Reaction to True Hollywood Story on Downey

I think I’d pretty much used up all the possible options… all the possible outlets that deal with the whole biographical approach…
I’d watched the actual Biography on Biography and I’d seen Inside the Actor’s Studio… now I can cross “True Hollywood Story” off my list…

ain’t left to do but to throw my hands up and say I’ve had enough

by now, of course, I know perfectly well what I’ve bought into. I’m not an idiot… I’d done, I guess you could say, extensive research on the matter… went through his resume, picked and chose the movies of his that I had to see for whatever reason…
by the end of it, I saw all of those (with the exception of The Singing Detective and Good Night & Good Luck) plus more… just leaving with a bunch of super indie films (most of which with his dad in the director’s chair)… and I’m satisfied with that…

I’m sure part of me will always consider the venture of… wow, “Less than Zero” turns 25 this year… getting that movie on DVD, except it likely wouldn’t be in my pile of Downey DVD’s… it’d be in some dark place, like in another random shoebox under my bed
makes it kinda take on other connotations, but I don’t plan on it… :sigh:

All of these Hollywood manufactured things that tell the whole biography of any given person… they have a very narrow perception and like to really up the drama, especially when there’s plenty of it.

After finishing, I think I needed a little bit of a time-out to brush my teeth and such… but also just the matter of getting into my bedroom and shutting the door… things are so much easier to handle when I do it in my alone time because that’s kinda where it began and how it has progressed

first thing I wanted to say… Charlie Sheen has really lost the right to throw up the bad boy card… because I’ll tell you something, mister… were you arrested more than 7-8 times? were you in rehab for more than a year? did you spend ANY time in jail?

nobody’s gonna get the sympathy card from me… and here’s where I get cheesy and say “only one of those per customer”… meaning there’s only one person that can skate by with me… mainly cuz everything has been, well beyond peachy and that’s kind of a strange experience… it’s been peachy…

waiting for this window to come up, I started to calm down a little bit…

what’s kinda interesting is that each time I watch one of these, despite how much I know, I still learn stuff…
like I didn’t know about the Arizona rehab facility that he did a stint in in 1988… I mean they weren’t kidding when they said that the movie accelerated his already existing problem…
but geesh, I keep thinking, you’d think that doing a movie about a guy who ultimately overdoses and DIES… that should be a wake-up call, an example of what NOT to do…

but of course that’s just me…
my opinion about addiction is that it’s one of the scariest things I can think of… the only thing that’s even scarier is dying, that’s how much it freaks me out

given where I am right now… if I ever had the gull to take that round, get addicted to something or whatever… I would just want to overdose and that’d be it…
it’d be a lot easier than getting the right mindset in place, going to rehab, dealing with the consequences and such… cuz knowing me, I’d be super paranoid about the relapse…
but I stand by my ground in saying that you can’t get addicted if you don’t start something… so I have no intention of doing any of that

for the first 10 minutes or so, it felt like going through his resume… I knew all the movies before they even spoke them by name… the only one I didn’t recognize by description was “Rented Lips” another one of his dad’s indie films…

and based on footage, I gotta check into “The Last Party”… one scene of that and it had me HOOKED… it was so funny and a little cynicsm might be good on an election year 😎

but it literally felt like a solid half hour of it was a broken record…
I always say this and it stays true… knowing all the facts doesn’t make it any easier to hear them repeated and hammered into you

of course I’m doing this to myself…  yeah, listening to all this talk about rehab, jail, arrests… that’s my idea of masochism… I want to know the whole story, despite how negative it all is, for the sake of knowing every detail I can hang on to for future reference…

I highly doubt that I’ll watch any of his older films again unless it happens to be Weird Science or Chaplin

possibly Home for the Holidays during Thanksgiving… I’m surprised that during the coverage of his whacked-out Thanksgiving weekend, they didn’t say anything about strippers… I mean, one of them was dressed as Wonder Woman for crying out loud they didn’t want to put that in there?

also interesting was maybe 3 times where he was checked into rehab and he broke out and hitched a ride with a friend :falloff:
these places don’t really have great security, do they?
then again, rehab facilities are kinda supposed to be voluntary…

one of them sounded like the incident he recounted on the… forgot his name, that damn Brit… not Jonathan Ross (that dude rocked, lol)… Frank Skinner… he was promoting The Singing Detective and he was recounting this incident…
“you think they’re not gonna trip. I’ll just sneak, get a litlte more…”

also wasn’t quite aware that he appeared in front of Judge Myra that 3rd time… after he gave the whole “I’m going to incarcerate you in a way that is very unpleasant”… and they left out the fact that Manson is at Corcoron prison… they mentioned the other prison he was at once had O.J…. they mentioned OJ but not Charles Manson… that’s really twisted…

and yeah, Corcoron definitely looked like a freaky place…

I figure the people editing this together was just loving this… he gets out, things look good, oh wait, he’s back there again…
once again, I thank god that a) he’s totally clean now and so over all of this negativity and b) I’m allowed the opportunity to see all this in retrospect rather than in real time

I don’t think I’d have as nearly as much respect for the guy if it was in real time… if it were then, I think I’d have dismissed him ages ago… but then again, I was only maybe 10-13 around the time all of this was going on, so I wasn’t nearly as judgemental I don’t think… certainly not as much as I am now… apparently about anyone else but him…
and Lindsay Lohan… I see her name mushed up with other rehab folk and celebrities that can’t be taken seriously… I’ve pretty much kept my nose clean and out of all that talk because with the tabloids, it was hard to tell who was telling the truth

what can I say? I call ’em as I see ’em and I make my own rules…

sure, I wouldn’t mind ghostwriting his autobiography if he asked me personally… but aside from that, I’m not really aspiring to write a biography about him… all of this was never about that… once I know the full extent of the demons, I can just keep going and move forward… all of the information is here so there’s no need to revisit it…

I mean, this past weekend… he brought me so joy in such little amounts of time… made me smile… of course that comes from his success as Iron-Man and Sherlock Holmes…

every now and then, times like this, I do thank God for (again cheesy) never leaving him, keeping him around so all of us can enjoy his work now

the past couple days, working on The Word has kinda been my salvation from boredom and just feeling powerless…

I’m sure it’ll take a year or two for the work to be finished and to be realized and all that…

it’ll probably take 5 years before I can fully understand what all of this is going to mean… but I know for a fact that all of this is happening for a reason… he came into my life for a reason… on a quest to find out about a movie that I only knew of from a music video, he stole the show, convinced me to see things in every possible light…
meanwhile, he’d been everything to me from inspiration to help stimulate my writing, keep this blog in operation, experimenting with my fiction, to somewhat of a teacher, to just being that certain someone that can make me smile, give me joy or just feel completely relaxed and at ease… home…

It’d be hard to put all of those into words… whether it’d be in another fan letter or in person… but once I know the full extent of what all of this is going to mean… I’d be dramatizing a little bit too, but in some small way… I’d like to express to him in some way…

and here I am… a year, 5 months and 10+ days later… still professing how crazy I am about this guy

it’ll all take a little getting used to, yeah, but sooner or later, I’ll feel perfectly fine and continue to go on that path of just enjoying the hell out of his work…

 

as a side-note, being cautiously optimistic here… its a few months away… we’re going to be cruisin’ to Bermuda early October… so fingers crossed that its an uneventful hurricane season

now I just gotta figure out what to do with myself for the rest of the night…
to be on the safe side, I think I want to take my mind completely off things and rewatch (hopefully its still fully loaded) “3 chains o’ gold” because I was just on a roll writing about it earlier and I want to make sure I got my details right

This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

