All hail “The Last Party”– the Goat Party

To fully get the reference, you’d have to check this out on YouTube… while thought-provoking at times, some of it was just hilarious…

not quite enough to make me literally be ROFL…
but I’d say I’m about 50% back…

I’m also thinking of making some changes on Facebook to kinda keep things a bit more private… might go all the way to the point of making it a private page that only my friends could see…
then I’m thinking of unfriending my parents because even though it’s been a while, I feel like I’d been under the microscope when it comes to my comments… nothing really there that’s enough cause for my lack of employability (right now, it’s to the point where I’ve given up trying and putting myself into my writing… at least until the nagging stops)

can’t help but feel that they’d be rolling their eyes double-time with all my Downey-related status updates these past few days… think its been about 5 days in a row…don’t think I did that even when I was going at 100%

granted, a good 20 minutes was eaten up last night because I had to wait for the pages to load and such (had to close down every window I had then reentering the Internet)…
so to be technical, I think I was up to about 2 in the morning watching this… I finally got started around maybe midnight… after fixing the slow connection, it was 12:30-40

I think at college the latest I was ever up was 4am either on Facebook chat or heck, that night of the Stockapella concert and spent almost the entire night with my friend… not quite in the way you’d think 😕 if I were bolder I would’ve gone for it… I was out with his friends (he invited me along 😉 and I didn’t want to stop seeing him… oh dammit, I’m gonna have to contact him on Facebook soon, aren’t I? …so many good memories with him)… we were at a nearby diner with great food… then went back to his apartment and we watched maybe 2 hours of Planet Earth where he did his share of narrating and commentary

eh… you had to be there 😉 he walked me back to my apartment and it was close to 4am and luckily my only class that day was at 12:45

college made me a night owl when I had friends to chat with… and maybe .org got me started on it too…

but there have been times… actually there were three specific events that kept me up that late..

the InuYasha movie marathon was probably the latest… had me up until maybe 6am
watching Purple Rain on VH1 Classic and sticking around for music videos afterwards…

I think the latest RDJr kept me up was 2am, so it’s not entirely a new phenomenon

but I tell ya, it was worth it… and even when my attention span was slipping, he found a way to get my attention back…

most of the time that it was slipping, other people he was interviewing were talking…

okay, in a nutshell… this documentary or you could almost call it a “mockumentary”… there was comedy thrown in here and there…
Robert Downey Jr. was visiting the Presidential conventions during the 1992 election year… Bush Sr. and Bill Clinton… went to both conventions, talked to people supporting both sides… got to shake Bill Clinton’s hand and say hi to him… pretty cool stuff

me personally… I liked Clinton a lot, until the Monica Lewinsky thing, but I think I was feeding off the negative energy everyone else was giving off… now I like him again and I think a bunch of other people do… gee, I wonder why… because he wasn’t W. or Obama? he’d been in this position before and did a decent job?

yeah, people today would take anybody who’d been there before, bending the amendment set forth by FDR’s 4 terms… just because nobody around today seems completely legit or trustworthy

on the plus side, all of those Romney ads about him outsourcing… that was debunked… he wasn’t the one doing the outsourcing, he’d left his company several years before they started doing that

but I wonder why the hell people are SO interested in seeing his tax returns… why is that a big deal… tax evasion is one thing, but c’mon… isn’t that something that’s kinda private in general?

not quite your social security number, I know… but still… they’re dogging him the way they’ve been dogging Obama’s birth certificate…

so stupid… they’re just looking for something to disqualify him from the position because they don’t like him… now, the fact he didn’t serve in the military like so many presidents before him… I get why people aren’t so fond of that… I don’t think Romney served either, honestly…

here’s the interesting thing…
this mockumentary was shot 20 years ago… TWENTY… that’s a long time… and it sounds like they were bringing up a lot of the same issues… things really haven’t changed all that much, certainly not for the better… heck, I was only maybe… 7 at the time… [recalculating… lol]… 6…
so I don’t remember a whole lot about things…

the most distinct memories I have from those days…
Ross Perot was a familiar name
I remember Clinton winning the election
a couple years after that… I remember hearing over the PA system that OJ was found not guilty
and my one teacher made me a Steelers fan… and they lost the Super Bowl to the Cowboys, which made me forever hate the team…

not a whole lot, certainly not enough to have a political opinion on things…
nah, the biggest issue was supposedly my lack of socializing with my classmates… yeah, go figure, right?

