A peaceful mindset and FOX “pre-game” talk

Made plans tonight to watch the 25th anniversery of FOX… man, this is gonna turn into a heck of a celebration.

It’s not every day where you celebrate a network, never mind a relatively new one…
to put it into perspective, I guess… I mean, 1987 was a pretty momentous year for a lot of people I know… and others I don’t quite know…
the majority is that a bunch of my friends and people I otherwise look up to turn 25 this year… and also it was a year that made the careers of a lot of people… like caught major attention in all that

so FOX is officially as old as I am… and it kinda feels like a network that created my generation… well, my “creation” of my overall personality started with MTV… but FOX helped shape a lot about me when it comes to the TV aspect… television aspect, really… there have been so many awesome shows…

and since I’m on this topic, kinda riding this newfound high (this isn’t the resource of my endorphin-induced mind set, by the way, but it’ll contribute for sure later tonight)…

I guess you could say that FOX was the creator of… so many things… but mainly two veins of genres that we find in everyday TV… actually, if you include reality shows, which helped define the generation after mine a little more than it defined me… three genres…

1) the dysfunctional family

I mean in the “olden days” (gag, that sounds so terrible, nothing against the generation(s) before mine… they blazed a lot of trails, particularly with classic rock music), you had the likes of Ozzie & Harriet and the Brady Bunch…
which was kinda of the defintion of what a television household was like…

but in 1987 when FOX came along, so did the show “Married with Children”… which would spawn several, and I’m not kidding, several related sitcoms and TV series about this particular phenomenon…
I’m sure someone a bit on the older side, by maybe 10-20 years will call me out and say that All in the Family was kind of dysfunctional… Archie Bunker and his wife didn’t always get along… the same story with the Honeymooners… Jackie Gleason and all that…

I don’t think there is a single family on any FOX series (under the sitcom genre, mind you… specificially, I’ll get to the rest later on)… that gets along super well… as in they’re not picture perfect like the Bradys and the Patridges and whoever else there was in the 60’s and 70’s

Married with Children, if I had, I don’t remember seeing it when it was running new shows every week… the majority I saw in re-runs and not even that much…
FOX was cutting edge because they went against the grain of what was conceived to be normal or just they dared to go where other networks didn’t want to… reflecting negatively on society and all that in this particular fashion…

but in Married with Children, we have Al Bundy… a bumming around shoesalesman… his wife, Peg who is pretty much… how can I say this… possibly fashionably inept gossip addict… who also can’t cook or rather refuses to…
then they have the two kids, Kelly who is now the increasingly famous Christina Applegate (I couldn’t be happier that she broke away from just being a child star and really found her own identity in the industry… thank you, Ron Burgandy)… kind of the dumb blonde type who is kinda following the footsteps of her parents…
and her younger brother, Bud… who I’m sorry to say I know nothing about… I vageuly remember him being rather annoying and getting tortured like little brother often are… maybe the inspiration of Lizzie McGuire’s brother Matt came from this but kicked up a notch… maybe several, let me rephrase

Married with Children had an incredible run…
maybe not directly after… but a little while after it came and went, there was a show that I spent a great deal of my teen years watching on Sunday nights

Malcolm in the Middle…

therefore Frankie Muniz became my first teen heartthrob where I’d go out of my way to see all of the movies and things he’d done here and there… just because I was crazy about him…
still am, although rumor is that he isn’t quite child star material anymore… not nearly as bad as Macualy Culkin has gotten, but there was talking about maybe a couple arrests, one involving domestic violence on his part…

not my sweet innocent Malcolm…

yeah, I know, life’s a bitch…
but I always keep an ear out for anything new, just in case…

I had seen all of his movies except for Deuces Wild (even though we now have ShowTime so I could if I wanted to… I just don’t want to… cuz its a minor role, I assume) and Racing Stripes (which I thought about several times, but never bothered to… just never felt up to it)

this show really kicked things up to the next level…
whatever their last names are… this family put the dis in dysfunction…

