You’re “everywhere” to me

I’m assuming that by the time this entry goes to post it will be officially tomorrow… I don’t usually do two posts in a single day and usually its for a good occasion…

this is one of the more stranger ones, but if you break things down, it makes a lot of sense.

Just enjoyed some ol’ videos… “Crazy” by Aerosmith (another little something… man, Liv Tyler reminds me so much of Michelle Monaghan… then again, I’d known of Liv Tyler since the Lord of the Rings trilogy, though not connecting her with her famous father ) and “Blue Suede Shoes” by Elvis (haha… is it cheap to say that’s my favorite Elvis song just because I know a guy who sung it in a movie…
I’m guessing that “Walk like a man” will join the pack, haha… nah, probably not… “Oh, what a night” is probably my favorite Four Seasons track, regardless of that three Downey references

A really good day, though exhausting… kinda surprised I’m still conscious at almost midnight, but enough time for this far-out list of occurrences… although maybe one of them was somewhat forced… although I came up empty on that…

Went shopping with my mom and a couple of my aunts… after a little shoe-shopping (not my thing, neither is clothes shopping, but found something there), went to Ruby Tuesdays… the first time I’d been to one in several years.
We had one back home that was relatively close… went there a couple times and even all the way in New Jersey, the chain hasn’t lost its touch… great food, and probably the best burger I’d had in a long time… they know how to do it just right at this franchise šŸ˜Ž

Down the strip from Ruby Tuesdays was Barnes & Nobles…

considering how I only have $47 left on me and I plan on using 40 of those bucks at the next FYE I hit… I won’t have major interest in watching it right away, but to have it in my possession would be kinda nice… maybe that’s the pick-me-up I need… right after I get that DVD whenever it comes out, gonna put that on my Best Buy giftcard…

shockingly, though I came close a few times, I didn’t buy a single book… but think I was there for at least an hour, probably more…

not that I know what section to look in šŸ™„ but Rainn Wilson’s book “Soul Pancake” has eluded me again…
supposedly its an interesting nonfiction book he wrote about all these social experiments you can try… I think one of them was if you’re in line at a coffee shop, offer to pay for the order of the next person in line… stuff like that…
seems like the complete opposite of what Dwight Schrute would consider, but what the hell… yeah, I’m still interested in one day getting a hold of it…

Looked under the biography section and come up empty… though I shouldn’t be surprised… regarding Prince… like, what the hell, man! Hardly seems fair… even though I know quite a bit about the guy, I’d like to read more, learn more…

so I looked under the teen section, the latest paranormal romances and all that… nothing super intriguing… considered the next book in that werewolf trilogy, but its $10… heck no…

one thing I spent the majority of the hour debating about getting… I read the book review in the local paper and still have the clipping from a couple months back:
“Trying not to breathe” by Jennifer Hubbard…

it’s about a teen who is dealing with life after his suicide attempt, with his overprotective mother and then he meets a girl that asks him the hard questions about his decision… and maybe by the end, some sort of conclusion is reached…
seems like a good story to read just to maybe see where to shoot with a story I wrote a few years back, but no matter what I do in the edits, it never sounds interesting enough and when it is interesting, it’s plain depressing and people might think I’m mentally unstable because I wrote something so depressing

kinda like what happened in “As told by Ginger” when she wrote this sad poem about a girl on puppet strings and everyone who read it (except for her mom, go figure) thought that she was depressed and she even got sent to the school counselor (HATE that word by that, so hard to remember how to spell it)…

thing was that I wasn’t sure I wanted to spent the near $18 on that… and I’m sure I hadn’t found it anywhere else, though now I remember what the cover looks like if I choose to look for it again elsewhere

I’m losing myself a bit and my consciousness too, so I’ll try to make this quick…

It was almost hilarious how many things were popping up here and there and I’m like “oh yeah, I remember”… the kind of things I wouldn’t have noticed if not for all that ridiculous research I did and movies I’d seen dozens of times…

I saw some hardcover copies of Sherlock Holmes… needless to say I had to remind myself that I’m SET in that area… and they’re on paperback, bonus…

I looked around the Biography section for two people… came up empty on both:
Charlie Chaplin and Sir Arthur Conan Doyle (though the latter was pushing it, just a bit, lol)

I would like to read Chaplin’s biography, if not his autobiography… since the majority of his biopic was based on entries he wrote himself

The one place I might have pushed the envelope a bit… I saw the crime section and looked for Robert Gray-Smith’s book on unmasking the Zodiac Killer… which is what the movie “Zodiac” was based on… no luck…
the closest I came was to a HUGE book on unsolved cases about serial killers… he was at the very end of it… I glanced through it and saw Robert Gray-Smith and Dave Toschi, who Mark Ruffalo played in the movie… not a single mention of Paul Avery… :shrug:
I can’t be 100% sure that Paul Avery lost part of his sanity in the Zodiac case because he couldn’t solve it or get any leads after a while… damn, Robert’s good at playing guys that way… to a point, my mom might be right… he does play quite a few weirdos and people just go insane after a point… that covers the majority of his roles, I think…

okay, sane roles that RDJ played…

Jack Jericho (“The Pick-up Artist”)
Ian (“Weird Science”)
Billy Covington (Air America)
*Alex Finch (Chances are)
*Thomas Reilly (Heart & Souls)

