mid-July Weekend update

Had the weekend to ourselves so its been an interesting weekend… not entirely stress-free, but yesterday was probably the biggest step in that direction… got so much done, as evident in my prevous entry… an introduction to the O(+> album…

its hard to know where to begin sometimes…

this weekend has also been frought with a couple coincidences and “chance encounters”…

well, coincidence is a good way to describe it… each morning for the weekend, some Downey reference came out of nowhere and I’d be good for the rest of the day… not bad considering its been a while since I”d seen him in any capacity… the first one was well its gonna be in effect tonight… i saw him listed as the celebrity of discussion on tonight’s true hollywood story… mostly negative press, I assume, they really dont have any of these specials made within the last 5 years… its always 10+ years back where they focus on all the ups and downs..

now im rewatching Ellen where she’s interviewing the Twilight cast and they’re showing previews for tomorrow… yep, there he is again… the Avengers related interview… which was a really good interview for sure…

if there’s ever a bad one, I say its because of something the host did or just a temporary lack of fashion sense… there are just certain color combinations I don’t see as particularly flattering for him… no oranges or yellows… red can go one way or the other, it depends… and apparently purple is also not flattering…

so yeah, just about anything blue, green, grays and blacks… especially grays and blacks are very flattering 😎

my thoughts right now… these previews for tomorrow’s repeat… put me over the top… I think I have enough of him to last me a WHILE.. after tonight, i think i’ll be good…

other instances: there was an article about a local kid in that new movie “moonrise kingdom” and the first line of it was “hey robert downey jr. someone is gunning for one of your roles”… the role in question was Sherlock Holmes… based on the picture of the kid, for some reason, I thought they were saying that he was gunning to start the same kind of career he did by taking his first role when he was 5… Pound., which was an indie film that Downey Sr. wrote/directed

thats kind of an odd start for a kid, but then I read the words sherlock holmes and of course I was mistaken

then of course there was comic-con this weekend… I kept saying that he was gonna be there, not knowing that he wasn’t scheduled to show up and he once again came as a surprise addition… so many great pictures… man does he look amazing… but of course you know that, typed those words dozens if not hundreds of times already…

its kinda funny how I say that he helps calm me down cuz he creates that kind of atmosphere, but hearing about him or seeing him pop out of the blue… its that adrenaline rush… like wow… now its been so much that im almost hyperventilating…

imagine what I’d be like if it was seeing him in person… I’d probably stop breathing entirely… its even worse when I think I might faint and imagine that he’d give me CPR or something… that’s even more demented than flying across country to go to san diego’s comic-con and “stalk” him despite the fact he might not even be there

I planned this weekend to work on my writing… and play video games… I did more video games than writing what I said I was gonna write…

the first day I worked on Jonas’s story because someone spoke his name in a dream… his non-existent grandparents said they were going to watch him tee off in a televised tournament… and I was waiting to hear a last name mentioned but none came… I didnt give him a last name until the sequel which almost nobody will probably get to read… far too much is going on

[so funny how they’re showing a preview of Bruno Mars performing that song for Breaking Dawn and while the audio is still going, they’re showing RDJr dancing onto the set with Scarlett Johannson as if he was doing it right to the music… i mean thats crazy how well thats in synch]

I only wrote maybe a few paragraphs worth but Im getting closer to finishing chapter 4 and moving forward… like, I thought I’d be there forever…

the next day, I listened to the podcast of the O(+> album, listened to it that night, but when it came to writing about it, I was drawing a blank… I was literally staring at my blog, picking through every thought I wanted to put down but nothing sounded just right

then yesterday, ups and downs… I got to thinking about a couple things in writing The Word…
I decided since there wouldnt be any extra eyes asking why the hell I’m doing this or that… I’d check out Hollywood Exes once just to see a little about Mayte… I’d considered watching it for a while but there was never a clear opportunity… I’d be asked why I’m bothering and if I explained why, they’d get it just as easily as they’d get me watching some random movie because RDJr had a minor role in it

