Recatching lightning in a bottle- I dream of Prince

All these things are coming to mind of what I could say…

I may be a dreamer, but I’m not the only one.

When I was coming up with my prince.org u/n, I was thinking of Prince, but some people I’ve talked to there have called me Dreamy.

Maybe because I’m a little aloof, a bit of a dreamer and I take my dreams seriously, my name more than lives up to my personality.
Which may or may not be as complex as I believe it to be.

I feel like I should apologize for my overlly insensitive previous entry, but what can I say… I was pissed at getting so emotional all the time.

And if last night is any indication, the emotions are behind me and the excess hormones have run their monthly course. Somehow I feel like they’d gotten worse or I’m just more hyperaware of them… or liable to place blame on them over the past few months, particularly this past year… I mean, yeah, Downey’s gotten me kind of emotional, but that coincided with… hormones running their course and all that… Sherlock 2, not necessarily, but maybe it was a premature case… kinda like what happened the previous week with Chris Mann’s performance of “Ave Maria” and Skylar going home on American Idol

I’ve got a very good feeling that I’ll be churning out a bunch of very political entries soon… because its getting around that time when the ads start coming.
So far we’d only seen that Obama ad and my folks are shooting down the claims…

I feel this a little more lately than I had growing up, but I sometimes feel like I live in a divided house… three against one, with me being the one…

I’m the only person who doesn’t like cabbage or its derivative dishes.
The only one who doesn’t like corn beef, probably one of the foulest foods ever invented in my opinion.
Politicial, it’s somewhat of a default cuz my folks are extremely conservative and my sister is neutral… life’s pretty simple from her POV and sometimes I envy her that

This is pretty much the jist of the ad, not sure if its been circulating nationally or just here:

in 2008 America went into the biggest slump since the great depression… millions of jobs lost, foreclosures left and right… all before Obama took office, explaining what he came into…

under his leadership:
Jobs have come back (that’s debatable by a lot of people, including myself)
the auto industry is back (well, I somewhat agree, yes)
public enemy #1 was brought to justice (yeah, I agree with that)…

of course my folks fire back, saying that he didn’t want to do this or that… got pressured into it… if it were up to him, he wouldn’t have gone after Bin Laden (geesh… you think its back that if you miss up a couple letters, you get Osama in an Obama typo… I almost contradicted Bin Laden to get Biden… that’s a pretty freaky coincidence if you ask me)

plus the whole thing about our troops have come home from Iraq…

that’s undeniable… c’mon, who can argue with that…

trust me, people in my family who read into stuff a little too much fall under the same lines…

It’s kind of a big issue right now, Obama coming out with his support gay marriage… after Biden kinda jumped the gun on the issue…

I’m all for the fact that they’re in support of this… although with Obama, I agree his opinion was “evolving” and he finally bent to pressure because it became a heavy issue

no surprise, Romney is against gay marriage… which is irony x 10… like it’s okay for a Mormon to have multiple wives… something that infuriates me as a feminist because it’s unlawful for a woman to have multiple husbands… but it’s not okay for a same sex couple to get married…

what’s wrong with this picture?

yeah, my folks will stop at nothing to read between the lines and literally discredit EVERYTHING that Obama has been said to have accomplished.

I’ve more or less conceded to their point… yeah, he wasn’t necessarily the best president we’ve ever had cuz not a whole lot has changed…
but you can’t deny Bin Laden’s death and getting our troops home from Iraq… at least give him those points

not so easy… unless… say, I dunno… the terrorists organizations were completely decimated, the peace was found at the Mid-East and the centuries’ long war between the Jews and Arabs was finally brought to a solution… now that’s definitely something that would be worth celebrating and at least give a little bit of credit to him…

yep… I think a lot of my ideals are mostly democratic…

even though I’m probably gonna bend to the pressure of America, who doesn’t want another term of Obama (at least that’s what I believe the majority is…)… I still want to be there for all the debates and if not, I’ll read the transcripts alone and review them extensively… get to know the candidates a bit because I don’t think I can afford to be politically ignorant for much longer

there was also a story that broke last night on World News that kinda rattled me a bit…
apparently there was a massive gala in Hollywood being hosted by Clooney, who’s now being called the celebrity-activist-in-chief, with everyone donating to the Obama presidency campaign…

