Music Magic & American Idol discussion

now that I think about it, I ought to go to Lyndsay Parker’s Yahoo! blog and bookmark it here… then maybe another time I’ll submit a comment, saying how much I like her stuff and invite her to stop by here… Couldn’t hurt, right?

I reference her for all of the discussion on reality TV… mainly cuz she runs a pop culture culture called Reality Rocks

http://music.yahoo.com/blogs/reality-rocks/idol-top-11-results-girls-night-012148277.html

I cannot condone what the commenters say in a lot of these entries… but that’s not why I come back, though reading some of the comments helps keep things afloat in my mind if something doesn’t quite make sense.

My overall sense this season: Elise Testone is her favorite contestant and with the passing weeks, I’ve been liable to agree with that… after she sang that Adele song after Jenn Hirsch sang it (speakig on that, I might have to check out that clip again after hearing the album a couple more times just to see how it compares to the original… rather than how it compared to another constestant doing the same song)

she also likes Phillip Phillips a great deal and after this week’s performance, he’s had me giving him a second chance.

More on that later, gotta read what she wrote about last night.
It went out without a hitch and the right person was eliminated, but I don’t believe the right people were in the bottom 3…

more on that in a bit

Not a whole lot to be said, but she brings up one point.

Why is America voting against the two most interesting girls in the competition who happen to be on the older side of the spectrum?

Erika and Elise were definitely different and unique… heck, I’m thinking that while there aren’t a lot of super strong singers in the competition this year, this season might be one of my favorites because we probably have the biggest range of unique talents of anything we’d had in a long time…

Right now, we’re also in a time where we have artists like Florence & the Machine, Christina Perri, Sara Barielles, Lady Gaga and Katy Perry… all these female artists… and Adele of course… who bring something different to the table… where you wouldn’t mistake whose party it was

(I include Florence & The Machine in there because I’m getting pretty high on the magic of their latest single “Shake it up”… it is a thing of BEAUTY… by all means, YouTube it and listen to it… the video, which I’d only seen in a fragments when VH1 discussed her in their 100 greatest women list, looks pretty spectucular to)

I’ll put it this way… I feel the same way about the song as I do for a lot of Wendy & Lisa’s stuff from their first album… it seems like the perfect material to contemporary dance or Tai-Chi to…

after a little bit of skepticism that first week, I’d gotten to like Elise… the only person who did a remake that I believed in this week…

which was the infamous “birthday year” week…

plus, high-five to Elise on the fact we’re birthday twins… it is RARE that I came across anyone with the same birthday… she’s 3 years older than me… I worked with a guy maybe one year older than me… and up to that point, the only birthday twin I had who I knew OF was Martina McBride

with “Let’s stay together”… I thought it served as the perfect blank canvas for a unique voice like hers to fill up and make into their own kind of painting… I don’t care much for the song in general and thought… as she did in the blog the day before… 1983 had some great pre-MTV 80’s music that she could have gone with… though I doubt now I’d be able to pick anything that I enjoyed more

Erika covered Bryan Adam’s “Heaven”… I’d mention it a couple of times recently that Bryan Adams is like a guilty pleasure of mine that I could just bask in for hours… though I haven’t chosen to really do that despite having an album with his greatest hits…
but anyway… that song is an exception in that, usually when I hear a remake of an old song, I love the remake and totally dismiss the original… in this case, I love both, but which I enjoy more depends on what caters to my current mood…
“Heaven” when Bryan Adams does it… phew… it’s almost like a moment frought with “goosies”… as Jennifer Lopez calls them… the rhythm of the chorus isn’t a straight line as far the percussion goes, and that’s a turn-on for me… it makes it work…
I thought she did it great, but apparently, not many people agree ๐Ÿ˜•

The judges had me a little irked this week where I wondered if we were watching the same show sometimes… Steven Tyler said something didn’t work for him and I disagreed with a little oomph in the back of my throat… I liked her arrangement of this song and I loved Colton’s song choice