I was about to say all have moved on to do greater things… Jane Kazmerick (whoever you spell that) has done several cameos here and there, often in the same vein as Lois, her character… but I think she had a reoccurring role in some lesser known TV show… something on TBS or TNT, one of those Turner stations…

but the biggest break-out star… as of the past 5-7 years… Bryan Cranston ala the AMC series “Breaking Bad”

also known as Tim Watley, the annoying dentist in “Seinfeld”
I rewatched it last night and here, he converted to Judaism and Jerry is annoyed by it cuz he believes he did it for the jokes
“It offends me as a comedian”…

then it balloons after he tells a joke about dentists, Tim gets wind of it…

yada yada yada… Jerry is being accused of being an anti-dentite…

yeah, it was the show about the yada yada’s… apparently George’s girlfriend used that phrase to cover up her kleptomania… I know, I so couldn’t believe it either ๐Ÿ˜Ž

so back to Malcolm in the Middle…

the show reeked in that the storylines were always so terrible for the characters to go through… and you kinda love to laugh at their troubles and all that…
but being on the side of the title character, I’ve had several moments where I’m verbally coming to his defense and I’m pissed that he’s getting the short end of the stick…

he comes from a big family…
I totally forget what Hal does for a living, if he does anything for a living, I believe he does… Lois works at, not quite a Quiki-mart, but a very small convenience store of a chain… and she has probably one of the shortest fuses in the history of television

to a point, I kinda get it… all those kids, low paying job, stress, etc, etc.

here’s the run through of the kids…

the hell started with Francis, played by the brother of Danny Masterson, who’d be on another FOX series I spent my teen years glued to…
he was such a troublemaker that his parents didnt know what else to do but throw him into military school…

this lasts for the first couple seasons… then he runs away to Alaska and marries an Inuit woman named Pyama… the two of them end up working at a hotel/ranch ran by Kenneth Mars (I knew him at the time as the voice of Littlefoot’s grandpa… and later on, King Triton)…

Reese follows in Francis’s foosteps… to the point where his parents don’t know how to punish him… I think they sentence him to taking cooking classes or something… he ends up being really good at baking (just WOW… I never saw that coming either)… but that became another weapon they could use against it cuz it made him happy

that’s like a big thing in this house… Lois doesn’t want her boys to be happy, she wants them to not be terrors or to just plain, not make her look bad she’s kinda vain that way, but, like I said SHORT fuse…

there’s Malcom’s younger brother Dewey… who just annoyed the hell out of me, more than any of the other characters… although Reese got on my nerves a lot too…
the strangest part is that he’s the baby of the family (for the majority of the series and I don’t know if the youngest, Jamie, has a personality to really go into… except that we didn’t know until the next season that he was a boy… there was literally an episode where Lois daydreamed of what life would be like if her boys were girls… turns out, not any better, lol)… so he gets away with a lot of things and I mean a lot… and nobody really notices it, not Hal & Lois anyway…

maybe I didn’t like him cuz he showed Malcolm up or just would get treated better in general cuz he was the baby of the family

my mom has said that the kid from The Middle looks a lot like Dewey… different actors completely, though…
the kid from The Middle is, albeit very bright for his age… but the actor is a trooper in his own right. He suffers from Brittle Bone disease and he’s become a bit of an activist for that
Atticus Shaffer, I think his name is

now Malcolm… kind of a funny story… told when Lois was thinking through the pregnancies she had with her first three boys…
apparently… Malcolm became the genius that he was in vitro… Lois spent a lot of her time showing Reese flashcards and trying to get him to learn early… that crap… and Malcolm absorbed it… amazing…

so I’m kinda pissed that even at the end of it all, his genius was never rewarded… he was kinda in the same boat with everyone else… heck, he doesn’t act out or anything but just because Francis and Reese wore them out, his parents expect him to be a troublemaker and scold him even when he meant nothing by anything

life’s so unfair sometimes…

ahhhhh… I can’t believe I just did that… that’s part of the theme song… the last line before fading to black was “Life is unfair”

I’m such a dork… I can’t believe I forgot that… but yeah, loved Malcolm in the Middle

and of course, though in a slightly different genre, we have The Simpsons, Family Guy and every other Seth McFarland spin-off…

hey dude, just because you struck gold once doesn’t mean you have to come up with a bunch of crummy cartoons to try to live up to the same hype…

against my better judgement… The Cleveland Show and American Dad are still going strong and probably will be around forever too… American Dad is enjoying its second life on TBS and Adult Swim, I believe

as to not leave out any other cartoons… I’m not going to take the most recent ones into account cuz I hadn’t really seen them…

Futurama isn’t about family dysfunction… but that was a great show… shouldn’t have been cancelled so soon, but then again, it’s back now and I don’t watch it, so….