my heart stopped when Robert Downey Jr. was among the names mentioned, although Salma Hayek is the only other one I remember…

it took me a few hours to kinda process that… the mere possibility that Downey is democratic… honestly, I think I was more worried about my family because with my poltical aunt/godmother in particular, she hates celebrities on sight for being Democratic… Ashton Kutcher & Demi Moore came up as did Bradgelina (who I’m surprised wasn’t mentioned… seeing as they said they wouldn’t marry until gay marriage was legalized)…

haha… yeah, I’m freaking out that Downey wouldn’t be approved of under my roof for those reasons and I kinda went into myself to figure if I was okay with it

of course I’m being f-ing ridiclous (so wanted to drop the full f-bomb on that one)…

I came to a similiar train of thought barely a month ago… when Mark Ruffalo did his anti-fracking discussion on the Colbert Report… got to thinking “shoot, my folks are not gonna like him, he’s sounding like a liberal”… then apparently when promoting Avengers in Russia, there were bodyguards apparently protecting the public from his Liberal beliefs

there isn’t anything too complicated about this… considering all the facts…

I’ve had my ups and downs with pretty much everything relating to this man I’d come to admire so much over the past year or so… I said that I could have cared less what his religion was, wouldn’t change how I felt about him…

and if anything, I think the only stipulation would be if he was a Scientologist… I kinda “broke ties” with Tom Cruise because of that, but “Knight and Day” kinda proved I was still a fan so even that’s not a big deal…

and I really didn’t want to get political with him to begin with… I think I was just freaked out that he was somewhat declared to be of that party because he donated to the Obama campaign…

I love Clooney too and think he’s been a helluvan activist for human rights and Africa and all that… that really hasn’t changed how I felt about him and if anything, I admire him all the more for it…

final line:

if I can openly accept Prince as Jehovah’s Witness, by kinda downplaying that particular aspect of him and focusing on the important stuff… I sure as hell can accept Downey for whatever political affiliation he might have… because I sure as hell accepted every single thing about him…

I certainly never want to become like my aunt in spurning ties with celebrities because of their political beliefs… I tend to judge people by character more than their actions on those kinds of issues… actions speak louder than words and aside from that, every other action he’s done for good, has been excellent in my opinion

I feel very foolish for even questioning myself… I’m in here for the long haul

found some cool stuff last night… after a long night of Phillip bashing, haha…

omg, it was the coolest find since seeing Tony Stark and Bruce Banner sharing screentime in the Avengers… it was one of the most exhilarating experiences I’d had in a movie, having two of my favorite actors together on the same set…

they did interviews together! I found a couple and I’ll check into more tonight… how incredibly awesome is that

plus, my suspicions were confirmed… I might not have said it on my blog, but I suspected that Mark Ruffalo got involved because Robert’s personal recommendantion…

that seems to be something he’s been good for with a bunch of movies he’d done in the past couple years

so yeah… Mark Ruffalo officially signed on for the Avengers because of Robert…

OMG…

to quote from The Lorax after Zac Efron’s character brings Taylor Swift’s a seed of a tree:

“I could kiss you right now!”

that’s why he’s awesome… cuz he picks so many good people to do movies with him… and Mark Ruffalo was one of the other highlights of the film… but everyone was kind of their own highlight 😉

the two of them worked together on “Zodiac,” where their characters Paul Avery and Dave Toschi had a bit of an anti-chemistry… here, they can work together, be on the same page… and omg, as one of their fangirls, it’s like a dream coming to life

he’s three for three:

Gwyneth Paltrow for “Iron-Man”
Jude Law for “Sherlock Holmes”
Jamie Foxx for “Due Date”
now… Mark Ruffalo for “The Avengers” and so on

