Releasing fury and… more fan-girl evidence

I SUCK at titling these entries… especially when I don’t have a clear title in mind…
I’m glad that for once, I got a comment that indicated that someone actually read my entry and gave some good feedback that was relevent to it…

we’re going to hear about the Penn State scandal for months to come… but what infuriates me is how they keep dragging Joe Paterno into it… saying how he could have done more… at the same time, others saying that he did what was required by him per law…
the people he told are the ones at fault here… loose lips sink ships and they didn’t want their precious football program sunk, so they said NOTHING… its the presidents and trustees… my god, let Joe Paterno rest in peace and keep him out of it… he’s not around to defend himself and deserves to be remembered for so much more

the only other negative I can derive from all that… yes, Penn State is synonymous with its football program… but they’re not exactly at the top of the list for the country… they never made it to the championship game… never got the first or second seed maybe ever… the furthest I think they got was the Rose Bowl, where they got massacred by USC…
a lot of prestige yes, but I think the program deserved more than it got… anyone in the south or fans of the SEC conference would chew me out for saying this, but its not far that all the same schools keep getting ranked at the top of the list… its always USC or Texas U or Alabama, LSU… all the same schools

Penn State didn’t have that much a voice…
man, I”m getting worked up on that and I didn’t even go there… a bunch of my classmates did, one was the kicker for the team when he was going there… now I think he’s given up football and moved on to other things… woulda been nice if he went pro and I could point him out to people, lol

Interestingly I’d just looked up the conditions of Prince’s tide-turning WB contract extension around the time where I feel that the music industry is losing respect and even perspective… they’re going for names rather than reputations and by doing so, you drag down the judging ability of the panel because they can’t dish out critiques that challenge people to be at their best… heck, they’re the reason certain people slip through the radar because they don’t say no to something about them…

despite the fact I think I’ve made peace with the Phillip situation… I’m still going to nitpick either until American Idol is off the air or… heck, Colton Dixon releases an album and I love it so much that I could care less that he didn’t win… but I’m still very much into him…
a sign of that… “What about now?” came on the radio and during it, I was picturing Colton performing it on Ellen, but my mind filtered in images of him at the piano from this season… he just had this presence that won me over week after week and by the time I fully declared myself wanting him to win more than any girl… well, I had maybe 2-3 weeks of that… he got booted off…

Phillip performed his “winning” song at the All-Star game… and he sounded pretty good… a little better than he did the last time he did the song (well, 2nd to last… couldnt even sing it the last time I saw him perform, lol)
sounds a little bit better and gets a little more hard to get out of my head each time I hear it… people say its like a Mumford & Son track… I’m not all too familiar with them, though I did see them on the Grammy’s a couple years ago (with a horrendous sounding Bob Dylan)…

How I’d describe it… the first part sounds like something Johnny Cash would sing…
then with the sing-along chorus or whatever you wanna call it, it sounds like something from Coldplay…
an odd combination but it strangely works, I guess…

David Cook probably had the best winning song in the past several years…
Lee DeWyze (who had a guest appearance as a chef table VIP with Haley Reinhart on “Hell’s Kitchen”)… got a U2 song that never made it to the radio… unless it was the original recording…
there was the “No Boundaries” clustercuss… that everyone now will remember as the worst winning song EVER on the show… I don’t even remember how it goes
…”Home” doesn’t pack the punch of several other winning songs…. but its different and singer-specific…

guys really can’t do songs like “A moment like this” because they don’t have the vocal power for it…
“This is my now” was good, not great, but it was a contest winner… not by a professional songwriter, so that gets a pass…

the other winning songs…
“Flying without wings” is a cover that I will forever burn on the inside about… a) cuz I know that it is a cover and b)… Clay Aiken didn’t win…

too bad it can’t be entirely like the Adam Lambert situation where people are asking who the hell won instead of him… they don’t say that about Clay Aiken because… I dunno… hard work is never truly appreciated sometimes…

I forget what Carrie had but I don’t think it was remembered as anything relatively good…

