when writing introductions are a royal pain…

I’m going into the late of the night, the earliest of the morning with this one… but its one of those things where I feel like I need to get as much as I can out of my head before calling it quits for the night…

man, for a weekend on our own, I haven’t been getting a whole lot done… if anything, its been freeing me to play video games for longer hours, lol

I think I’m better off resolving to not talk about my personal life anymore unless its extremely positive and/or ground-breaking… because who knows what’d happen if I said exactly what was on my mind about things I should be doing… and one night it might come back to bite me…

the more time I spend thinking on this, the less I’m going to want to do… whatever the hell it is…

anyone interviewing me I’m sure would get a real kick outta this…
“I’ve been spending my free time writing a book about Prince… not quite a biography, but an in-depth guide to his music to make his long-time fans nostalgic and recruit plenty of new ones, educating them on the true meaning of being a musician”…

all sarcasm I’m sure, but anything’s worth a shot, I guess… I see how I feel when I wake up tomorrow… whether I feel like leaving a message on a machine or something…

I’ll have to check later if I have that on my mission statement and if not, it could be my 7th bullet point…
my aim being to remain his long-time listeners of his excellence and educating future generations about him…

I mean the whole reason I came up with the idea was, well in part because I had this blog and all this stuff I’d written about him (it had since taken on a life of its own so just about anything in my mind and I mean ANYTHING is fair game for discussion… who woulda thought my racier discussions came AFTER I’d put in my time with Prince and have since found other interests to write about)…
but also because I wanted to do my research on Prince and other than the listeners themselves, there was no other source… any book written about him was out of print or wasn’t the best possible guide on him…

he’s the kind of person who you can learn the most about by just listening to him… that was his intention, I guess, that’s why he declined to do so many interviews… but I dunno… I can’t really go into great length to explain why its such a great idea… it is what it is… and as long as a handful of people agree with me, that’s enough motivation to keep me going with the project to make it to the finish line…

the downside is that Prince isn’t very accessible… people hear things and automatically dismiss him as a weirdo… not taking the time to get to know anything about him because he challenges the moral compass or at least he used to 😉 not so much now with the no-cursing policy he’s got in his stuff… I’d at least like to make him more accessible so he becomes a little more appreciated by the masses…

I’d hate to go here, but I’m going to…
Michael Jackson was noted as one of the greatest entertainers in the history of the world… but he also had his quirks… why was he accessible and Prince wasn’t?
so many unanswered questions and I’m hoping my project will off-set a lot of these things…

I pretty much have outlined the main topics I want to discuss with the O(+> album… its just a matter of the stuff that goes INTO those topics… particularly the introduction…
with Purple Rain it was easy… mentioned the success of 1999, what the next step was and supposedly Prince asking Dr. Fink how he felt about them making a movie…

I’d like to come off just right here… wouldn’t want to make it too much about any one topic…
the whole record company dispute is a heavy topic and I don’t necessarily want to open up with that here…

for the most part, I think each album will have an introduction that mentions the previous album… one or two details about them…

there are a couple of things to make note of here…

one big thing is the title of the album for obvious reasons…
another big thing… the supposed mishandling of the marketing was what put the nail in the coffin of Prince’s uneven relationship with his record label…

I’m the kind of person who likes to do things in order so its hard for me to not do the introduction first…
I had the same issue writing essays my junior year of college… and oddly enough listening to Prince loosened me up a bit and I found a good starting point…

D&P was great for keeping me calm under pressure, but at the same time, the album is very chill and the one time I did those 4 albums in a row… it was putting me to sleep, much the way Come did later on… O(+> and Gold kept me awake because there was always something different going on…

how do I go about writing it with sounding too phony about it… like my first paragraph here, I sound a little too authoriative… I’d like to sound like I know what I’m talking about, but I’m not going to do that by sounding like some stiff ol’ fogey

no… I said I wasn’t going to let myself feel old until I was 30… not there yet…

I’m also hesistent about putting too much of my own stamp on this intro… I’d like them to sound somewhat professional, but not over the top…

:yawn:

It’s really hard to know where to begin with this album because it’d been through so much in severe editing… you don’t necessarily need the extra segues to make sense of the storyline of the album… one thing is for sure, Prince intended for this to be a rock opera, an idea that was never fully realized

also gotta note the two changes to the NPG…
the loss of Rosie Gaines and the addition of Mayte as a guest vocalist on a few tracks and Prince’s new muse

man, its hard to believe that this is even longer than 1999 was…
heck, I think this might be Prince’s longest album… like, EVER…

its a complicated matter to address, to say the least…

While Prince had a lot of success with Diamonds & Pearls, I consider its follow-up album among my personal favorites. For a number of reasons, it’s often overlooked and underrated compared to its predecessor and future powerhouses, Come and The Gold Experience. Originally, it was intended to be a rock opera, which is reflected in the theatrical nature of some of its material.

I spent almost an hour figuring out the first two sentences… I obviously need to get some sleep…

but I get the feeling when I get up in the morning that I’ll be working on another project tomorrow…
been something different every day this weekend

the next day…

being a writer is never easy… they really should make publishing an easier thing to do because putting the actual manuscript together takes so much…

not likely to be getting any sympathy with that, but its just a suggestion

it’s hard to know where to start with this album, there are so many angles I can start the introduction from…

for starters, its one of those albums that gets lost in the shuffle a lot… in the 90’s, you have the gold experience, come, the successful d&p album and of course the massive volume of Emancipation…

maybe to save myself a little trouble, I shouldnt do a regular old introduction BECAUSE there are so many angles to work with…

each album is going to be different in their discussion so of course the discussion will highlight their best features…

D&P will be an easy introduction… Prince did a couple sub-par efforts with movie soundtracks and hasnt had a major success since… I assume Purple Rain, although sign of the times was probably successful too to a point… I know Parade and lovesexy definitely weren’t considered successes (at least not in the states, lol)

I don’t have an easy starting point for O(+>… maybe something like this…

For the follow-up to D&P, Prince and the New Power Generation touched on theatrical territory. They planned on making this album somewhat of a rock opera that starred Prince as the hero and the newest member of the NPG, belly-dancer Mayte Garcia, as his corresponding damsel in distress. A short film called “3 chains o’ gold,” which was in essence a series of music videos pieced together by a loose storyline, was also made to promote the album. Although I rank it among my favorites, it wasn’t exactly considered a success when it was first released.

what’s in a name… er… symbol?

Oddly enough, one of the things that came under fire with critics was the album’s title. It was simply an unpronouncable symbol that Prince would later adopt as his new name. Obvious difficulties arose when it came to promoting it because nobody knew what to call it. Some just called it “symbol.” Others called it “the love symbol album” or “Androgyny” because Prince’s symbol consisted of the symbols for male and female

Comings and Goings

After Diamonds & Pearls, the NPG line-up remained the same with two big exceptions. Rosie Gaines left to pursue a solo career. Prince also replaced his back-up dancers, Diamond and Pearl, with a talented young dancer named Mayte. But she wasn’t just the newest woman to share a stage with him. When Prince first met Mayte, he had an instant connection with her that one might call spiritual. He believed that she was his soulmate and a couple years later, they tied the knot. A lot of the songs on the album could be interpreted as tales of courtship, the beginning of their relationship.

yeah… I think thats a good start, I’ll go ahead and publish this entry and give myself the rest of the night off…

not sure in what order, but the next things I’ll address is the storyline of the album… the storyline of 3 chains of gold… and what could be interpreted as the storyline of the album with the segues intact…

 

This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

