(2) Album reviews and blips on movies

saw a couple movies over the past couple days…

saw The Lincoln Lawyer with McConaughey… and he was good… I prefer his comedic roles, but that’s just me… he’s much more fun to watch when he’s smiling…
for maybe the first hour or so, I think I was doing a little bit of this and that where I was imaginging someone in his place… then after a while McConaughey dominated and that was it
it was a good movie, but after a while, it started to creep me out a tiny bit… not quite as bad as “Zodiac” or “The Talented Mr. Ripley”… those I’d categorize as psycho-thrillers… but the villian in this did creep me out a bit, I’ll admit… but yeah, McConaughey and common decency triumph

yesterday, we saw the latest Madagascar movie and I loved it… the first couple movies didn’t thrill me that much, but this did everything right… loved the new characters they brought in, finally got some closure for the series and it was just fun and colorful… which was great…
the only negative was the fact it was a 3D movie and the usher forgot to give us 3D glasses so some of it was foggy so I couldn’t really tell what was going on…
one thing I will say is that its the best use of Katy Perry’s “Firework” I’d ever seen… I can’t stand the song and am quite sick of it (3 years from now I don’t want to hear even a incriment of it)

then I caught the remake of “Fright Night”… I begrudgingly went in 20 minutes late because I thought it was starting at 8… it started at 7, so I missed the first 22 minutes…
not that I really needed them… I saw the original so some of the stuff I remembered, but at the same time, they took the original story and did some new things with it…
firstly, it was nice seeing Charlie Bartlett himself in another role… love that Anton Yelchin kid…  (whenever I decided to see “The Beaver,” he’ll be the only reason for it, lol, even if his character turns out to be an emo version of himself)…

Colin Farrell was definitely creepy and I didn’t need the vampire part to really not like him… he was a good villian…

oh shoot, I almost forgot… the best part of Madagascar 3 was the villian… she’s a french Animal Control officer played by Frances McDormand… she was, omg, probably one of my favorite villians in animated film history… she was so creative, so devious, she made some of it fun because she kept you on your toes, didn’t know what she was gonna do

luckily, with the remake, they didn’t tiptoe around the fact that Jerry was a vampire for too long… and there was less time where his friend Amy was captured by Jerry… which kinda dominated the original…
another thing they did was the character Peter Vincent, who’s supposed to be a vampire hunter… instead of an older man who had a TV show, he was a younger guy with a Vegas act… and I swear I’d seen him before… David Tennant, I think his name was… he was a fraud, naturally, but he was cool, liked him…
and yeah, there’s not a better scenario than Charlie Bartlett killing Colin Farrell by driving a stake through his heart… he got what he deserved for overshadowing some of my favorite actors as a movie reference

I’m finally gonna get to see The Help tonight… which I’d been looking forward to… like forever…

oh right… and in the other movie, McLovin’ from “Superbad” was the best friend who got turned into a vampire… and I liked him better than the original best friend… he just got on my nerves way too much…

after “Fright Night,” I watched Pretty Woman… mostly for a little bit of research, but naturally I was a sucker for it… I think its in the female DNA that we can’t resist this movie…
its kinda ironic that the next day I saw Mirror Mirror advertised for DVD… I guess the movie wasn’t that great if it came out this soon

more on that later, of course… like in a few months when Snow White & the Hunstman hits DVD too

and since my folks aren’t home, I decided to chill with the NJ Housewives for a couple hours since they were having another marathon…
I’m a sucker, I know… probably no better than the people who watch Jersey Shore, but those kids are freaking idiots… makes my generation look bad…
right now I’m only thinking that Teresa might be better off in their crowd because she’s an insane drama queen that can’t really own up to anything she does :shrug: what’d u gonna do…

aside from those things, I checked into a couple albums and now I feel like I can do a bit of a review…

Lotusflow3r will take less time to go into because I’d heard it a few times… not a whole to explore…
I’ll definitely make a note of this in The Word, how everyone hates on Prince’s more recent albums because they’re not as good as what he did before… he can’t do Purple Rain every time, guys…
I’m going to say that after NewPower Soul and Rave, everyone would automatically hate on Prince’s latest album because he’s done a bunch of stuff that doesn’t pan out for the majority of his fans

I’ll have to get to ONA Piano at some point to get into that a bit more… I’m sure it’ll be one of the stand-outs of the last decade as one of the better sounding albums…

so far, let’s see.. The Rainbow Children is a very artsy album, weird in a lot of places and its more intellectual than something you can relax with… I find that it makes me think a little too much and when I listen to music, I don’t like thinking a lot…
Prince’s albums usually fall under that but on a scale, it would be maybe a 9 out of 10… whereas most of his albums are maybe 6’s and 7’s… where they stimulate you intellecutally most of the time, but not to where it makes your mind hurt…

Musicology is nice to chill with, but out of personal taste, I don’t like to listen to it a whole lot…
3121 is one of the best of the decade and it will be remembered that way
Planet Earth is an experience like Musicology and The Rainbow Children, but one that I personally like to go on a ride with…