so… yeah I’m watching the first part of yesterday’s repeat right now… and its almost as addicting as the NJ housewives but so far havent seen a whole lot of cattyness… intelligence tells me that Mayte is probably the nicest person on the show

the more I watch, the more I think thats its gonna be hard for me to write about Rave Un2 the Joy Fantastic… because part of that album tells about their break-up… and I’d gotten word a few months that he wasnt entirely truthful in some of it… playing himself off as the victim… that she was the one cheating on him.. word is that he was being super protective, controlling… was kinda keeping tabs on everything… and it kinda sounds like, based on some clips id been catching, he’s the one that filed for divorce and she was kinda blind-sided by it

just watched some of her profile during the commercial break…
I knew she’d had this dancing career before she met Prince, much the way that Sheila E and her family were famous in their own right before the two of them met…

she was considered the world’s youngest professional belly-dancer at the age of 8…
her family was in Spain on a budget and her mom wanted to see Prince’s Nude Tour appearance based on the name… which had nothing to do with nudity and there was suppoedly a number where the music was almost Arab sounding so they were saying she could totally be up there dancing with him… she thought they were crazy

I left it off b4 break where they said he stopped by Germany where they were living as part of the tour and that is where they met

then I had to pause cuz they were showing a clip from this week’s new show… supposedly she kept several of his old clothes and they were totally going crazy over them…

I think Momma Garcia has a much different opinion of Prince NOW… she said she still loves him as an artist but really not a whole lot as a person… maybe just short of saying that she didn’t think he was a good person…

thats the kind of talk that would be counterproductive to this project… I can’t write about Prince if I hear negative perceptions of him, I don’t care if it is true.. . gotta love the person I’m writing about or it just isn’t going to feel right coming from me…

its kinda nice now that my interest in knowing more about Mayte has less to do with Prince and more to do with her dance career and just getting to know that glowing personality…
kinda like how my interest in Wendy & Lisa, Morris Day… even actors RDJr has worked with, I can stand by them for their own careers and talents… disassociation makes things feel a little healthier mentally…

ive got a chance to see the newest show thursday at 7, friday at 3 and Sunday at 3… im kinda booked the first night its on, but after that, I’ll see how it goes… the time im least likely to be found out leading this double-life just because I don’t want to have eyes rolling at me…
even if my dad would happen to find Mayte totally gorgeous… that might take his mind off the fact that she’s Prince’s ex

I’ve friended Mayte on Facebook and have yet to follow her on Twitter… but at some point, I’m thinking that I’ll send a little msg just to say that I think she’s incredible…
I got the idea for my Nelly Furtado album fic over a couple of things… I always kinda pictured Nelly belly-dancing her way through a bunch of these songs, they’re very visual in that way…

ok, commercial, gonna see the rest of this profile…
they communicated over a stretch of time, he’d send her music and I guess she’d figure out choreography for it… she got asked to dance in Cairo, he asked her then to join the band (that might be part of where he got the storyline of 3 chains of gold from)… she said that they were friends that would stay in touch… but I get the feeling that he had more than friendship on his mind… he said after meeting her that he’d just met his future wife…

and to kinda help me figure out the age difference, she said she got married when she was 22… so she was probably going on 23 in 1996, they got married on Valentine’s day that year…
the relationship evolved over time and the only thing that changed was the title, that they were husband and wife… they must have been super close…

then we’re on the divorce and it sounds like she was blindsided… kinda like she was out on the streets, not really knowing how to pick up the pieces because it was like being swallowed up by a completely different world…

there aren’t too many times where I can say this, but yeah, Prince was an ass for doing that….
yeah, its gonna be so hard to review the break-up album without totally attacking him… I know its gonna be hard to write about him positivity cuz with songs like “man o’ war” and “i love u but dont trust you anymore”… he makes it sound like she was cheating on him, but he wasn’t really trusting of her for whatever reason… its hard to say really… maybe disillusioned, thats a good description

anyway… with my story… I can totally picture Nelly Furtado belly-dancing or cha-chaing or samba’ing through a lot of these songs…
and I knew from the get-go if I was going to be looking at dancers to try to find inspiration for writing this, Mayte would be my inspiration for belly-dancing… because she’s just the best, hands down… I mean she has the x-factor when it comes to dancing… her personality translates to her work and thats a quality that you really can’t give a label… it just is…

