American Idol- Season 11- Top 3

I’m tempted to go into a few random details about my day… none of which really bare mentioning, although one will probably ride on my mind for the next couple days…

an InuYasha quote comes to mind:
“you know what, I’m sick of hearing some dried up witch I just met talk like she knows!”
_Inuyasha (episode 2: Seekers of the Sacred Jewel)

:shrug:
been riding on my mind on and off since this afternoon, while to a point there’s sense in it, still pisses me off that a single thing comes along that threatens to make the good time I have walking my neighbor’s dog become stressful and somewhat erratic…

makes me kinda miss sidewalks a bit… otherwise the idea wouldn’t come up at all… 
I mean, it’s not like I’m some low-life political fat cat that doesn’t pick up after their dog

 

and it would seem in loading one too many CD’s into my iPod, my disc drive has become erratic again… can’t seem to catch a break, can I?
and as I speak, the disc drive refuses to go back in as I try to demonstrate this… maybe I’ll just leave it as is and see if it goes back in on its own…

I loaded Lifehouse, the last of maybe 3 albums… maybe 4… that I added to my iPod after taking out several… just as soon as it finished loading, I pressed eject and nothing happened… tried again a couple times… and that was only a couple times…
then doing one action, which was oddly synching my iPod, it spat the tray out and immediately took it back in…
maybe the humidity doesn’t agree with it… luckily I don’t have anything I need to load in my CD tray for a while

just gonna leave it here…

Lyndsay Parker on Yahoo will post her entry tomorrow, but I’ll still do mine… there’s stuff I feel like I need to address… that really can’t wait… plus keep it there while its still fresh

like any person, I hate eating my own words sometimes…
those who’ve read probably know where this is going on…

song choices:

Joshua Ledot:
judge’s: Randy picks Etta James “I’d rather be blind”
he picks “Imagine”
Jimmy Iovine picks “No more drama” by Mary J. Blige

Jessica Sanchez:
judge’s: Jennifer picked a Mariah Carey song whose title escapes me
she picks “I don’t wanna miss a thang”… :sigh:/:groan:
Jimmy Iovine picks “I’ll be there”

Phillip Phillips:
judge’s: Steven picks “Beggin’..”… I forget by who
he picked “Disease” by Matchbox 20
Jimmy Iovine picks a Bob Seger song, whose name also escapes me…

I guess we’ll put the “kiss of death 1st spot” theory to the test one more time…

Yahoo! commenters have been going on for weeks about how they hate Joshua, are sick of him… sick of the judges pimping him, etc, etc.

I don’t think there was a single performance where Joshua DIDN’T get praised by the judges…
he got somewhere around 15 standing ovations all season (one tonight for the first song)…

he only deserved maybe 2-3 of them
and the fact I don’t remember which songs… kinda suggests something…

honestly, I think we were more interested in the thunderstorm
okay, disc tray went back in… just had to try putting it back in a few more minutes later…

anyway…

not really a thunderstorm… just started raining really hard and getting windy…

that was more exciting than Joshua’s first song…
it was good… it was his run of the mill performance, definitely not standing O worthy by any means…

I can’t remember all the standing ovations cuz there were SO many…
but I can remember two songs… three… that got praise that wasn’t deserved…

Crazy little thing called love… was what a lot of people called a disaster… not the judges… not Jimmy Iovine…

Runaway Baby by Bruno Mars… it was good, something different, but it wasn’t great… I’m betting that’s part of the reason why he was in the bottom 3 with Jessica that week

You Raise me Up… Jimmy Iovine had it right… what he did with that song was excessive and unnecessary…

anyway…
first song didn’t stand out at all for me…
and I’m surprised at all these Etta James songs coming out of the woodwork… I thought she only had one hit with “At Last”… unless justice is done, I think I’ll be sick if Jessica sings that at the finale 🙄

“Imagine” was my favorite vocal of his of the night…
I’m still very much in love with David Archeluta’s cover a few years ago… ironically the year this whole clustercuss started with… I guess since everyone else is using it, I’ll use it to…
the WGWG phenomenon

I’m still kinda surprised that Archeluta didn’t win… David Cook came out of nowhere… I mean, he killed “Billy Jean” and “Hello” like nobody else had before… but Archeluta was more consistent… the only negative thing was his stage dad, which was the sole reason my dad didn’t like him at all