Taylor Hick’s “Do I make you proud?” sounded almost ridiculous coming from him… because he looked older than he did and its like a song you’d give to a teenager or younger person (although it might have fit Elliot Yamin to a tee cuz the song was originally written for him)…

the only place where “the time of my life” faults is the title… there’s already a song of that title that’s very well known as the ending theme for “Dirty Dancing”…
it stands as a winning song and was probably the only time ever… where I heard an Idol on the radio the day after they won that was kinda nice… I’ll listen to the album today to try to clear some stuff up… hopefully it won’t be another suckfest where I’m feeling bad about myself…

oh and Scotty’s “I love you this big”…
its a charmer in its own way… doesn’t stand out as a winning song by any means, but it really works as a country anthem

love that kid… ought to listen to his album more…

the past few nights I’d been listening to some albums while doing my Sapphire walkthrough… getting my team up to level 52 at least before the Elite Four… afterwards I’ll see about writing a guide and submitting it to Gamefaqs to see if they’re interested in a game that revolves around water types…

I reorganized my albums so the ones I listen to the most are out in the open while the rest are in a shoebox… that I need to relocate some place shoeboxes go rather than right next to my CD rack, lol…

one was Wendy & Lisa’s Girl Bros album… I still have a few things to get through, but for the most part, I’m liking it… only one or two of them bring back the vibe I loved from their debut album…

most of the reviews on Amazon are very generous ๐Ÿ˜Ž good for them…

there are a couple that threw me for a loop and rubbed me the wrong way cuz they were just strange… only two stand out in that regard for me at present… there also aren’t a whole lot of highlights that had me jumping up and down and wanting to put them on my iPod…

I also gotta put in a request for one track that was conspiciously missing… the ode to Wendy’s late brother Jonathan, who apparently (according to one review) affected the vibe of the record as a whole… it’s best that I just past in the tracklist and made my notes on each

1. Reaching One ++
2. Love & Trouble –
3. I Will +
4. All Nite+
5. Bring You Back +~
6. I’ve Got A Big Bowl Of Cherries +
7. Uh-Uh, Don’t Look Down +
8. All I Wonder/Anyway +~
9. If I Were Brave +
10. Jonathan (get back to you on that later)
11. Let’s Say +
12. I’ve Got No Strings-

The album starts out great, reinvoking those fond memories of the other album I have…
“Reaching one”… I could probably listen to on repeat forever… its very dreamy and lofty, Wendy’s vocals ROCK… love everything about it, music, lyrics, atmosphere…

then it gets strange with “Love & Trouble”…
what throws me each time (yeah, of the TWO, lol) I listen to it is the flute that’s placed precariously in the chorus… I just didn’t feel it fit them as the artists I know them to be… so needless to say I probably won’t listen to that one anymore…

“I will” and “All nite” bring back positive things from the first track, but don’t stand out nearly as much now… perhaps they will once I stop playing track 2 to get in between them…
the vocals on “All Nite” are very sweet

the “Bowl full of cherries” is good, I remember it starts out kinda different than the rest of the song goes, but its well done… it and “Bring you back” escape recollection at this point…

“Don’t look down” is one of my favorites because it brings in Wendy as the rocking guitarist I know her to be… its catchy as hell, man

“All I wonder” escapes recollection, but it was one of the tracks I wasn’t too fond of… cuz it was a little odd/off for me in general…

“Let’s say” probably will grow on me as a favorite that stand out, but I don’t remember much…

“If I were brave” is FUN… more upbeat than most of the record, which is kinda nice, but the lyrics I’d like to learn just to keep up with it

“I’ve got no strings” brings back that strange/odd vibe that is with a bunch of my not-so-favorites on this record… its mostly lyrics from the song used in Disney’s “Pinocchio”… I’ve written my piece a couple of things about that movie and I don’t necessarily believe my uneasyness about it is the reason I’m not into the song…
the music is also strange to behold… I really don’t know what to make of it…

There is certainly a melancholy vibe in this album that follows it through and I get that… there aren’t a whole lot of songs I’d repeat… certainly not as much as from the other album…
I think there are maybe 12-14 tracks on “Wendy & Lisa” and I regularly listen to 7 of them… like at least once a month… often while staying at the shorehouse, its what I listen to help get my mind ready for sleep…