I listened to Lotusflow3r and noticed a couple things…
the majority is guitar work… which is very nice, most of it would demonstrate why his style is more Santana than Hendrix (“Dreamer” being the lone exception)
the music in places reminds me of bits and pieces of The Rainbow Children, in that particularly jazzy place… Lotusflow3r is more jazz than the past couple albums he did…
and techincally speaking, there isn’t a whole lot of substance and it doesn’t show you anything particularly new… some would debate that it shows Prince’s age in places :shrug: in that it sounds more intelleuctal than free

“Crimson & Clover” was what got me thinking about it for a listen… and I fell in love all over again… the guitar work on that song alone is a thing of beauty that I could just bask in like a good ray of sunshine

“Feel Good, Feel Better, Feel Wonderful” got me thinking about some of the classic rock I’d been listening to over the past couple months… it brought back that vibe… then I remembered as it was happening my favorite verse… where he’s talking about tossing someone a ball and how it hit three bystanders after he touched it :falloff:

the only part where the album does lose me is during the closing song… he’s speaking in strange tongues so I don’t know what he’s saying… I feel like I miss out on something important when he’s saying stuff I can’t figure out… like its a clue about something in a future album or something

“Dreamer” had me pining for the live version… the Jimi Hendrix-esque hook sounded very wooden and didn’t have enough life in it, I don’t think… I do have the Jay Leno performance saved on my hard drive, just gotta find it

I said the other week that I picked up Karmin’s album… I listened to it and of the 7 songs, maybe 3 or 4 of them were primarily of her rapping… so I was a little confused, caught off guard, but I felt like with time, I could jam along with it… learning some of the lyrics would help…

then maybe a couple minutes after I finished up with it, I put on Adele because “Rumor has it” kept cropping up in my head… so I finally decided to listen to the whole album again… first time I had in a couple months…

and it turned out to be the perfect time to do it because I hadn’t heard her on the radio nearly as much as before, I had a little space and time away… so I could look at it objectively and give it a legit review

for starters, I’d say its the perfect break-up album… the kind of thing you could probably listen to while eating bon-bon’s in sweatpants and stuff… when you’re grieving over something or somebody… misery loves company and all that…

you can’t help but feel emotional through a lot of it… It tells a story of a relationship… I’m still putting some pieces together on it… but here’s what I got so far…

“Rolling in the deep” will go down in the same part of musical history as Alanis Morrisette’s “You Oughta Know”… the kind of song where you almost have to sing on the top of your lungs to keep up with it… it has that same angst and acid on your tongue…
I still love the song now… a couple years from now, I might not feel the same, but I still love it…

basically she’s telling the guy that he screwed up… they could have had everything together, but instead he played her for a sucker…

“Rumor has it” has a little bit of residual anger in it… where she’s telling him off, saying he’s oblivious to his own actions and such…

“Turning Tables” was where my emotions were starting to get a little bunched up together…
she says that she won’t let him close enough to hurt her anymore…

“Don’t you remember” almost had me in tears because you can hear it in her voice, she’s on the verge of breaking down over this…
asking if he remembers why he loved her in the first place

“Setting fire to the rain” will probably be one of my favorites on the album and of her stuff in general… she’s burning down bridges, saying that she’s over him

“He won’t go” is one of the more jazzy songs on the record… another one I like quite a bit because its different… its not about wallowing in misery or crying your eyes out… it makes you feel other things going on there…

“Take it all” has some odd sounding vocals on it where I can’t really tell what she’s saying… some of it doesn’t sit well with me so I credited it as the one song I didn’t like out of all of them…
actually if you listen to it, it reminds me of Elton John with the chord changes in the chorus…

“I’ll be waiting” is upbeat, which sets it apart from the majority of the album… its also kinda jazzy, which is nice

“One and Only” I’d heard a bunch of times, for the first time on American Idol… I thought the previous song was this one, but its not quite as upbeat… not sure who she’s addressing, but she’s challenging him to let her be their “one and only”

the last two, most of the time, I will likely skip…

“I will always love you” is a cover of an R.E.M. song… the title kinda says it… and “Someone like you” continues the theme that as much as this guy hurt her, part of her will still love him and care about him…

with time, “Someone like you” has become less jarring to my hearing… I still do prefer when she does it live because the vocals are in the lower register…

with music, you get all kinds of people… I don’t so much hate on people if they don’t play an instrument… but most of the time, I’d like it if they played their own stuff… sung their own stuff… because it makes the stuff more personal… and with that, the audience connects better to it and you at the same time…

Adele is an artist where I can say that she isn’t a singer… she’s a VOCALIST because she has that raw natural talent… the kind of thing you can’t teach… as Gaga says you’re “born this way”… with that gift… and a lot of people would say & me as well that its a God-given talent, for sure…

at the same time, she’s someone I have to be in the mood to listen to… because otherwise, I’m not going to have fun… and her stuff isn’t really about that… its about something deeper… the absolute core of emotionality

not a lot of people I’ve listened to lately are good for having fun, which is a big part of what I think music is about… its about having fun, escapism and also it helps you connect with things you’re going through… and it heals by doing that…

This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