I had to actually look up White Lion’s “Broken heart” to make sure I hadn’t heard it before, seems vaguely familiar… wasn’t, but still a great song I wouldn’t have gotten to know otherwise…

I was a wreck through most of the show when they said they had to eliminate someone… in my mind, it would come down to a couple of people… it would be a guy, most likely… because guys get into trouble more… :shrug: don’t quite know why, but aside from Frenchie Davis, I can’t think of a female constestant who got booted for rule breaking or having some outstanding “evidence” against them…

Jermaine might have sprung to mind right awa, though I don’t know why… maybe I was under the illusion cast by a lot of the media (and apparently that NBC show “Awake” agrees) that… I dunno, I hate to say something like this in this day and age where race isn’t a huge issue as much as it was… but we are led to believe that blacks are more often painted as the criminal in a lot of things… don’t know why that is, but growing up on the ABC Philly news station, there’s a great deal of racial bias… every case where something goes wrong and arrests are made, the… whoever… I can’t spell purpatrator to save my life… is black :shrug:
that still is kinda true to a point, though there are a lot of cases of sexual abuse in NEPA… which I find very disturbing where it’s not as colorblind or black & white 

My reaction is always a combination of “EWWW” and “haven’t we arrested all these sex offenders already/haven’t we run out of offenders to arrest”… there are a lot of sick people out there getting arrested all the time according to my local news…

I kinda dismissed my suspicions for a while because… no way could Jermaine be implicated, he’s a super nice guy, one of the nicest in the competiton (heck, everyone’s nice, so that’s out the window)… the past few people who were eliminated for legal reasons because of criminal records like assault & battery… he didn’t strike me as that type…

so my attention turned to Colton for a while… I hate to say this because I always looked at him as a nice guy, incredibly talented and probably the most unique person in the competition… I’m plum crazy about him… so I was worried… again, that whole picture planted in your mind by the media that if a person looks a certain way, they are liable to be up to some questionable activity… Colton looked like someone who could have been involved with… illegal substances…
I’d spent the past few months looking at a certain someone as the face of addiction and what can happen if you make a full recovery… and have tried to stop doing that… I’d gotten by the past couple years enjoying his movies without thinking about his troubled history… past is prologue, but the future is now and I should just hang around it and enjoy it as long as he continues to do movies

apparently the news came out on the TMZ or whatever hours before American Idol aired so Lyndsay already knew it was Jermaine… I haven’t been patrolling the Internet a lot lately, so I wouldn’t have gotten wind of it… though it would have helped take some pressure off…

I was wrong to suspect Colton as a possibility… I guess I’d gotten so fond of him in recent weeks that I didn’t want the ride to stop yet…

just to give up to Jermaine… I was relieved that it wasn’t one of my personal favorites going home, but I still felt really bad… part of me believes that he was implicated because of racial bias… its so easy to charge a large hulking black man than someone of the opposite archetype… but there’s also the issue of him giving out fake names when he was being charged.. that’s kinda suspicious and I won’t go into that… I felt TERRIBLE that things went out the way they did with him, especially because he got brought back by the judges when they thought they pulled a Simon Cowell and forgot to bring him into consideration for the finals…

After years of “so you think you can dance,” I’ve grown fond of Nigel Lythgoe, think he’s a great guy, but also the type you don’t want to have to face when something like this comes up :shrug:

One thing I will say about the show this year… well, I think they introduced Jimmy Iovine last year as the 4th judge or whatever you wanna call it… I love his extra commentary during Thursday nights because I tend to agree with him more than the judges a lot of the time…

now let’s see…

Joshua Ledot had the MOMENT of the show as Jessica had it the week before… I liked him better last week when he did something a little different, a little more energetic… I never got this song… I still don’t know the words because I keep tuning out after we get past the title of the actual song…