“Wendy & Lisa” I think promoted the music more than the lyrics… to this day, I haven’t bothered to learn or pick up the lyrics… with some, yeah, I remember them quite well…
“Light” I looked up because it was a personal favorite… “Everything but you” was simple enough to remember because there was a common theme in the verses… just one or two words were replaced each time…

songs like… well, most of the others… “Sideshow,” “Waterfall,” “Blues away” and “Chance to grow”… I know some of the words but don’t retain them… dont’ think to really go into them to decipher them… I don’t need to enjoy the record… some are just vast metaphors that kinda don’t make sense or sound like well-thought out lyrics, maybe… what matters is that they knew what they were talking about when writing them…

I’d say that “Blues away,” “Chance to Grow” and “Everything but you” EXCEL in their musicality because they always bring me outside into the fresh air… going hand in hand with all those times I walked to/from my on-campus apartment and the main building… also listened to it on the bus going to/from our marine botany field trips, which was great… it takes off the pressure to socialize not that I grew super close to anyone in those classes… I brought my CD player to high school for the same reasons… I chill out to the music once I find my seat on the bus and… bing… I punched my ticket to a realm in my subconscious

breaking things down…
I think for the atmospheric vibe of the album, I must applaud Lisa on keys… because that’s the instrument that makes me want to come back each time… also Wendy’s vocals and the guitar work on “Everything but you” is amazing (although its rumored that Prince performed some/all of it, lol)

The music takes somewhat of a backseat in “Girl Bros” because for the most part, there’s repetition when it comes to the vibe surrounding it… the lyrics are what make each of them different from one another

last night I FINALLY got through Michael Bublรฉ’s album… I wasn’t feeling the crooner vibe most of the times I picked it up so I didn’t retain a whole lot…there’s maybe one song that I don’t really care for in general, so overall its a success that I need to be in a certain mood to listen to, I guess

also saw the other day that movie “The Big Year”… with Jack Black, Owen Wilson and Steve Martin where they compete on a birding venture, to see the most species in a calendar year…
I can’t really give an opinon on the ending because it would give it away
Jack Black rocks just like always… he really has come to form as one of my favorite actors, just charms you with his likeability… Steve Martin, can’t really say much more than hasn’t already been said about him ๐Ÿ˜‰ …I know Owen Wilson has played some unpleasant roles where you really aren’t that crazy about him… this is the first time in recent memory where I didn’t like him too much… his obsession with maintaining his record made him ridiculously short-sighted and there was one part where I probably would have smacked him around a couple of times just for being a short-sighted idiot

but it was a CUTE movie… really liked it a lot…

coming up this weekend on HBO is “In Time” with Justin Timberlake and Amanda Seyfried… should be interesting…

looking through the guide to see what’s on TV this week… I further affirmed my fangirl status… other than the Nissian commercials (lol), haven’t spent a whole lot of time around RDJr… the last time was Sherlock 2, Back to School and a couple of interviews around that time… was at least 2 weeks ago… part of me misses him, of course, but its good to get away and do other things…
anyway… listed on Monday night is True Hollywood Story featuring him…

:sigh:
unfortunately I know where this is going… on his Oprah interview, before he even got to the couch, she played clips from, I believe, this True Hollywood Story piece… orange jumpsuits, handcuffs, 911 calls…

they really should reshoot a bunch of these specials that focus less on the negativity and more on the last 5-10 years… when he met Susan and turned his life around… he’s not looking back, why should all these specials do that? didn’t have the foresight to wait a little longer to come together, I guess…

but yeah, I saw that listing and I was screaming with the OMG’s and such…

I don’t think anyone gets me as excited as he does… certainly not these days…
every now and then, though, whenever Lady Gaga or Taylor Swift makes an appearance… heck, even a trailer for “New Girl” gets me jazzed up…