4 for 4

the chemistry between the two of them worked amazingly and considered their characters, it made so much sense that it was cool seeing it translate to screen.
the same reason how Tony Stark and Steve Rogers didn’t really see eye to eye on a lot because of their dualing personalities

more to prove that The Avengers was a cleverly written piece of work… much the way Captain America was great in having Steve Rogers being a smart, compassionate person and that’s why he was chosen for the program… and much the way that Tony Stark got thrown into Afgahanistan to make Iron-Man current…

superhero movies are on the upswing, my friends and I can’t wait to ride it out…

American Idol… was probably the…

how can I put this…

I’d say one of these least stressful shows I’d hate lately… that’s a lie

one of those most stressful… likely, but I wasn’t a nervous wreck like I was the week Colton went home or the week that Jermaine Jones got sent home because of stuff in his past… cuz I thought Colton was getting sent home cuz he committed something rather negative…

I’ll put it this way…
I took to the American Idol results show like I had ice in my veins… I was stiff behind comprehension, feeling weighed down, waiting for the bomb to go off

they really dragged the show out… showing clips and comments of everyone until the very end…

Phillip was this close to getting eliminated, but it was not to be…

my fingers were sore after voting for Hollie nearly 2 hrs straight Wednesday night… I didn’t give up until the end… got thru more than 50 times… maybe close to 70…
but the negativity had built up too much and there was nothing I could do to stop it

I took relief in the fact that a) put me out of my misery, the cut was done quickly… and b) I did literally everything I could to change the outcome

it pains me to agree that Phillip was good this week… he came into his own and actually felt connected to him doing that CCR song “Have you ever seen the rain” cuz it was a good vibe for him to build on… the other song was very artsy, but it worked for him, every little piece

dammit…

I’ve taken relief in several occasions to pretty much describe all the ways I could dismantle him… taking out my ire on him…

it’s really sad when you dislike a person so much that you could literally write a book on things you’d do to them… u’d find it in the humor section next to a book describing 1,000’s ways of Chuck Norris’s awesomeness

I’m not that kind of person, honestly, I’m not… I talk about sending a bunch of rappers and hip-hop moguls to Pluto so I’d never had to hear from them again… Nicki Minaj should be sent back to the universe she came from cuz she’s definitely not of this world…

but I think I’d take more pleasure of giving Phillip Phillips a piece of my mind man to woman…

my fellow purple knight and I discussed everything from throwing tomatos to giving him a guitar smack down to perfectly straighten his stance (“didn’t your momma teach you to stand up straight”)…

he sent me clips of Bluto smashing the dude’s guitar in “Animal House” and Stewie going cross country to punch Will Ferrell in “Family Guy”

heck, I’d not only want to do that to Will Ferrell (although he did give me great laughs with Ron Burgandy and MegaMind)… I’d like to do that to… oh god… I lost the other name I had in mind…

I’d beat the crap out of Christian Bale because he annoys me to no end…
I’d do the Will Ferrell thing to Colin Farrell as well… then give him some bogus line he’d never get “Harry Lockhart’s taking that role back, mr. I-want-too-much-money”

I swear… oh wait… that’s right… I wanted to give Adam Sandler the smackdown and say “stop making sucky movies!”

honestly, he hasn’t done anything good in over 5 years… the last things he did that were of any merit were “Spanglish” and “50 first dates”… after Billy Madison & Happy Gilmore, things just cooled off and never completely heated up again

:SIGH:

I’ve got just about as much rage as Gracie Hart in “Miss Congeneality” and when it comes to Phillip bashing, I’m as bad as Cady Heron bashing Regina George… just kept coming up like word vomit

from now on, I’m calling him #hessodull Phillips

to be fair, all three combinations of contestants are still a distinct possibility on American Idol…

but I tell ya, there will be riots in the streets and down-right anarchy if Jessica Sanchez goes home instead of him…

Joshua is the weakest link to the chain… people are still going on about how severly overrated he is… a few comments that “I’m gonna vote for Phillip cuz I can’t stand Joshua”