I didn’t quite get it… and once again, Hollie was denied the standing ovation she so deserves… cuz he took all of the momentum away from her…

my opinion: the show really started to take off for me after Colton performed because, well, aside from him… I loved every peformance… I thought he nailed it

plus I had a fangirl moment when he was talking about having dinner with Chris Daughtry… who I was so stoked to see perform last night… his advice was to be yourself and pick songs that people know… Colton adds “I’ll be putting that into effect… next week”…

I dunno… I kinda liked Colton doing indie rock, it made him a different kind of contestant… I don’t know if he’s gonna win… based on the popularity thing, it could be a whole cockamayne conspiracy and Heejun could win the whole thing despite the fact he isn’t the most talented singer…

as long as Colton gets a record deal with somebody at some point, I don’t care if he wins or not… I’ll miss him a great deal when his time is up ๐Ÿ˜Ž

don’t get me wrong, I like Heejun A LOT… he’s a nice guy with a lot of potential, but he hasn’t really blown me away since his audition… I’d given him pass after pass during Hollywood week, but he really hasn’t impressed him.
If things keep going as they are and he doesn’t improve, I hate to make the comparison, but he’s looking more like William Hung than the next Clay Aiken/Anthony Fedorov… and that’s not where you want to be…
He sang “Right here waiting” by Richard Marx… one of my personal favorites, one of the greatest ballads of all time… he could have made a homerun with it, but his voice wasn’t quite on top of it the way it could have. I disagreed with the judges about it being the wrong kind of song for him… it was perfect for his voice, but his voice didn’t rise to the occasion… with him, I can be honest and honestly, I don’t know how long he can be in this competition with me believing he deserves to be considered a contender

Phillip Phillips is a rare example of someone who got the first spot and still wasn’t in the bottom 3… my hat’s off to him, especially because he’d just gotten through surgery getting kidney stones removed… coulda fooled me…
I didn’t know that his song was also a remake… I’d only heard the Black Crowes version (apparently Otis Redding did it originally)… but it is one of my favorite songs of the past 20 years, definitely… I heard it performed live by a local band a couple years back, they were there for our labor day Garlic festival… and it was a great… just great fun… loved it… and I thought this was the perfect song for Phillip, plus he wasn’t restricted to standing with his guitar this time… which was GREAT

Jessica will have to win me over one way or another… I’m still not giving it up to her because to me, she’s just a girl with a big voice who is great for ballads, but there isn’t a whole lot of personality that I’m getting… she’s like a lot of other prodigies that I see, but there’s nothing unique about her…
and I thought she coulda picked a better song… I didn’t think it was suited for her in the first place, but to hear that a remake of this song actually existed…
blasphemy, lol…

up-tempo is good, I don’t think she should stick to ballads because to me, ballads are boring…
okay, so why do I like Hollie a whole lot… I don’t really know why I just prefer her so much more, I think because I’d heard what she can do… she’s done Christina Aguilera and Celine Dion… killing these songs without really changing a whole lot about them…

with Jimmy, I’m liable to agree that she should dress much younger next week, haha… I always thought she and Jessica were 16…  Hollie’s 18

Lyndsay pegged Deandre and Heejun as bottom 3 contenders and neither of them were in danger… which I kinda found hard to believe…

Heejun was easily one of the weaker acts the night before… I’m just hoping that he gets better fast before his fangirls run out of steam (he undoubtedly has a lot of fangirls calling in for him, lol)

Deandre… I never really got… until the night before…
but again, he picked a remake that I thought was a blasphemsous (even moreso than that other disco song that Jessica did) idea… that song was done by Lionel Richie & Diana Ross… and they killed it…
but it was apparently redone by Luthur Vandross and Mariah Carey… WHYYYY???