I was talking to my fellow purple knight about this the other day… I watched a clip that he was talking about… and for a moment, I wished I was a man so I could take care of Mayte and give her what she wants most… children…

its kinda funny that she’s friends with Prince’s other ex-wife… I wouldnt go as far to say that he went after younger and better… I dont think Mani was younger than Mayte when they got involved, but clearly he had eyes for her while he was still technically married.. don’t really know how that marriage ended but it was like, they were together and then they werent… and I kept saying that she’s no Mayte… she’d never live up to how amazing she was, how beautiful she was… still is, in fact…

I don’t know about Prince, but it seems that Mayte still thinks about the baby they had together and lost… and how she still wants kids like badly… her biological clock really is ticking… I’d say, lets see… I think she was 23 in 1996, so now, she’d be… 38-39… so she was born in 1973… making the age difference between her and Prince… wow… about 15 years, I think… I’ll have to remember that…

the big thing when they were just getting together and were pretty much all over the O(+> album, the storyline said that she was only 16… she was 16 when they MET… around the time the album was released, she was 18-19…

but yeah, if I were to Twitter or msg Mayte, I think I’d just say how much I admire her dancing, wish her so much luck with her personal life..

I think right now she’s more interested in moving forward with her life, so shooting her a link to my blog wouldn’t exactly help matters… but I definitely will be giving her a little something in The Word… the way I did with Wendy & Lisa, The Time, The Revolution, I’d take a page to go and say how much I think she’s amazing as a dancer, she brought so much to Prince’s performance and to add a little something, none of his back-up dancers were able to compete with her… she was tremendous in her own right and she enhanced Prince’s performfances, she didnt take away from it or hog it up (the way I feel the Twinz do)… kinda the way he said Wendy made him look all right in the eyes of the fans because no matter what he did on stage, she smiled at him and it was a good contrast… Mayte brought so much more to Prince’s performances that it defies explanation… its just that the two of them looked SO good together

actually I think I’d tell her that she’d be an excellent guest judge for “so you think you can dance”… she could probably give Janelle Isis a couple tips πŸ˜‰ yeah, I’d do that and also Tweet Nigel Lythgoe to get in touch with her to tap her as a guest judge because, omg, she’d be perfect for it 😎

ive got better intelligence though that says… omg, I cannot believe how amazing this is… on ET or some other show, she said she wouldnt badmouth Prince on the show, which is just… its beyond words…
and it looks, based on the preview… that after this blind date she’s gonna go on, he’s gonna call her or she calls him…either way they’re talking and he asks her how the date went… almost hinting at the fact that they might still be friends now, but just not super close like they used to be.

its also kinda cool that she’s still a fan of his music, if only his older stuff… she says how they dont play the sentimental stuff on the radio which is fine cuz she cant listen to any of it… seriously, Prince hasnt had a new song on the radio since D&P… maybe The Most Beautiful Girl in the World, but none of the radio stations play anything he’d done since then… maybe because he wasn’t attached to a major label so they didnt have access.. but it kinda gives the impression that he hasnt done ANYTHING since the 80’s, which is not true…

now its kinda like… yeah, he tours Australia and Europe, almost never in the states anymore and hasnt released a wide-release album since Lotusflow3r… I gotta ask what the hell is going on with that…

the scary thing is that Prince is so unconnected to the media and people in general… he could just pass away at any point and we probably wouldnt find out for DAYS, even WEEKS… there are a couple of interviews on Youtube that I could watch, but i think I’ll wait until im working thru the emancipation album set before I do…

I guess you could say I’m in I ❀ Mayte mode here… which is a nice break from some other stuff… I hope to get some writing done today before negativity resumes in this household… otherwise I cant really concenrate or give my all to it

This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