I still think Archeluta has one of the best young voices I ever heard on any show… he’s almost a prodigy… like he doesn’t even have to try to sound as good as he does

but Joshua did well with “Imagine”… he didn’t ruin it, but there’s no comparing to Archuleta’s or even the original…
to be fair… I didn’t get “Imagine” until I heard someone else sing it… after that, it made me a fan for life 😎 or maybe I just had a little growing left to do…

for the Mary J. Blige song, Joshua pulled out all the stops and gave his typical performance… but it was better than the previous typical performance by a long shot

Jessica’s best moments were in the montage of her going home and just being in her element off the stage… hopefully that brings some votes her way…

her three songs…

I liked the tender ballad that Jennifer picked for her… it was something different that we haven’t quite heard yet from her… my folks weren’t too crazy about it, but I thought it was good… better than Joshua… and I more or less gave her round one

I’ve mentioned my ire for this Steven Tyler song a few times… no need to repeat history… I kinda wanted Jessica to blow me away… to make me fall in love with the song by doing her own version of it… I liked it when she did it, but a few performances later… wasn’t as good as I thought…

redemptation with that song in my eyes is only gonna come if the right person is involved… and the song is playing while the magic is happening with this one person… whoever it may be… not even sure right now

then she finished with one of the most overdone songs ever… not just Michael Jackson, just EVER….
it is so ridiculously cliché that it’s not even funny… she sang it well, but… you know…

yeah, you could say by the end of the night, I was very underwhelmed by her where I just threw my hand up, deciding there’s no point in voting for her… she didn’t make me believe in her as the only female contestant left standing…
Unless a miracle happens, I shudder to think that she’s going to miss the finale

…and let there be riots in the streets if that’s the outcome

anyone who’s seen this blog over the past… wow, how long has it been… maybe the past month… knows that it’s almost become Phillips bashing central…

I’m still calling for the riots in the streets if Jessica misses the finale… that’s not going to change one way or the other…

Steven Tyler picked the most obscure song for probably one of the most obscure contestants I’d seen on this show… the dude’s a conundrum of sorts because there seems to be an endless void of vapidness coming from his endless collection of gray shirts
right now checking the definition of that so I know I’m not going too far one way or the other

yep, it’s true…

I don’t know this song “Beggin'” or even the group that wrote it…
it started out good… but as soon as things pick up, it just goes downhill to the point where I find no joy in repetition… where each repetition drives me insane because… ahhhhhhh… stop it! enough!

tonight was the only time where it really got to that point…
although 2 weeks ago when Skylar went home was THE low of his American Idol journey… and somehow he got a pass…

I could just as easily say “Colton didn’t get pass for missing up one week”
giving lip and all that, but his Twitter feed gives me hope every time I get another update on his songwriting pro-gress

the first song he did was horrendous… to the point I was going to throw my hands up…

in truth, round one was a wash… nobody stood out and nobody really… it was just boring, okay…

Jessica was the most tolerable of the three… and that’s not really the best compliment in this case

Round two was where things started to get interesting, though Jessica had me saying good things and detracting them in retrospect…

and actually, considering all the factors coming together here… it’s pretty amazing stuff…

I said before that the only way that Phillip (maybe even anyone left) was going to wow me is if they did what Kris Allen did in Season 8 with “Heartless”

I forget the first song he did… the 2nd song was “Apologize” where he stuck to piano and the judges bereted him for not making it his own…

“Heartless” was simply magic… from start to finish… still have a lot of fond memories about that single moment that season because that was it… that’s what gave him the boost to win
or so says anyone who doesn’t believe that it was due to a controversial mass vote…

maybe Kris Allen wasn’t the best… but he got me excited each week to see what he was going to do 😉

that’s the mark of the best artists on American Idol… the ones that bring that reaction out of me…

I heard Phillip was going to do a Matchbox 20 song… I leaned over, trying to figure out if I had heard “Disease” before this…

over a period of maybe a couple years… most of which was within the last 2-3… Rob Thomas has slowly won my heart as a singer/songwriter…
I think I might have even forgot for a while that he went solo from his group Matchbox 20… kinda forgetting that he was the lead vocalist of that band…

the only song I remembered growing up was “If you’re gone” and I didn’t care too much for it…

but little by little… I think after “Lonely No More” made me kinda hardcore and his Cradlesongs album did as well (one of a couple of today’s iPod castoffs)…
I kept an ear open for Matchbox 20… and loved almost every song… the only one I’m not 100% for is “Push”…

but 3 a.m., If you’re gone, and Unwell… love… so much so that I’m currently tracking down that greatest hits album I saw one day but passed up cuz I was looking for Christina Perri… long story