I was all for him singing that song, but not if it was intended as this remake… ridiculous…
I never connected with him before and thought he sung this well, even though the judges didn’t think it was the right song for him…
he definitely has fangirls too, I’ve no doubt of that

Skylar is easily my favorite girl in the competition because she is such a spit-fire… love her personality, love listening to her… thought she did a great job with that song… although her singing a little Sheryl Crow or Faith Hill woulda been nice too… I’m always excited to see what she’s gonna do

luckily… Shannon was the one that finally got the axe… I just didn’t think she had enough stage presence… I didn’t see her as a star… not in the least… she did do justice to that Mariah Carey/Boyz II Men song, though… that was tough to even consider and I thought she handled it well… I just didn’t think she was seasoned enough for superstardom yet

speaking on what does/doesn’t constitute as being a star…

I have yet to really see why Demi Levato deserves any sort of praise as an artist…
certainly not someone worthy of discussion in the same breath as a lot of the female artists in this day and age…

she doesn’t bring anything really unique to the table…
now, granted, there was a time I did like her in general… she first came about on the Disney Channel movie “Camp Rock”… lesser known as another Jonas Brothers vehicle…
she played this really wholesome singer/songwriter type who ended up making up this lie about her family being affiliated with the Jonas Brothers record label…

and meanwhile, there’s this lovestory brewing because Joe Jonas hears her rehearsing this song she wrote and being inspired by it more than anything his band had written for their label in a long time… and after hearing it, he writes a song that kinda is a response to it

to set the record straight, my sister is the Jonas Brothers fan in this house… her favorite is Kevin, I thought Joe was easily the cutest one (although I doubt him as a solo artist and a boyfriend… he was horrible in the way he broke up with Taylor Swift… )…
but I loved the two songs in that movie, the song she wrote and the one he wrote… they fit together so well…

then Demi Levato got her own show “Sonny with a Chance”… and eventually she sought treatment for some issues…
bi-polar disorder and bulimia… and rumor is that she’s still struggling with bulimia a bit…
granted, the song she did was really good… I liked it a whole lot, though I doubt she wrote it (she’s just like every other Disney channel artist these days, prepackaged and written for, but I think she did co-write “Skyscraper” about overcoming her own struggles)…

she looked perfectly fine last night, not really showing any sort of illness at all… I really don’t like the way she glammed up after getting the record deal, she doesn’t look nearly as wholesome and accessible as she used to… her hair’s a different color everytime I see her… and more to the point, I don’t think her voice is strong enough to sing her own material… “Skyscraper” is great in its lyrics, but I don’t think it really shows her voice all that well… it isn’t flawless by any means

I’m skeptical about her star potential… the same way I am about Selena Gomez, whose “Love Song” has been trolling my radio station a lot as of late…
what the hell does that mean anyway “I love you like a love song”…

it sounds like something some guy threw together and saying “this is really catchy and ambigious. a lot of people will buy into this”

I’ve gotten pretty critical as of late with a lot of people… kinda dispatching who I believe to be phonies… and who deserves the recognition…

I’m not quite sure what it is… I mean, I’m sure there’s something that Justin Bieber brings to the party :shrug: I’m not as quick to believe he’s as much a phony as Demi or Selena… obviously there’s something going on there… but the fact he doesn’t write his own material kinda has me dismissing him left and right… he’s nothing but a pretty face

I could argue my way around it all I want… I doubt a lot of people reading this will believe that there is a difference between him and my guy, Jesse McCartney

After seeing that House of Blues concert a few weeks ago, I’m having trouble kinda figuring out my argument as to what sets him apart from similar artists in the industry right now… he’s got a little bit of Usher and Michael Jackson going on that he didn’t quite have before…

I just know that when he’s not co-writing his own material, he picks songs that suit him in a certain capacity, that speak to him and he wants to put his personal stamp on… and I think he said something like not writing as much on the past record as he did before because there was a surplus of great material written by other people he wanted to do more than what he was writing… I’m hoping that, of course, his next album will have more of his personal stamp than the last one did