gotta love Billy West’s voiceover work… he is easily in my top 5…
or top 10

(this will be another entry entirely… first I gotta find some more names)…

but seriously who doesn’t love The Simpsons… you don’t like The Simpsons, you have no soul…
I don’t know when I stopped watching the show every Sunday night, maybe it was never a routine thing…
wait, I believe it was, but only for maybe 5-7 years… my childhood where I don’t remember as well as I used to these days

what more can you say about Family Guy… you can’t, the show speaks for itself…

and kinda the same way I’m kinda pissed that Malcolm gets the short end of the stick in his own show, I feel bad for Meg… and Mila Kunis for that matter… I wonder if that’s karma because she plays such a snob in That 70’s show 

That 70’s Show isn’t about family dysfunction, though… at least not the entire show… Eric Forman’s family is kinda that way, but the focus is more with him and his friends than his family…
I’ll go into that in my follow-up entry after watching the show…
where I will undoubtedly go on about Ally McBeal and House… Ally McBeal isn’t completely a drama, so it doesn’t quite fall under the same category… I’m only saying that those were the only two shows of that genre I watched on FOX…

now onto

2) the teenage soap opera

yeah… before there was the CW network and all its really stupid unreal teen dramas that I take confidence from the fact I never watched them… or Jersey Shore for that matter… I am so proud of that fact…
there was FOX

and… I guess to a point, Vampire Diaries falls under this category too… but c’mon, they’ve got vampires… yeah, that’s me bending my own rules a bit, but whatever

as for the whole genre of the teenage soap opera… first of all… in the 80’s, there’d been a great deal of shows in this genre… things that come to mind are… well, obviously my favorite/only soap, All My Children and its brethren including General Hospital, Days of Our Lives and whatnot… plus during the evenings, or so I believe they ran during the evenings… there was Dynasty and mostly importantly (to pop culture anyway)…

DALLAS… including its infamous “who shot JR” story arc… which, as everyone knows, was a complete crock… it wasn’t anyone you expected, he didn’t die and also… IT WAS ALL A DREAM

talk about jumping the shark, guys ๐Ÿ™„

my dad would attest that they based my JR (as in JR Chandler of “AMC”) off this character J.R. Ewing… the shrewd businessman that didn’t get along with anyone, would go to anything to get what he wants… etc, etc.

I think JR Chandler suffered more from daddy issues and trust issues than anything else… plus there wasn’t a whole lot of his businessman side in the series… I mean, when I caught up with it, JR went through his last casting change… after JMac, there were two other guys that played him and took him until the part of the story where he runs off to San Diego to grieve over Dixie’s car crash in Switzerland…

he returned with a new wife… later becomes a dad…

he didn’t get a major stake in the company until maybe… I dunno… 3-4 years ago… which would be… actually no, my mistake… he got major stake in the company or rather was given his birthright by his father…

which he actually spent a lot of time avoiding, didn’t want to turn into the great Adam Chandler… but the last 2 years of the soap… that’s kinda what happened… ๐Ÿ˜• that’s the unfortunate thing…

“AMC” ended with a similar twist to Dallas… we hear a gunshot from JR’s gun… so the question is “who did JR shoot”…

my answer: he committed suicide… he couldn’t take the fact that everyone around him was happy and he was miserable 

I could go on with the conspiracy theories, saying that if Ryan Lavery hadn’t told JR to stay away from Annie, who was staying at the mental institution Oak Haven for all eternity… he would have had someone to end up with… but NOOOO…

so yeah, before FOX, there was the daytime soaps, Dynasy and Dallas…

the strange thing is, I’m bringing this up… I only have one teenage soap that I can really go into…

when Melrose Place and Beverly Hills 90210 came out, I never watched them and refused to watch them… I watched cartoons and only cartoons until I was 13… well, not including movies, but I never watched any of the live action shows on TV… or on Nickleodeon for that matter… so naturally I’m pissed to this day… as much as I am at MTV for offering trash instead of good old music videos, I’m pissed that Nickelodeon… and even Cartoon Network is doing this… they were created for the primary function of giving kids cartoon only networks to watch…

Cartoon Network has live action movies (WTF?!! is my reaction everytime I see one listed) and even live action shows on Adult Swim (Childrens’ Hospital and the STUPID sketch show “Tim & Eric Awesome Show Great Job”… which will go down in history as the stupidest name for a show I’d ever heard in my life…
what show is stupid enough to pat itself on the back with its very title…