Zooey Deschanel has such a great personality for that character that I SO wish I could steal it for myself… its infectious and she’s certainly not afraid to put it all out there…

its nice … lost my train of thought here…
interestingly, I was looking up the Girl Bros tracklist and Christophe Beck was among a list of recommended artists…
he’s an up and coming music guru for movies… the first time I saw the name was “Charlie Bartlett”… great music for that movie… but he apparently has done it for all of Todd Phillips’ movies, at least all the recent ones…  The Hangover films and Due Date…

maybe I was thinking of saying how… let’s see… it kinda sucks that they are showing so many more commercials for The Dark Knight sequel than they did for Avengers… before AND after it came out… and there’s still another week to go…
Anne Hathaway looks to be a very promising Catwoman, but of course the Marvel/DC rivalry will continue with me for quite some time… I already foresee it breaking all the records Avengers broke… :sigh: …luckily this is the last Christopher Nolan/Christian Bale Batman film so that hatchet will buried so I never have to bring it out again…

god forbid they wait 20 years for another Batman reboot… this one sucked because it reinvented it and kinda moved away from staying true to the comics and the animated series (which is the closest thing to the comics, I believe, despite the fact I hadn’t seen much of it or read any comics)…

the Avengers universe will devour the box office and that will that…

its hard to believe that in a couple months it’ll be on DVD already… I think part of me is already anticipating watching it again Downey at his absolute best… both physically and comically ๐Ÿ˜Ž
not that I have a lot to show for it, but I think he should be awarded as this summer’s king of one-liners/zingers

plain and simple, Tony Stark never disappoints and my god… he looks fantastic…
I also hear he’s at Comic-Con this weekend… which is awesome…
I think people get their hotel tickets a year if not 6 months in advance of these things, but man, that’d be the coolest thing… going to comic-con the same day he’s there… even if its just his image on a montior cuz obviously the crowds would be INSANE…

years from now, supposing he’s still doing this stuff… just to be in the same room with him… if it were up to me, I was finanically independant and all that… I’d reserve hotel booking for the week of San Diego comic-con… camp outside early in the morning to ensure good seats, etc, etc.

that’s the closest way of being in the same venue as him… obviously the meet & greet is out of the question because he’s a freaking Hollywood A-lister… I don’t think my mind can comprehend the sheer awesomeness of that idea… I feel like I’d be a robot where if you push a certain button, I’d switch off and collapse on myself… as if a robot that comes out of a cube or just a smaller iota that springs to life with the touch of a button…

and apparently things haven’t changed… when I’m in fangirl mode, I go all out and just go on for ages about stuff like this… and there’s no off switch :falloff:

I think I need to take some time to BREATHE… and move on to the next order of business…

what would you rather have, really … my gushing about whomever or venting about stuff getting under my skin…

either way, its in excess and there’s no stopping it once it starts…

there are a lot of ugly rumors going on around the future of American Idol…

apparently we are down 2 judges… possibly three…
Steven Tyler and Jennifer Lopez are gone… Randy is rumored to be leaving…

rumored replacements, each is more preposterous than the next… because as a fan of the show and music in general, they do not sit well with me…

the formula was great for the several seasons…
an American record producer… a British one who had previous successes in the UK on other incarnations of this particular show… and a former well-renowned singer/choreographer…

they had such great chemistry together and there was brutal honesty… unlike anything America has seen before…
Gordon Ramsey soon followed as another Brit who wasn’t afraid to tell it like it is and use insults to get good results… well, insults that could be turned around when thought about into harsh but honest criticisms…

Paula left because of this and that… issues and such…
Kara DioGuardi was a great replacement, I thought… because she was a songwriter that really knew what she was talking about… I mean, she wrote music for some of the biggest stars (at the time) of the music industry… Gwen Stefani, Pink, Kelly Clarkson, not to mention a few people I was listening to but didn’t really bridge any gaps (Ashlee Simpson was kinda like a novelty and Lindsay Lohan… everyone knows, I won’t elaborate)…

for some reason, people didn’t connect with her… probably because they insisted on putting her on the same time as Paula’s last season as an attempt to EASE the transition…
then after that, they contracted Ellen Degeneres… still haven’t figured that one out yet… she’s not in the industry itself, but she knows… for the most part… (excluding the Nicki Minaj girls) good artists when she hears them… but she wasn’t quite right for the show because she hated being mean to people and critiquing them… just isn’t the way she rolls and that’s respectable

the producers screwed up in not giving Kara the chance to really stand on her own… she was on a crowded panel of judges so her voice didn’t get heard/received as much as it could have been…

after Simon left, everything was kinda downhill… I guess… I loved Scotty the previous years so it wasn’t all bad… and there was more talent this past year than I’d seen since maybe season 4…

downside…

this season let a lot of not-so-talented people skate by… Phillip being one of them… Deandre another I never completely understood…
not to mention the obnoxious trend of judges picking favorites and more or less dismissing everyone else… it was really skewed, their critics…

everything Joshua did was golden… Phillip almost never had a bad performance (almost everything he did had me bashing my head against the wall because they liked it and I didn’t… ironically I was plunging into Phil Collins and Genesis around the same time he kept bashing their songs…)…