I knew “Unwell” but never heard “Disease”… I concluded that much…

throughout Phillip’s performance, I almost held my breath as if waiting for the moment that the sky was going to fall down… like it usually does with a seemingly promising performance that goes completely wrong…

the sky never fell… but in my eyes only (or so it seemed, based on the judges’ reactions), he blew my proverbial roof off the place…

there were a bunch of moments where I was thinking “Omg, I can’t believe I’m saying this”…
during the judgement…

the judges not only didn’t like, Randy didn’t even think it was good…
they said that he could do that stuff in his sleep and he should continue to push the envelope like he usually does…

I’m so used to, my god… yelling at the judges for saying how good he is when he isn’t… never thought I’d be so pissed that they hated something I fell in love with…

in fact, I liked it so much that I had to run upstairs to send a tweet about it…

Lyndsay Parker sent a tweet saying that Randy was mean…

he did one of those moments where he asked the judges “so you thought this…” building and building… making us think he’s going to go against what they’re saying… he did this before and eventually said “I loved it too”

here, he said “I didn’t like it either”…

my god…

I mean, Phillip doing “Hard to Handle” and “Still Rainin'”…
honestly the only moments I’ve had to rave about him all season… “Still Rainin'” had me raving the most of the two… “Hard to Handle” was almost tit4tat the same as the Black Crowes version, which was excellent…

my aunt on Sunday compared Phillip to John Mayer (which I detracted) and Dave Matthews (which she liked and I didn’t)…

I was kinda thinking that they should give him a John Mayer song… maybe cuz I’m drinking some of that kool-aid, listening to some Battle Studies on my iPod… kinda prepping for his next album

hearing him take on Rob Thomas got my attention the same way as Maroon 5 cuz they’re both artists that I like a lot… know quite well and I also have the means to compare the cover to the original cuz I do know the original

the judges didn’t think his Maroon 5 cover was perfect, I didn’t either… but after the really low-key verse, which was almost horrendous in itself… I kinda liked the way he flipped the chorus around…

naturally the judges gave all of the credit and props I gave this song to the Bob Seger song… granted, richly deserved… but for once, I’d like for us to agree on something

I think he should be banned from covering anything by Phil Collins…
the judges (and apparently the voters) liked all the covers he did…

I kinda liked the Maroon 5 cover, they kinda didn’t…

they rave about almost all his performances,
I almost always DON’T

not only did I like it… and with Phillip, I’m arguably extremely hard to please…

I thought it was his best EVER… not just that…

I believe that he should do more songs like that, take the Rob Thomas direction when it comes to his songs… he should play it back the way he did with that… and granted, he’d done a few cool jazzy covers, but none that I was over the moon about

last week he did 2 stellar performances, the 2nd I’d never heard of before…

one week he did “You got it bad” by Usher… and I liked that decently… wasn’t raving, but I liked it…

I’m very tempted to tweet his account right now and say not to listen to the judges and stick with the direction “Disease” brought him into…

I didn’t even realize this until writing this entry…

just like Kris Allen did covering Kanye West… Phillip picked this song out himself, it was his choice… and it was the best choice made all night by anyone…

yes, the Bob Seger song was good… there was some melody there (loved that he brought a melody to “Disease” rather than ignoring it like every other goddam time)…

actually, the adrenaline from loving that performance carried me through the rest of the night… I liked the last song he did a little because I was still in la-la land with the other song

it was the PERFECT song for him to do, the perfect direction… cannot say that enough times…

as for the finale…

I’m extremely worried about Jessica and whether or not she’ll make it through tomorrow

Joshua may finally see the exit door before he went first

Phillip just about had me throwing my hands up and saying that I didn’t care anymore if he won… yeah, as if a single song’s gonna hold me for a week

I could see it through one of two ways…

God’s cushioning the blow for me, giving me something to get excited about because the future’s inevitably bright for this guy…

or…

it could be like what happened with Heejun… I always kinda liked him, but after a couple of weeks, he had me thinking “dude, you’re blowing it, get it together”… he did that Donny Hathaway cover and make my cry a good cry too… and he got my respect back for him… just in time for him to get sent home

I shudder to think it… but I’m believing it’s going to be an all guy finale…

before the night started, I was saying it’d be Jessica & Phillip… now I don’t know anymore… I kinda hate to admit that I don’t see Phillip going anywhere but all the way to the finish line

I’ll see what happens tomorrow when the adrenaline goes away… but I’m cautiously optimistic that I’ll be okay with that…
would it be a little much to ask him to do another performance as subtly awesome as that, supposing he gets that far…

man that was so weird… but its always kinda weird when my computer freezes for a minute cuz I’m typing too fast doing one of these entries…

This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

