back to several times… I was paying more attention to him than anything else. And all the references he was making kinda went over my head…

until one day, the previous time I watched it, I took note and decided to Google “Tuesdays with Morrie” (by the by, there was a clue in Jeopardy today that inspired me to revisit all this today… something about a student spending days with his dying professor… and I’m thinking ‘omg, I totally know this…’ and it was Tuesdays with Morrie) and “Campbell & Moyers” cuz I had no idea who those guys were…

I can now go into this again… having seen some of Joseph Campbell’s compelling idealogy (plain & simple, dude’s a genius)… I can watch it in a couple minutes, kinda knowing a little more about where he gets his material

for the sheer philosophy and psychology of it, I love going between those two periods… which, oddly enough, are the beginning and end of this really difficult journey he’d had in life… I certainly didn’t do that on purpose or with that in mind… it just worked out that way…

and I guess “Charlie Barlett” is a very slight off-shoot of that…
in a very contained, very insignificant amount…

it’s… I dunno a good word for this… surreal… during this one scene when the principal is confronting Charlie after one of the kids he helped overdosed… and he tells him how there’s more to life than popularity, what you do with it is more important and what you do in this life matters…
its simply transcendent of reality… him saying these things, life lessons that he himself had gained in recent years… as if Downey himself is speaking to Charlie and the audience collectively to impress what he’s trying to say

but concerning the beginning and end of the trek, aside from promoting and reviewing the movies, they’re what I write about the most…

I’d gone through the ringer a couple of times with Julian that there’s little need to bring him up several more times on this blog…
meanwhile I do a lot of philosophical writing after mediating on the Charlie Rose interview because I doubt you’ll see a more eloquent conversation occur with Robert doing most of the talking

and naturally they’re the life lessons I want to apply to my own life, but haven’t quite figured out how… “if the path’s beaten, its not your path”

I don’t quite remember when/where he said this or what it was in reference too, but somehow I get the feeling that’s the answer I would get before I get into that tirade with myself, lol

[the next day]

This is quite possibly going to be one of those entries that I start, plan to get back to it with more insight about something… and just completely LOSE it…

well, it’s not that I forgot everything in that Campbell & Moyers conversation… but I forgot a lot of the things I wanted to discuss in response to it.

The main topic was “the hero’s journey” and the title the person who uploaded it gave it the distinction of “part 1” as in this isn’t the first conversation these two have had and I’m sure they address all kinds of stuff… discussing the myths and how they transcend reality… they talked about a couple of reasons why heroes go on these journeys, what they get out of it… and its more that by learning something within themselves, they save the world at the same time…

Check it, though… I started watching this discussion at 9:30 and it was roughly an hour long… I was tired and it wasn’t anywhere near time for me call it quits yet… and I had a Throwback Pespi, so the caffeine didn’t keep me awake at all (compared to what I’d experienced lately with caffeine…well, not lately… but at times… the alternative is not what I’d want to go through that night)

apparently things got so deep between EVERYTHING… that I didn’t dream at all last night, at least I don’t think I did… we all dream but the trick is remembering… I haven’t remembered anything since… actually the night going into February 7th… which happened to be quite the momentous day…

I still can’t get over that name… E.E. Downey…. its so poetic I wonder if Susan is an e.e. cummings fan or it just worked out that way…
tee-hee, the next time he’s out on the red carpet or at some interview, that’s going to be one of the first questions he’ll be asked… the name Exton… great ring to it, I swear

kinda strange how I went into this entry… I literally spent 10-15 minutes considering whether or not I should start writing or not… or if I should wait or do it after the Charlie Rose interview or what… I started really getting into myself a bit… wondering if I should touch this or not… because I was thinking of myself while listening to this… trying to apply it to myself and just thinking that I’m not really a great person… certainly don’t live a lot of life, not nearly as much as all these people. Sometimes I even feel like I run 2 tracks… this double-life where I have the person that people I know in reality see… my friends and family, mostly my family… and the person that writes excessively and is really into all that…

I thought a little about Jonas while listening to this discussion and if he’s even worthy of all this time I’d put into his story… I’ve thought about things that could get me started on the story again… and I wonder if all this neglect is just waiting to come back and bite me… and just maybe I’m overcomplicating it and the story won’t be nearly what I wanted it to be.
One thing that kinda got me about the discussion was Campbell talking about slaying dragons as if dragons are a representation of something with us that we have to slay or make peace with… more or less painting the mythological dragon (the European version… the Chinese dragon is a completely different animal to the point I can’t remember how/why that is) as something that needs to be destroyed

Me, I write about dragons being good and bad, but I don’t go all philosophical about that… found myself maybe a little turned off by the insuination that dragons are a bad thing… omg, I had this moment last night where I thought the name sounded so familiar (Joseph Campbell, that is) that I got out my philosophy text… nope, that’s C.A. Campbell… and he was discussing heredity vs. envrionment… man that would have been too far out if this man was in my textbook… he wasn’t around all the way back then…

somewhere in that conversation the whole matter of the universe having this cycle, giving you time or signs that you need to change paths… like you can feel it in your body when you know that there’s some other discipline you need to spend your energy… the conversation with Charlie Rose was discussing the whole material of astronomy… if you don’t get off the train now, in 7 years we’ll give you another shot…
it’s kinda funny between Campbell & Moyers, and then talking about Robert’s life as well as the guy who wrote The Singing Detective… which was more or less his last lecture… Dennis Potter struggled with a disease throughout his life sometimes gracefully, sometimes less than… and yeah, its very transcendent of all this… having seen some of the movie, I can kinda get where its coming from… the trailer of it helped put some pieces together… has me thinking “man, seeing the whole movie might give me more of a handle on this whole thing” because right now, it is so cheesy and is over the top in places that I couldn’t even take it seriously… like WTF… supposedly smart people really get it… he says so… I’d like to think of myself as a somewhat cultured individual… moreso in the past 4-5 years… I guess its officially 5 now… and I want to one day understand where its all coming from but dude, I couldn’t believe how much I couldn’t take the movie seriously when dude… its dealing with some serious… well, you get the picture

right now, I don’t know if I can possibly save this entry, going into the stuff I found about the other night… I knew I should have written some stuff down via Joseph Campbell when it was still fresh…
but I didn’t want to risk putting myself through the ringer again… beating myself down because I’m not getting any of this in my life

not that I’m trying to downplay my situation or anything, but I’m only 25… it might be somewhat “admirable” that I’m looking into this kind of stuff… but there’s really no need for it at this point… my situation isn’t as dire as some others might be… and considering what a f’D up world this is, I’m pretty lucky

one day… yeah, I guess “Tuesdays with Morrie” is another book I can add to my library list along with all those classics… cuz it runs along the lines of the Last Lecture that Randy Pausch gave… I get into that kind of stuff and actually watched a video of quotes from the book/movie of this… good quotes too

This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