Jessica rocked almost every week… it took me a while to come around, but I got it…
the judge’s Save kept her in and by coincidence, screwed me over every week that followed…

Elise wasn’t long for the competition in all honesty that vacation spot in the bottom 3… people just didn’t get her… for some odd reason… but one by one, I saw my favorites go home and… yeah… I’m reliving so many horrible memories I most likely won’t get rid of for a long time… I really should appreciated the competition more in the earlier weeks of the finals

the judges were often harsh with Elise but kept saying that they loved her…
they were harsh with Hollie week after week…. after week… it was never ending… plus they always treated Jessica wise beyond her years while treating Hollie like she was the younger of the two… there were several moments where I wanted to punch Steven Tyler in the face because he was so condenscing to her…

but seriously, they need a complete revamp anywhere because there were no harsh criticisms where they were deserved… heck, how much did THEY know about Phillip’s condition… was that why they always said he was gold when he wasn’t?

all the what-ifs still eat away at me a bit… especially hearing that Phillip nearly walked off a couple times because of his condition…

DUDE…. like seriously??? I could have had that perfect ending if he left the show… Colton or Skylar could have walked away with the win… heck, even Joshua or Jessica… we could have had a minority or a guy win this year…

reading that had me almost screaming to the heavens and wishing things could have been different…
but in a couple years, after Colton releases a few albums, I think I’ll be fine… cuz then I could say “if he won, 19 entertainment wouldn’t have let him get away with this stuff”… he’s got his own ideas and his own image that he’ll promote on record… and supposedly the first new song he debuted on tour was a hit according to his Twitter followers

I highly doubt it’ll get to the point where people will completely forget about Phillip the way they have with Lee Dewyze and apparently… Kris Allen…

:sigh:

the latest rumors for judge replacements… are Charlie Sheen and Adam Lambert…

if either of them are actually put in that position, I wouldn’t just boycott the show, but I probably wouldn’t touch with it a really long pole… there’s just no way…

I hate to say this, but I think Charlie Sheen is gaining infamy for all the wrong reasons which doesn’t make him any better than the Jersey Shore kids… like he’s deliberately being a bad boy to pimp his image and such…
not to mention his trailers where he talks about getting 2nd chances… he’s deliberately mocking the addicts in Hollywood who can’t stay sober or clean for any amount of time…

would this have still bothered me if I wasn’t on Team Downey?
maybe not as much, but his matter of celebrity still bugs the hell out of me

WTF are they talking to him for?
he’s an actor with no connections to the music industry at all and he knows NOTHING about judging singers…

then its the Adam Lambert thing… its bad enough that people are still talking about him despite the fact he DIDN’T win American Idol…
the judges were pimping him almost as much as Joshua, but without all the standing ovations

its an age-old debate that runs rampant through the music industry…
conservative vs. unique and ground-breaking…

in most cases, I go for the weirdos… and except where Nicki Minaj is concerned, I mean that as a term of endearment…
MJ wasn’t entirely conservative throughout his career, but Prince more than made him look like a Sunday school boy
Lady Gaga and Katy Perry, I prefer most days to Adele because they have more range… at the same time, just as I’m liking MJ for other reasons, I have things to love about Adele too…

I just gravitate more towards the weirdos…

I respect Adam Lambert as a person, sure… but I’m extremely curious as to why nobody has ever told him that his screams are ear-piercing and obnoxious… when he’s at the top of his vocal register, he not only hits notes that only dogs can hear, but ear drums and everything beyond just quivers because they feel very oppressed

he’s unique, sure… and none of my tirades are in reference to his sexuality… that just happens to be a part of who he is… I can respect him as an artist, but I can’t listen to him…

so…… why are they talking to him about being a judge on the show?????