:sigh: I only watch Adult Swim for animรฉ and now that’s only limited to Bleach…

which had probably the most awesome twist I’d seen in a while… and I kinda understand why Byakuka turned traitor… at least I believe its the reason…

the Zanpakto Muramasa created all this chaos because he wanted to free his master, Koga, who was “wrongfully” imprisoned…
not so much, apparently… they spend the entire show in flashback and when Koga revives, he stabs Muramasa… CLIFF HANGER… gotta love those

anyway…

refused to watch both of those teen soaps… and I loathe the fact that they just couldn’t let them die… apparently they were such a success that CW… a bunch of idiots running that place… reincarnated them for the next generation… which will soon be called the Jersey Shore generation

:facepalm: why me…

the lone exception to all this…

“The O.C.”.

I remember it well… I was looking forward to it all spring and summer of 2003… cuz that was around the time I writing my teen suicide story and thought it was going to be a story about… teen issues, I guess… the kind of stuff I was writing about…

but it became so much more than that

August 5th, 2003, this show premiered and it was love at first sight… loved it to death…

occasionally I will watch reruns on the soap network (which might have discontinued doing so, haven’t seen it listed in a month or so)…

but probably one of my favorite casts of characters on any series… I would later go on to watch all of their work… or whatever I could get a hold of…

That 70’s Show is probably the next closest thing to how much I love the overall cast of any series…

I think the overall only downside of it is that in recent history… the past times I’d watched the show…
I loved watching Mischa Barton as Marissa Cooper and I truly do believe that the series punched its ticket by killing her off…

she comes off to me as… almost as fake as anyone from the Gossip Girl crowd… never watched a single show, but per the commercials (which FOX shows on occasion or I see cuz I’m watching Family Guy reruns on CW… man, I miss when that network was WB17… when Pokรฉmon had the original cast… speaking of voiceovers, more on that later)…

Marissa Cooper was sweet, but she made the stupidest decisions… almost impulse-driven… she’d get messed up drinking or on pills because her parents were divorcing and she found out her boyfriend was cheating with someone else…
she’s so mistrusting of her family, moreso her mom than her dad…

Julie Cooper was probably the first thing I hated a female character so much on any series because…

technically, Amanda Dillion was the first girl I openly called a bitch… like ever…
she was on “AMC” and during the time, she was trying to get between Babe and JR… but with time, I grew to really like Amanda a lot… when she stopped with all the blackmailing and falling for Jake Martin helps… he’s such a hottie, I miss him too

but Julie Cooper really fit the bill…

apparently Jimmy Cooper, her husband, had misinvested money from a lot of people and went into a huge amount of debt… his stupid move obviously, so the divorce made sense…

her overall take on it was… though… she was pissed at him because, because of him, her family is going to lose its elite status and they’ll be publicly disgraced

I take back what I said about Lois from Malcolm in the Middle… Julie Cooper was ultra, uber vain…

I only started to like her after a couple seasons… when she eased off on the protagonist, Ryan Atwood… the kid from Chino, the wrong side of the tracks, as it was…

she didn’t like him because of his status and also because… well, he came into the care of the Cohens because his brother stole a car, he was charged as an accessory, but he really is a good kid…

I love Mischa Barton and still am kinda sad that she fell from grace and that she hadn’t really had any success since the series… but Marissa Cooper, I don’t like nearly as much as I did… don’t feel as bad for her as I used to…

then we have one of my favorite unlikely couples ever… the thing that would go on to trump this is Jackie & Fez on That 70’s Show…

Seth and Summer…

Adam Brody, who I call Seth Cohen for all intensive purposes… much the way I always call Anton Yelchin Charlie Bartlett… probably my favorite nerd, like ever…

just LOVE his corkyness, still do… and strangely enough, it was enough to charm Summer, despite the fact she was almost as stuck-up as Julie Cooper… I mean, she was on the A-list in the student body and he was just a nerd… but probably my favorite nerd ever…

downside is that my recent addiction to The Big Bang Theory is starting to threaten that a bit… but Seth Cohen is easily the cutest out of all the choices…

a few weeks down the road, I will do a Big Bang Theory thread… for sure… cuz it’s become that huge in my everyday

like coffee

so yeah, The O.C. was great… really twisted a lot of usual conventions in society and households and all that…

it was also the first big shot for Olivia Wilde and… whats his face from Twilight… the guy who played James…

:falloff:

I’m usually so good with names too…

 

and to a point… “Glee” might fall under the teen soap genre as well… but it’s kinda different… and not just because there’s musical numbers that come out of nowhere…
its the good voice of this generation… where all kinds of things are called in question and discussion…

they recently tackled transgender on the show… there was someone from the rival glee club, Vocal Adrenaline that wanted to go on stage dressed as a woman, his alter ego, Unique… but s/he sounded and actually looked amazing where the audience was on its feet…

I gotta say how much I love the openness of some of the shows I’d seen lately on TV… bringing those ideas to the surface… and I’m sure people will take it and twist it to be something politically related…

there were comments below the annoucement of the FOX anniversery show, saying that liberals don’t like Fox news because they tell the truth and don’t rely on editing like NBC and ABC…

okay, I never thought there was anything wrong with ABC… if anything, that’s the place we go for our news…

I really hate when politics get thrown into this whole thing… I will undoubtedly be doing an entry before election day in the fall to tackle on these issues too

I’m starting to believe I won’t get to the other half of my blog at this rate… I can hear dinner being prepared downstairs as I type…

but also, last by not least…

CBS might have kicked off the creation of the reality TV genre with Survivor… when is that damn show gonna die… I mean, they gotta run out of tropical deserted islands at some point, right?

never watched it and I wanna keep it that way…

FOX took the idea of Star Search, decided to focus it on singing and voila, we have

3) audience-specific reality shows

meaning all the reality shows where regular people vote for their favorites…

American Idol.. my god… it helped revelationize the music industry as well as this particular genre…

now we have Dancing with the Stars, so you think you can dance, The Voice, X-Factor

well, technically, the brits, Simon Cowell and company, started this over in England… but the article reports that Rupert Murdock, who was behind FOX…had the insight to bring Idol over to his network and America…

It started as my means to find more people to add to my album collection… but its become so much more than that…

just love it

and as for FOX, I’m gonna leave it here and start another entry tomorrow about the special tonight… cannot wait to see what else gets thrown into the mix for conversation

since midnight, I probably had one of the most fantastic 13-14 hours from a mental standpoint in quite a while…

I made the decision to listen to The Futurist last night… phew… first of all, its good to really be listening this time… the last time I was kinda looking to it for comfort…

I found out that one of my childhood friends kinda fell by the wayside… after friending me on Facebook, rather answering my request a few months later, she returned my message and said that she had just gotten out of jail, was a mom of two and a recovering heroin addict…

I send another message right after that, offering myself just to be someone to talk to… she didn’t reply back… not so much that I’m giving up, but I don’t think I’m really in a place to be of much help…

one thing I will say, she has a real mouth on her status updates… I certainly didn’t remember her being that way when we were hanging out…
I guess that’s what happens when you grow up near Philly and don’t have the greatest support system…

I guess this kinda goes into my later discussion about rewatching “A Guide to Recognizing your Saints”…

but I don’t think that my family moving away from the Philly suburbs changed anything major about who I became… its not like I went anywhere near the city on my own… yeah, I’m a bit of a wimp about that sort of thing, not really wanting to break out like that… or just challenge myself in general ๐Ÿ˜•

life sucks like that…

us being friends when we were in our early teens isn’t exactly a convincing statement/cause for why I should really push to try to help… we’re different people than we once were, so I don’t know if I could be of much help at all :shrug:

strangely, I also didn’t pick another thing up in “The DaVinci Code”… in one scene, Robert Langdon and Sophie are in a park, she gives a man money…

she tells him “here’s some money for all your stuff. Get something to eat”…

I didn’t pick up at all until this recent time… that he was lighting up… I mean, Robert Langdon said later that maybe after what she did for him, he might never touch drugs again…

if that weren’t enough, she takes something and scrapes it against the table in the park… I didn’t notice until this time that it was a needle… a needle…

:facepalm:
ugh… its stuff like that I’ll never be able to not see again thanks to the oh-so-subtle education Less than Zero gave me about drug addiction…