People talk about movie magic all the time… but I believe there is magic in music in a lot of different ways…

one of these ways comes with artists that you really know well…

I experienced this with Daughtry last night… and also with Jesse a couple weeks before… and Taylor Swift a few months before that…

perhaps one of the greatest highs you can get from music is seeing your favorites perform and you know the material so well that you feel free to sing along with them… there are fewer pleasures I’d experienced quite like that

and it’s not something I get to do very much. Usually when guest stars perform on these reality shows… American Idol and all that… I don’t know them that well and by association, don’t know the words to their songs…

there was a slice of that the week before with Lauren Alaina… I’d been crazy about this one song she did last season so much that I didn’t remember anything else she did… and didn’t WANT to hear anything else… she sang “Georgia Peaches” and I was singing along to whatever of the chorus I knew (haha… all of the non-legit lyrics)… LOVED it… had the best time

and then whenever my artists are granted the opportunity to perform, it’s usually to promote a brand new song so I’m not given the opportunity to sing along

my mom was so funny last night “how did you know all the words”…
like… duh… “I own the album”

now, to be fair I was a bit of a cheapskate on that…
in that, thanks to Facebook, I knew this song and performance was coming for a while… I didn’t quite agree with it… thought there were better songs that deserved recognition on the radio…

but I decided :shrug: whenever Daughtry gets a new single, they SPAM it all over the radio to where I cannot turn it on without hearing it… get so sick of it that I switch the channel as soon as I know its coming on… with “Outta my head,” it’s gonna be so easy to recognize cuz the song starts very quickly with the main hook…

I wanted to listen to it a few times and get into it before I get sick of it and will never want to listen to it again…
conversely, I made myself a bigger fan than I anticipated…

and to be fair, I liked the performance a little bit better than the actual record because Chris’s vocals get very harsh going into the final part of the song… very disconcerning and hard to listen to sometimes…

I listened to a lot of songs yesterday… I looked up Nickelback lyrics and decided that I was going to take a chance with their new album “Here and Now”… I decided I would if they released another single that I liked as much as “Stand together,” which has a great beat, very catchy vocals…

I listened to “Silver side up” and all but regretted my decision… the album is a DOWNER in a lot of ways… it gets a little harsh in the rock n’ roll elements so it’s not nearly as commercial sounding as their singles… oddly enough “How you remind me” the sole single from this album was one of the bright moments… because it has a great melody to it… so much that I can easily sing on top of it and put my own spin on it to where it doesn’t sound nearly as harsh at parts

I listened maybe five songs that didn’t have me feeling very down in the dumps that I could easily go back to the album and listen to… anything to avoid returning the entire CD because I didn’t like the negative vibe it has…

I have this really bad habit of not listening to my Nickelback albums very much and they gather dust… and I don’t know why I bothered, but there are hidden gems throughout their records that I need to remember that they’re there a lot of the time…

back to Daughtry real quick… I’m not nearly as sure as I was before about the whole album being solid…. I had said there really wasn’t a bad song on the album except for one and a couple of the deluxe “add-on” tracks…
there aren’t a lot of songs I care to listen to repeatedly…

“Renegade” has become a guilty pleasure on the sole fact that Chris sings the main lyric twice in the chorus, and the notes he hits are competely different each time… it’s a challenge to sing along time… but I might have conversely gotten sick of it in trying to figure it out…

luckily I didn’t tire completely of Lady Gaga’s “Judas”… after listening to it countless times while trying to memorize the choreography… amidst a lot of stuff I listened to yesterday, that was one of my few highlights because I decided to sing rather than get up and dance like I usually do…

the afternoon became somewhat of a downer because of the Nickelback album… and Taylor Swift’s song “Last Kiss”… it was on my mind, so I decided to listen to it…

I was an emotional basketcase for a good 5-10 minutes afterwards… it is just a very sad song, more or less about saying goodbye to a wonderful relationship and she’s lamenting about losing this guy… images like “sitting on the floor wearing your clothes” and not knowing “how to be something you miss”