seriously? what the hell does he have to offer as a judge…

because he’s a former contestant… you have DOZENS to choose from, people that have been in the industry longer than he has and have accomplished so much more…
because he appeals the younger, even gay demographic…

they brought Demi Levato into X-Factor for the demographic thing… you guys do not NEED to worry about the bloody demographic… people will likely flock to the show to get away from American Idol… who can’t seem to keep up with the times… not mention churn out too many successful winners… but that’s a debate that’s been going on since after Carrie Underwood won and Chris Daughtry got his record deal…

Nicole Scherzinger was kind of a mistake for a number of reasons with the X-Factor… she’s hasn’t been in the industry long enough to know much of anything… she was part of a girls’ group that… I thought… looked like a bunch of a slutty girls

…come to think of it, I can’t stomach their music, but just in case, I should maybe check some of their videos for the story I’m working on to see if that choreography is something that could inspire my work…

plus she was too emotional and impulsive to make any legit deicisons… she kept making girls cry for crying out loud because she kept voting them off as the last vote…

Britney Spears has had her ups and downs, yeah, but she’s kinda like a brand these days… she had this image that really set her apart from the other female artists at the time…
Christina Aguilera, same thing, but I can’t really stomach anything she’s done since her first album… when she decided to be independant…

all of the judges for The Voice have a lot of experience and really know what they’re talking about…
Cee-Lo, despite the fact “Forget You” is only a couple years old, he’s been around for years but kinda under the radar… on the hip-hop scene where I really don’t dare to tread a lot of the time…
Blake Shelton… who knows how long he’s been around… but he’s very well established in the country music community…

Demi Levato was a Disney-tauted artist who doesn’t write her own material and really hasn’t been in the industry long enough to mentor anymore… particulary the Over 30’s crowd because they have more experience in the industry than she does… she could mentor the girls, but the only advice she’d have I guess is to stay true to yourself and things about coping with pressure and such…

that’s the only way she could really have any success as a mentor on the show…
Britney… I dunno… she could do well with the boys or the groups… she knows quite a bit about choreography, so she might be best with mentoring the groups…

then Simon will get the boys and L.A. Reid gets the over 30’s… that’s the only way this is going to work on The X-Factor… that particular set-up…

what does Adam Lambert have to show for himself?
sure, he toured with Queen and a couple other big bands…
but he hasn’t even been in the industry for FIVE years… probably as long as Demi Levato…

aside from the whole “staying true to yourself” thing, I can’t see him being a judge for these people… it just doesn’t make sense to me…

now… who would I put in the judges’ seats…

firstly, we need a record producer type… someone… omg, they should get Quincy Jones! if you wanna stay around, you gotta go big and you don’t get much bigger than that…

then they need people who have been in the industry for more than 10 years… 15+ preferrably…

MJ could have done it if he was still alive…
I can’t see Prince ever doing that but it’d be interesting to say the least…
Gwen Stefani is reuniting with her band No Doubt so I doubt she’d have the time, but she could be great for it…
Twitter says Stevie Nicks plans to reunite with Fleetwood Mac, so she’d be out of it…

there’s so many people to pick from, but most of them are either has-beens or BUSY…

John Oates would be great he and Daryl Hall I believe are wrapping up a summer tour and Daryl has his own show… that’s kinda me putting my own personal stamp on this, though, cuz yeah… Oates is still a pretty good looking guy, even if he’s closing in on 60, if not beyond that

Belinda Carlisle…
Debbie Gibson… nah, I think that ship sailed already I don’t think I’d care to see Tiffany as a judge either…
Bruce Springsteen and Huey Lewis are far too busy, but Huey Lewis could have been great…

yep, there’s a reoccuring them, I’m picking through artists that were prevelent in the 80’s

I doubt it’d happen, but the dream judges panel within the realm of possibility would be

Quincy Jones, Stevie Nicks and John Oates…

or even someone from The Revolution like Matt Fink or Wendy Melvoin ๐Ÿ˜Ž that’d be kinda cool

but yeah, if the rumors are true and Adam Lambert is commissioned for the show, I’ll jump ship and never swim back…

This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

