Battling montony with music

haha… sometimes when it comes to my music, I really do feel like a collector more than just a fan… or rather, a music collector instead of a fan…

Just had a recent round of purchases, where I was almost tempted to spend every bill I had (I’d say every cent, but I didn’t have any change on me)…
I spent about $35 on three CD’s at Target… which could have easily been 5-10 extra bucks spend if I got anything else…

I thought about Coldplay and picked up their new album… then changed my mind when I decided “nah, I don’t wanna over do it”

I also considered, just because I heard their song as “going to commercial music” that morning… Karmin’s album… their song “Brokenhearted” has been running the talk show circuit and yeah, it’s great and the CD was a steal of $6 (well, that’s like a dollar per song really, lol)… but I decided, nah, I’m gonna get what I came to get and whatever I’ll least likely see in the future

I made good on one thing… got the latest from Kris Allen and John Mayer…
but at Target… well, not just the fact they were running Sherlock trailers to get the word out about June 12th… exactly 2 weeks from yesterday…
I mentioned that Hugh Laurie also released an album, but they’re all covers… and I was like “uh uh, no way…”

yeah, I think the guy in my corner is so superior to every other actor who tries to dabble in music because he wrote almost everything on his record :falloff:
if anything, he’s given me a helluva benchmark to work with… almost as much as “Iron-Man” has regarding the genre of superhero films

but I figured… it’s 10 bucks… and there’s no way I want to look back on this a couple years from now and be all “shoot, I could have done this”…
no way did I want to go to Amazon 3-4 years from now and go through a similar fiasco

πŸ™„
somehow I think that even if Colton’s album is only available through his own website, I wouldn’t be super embarassed about asking about getting it
plus by that time the situation with our freaking mailing addresses will be resolved cuz all of our mail goes to ONE address… and UPS and USPS will know the difference as to where each thing goes… plus, supposing that it does get developed other than USPS, they’ll see the goddam number posted on our lawn so they won’t miss us

so I got Hugh Laurie’s album and listened to it yesterday…

I was almost tempted to Facebook about it with something really cheesy like:
“wow, I didn’t know that Hugh Laurie was secretly a redneck”

firstly because redneck is kind of a deeming term that doesn’t really describe this at all…

it’s not exactly bluegrass either… not quite what Steve Martin does now with his band…

Think of it as Gregory House singing with a New Orleans twang… at first I’m thinking “shoot, is every song gonna be like this”…

answer to that would be a big ol’ YES

but… I wouldn’t say I’d write it entirely off as something that I regret… I felt it going into maybe the 2nd half of the album or at least up to the 5th or 6th song… it was starting to grow on me…
to the point where I was starting to chill out with the record… then tracks 13 and 14 happened and they were… I dunno… the twang times a million… plus one of them featured another artist who kinda took it over

nah, I think it’s going to be one of those records I’ll have to get in the mood for and also that I’d have to feel out to see what my likes & dislikes are…
already my dislikes go down to those two songs but everything else, I kinda liked…

it wasn’t what I thought it’d be… Harry Connick-esque jazz… and certainly not my typical record. But after The Futurist, nothing else super new like that is typical… unless of course they’re returning artists to my collection or something off the radio

I’m very tempted to go to John Mayer before Kris because I heard his single on the radio and kinda fell in love with it all over again. I’d heard it a couple times.
John Mayer is one of those few artists where I feel like I can be myself while I’m singing along to it… like his voice is too low for me to harmonize with like I was back in concert choir… or rather blends into it…
I harmonize in my own range and it feels kinda nice… also the fact I’m humming along to the musical hook, which is a thing of beauty

so of course my dad sees my purchases, rolling his eyes that this is all my dog-sitting cash is going towards… like into music rather than stuff that’s more practical

that got me thinking that if not for the precious contents of each album case or the fact that most of them are fragile to begin with… I feel like I could just lay back on the whole pile of them and be all like “my life is complete”