*debatable to a point because some other characters might have thought he was losing his mind because his actions bared explanation in one or two scenes :falloff:

oh yeah, this is so getting posted into tomorrow, didn’t think I’d get this far…

uhhh…. aside from those guys…

Larry Paul (Ally McBeal)
Harry Lockhart (Kiss Kiss Bang Bang)
Dito (Guide to Recognizing your saints)
Tony Stark (Iron-Man films)
*Peter Highman (Due Date)

…uhhh… he does play the straight man in Due Date, but considering how many cold snaps he has in the movie…

ah, I gotta face, all those guys have weirdness in them somewhere… dead issue…

…funny I forgot one of his more sane characters and I was going to mention a book I came across in reference to it…

I found the actual book that Steve Lopez wrote about Nathaniel Ayers that “The Soloist” was based on… I glanced through a bit, as fascinated as Harmony was while reading her first Johnny Gossamer book since her childhood… the book was about $15… on paperback… B&N does a lot price-gouging, man… no paperback, especially not one as thin as a book that runs 300 pages, should not be more than $8… I mean, if you lowered the prices, people like me would buy more books and you won’t go out of business in the book stores…

now, if that weren’t enough… a little broad, maybe to make this leap…

before I found this other book, I saw “Tuesday’s with Morrie” in the self-improvement section, a few shelves away from Randy Pausch’s “Last Lecture”… I went through that a little bit… thinking “omg, this is so funny”…

maybe half an hour later I’m back over there again… and I see a few books written by Joseph Campbell, one of them was created to Campbell & Moyers… that conversation they had at Skywalker ranch sometime in the 80’s… again… geesh, I think it was $22… and the “Power of Myth” volume was on paperback and super thin… so I’m thinking WTF… why are these prices so high?

If I could have gotten two books for $20, I would have… but nothing was agreeing with me at all…

:shrug:
it’s a very broad reference and I only have one thing to go by as far as the relevence…

maybe those books came up in reference to “The Singing Detective” rather than RDJ’s own life… though there was probably a mix of both…

the question of “what would you say if you had one last lecture to give”… kinda goes into “Tuesday’s with Morrie” regarding that reference…
and supposedly The Singing Detective was something Denis Potter wrote towards the end of his life and that was his last lecture…

there’s a lot of mythology and astrology involved in that… and I swear, if I could just see the entire movie, I might be able to break this down further… because I know that all of this is going to make sense as soon as I know how its gonna end… and there is no way reading a synposis on Wikipedia is going to do it justice…

so I guess I’ll keep looking on TV and in stores… though I doubt I’ll get any real leads… I don’t even know if its considered a musical or a drama… there are a couple of musical numbers in the movie…

šŸ˜• kinda begs the question why the hell doesn’t Robert sing in the movie… that its someone else’s voice that he’s lip-synching too (ohhhhh… that’s very interesting… considering the Elton John video was just that… and his first gig out of rehab and The Singing Detective immediately followed)…

yeah, that Charlie Rose interview is very interesting in that it went into all this really deep philosphical stuff… stuff that when I looked at the source material, a lot went over my head to where I could barely write an entry on it… I guess what I have to do is, if I’m serious about writing that entry, I have to watch… whenever something interested pops into my head, I’ll stop the feed and write it down to discuss later…

right now I’m going on 12:30 here, so I doubt I could keep up with watching the whole thing again…

but yeah, I wouldn’t have known any of this if not for Robert and my bone-headed subborn in having to find out where this stuff comes from… what he draws on to pull off very accurate, yet entertaining performances… as well as what he brings up in his more serious, philosophical interviews…

That was another really huge component of the time spent together… the philosophical stuff… especially when he uses it to describe the motivation behind the characters he plays… never before I had dissected an actor’s performance so much where I know a lot of his characters backwards and forwards, read the source material and bring what I find out to the party…

Supposing that I get lucky and the conversation actually happens, I hope its on a day like this one where my mind is reaping the rewards of my bone-headed curiosity… I feel like I’d have more to say, supposing he doesn’t dazzle me to the point of mental incapacitation… being in that much awe could be the biggest compliment, assuming my face doesn’t make me appear like the lights are on but nobody’s home…

that sort of thing

but yeah, today it seemed like I couldn’t get away from Robert… not quite his fault, moreso mine… I chose to do the research and now all of this stuff means something to me in some way…

interesting is definitely the word of the day…

man, I don’t think I ever went this far in my research regarding Prince… I tried to check into his influences, but haven’t managed to connect any dots… mostly it’s been researching him and only him… as well as some proteges here and there…

oh, one small reference to him… via protege… I couldn’t find any, but there was a poster in the shoe store that read “the Stacy Adams collection”

tee-hee…
“man, about to walk a hole in my Stacy Adams”

good times, good times

life’s little coincidences and connections can be so much fun sometimes šŸ˜Ž

This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

