Sherlock 2 revisited- 6 months later

Almost to the day, might I add…

I figured that if I did this entry the next day I wouldn’t remember a whole lot of it…
I don’t know whether or not I waited a day or that I didn’t wait a day after seeing it in theaters…

but maybe during the first month after, I thought things over extensively and considered buying my way back in to rectify the situation…
whereas with the other things that caused me disconcern, I was in no hurry at all…

not that I could have revisited those things, but you catch my drift

I’ll see what happens tomorrow… cuz apparently my sitting out today didn’t go over very well… perhaps there’ll be a nudge to get out tomorrow…

but really, I probably topped myself again for preparing for the worst, trying to compensate and all the compensation really wasn’t necessary.

as I put it on my Facebook status, my overall impression of this movie went from “disappointment verging on devestation” to “cautiously optimistic”

most likely I’ll be seeing it a couple more times within the next month or so… well, maybe one other time between now and Maximum Movie Mode…

if there’s anyone that can explain his way through a situation, it most certainly is Sherlock himself… but this time, I’m assuming, with his natural-born American accent intact :falloff:

I could almost hear with the subtlest of sarcasm and a hint of a British accent… “Just trust me”

yes I’m a little manic, verging on chaotic with that statement, but I decided I had enough of that backtalk with myself

in more ways than one, I think seeing any Guy Ritchie tailored Sherlock Holmes film in theaters in an overwhelming experience in general… and a lot of that compensates for the fact that I was overstimulated… and my mind was trying to catch up with things too quickly

that, and tonight I’ve a couple of drinks in me… which oddly did wonders for seeing details this time around… but I did kinda know what to look for

the first time around, there were a number of things that seemed overwhelming that now aren’t as much…
in fact it would seem that the movie review that I’d taped to the top of my computer desk has seeped into my head that, yeah… Jared Harris wasn’t nearly as threatening as Moriarty as I originally felt… but what did I know… made it looked like he succeeded in defeating Sherlock, at least to me when it came time to see the movie… knowing part of the ending

I counted 8… shoot… I counted urban camouflage, so that would make it 9 disguises for Sherlock in the sequel…
there weren’t nearly as many in the original… more like… um… maybe ONE, lol

from each conceivable angle, it would seem… yeah, Sherlock knew what he was doing the whole time and I was giving his arch enemy far too much credit…

me and my goddam trust issues… and this man, I shouldn’t have any issues with… but we’ve all got our issues

the comedy aspect was still well in play for Sherlock & Watson… or rather, RDJudsie :falloff:
as I believe someone said in the YouTube comments…

as it often is, you see more things when you see a movie the 2nd time around… certain details presented themselves nicely while others I still had trouble figuring out until the very end of things…

to be fair, almost every big fight scene or explosion scene had me on edge because I didn’t know where it was going… and the fight scenes seemed to last longer than they did in the first movie…
the first fight that I said felt like 15 minutes… it was maybe 8 at best, roughly the same amount of time as the first Dredger fight in the first movie

the Paris explosion or the result of that particular chase was very disconcerning because for perhaps the first time, Sherlock got it wrong… the explosion wasn’t where he thought it’d be… and that kinda spoiled a couple scenes afterwards

what I considered the torture scene, I kinda talked myself out of feeling like it was torture…
and as it turns out, Sherlock was strung up by a large hook that was digging into his shoulder… damn, that looked like it hurt

omg, I think I know which scene it was where Robert supposedly kicked an extra
it was during the aftermath of the Paris explosion… he apparently made a comment that “these bodies look so fake,” kicks one and the dude bellowed in response

actually… as sadistic as it sounds… Sherlock doesn’t misstep like ever… and when he got caught for that torture scene, I’m getting to think… shoot, maybe he wanted to get caught because it was the only way to get close enough to Moriarty to pull a switcharoo that would later help with his investigation back home

ahhh… talk about sacrificing for your art or business or whatever the hell you wanna call it 😕
kinda like the [anti]climax, there was no other way to accomplish that

simultaneously, I think things worked better this time around because
a) I’d seen it before and knew what to expect… plus that I spent a couple entries grilling myself over my overall negativity and
b) it was on a smaller screen so much less overwhelming and overly stimulating

I originally felt like there was a little too much action in this movie…
correction: there was a little too much action and explosions that were close together…

from the torture scene to the scene running through the woods (which is kinda like the equivalent to first movie where the warf blow up with all the slow motion), that was non-stop action and danger for a good 10-15 minutes… before things officially cooled down for a while

things were bigger in this movie in that it was on a grander scale of things… starting in London, going to Brighton, then to Paris and ending in Switzerland…

not to mention that Guy Ritchie’s “Holmes-a-vision” as he called it was taken a step further…

except for the first scene in the movie, Sherlock would break things down and another variable comes into the mix and screws up his particular pattern… therefore we have the scene longer by a good 5 minutes more than it would have been otherwise

the question is how to top yourself, Mr. Ritchie…
the fact that Sherlock can take things apart and come up with plan B and C on the fly like that increases just how extraordinary he is…
how do you go up from there… at least without it becoming too complicated

a lot of things were complicated with this movie to where I think I’ll still be dizzying through it months from now…
interestingly, the original Sherlock Holmes is going to premiere on TNT this weekend…
really no need, though… knowing the movie almost back to front and I own it on blu-ray

I’m not exactly going to go and say that I was a complete idiot for making too much of things… when in fact, yes, it was a lot to take in…
and part of it comes down to my flaws… the fact I’d come to care a little too much over that past year 🙄 I mean, really…

kinda like what Richard Attenbourgh once said
“You have to let go of your darlings, Poppet”…

you know, the things you hold the most dearly are the first things to go…

and a bit of a reminder that I was a moth getting too close to the flame… overdoing things with my entries like repeating on literally every scrap of news…
and more or less what took “selling soap” out of my vocabulary since then… cuz I thought the phrase felt taboo and kinda like something only he would say :shrug: although it has been a while

he calls it “doing the press”… which I’ve kinda been using when I refer to the press tour for movies

and now I think I’ll overindulge in a few clips, saving the best for last and I can call it a night…

so I think I can up the movie from an A- to a solid A
but to the original… I’d say it’s a 94 and Sherlock Holmes is 97

This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