I regret my naviety being gone sometimes, but times like that, I don’t feel great about it… I’d rather stay oblivious, but Julian deserves more than that… I still stand by my convictions when it comes to him

anyway,
I’m listening to The Futurist… and it was the most amazing trip… the album didn’t swallow me whole, but it was sparking memories left and right… I was thinking about things I saw, things I read…
I recently read through an article I saved on my Word.doc that had quotes from Susan Downey, talking about how she ended up getting involved with Robert during “Gothika”… reaccounting the one thing she saw “Darth Vadar”… what he referred to as his dark side, which emerged one last time after they finished filming…

they were getting kinda serious at that point and she gave him an ultimatum…

basically, their relationship saved his life…

yeah, I kinda wanted to believe that he was completely over the whole thing after… well, doing The Singing Detective, that last stint in rehab where he decided he couldn’t go on doing this…

come to think of it, I’ll have to look up when he did that Charlie Rose interview… if it was before or after he filmed Gothika… he said something like “and falling in love helps”… which meant that he’d already met Susan when he did that interview

I don’t want to take any credit away from Susan at all… I think the world of her and just adore her, though clearly not quite as much as he does (I may be bicurious to a degree, but I’m still a straight woman…)

but I still think there was a lot of major contributions to this whole thing and she was the finishing ingredient…

I came to terms with that whole thing and just let it ride…

I find it so amazing the kind of person she is… she was a valedictorian and was working through the ranks of the movie crew business… and she is probably the most insane multi-tasker there ever lived in the movie industry… he might be a tad biased, but Robert said she was one of the best producers in the business that he’d ever worked with

so I thought about that for a bit… I thought about a couple of things… unlike watching Purple Rain, where the other side came to mind… Prince never came to my thoughts during any of this…

but during Little Clownz, the song I tend to get emotional at a lot… I thought about The Word and how I want to believe its the right thing… putting it together, I felt like it was the path I was meant to take and I want to keep hanging on so I can reap whatever awards come from its publication

I thought that maybe before watching Sherlock 2…or rather a little before the DVD comes out, I won’t rewatch the original film, but I’ll rewatch Chaplin…

it’s the kind of film you can’t see too many times and there’re parts that make me kinda cringe… two words: James Woods… three more: J. Edgar Hoover, the… there isn’t a bad enough word to describe his attitude towards Chaplin, I’m sorry

but I think that’s the right path to take with this… I spent a lot of time comparing the sequel to the original… when in fact… my God, as an actor and one who can do an accent, Robert came such a long way and make astounding progress to becoming what he brought to Sherlock…

then there’s the fact he was described as being Chaplinesque in his performance… that’s definitely the kind of thing I can get into ๐Ÿ˜Ž

plus I hadn’t seen it in several months so it won’t feel as repetitive to me as Sherlock has become

[btw, FOX special was awesome… I also forgot about Boston Public and Human Target, but more on that in tomorrow’s entry… assuming I’ve enough memory around to actually do it]

but yeah, listening to the album the other night kinda felt like having a conversation, but at different points in the songs, thoughts would cross my mind and while listening, the conversation continues in the individual cases…

it was very refreshing

plus the whole thing about… well, reacquainting myself with the fact he has this amazing singing voice… on top of the fact I love to hear him speak to where… I’m not the first person to think this, it was all over YouTube comments… people saying he should do books on tape

and naturally each time I see a Nissan commercial, I feel that little lurch of excitement

I’d gone through this same phenomenon with Prince in several cases… I’d listen to his albums, certain ones having different personalities and I will sometimes have my favorites and choose which Prince I wanna spent a given amount of time with…
just chilling and hanging out while listening to him sing about this, that and whatever else was ruling his world and mind around that time…

I guess to cut down on my fanaticism here, I want to keep things with Robert in the individual cases… I feel a bit of negative static hovering around whenever I’m comfortable with one particular facet of his personality or just something he did… then I remind myself of another thing…

like right now, I’m thinking about how humbling it sounded like the recording process was for this album… music tends to show the most honest side of people, going beyond what they’ll normally give at face value… there’s just something I love about that honesty and humility… that just emanates from this record

and I wonder why I didn’t buy a lot of music last year ๐Ÿ™„
no, fact was that I was easily satisfied with a couple of albums… namely this one and Lady Gaga’s “Born this way”

…so anyway, on top of feeling the love from this album and how important this project was, what it went on to mean to him while working on it…
I’m kinda dismissing some recent things… like I’m thinking about, someone directly echoing my thoughts when she submitted a question to him during that last GMA appearance, if he was going to work on another album…

and he hinted that he wouldn’t mind doing it… its just a matter of finding the time and of course, material can’t be rushed. He left the invitation out there for Hans Zimmer to get back to him about cuz the two of them hit it off while working on Guy Ritchie’s Sherlock films

don’t quite know why arrogance is gracing my mind when I’m thinking about that particular interview… but his attitude was maybe a bit of a turn-off, talking about coming up with a new record but he brought it up less than casually :shrug:

I wouldn’t mind the idea of him doing another, but here’s the bottom line:

Robert, if you’re going to do another album, please do it because it’s something you want to do. That the material you release is stuff you really believe in, can get behind and it echoes your thoughts and beliefs at this current time about the issues you want to address through your music

sorry, that’s a bit of a run-on sentence… granted, it wasn’t 100% love at first sight, over the moon crazy in love with The Futurist at first either… after the first two tracks, I kinda got bored, and when it came to tracks 5 and 6… that got my attention back… lost it again with that “Your Move” cover…

I’d like to ask why cover that song and what it has to do with the rest of the album… and naturally, what “Hannah” is about, particularly during the bridge… where it’s talking about routing for a suicide and a boy king… all these strange words put together that I don’t quite know what they mean

some of the lyrics had me questioning if he can lyrically write in actual English… where it has a subject and predicate and it makes sense… some of it just kinda didn’t make sense to me, even though I’d done a bit of decoding

ultimately, though… I think the best high that comes with anything that this man does… it’s physically and often verbally stunning to witness, but just the energy he brings to his performances… acting, musically and otherwise…

it’s that certain intangible something I can’t quite put my finger on, but it’s easily something that I can get overwhelmed by…

After seeing this movie again… A Guide to Recognizing your Saints…

I’m still kinda lost as to what the title means… how the people in Dito Montiel’s life were saints to him, that helped make him who he is and just plain helped him…

now that I’d seen it once, I think I can take back some of the stuff I said about Shia LaBeouf’s performance… I got out of my head a bit, which I obviously couldn’t do a year ago (I thought about it and decided, it was a little more than a year since I saw this movie the first time)… taking everything with a grain of salt and whatnot…

and I guess thanks to this, that and whatever… my feelings about Channing Tatum have eased a bit where I can kinda take him seriously and he gave a pretty admirable performance as this really tough kid, Antonio, that was Dito’s best friend

The basic premise is the film is mostly in flashback.
Dito Montiel wrote a book, I think that went on to be a one-man show that he toured the country with… because that was one of the first scenes in the movie, where Robert’s playing him at present, and giving away the names of a couple of his friends that died… also adding that he didn’t give anything away and there’s a lot more to the story that he will reveal as time goes on

It’s basically about a group of young men growing up in Queens in the 80’s… the year I was born to be precise…
and it wasn’t the best neighborhood between the building or the racial tension… mostly it was the minorities against the whites… a couple of fights occur where the Puerto Ricans are threatening these kids

one of the side stories is where Dito and his newest friend, a Scottish exchange student are working for this guy, helping walk his dogs… I guess to make a little extra pocket change and what not… maybe they did it to stay out of the streets for a while cuz he lived on another side of town… I don’t know, I had the dialogue on the quiet side

but this guy they were working for… towards the end of the flashback, he gives them all the money he has in his refrigerator (he was also high at the time and talking about… well, loopy stuff in music that he was listening to)… eventually this money would go on to pay for Dito’s bus ticket to get out of this rough neighborhood

it’s hard to really imagine anything quite like this… those who live in comfort can’t imagine what its like barely getting by…

one thing that didn’t quite sit well with me and to the end of the film, it was one of the most crucial details that shaped who Dito became…

his friend Antonio was abused by his father so he spent a lot of time at their residence…

his father, Monty Montiel, would go on and on about Antonio, saying what a good guy he is and all that… makes you kinda understand some resentment in this relationship, it’s as if his father loves Antonio more than him… saying how he should be just like him and all that… just never seemed to be good enough

a couple of times, he would bring up the idea of leaving Queens and his father wouldn’t hear of it… based on things I grew up with or came across in movies and what not… people like Monty, they’re set in their ways after they get to a certain age… he believes that their living situation is fine the way it is and a family should stick together… you know, in that whole Italian New Yorker sort of way… almost that mob mentality… cuz when Dito talked about leaving, he said it would be a betrayal to him… and he’d take offence to it personally

but I totally get it… with the violence and the fact that a couple of his friends had gotten shot through the course of this summer where the flashback takes place, if he had stayed in Queens, he might not have survived the way he did