Joshua has actual singing merit, singing chops…

to be fair, if this had been several years ago, I would have been for Phillip over Joshua cuz I’d be playing the race card… much the way I did for the 1st three seasons of American Idol…

didn’t want Tamyra to win cuz of that
infuriated that Ruben won cuz of it, but that’s not the ONLY reason, trust me
Season 3 was lackluster PERIOD because of the three divas… I didn’t connect with any of them and Fantasia was by & far the most annoying…

she’s like Macy Gracy x a million on the annoying vocal scale

I’d sent Fantasia and Adam Lambert to the moon cuz “in space, nobody can hear you sing”…

on the plus side, I might need to rely on Joshua’s ManTasia nickname to get him to the finals… people have responded to him enough where he’s been carried to the semi-finals like this… possibly the same people keeping him in helped Fantasia win

there’s no doubt about it… I’d want a Joshua/Jessica finale to get rid of #hessodull Phillips…

but even after he gets eliminated, I still think I’d vote thru the night for Jessica all over again because I’d rather her win than another guy… :shrug: as someone who’s been a mega fan of female artists, especially over the past couple years

pretty insane that the majority of my album purchases over the past 2 years were female…

to my complete relief, Hollie didn’t make me cry when she got sent home…

but I’m still very miffed at the judges for being so hard on her… I’ve said that they were to the point of condesending to her… especially Steven, who gave her negativity like he was chastizing a 3 year old…
plus the fact that I emotionally connected with her when she did “Bleeding Love” (that was a weepy cry for sure)… and “I can’t make you love me” (the kind that snuck up on me but felt great)… in both cases, she got zero credit… pissed me off…

sure she’s only 18 and didn’t experience the heartbreak required for “I can’t make u love me” to work… but she made me feel something during that… like the judges were emotionally vacant

meanwhile with Joshua…  he did “You raise me up” and Jimmy Iovine was the only one who told it like it is… the song didn’t need that crap, in fact, he should have picked another song entirely…

for the record, Chris Mann got me emotional with that song and Juliet sold me on “This is a man’s world”… it not only sounds better coming from a woman, but my god… my mind was blown and the roof was already missing when Joshua did it, so I can’t give him as much credit for that

omg, Jimmy Iovine compared a vocal styling Joshua did to something that Prince and Bruce Springsteen had done… that growl he did into the mic…

can I just say WOW

which finally brings me to the actual discussion where “I dream of Prince”

oh man do I dream of Prince returning to the American Idol stage for a finale…

he’s doing his Aussie tour right now, so it’s highly doubtful 😕
c’mon Prince, do me a huge favor and come to Madison Square Garden or Mohegan Sun Arena… somewhere close by so I can see you in concert…

of course that’ll probably fall on deaf ears the same way #hessodull Phillips has with America… who’s probably just voting him in now cuz he’s a conversative white guy who can play guitar… or cuz he’s good looking

which he is, I’ll agree, but he doesn’t drive me crazy cuz he looks so good… its all the negative things

btw, the kiss-of-death #1 spot theory is completely bogus… people should stop using that as grounds for why a contestant might go home on these shows… cuz it sure as hell didn’t work this year… Deandre was the only dude who went first and got sent home, but he kinda had it coming

maybe going second, though… cuz that sent home Colton, Erika and Hollie (who was put in the first slot, I thought to be a conspiracy to get her sent home… didn’t work)

Heejun who was seemingly invinvicible to the bottom 3 went third that week… but had it coming…

Jessica was on the chopping block a week where she went 3rd or 4th…

here’s my theory, though… playing into the “God works in mysterious ways” philosophy that the majority of us have…

my negativity says that he’s setting Phillip up for a fall by having him win… and then becoming virtually unforgettable

but now I kinda have something to cover my bases… cuz if I’m right in my suspicions, they’ll be handing out record deals like goodie-bag parting gifts…

supposing the stars are aligned and there’s nothing that can stop Phillip from winning…
it’s because he wouldn’t have gotten signed otherwise, he needed a reality show to get that for him

that theory backs up why I think Jessica will take 2nd to him… because she deserves a record deal on her vocal merits, but because she was in the bottom three and almost went home one week, she might not have all the votes to get her to the winning podium

Joshua’s karma is gonna be up unless he does something completely different than what his usual shtick is…

as for everyone else… it’s a little give and take…

I don’t really see Heejun or Deandre getting record deals

(b4 I forget… I’m sure people are wondering why 2 people didn’t get sent home after the save was used… the reason is because Jermaine got sent home one week and they eliminated someone else the next day cuz they got the lowest votes)

Erika, I’m not quite as sure I agree she has a shot… something tells me that she’ll do all right no matter what venture she takes