which of course it isn’t…
I’d been between so many emotions lately that its almost crazy… luckily the sadness of it came and went with the American Idol finale…
and I officially declared that… I can’t believe I’m giving Phillip a pass because he’s such a nice guy… and there’s no denying the few times where he did make me smile… but by no means was he someone I looked forward to every week, seeing what they’d do because every week was just about the same

except when he did his jazzy numbers backed by the female saxophone player, other guitarists, etc… like that whole coffee shop vibe… I got that from “Volcano” as well as “Disease”… I felt like “Volcano” was one of his best pieces for him… in addition cuz I didnt know the song so that’s always kind of a perk…
except for Maroon 5, which was semi-respectable, I thought… I don’t like it as much when he covers artists I know a bit… cuz I could just say he doesn’t do them justice…

I attribute part of my ire to something in myself that isn’t accepting something new and different and very likely I will get his album out of curiosity… before that I ought to at least listen to David Cook so I can be 100% sure that his record and I just don’t agree with one another

it kinda feels like something among my list of things to do before Sherlock comes out on DVD… if I’m kinda focused in my own world, if only the negative things attributing to myself or just music that doesn’t agree with me… I dunno… maybe things will be all right.

it’s kind of a good sign when parts of the original had me craving the sequel in those areas…
I just found the escalation in the action a little too much and it happened far too often
and if Avengers taught me anything or enforced anything, this is someone I need to trust… like he wouldn’t stand by something if it didn’t work for him as an actor as well as an audience member

over the past year and then some, he’s been so many things to me…
even when there’s nothing conceivably wrong with me, some days he kinda gave me a reason to get up in the morning… cuz there’s a certain something relating to him that I have to look forward to that afternoon

these days, I dunno… I’d been doing a little of this and that, putting things on the backburner so I don’t get burned by… you know that whole story of Icarus… flying too close to the sun and all that…
so that some moments are all the more sweeter cuz they’re fewer and further between

some days he’s like a caffeine substitute, sometimes at night… although Sherlock Holmes last Friday wasn’t entirely up for that purpose :shrug: but I do recall almost falling asleep in the theater during a couple scenes in the 3rd act…

other days he’s like something that dispells stress… when I’m really stressing out, I feel like I have acid in my veins… mostly around my chest area… I think in “Charlie Bartlett” that was what Kip Cromwell say he had and Charlie “diagnosed” it as a panic attack…
I’m not quite there… I don’t hyperventilate or anything like that… like I think on a 10 point scale… when I go through my own panic attacks… my stress level is like a 7 or 8… 9 is with hyperventialation and 10 involves… riding the porclein express

which I haven’t in a very long time… and I’d like to keep it that way… that’s just my hypochrondiac acting up there… the whole fear of not being able to stop once I get started

last week when I was feeling panicked about something, I tuned in a few minutes later to the end of “Only You”… which is kind of a cheesy movie but has me wanting to scream at Marisa Tomei for taking until the very end to get together with the right guy… like HELLO! lol

but it was cathartic… one of many words that Robert Downey Jr. has added to my vocabulary list for my blog entries and such…
I also kinda regret with the podcast not getting the chance to use the word “nerdgasm” once… like that kinda described a few moments revolving around Tony Stark… the Iron-Man suit runway, the whole suiting up trick he did while in freefall and of course some moments with him and Bruce Banner on screen together… like HELL YEAH!

he’s great for moments of catharsis on my part and of course I can never get enough of those

I kinda do seem like the wrong person to be writing that kind of story now, huh…
about an exotic dancer that’s kinda tied herself down into one montonous life where a great deal of what she does is providing sexual services to, sometimes, random strangers…

I believe that the club is gonna be very exclusive about its clients and all that for the VIP nights… so the strangers aren’t completely random… she’s somewhat of a legend that a lot of people come just to see her dance