One thing I will say for this movie is that it has that independant film smell… that particular sense of things… by extension, I didn’t think of it as any other Hollywood film or film industry release… this was something really real, about real stuff… and it should be treated with respect… even learned from to a degree

…that makes at least one interview I’ll have to dig up tonight… It’s one of those Iron-Man interviews, but his European interviewer, she was asking him about the indie film industry, how its like doing things outside the norm, beside the mainstream compared to the usual routes…

not quite sure what he said… but in a way, I can kinda sum it up…

Indie films lack the polish of a Hollywood production, often times lacking special effects and a lot of the devices that drive hit-making films in that side of things…

I guess in a way, its like looking at silent films… where all it is is watching the figures on screen and they help develop the story… therefore that’s all you have to go by… it’s on a deeper level that you kinda have to think about but sometimes get a better grasp off than something that’s more in your face about things

Granted, Robert’s ties to indie films go back quite a ways… nearly forever…
because he grew up in your not-so-typical household where being on the cutting edge, not doing things that everyone else is doing, was the norm… Downey Sr. being known for being a great indie film director himself…

there’s always going to be kind of a special place in his heart for those types of films… which are more character driven than effects driven… back to the fundamentals of storytelling where the characters drive the story, rather than the actual plot

he also did an astounding amount of those in his life… the majority of his work… I think the only mainstream films he really did were Weird Science, Back to School… Less than Zero to a degree cuz it was directed towards Brat Pack fans… Air America… and pretty much everything Iron-Man and beyond, really…

it’s hard to clarify because he did a lot of movies, but not a lot of them were great successes… like the rom-coms that he did… noted well in small circles, but not stuff that you typically get remembered for because they themselves weren’t mega hits…

Chaplin was done with a major studio, as were a lot of other movies, but aside from it being (for a long time), his only major success that he got credit for and which people would remember him for… it doesn’t get remembered a whole lot, I don’t think…
I might have just been lucky enough that when this whole thing started, my purple knight was discussing this stuff with me and he said that Chaplin was his favorite Downey film

by no means will this particular film be among my favorites of all the films he’s done… very likely, it’ll make the top 20, if anything… 15 or 16…

but I could…

well, I guess Wonder Boys was kind of mainstream too…

to go by similarities, I think that performance-wise… “Guide 2 Saints” and “Fur” … I could easily categorize together as an example of what I love about his acting…

that intangible quality…

and with “Fur”… my god, it was extraordinary… the more I think about it, the more dismayed I am that it didn’t get nominated for anything… if anything at all, Nicole Kidman deserved an Oscar nod for that film… she was just so precise and on point through the whole thing…

considering the circumstances, playing a character that you couldn’t see too well… cuz he suffers from hypertrichosis, so all you see that represents any part of him are the eyes… and even I’m not that great with his eyes…

a lot of brown eyes look the same to me… takes one to know one, I guess and I definitely don’t know the difference

speaking on that… starting the movie… its kinda funny… he looks completely different in the very beginning compared to the end… in the beginning, Robert looks like he just came from the set of “Fur”… on the last day of shooting where he’s out of the costume and make-up… and looked severely thin and sickly, per Lionel, who was dying

then later on when he’d go back to Queens and whatnot, I swear he looked like Tony Stark minus the money and the arrogance… as if this was the last film he did before… well, all of the above happened, lol

in both performances, he just lit up the set by just being there… every movement feels like it has importance to where I’m lingering on every bit of it.
I had said that his non-verbal acting in this film was the best part… like I totally took comfort in that and rode that wave

With each film he does, he brings that energy to the set, but it’s more potent in the smaller projects, I think… when the fundamentals are what drive the film…

I really don’t know how many other ways I can say it in the same night… but just the mere being around that energy was among the greatest of comforts I’d expected recently

I can’t quite put my finger on it or give it a name, but there’s always something special I can take away from a good Robert Downey performance

and days like this, sometimes… haha, to quote Sherlock: “the smallest details are by far the most important”

Charisma just might be the word I’m looking for, actually… I was gonna say that as much as I love just listening to him and going on about how amazing he looks (in fact, I think my saying how amazing he looked during the Sherlock press tour made me discredit him since then… as if its an “all downhill from here” attitude where he won’t look better… that’s a complete lie, naturally… )…

what I respond to is the charsima he brings to the set that make me want to listen to him and lean on his every word… it just brings me a lot of comfort and joy… if that makes any sense…

This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