I believe without a doubt that Colton and Skylar didn’t win for a good reason… as they would probably agree, God has a plan for both of them…
they’ll be allowed to work on their own music and cover the bases they want to cover, have the independance as artists that the show wouldn’t have given them… Skylar can do rock & country and leave the pop scene behind (something that’s Idol’s strong suit)…
meanwhile Colton is getting the time now to work with other artists and his own songwriting…

seeing his tweets about working with Jason Wade of Lifehouse confirms without a doubt that he’s going to be more than fine… my faith is restored that he’ll be all right 😎 that makes me happy

Elise also wouldn’t have done as well on record with pop music… she needs to stick to what she knows and loves… which is that 60’s/70’s rock scene

Hollie… I’m still trying to figure out, but I think she has a very good chance at getting a record deal because she made it to the final 4

there’s a plan for everyone and sometimes I guess God sends a message that I should look at the big picture and not get angry on sight because things aren’t looking too good in my book…

but I strongly believe that Phillip will have a minsicle following that will only carry him thru his first tour… might even be an underground artist like Dave Matthews… but he sure as  hell isn’t going to exist in mainstream music the way past Idols have

the indie vibe is his scene

🙄
I’m gonna make my point, but it’s like… now the vibes I was getting have completely disappeared…

I had a dream:

it was the American Idol finale or at least the top 3… something tells me that it was more like the setting of The Voice or even Shark Tank… because this woman record executive said that in an instant, she could get him to tour with Prince as a back-up singer… the crowd goes wild when she makes this annoucement… I’m thinking “whoa”…

then some 15-20 minutes later, there’s this structure.. with veils on all sides… in an instant… the veils fall down and reveal Prince…

meanwhile whether I’m seeing this from, I am FREAKING out… like jumping up and down, screaming… and my mom asks me the obvious question if I’m excited 🙄

so he performs, not sure what song, but he performs something currently and looks as he does now… nothing short of amazing…

then it gets a little off, like kinda affirming to me that this is a dream… but I don’t quite accept that things are out of place…
I’m in a mob of people trying to catch Prince before he escapes out the front door of this arena, but it kinda looked like an airport terminal or baggage claim floor

I get a glimpse of him and he almost looks like the guy in the senior class I dubbed Broadway-bound… wouldn’t be the first time I got them mixed up in a dream…
he winced a smile at me and then takes off…

I go down this street, looking for it, and then I find him…
except it isn’t Prince, but this older man… kinda fits the description of one of my characters, actually… and I’m saying what a huge fan I am of his music and he’s very gracious and all that

looking back on it, I think I was pretty delusional about it… I mean, it so wasn’t him… but it was the biggest thrill of my life… in dreamland

I wake up, feeling pretty well rested, although I don’t feel like getting out of bed… I try to recall who the guest is gonna be on Kelly and I turn back over for another 15 minutes… I could care less about Felicity Huffman and the Desperate Housewives…

I want their series finale to be as much of a clustercuss as Lost was… both series that never ceased to annoy me and I’ll be so glad when they’re gone

but I must say, the thrill I felt behind Prince making that surprise appearance on whatever show this was… materializing out of thin air… it brought me back to the time he did crash the Idol stage…
I heard he was in talks to be on a guest performer, but didn’t know if he confirmed or not… meanwhile, he comes onstage and I’m FLOORED, screaming my head off “omg, it’s Prince!”

I think the first song excited me and the 2nd kinda let me down a bit cuz I didn’t quite get it… but it was one of the greatest thrills ever… I love when Prince surprises me like that 😎

that whole Gemini thing I was talking about with Johnny Depp and how he made me feel relaxed to be in his presence and all that… I felt that with this dream about Prince… it was insanely cool

makes me kinda remember why I’m here, why I’m on this blog and why I’d been writing about him for the past 5 years… even attempting to get a book together about him… because he’s the real deal and he’s worth the venture

although I’ll do my best to make it so in my writing, I doubt I’ll be able to fully capture just how incredible a person he is… that’s something that can never be put into words, but once you see it and recognize, that kind of thing changes you 😉

i started thinking on it last night and now I’m belivin’… the next thing I tackle for The Word will be the chapters covering the yin/yang albums Come & The Gold Experience
in fact that’s as good as my tagline for that part 😉 heck the chapter could be the two albums together, just to make things a little simpler

This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