I wasn’t even thinking about anything or anyone in particular… the song just sucked me in… man I hate when songs make me emotional for no good reason…

on the other hand, there are plenty of songs that make me cry… but most of the time I welcome it because the song was meant to procure that amount of emotion…
Purple Rain for example… there are songs that I deem so beautiful that you can’t help but cry over, but I choose to cry over those songs feels good to cry over them… this didn’t feel good to say the least

made me kinda surprised that Daughtry’s “Gone too soon” didn’t get me going the same way… I felt a little hiccup going through the first verse because I knew it was going to a downer… but by the end of it, I got out of my head and didn’t fall victim to the emotion as much as I could have

there’s always potential with that song…

oddly enough, after listening to “Outta my head” a few times… I was actually singing along to Daughty during their performance and remembered a great deal of the words… that’s always kinda fun ๐Ÿ˜Ž

I was gonna spend part of this entry discussing two possible weeks they should have on American Idol at some point…

I’d been lobbying on this blog since its inception that they should sing Prince’s songs on American Idol… if only to give him the recognition

but it begs the question: would I really want to listen to them butcher “When doves cry” just for an excuse to hear these songs on the show…

granted, I just want the opportunity for them to do an artist I know so well… where I’d know ALL of the songs the contestants pick and I could easily judge every single one…

Hall & Oates is the more likely possibility because they are commercial, they have a LOT of material… and c’mon, one of the greatest duos in music history… can’t argue with that…

best material for American Idol:

Maneater (easy)
Kiss on your list
Private Eyes
Out of touch
Rich Girl
You make my dreams

now for Prince… that’s probably asking way too much… but supposing it does happen… I wanna set a few ground rules… they should give all of his material a chance to shine, particularly his later material that never made the radio (and whose fault is that, Prince? Mr. “I don’t want to sign another record contract I can’t get out of”)

Purple Rain and When Doves Cry are the two songs I don’t think should ever be attempted because… well, try packaging Purple Rain in 90 seconds… and without a guitar solo… to do that would be blasphemuous (my word of the day, I guess, but this time I really do mean it)…
and When Doves Cry… it’s only going to work in one capacity… on the Purple Rain soundtrack.. it doesn’t work live in the very least and I don’t want anyone to try that

Darling Nikki… I would LOVE to see, but unfortunately, even FOX won’t let anyone go the extra mile… and that’s some pretty nasty material… You cannot have an American Idol contestant on a family show singing “she was a sex fiend… masterbating with a magazine… she had so many devices… call me up wherever you wanna grind”…

but seriously… who but Prince could pull that off… the song really doesn’t go anywhere, lol… there are three verses and it explodes into a barrage of SCREAMS… and nobody can bring that to the table and I don’t want anyone to try…

let’s see… what could work…

Possible Prince songs for “American Idol”… if he allows it
I wanna be your lover (Deandre could benefit from this, lol)
When you were mine
1999
Little Red Corvette
Delirious
Let’s go crazy
Take me with U
The Beautiful Ones (though I doubt anyone could deliver like he can)
I would die 4 U
Raspberry Beret**
Pop Life
Kiss
Anotherloverholenyohead
Girls & Boys**
Sometimes it snows in April
Sign o’ the times
U Got the look
Strange Relationship
Hot Thing (haha… I’d love to see this one)
Thieves in the Temple
Diamonds & Pearls**
Money don’t matter 2night
Damn U (though I doubt anyone could make it work like he can)
7
Race or Dark
The Most Beautiful Girl in the World**
Dolphin
The Greatest Romance Ever Sold
Musicology
A Million Days
Call your name
Lolita
Te Amo Corazon
Beautiful, Loved & Blessed
Somewhere here on Earth
Guitar

36-37 possible songs to choose from… I’d say that’s more than enough for people to get excited about…

I didn’t include any Emancipaton tracks because I don’t know the album nearly well enough to make that call…
Gold, I don’t think anyone could do justice to… I don’t have a lot of faith in that
nothing from Come really stands to be recognized… the material might be a little risque to be touched

Dance Music Sex Romance… would be good… but try cramming that into 90 seconds… can’t be done

but yeah… a Prince week on American Idol… if we can get that to happen… this is gonna sound super clichรฉ but “my life would be complete”…

This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