I also got another idea for another song for the overall soundtrack…
most of it will inspired by Nelly Furtado, no question…
but it seems like Lady Gaga’s coming up quite a bit… maybe cuz I don’t want Talia to be completely helpless in her choice of “career”… I’d like there to be a little empowerment too…

like I figured she had this relationship with her stepfather, she finds out shortly after his death that he was a leech and using her and all that… but in her mind, this was the only thing she knew how to do… she started doing it to repay the debt her stepfather accumulated doing I don’t even know what…

I want to believe he was a gambler and he also borrowed money from the wrong people…
I’m sure there could be something like a mob scene in South America…

she could easily put up a tough front for a lot of people, but deep inside she could be the complete opposite of that…

the song I was thinking about was “Dance in the Dark” from the Fame Monster album…
almost sounds like something that could be a precursor to her performing or I dunno, it could be some melodramatic scene early on in the story that I still have to plan out, I’ll have to see what happens

before I let this go completely… another thing getting on my nerves

its one thing that my folks are very political and seemingly, anti-liberal…

but its another when they’re reading between the lines of even history

I was… almost didnt know how to spell this… appalled that they suggested that JFK was elected with help from the mafia and supposedly Nixon won the radio vote but with TV, JFK was a slam dunk, everyone was crazy about him… also suggesting that he wore blue or told to wear blue so he reflected better on a B&W TV

man… I hate it when people look past history book pages and suggest this is this and whatever else…

I mean, “the boyfriend” suggested that Queen Elizabeth was behind Princess Diana’s death πŸ™„
I mean, C’MON!!

why are people all of a sudden conspiracy theorists?
It’s almost sickening… the idea of rewriting history like that

Marilyn Monroe being killed BY the Kennedys instead of committing suicide is one thing… but it just;… ahhh… I hate it…

I’ll maintain what I read in the history books in 11th grade

JFK won the election because of the TV debates… the first of their kind… and he was easily the more likable person between him and Nixon cuz he… well, c’mon, he’s a Kennedy…

then this whole thing about him being Catholic and people worrying he’ll give money away to the pope or something cuz that’s what you HAVE to do when you’re Catholic

sounds like a load of BS to me…

this coming from someone who isn’t devoutly religious or anything… my life doesn’t revolve around my faith and I don’t take it nearly as seriously as a lot of people… particularly the ones who want to kill each other cuz they worship a different God or set of gods

some people probably didn’t want Obama to be elected because of a racist thing very similar to that…

I’ll be technical in that… I’ve had my share of racism too, at least in my head…
“Purple Rain” kinda made me think a bit, not just about the musician thing… but I dunno…

being in the white majority, I wasn’t around a lot of minorities and it was just… what it was… that I didn’t see a lot of blacks while I was growing up… almost like part of me believed that the barriers were still kinda there and being around my own kind was easier on me in general…

Prince surprised the hell out of me, as anyone who frequents this blog, knows…

don’t know how long after that I saw Beverly Hills Cop the first time… I thought Eddie Murphy was excellent and it was maybe within a couple years after that when I was pretty relaxed in my position and very accepting over all races…
Will Smith also… he was the man… not Fresh Prince, never watched the show… but in Men in Black and Independance Day… yeah, he was the man… according to the box office, he still IS the man… the latest Men in Black trumped The Avengers this weekend

I say… their reign had to end at some time and it was to a good cause/franchise 😎

but yeah, Prince was the beginning and end of it…

and I was all for the idea of a little more diversity and acceptence in Obama getting elected… cuz dude… a black president was an unpresidented idea… something a lot of people probably thought would never happen

and he didn’t exactly turn the whole lot of us in a completely different way of thinking…

unless of course that involves the whole anti-Obama campaigns…

saw a Modern Family repeat tonight that was kinda funny…
that they had the balls to make fun of women and their cycle and how there’s this “legend” about them synchonrizing under the same roof :falloff: fwhahahaha

at the first commercial break, my dad got up and said “ok, I’m outta here”

This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