things really don’t change

anyway…
the economy still sucked back then… homeless people and those living in slums were interviewed… Robert went to a couple parades that were in support of this and that… abortion was a big issue at the time and he was on the sidelines at Pro-Life and Pro-Choice rallies… AIDS was a big issue, went to one of those rallies…

he said towards the end that that rally was one of two times throughout this that his heart sank… and was really moved by the people in support

strangely enough… he was impartial for a lot of it, but at least at the time, he seemed to be pro-choice… could just tell a tiny bit that he was leaning that direction cuz he asked the more critical questions to the Pro-Life crowd…

its hard to really determine at the moment which side he was on by the end of it…
somehow it felt like he was more conservative… then I started thinking about him now and how maybe he had changed sides and he’s now more liberal… cuz he supposedly gave money to George Clooney’s Obama charity event…

I can’t say for sure… I never said that his political stance would change my mind about him…

good thing I’m saving this every couple minutes, just saw a tiny power surge…

nope… I doubt the only thing… no, I really can’t see myself wavering about anything he does… what he could possible do… supposing the unthinkable happens and I won’t speak it out loud… even then, I still would… I don’t think its likely and I certainly don’t go around thinking every couple months about the possibility of it

at best, I think I’ve made peace with him when he was in his late 20’s…
having that familiar face amongst the crowds made it the venture all the more interesting and I wanted to hear more from the people as well as his take on things… its kinda like getting to know another side of his personality… the person, not the actor… I’ve said that I really do enjoy spending time with him as a person more than any role he’d ever played… Larry Paul and Tony Stark are the only two that come remotely close to that

what made it easy… the fact that… yeah, around that time, he was about the age that I am now… a couple years older, but much closer to it than he is now… obviously…

there were a couple running jokes throughout…

at the Democratic convention, he said he didn’t know where people were leaning cuz they were cheering for Clinton and then Jerry Brown came up and people were holding up signs for him… then he said as an off-shoot, I want a sandwich… ah, to be a man on a quest…

then at the Republic convention, lo & behold… there were carts full of them and he kinda said that that was the party that was in a better position to win

and the second gives my title its namesake…

I’d have to look it up on part 2, whatever it was… at first he was on top of a, I dunno what it was… like one of those platforms overlooking the arena… he was imitiating, I’m sure, some famous comedian but I’m clueless as to who… then he got down on all fours and just starting hopping up and down… there’ve been comments on several montage clips where people would say “I love goat boy” cuz he said he was a goat…

every now and then, he would do that… mostly towards the beginning… once halfway through and at the very end…

even cooler was seeing him and his dad share screentime and just talking about his family… really getting to hear it from his perspective… don’t know why, but with him, it’s extremely fascinating…

one thing for sure: Downey Sr. was conservative because he wasn’t too crazy about Bill Clinton winning

there was a scene where he was talking a kid who was saying how his parents got divorced and would rather spend time with his mom… it was very relatable for him to say the least… he opened up early saying that people said his parents were going to be together forever and when he was 12, he divorced but he didn’t quite know/understand why… he lived with his mom and kinda had to grow up a bit to help around the house and such

naturally I had mixed feelings and moments of second guessing where his addiction came into the conversation and was talking about how it was behind him… his dad was saying that he was glad he was still here… I was this close to kinda uttering “yeah now… like 3 years later….”
it’s kinda sad when you think about it and its never easy looking back on the negativity

yesterday really felt like the day after “Less than Zero” when I just felt devestated… I threw myself into research to put my mind at ease that he never got that close to leaving us… one of the courtroom appearances, supposedly the day after the Goldilocks incident, I think it was a psychologist or some doctor that said he looked like he was on death’s door… the narrative about that night was that he had to be revived… not sure if I remember the word “hospital” being uttered (maybe I’m starting to do that repression thing)… but he was then sent back to the court house for sentencing…

now THAT freaked me out… and there were a couple moments where he looked like he was ready to deal with the consequences and get better… thought he sounded serious, but wasn’t quite there yet

Since this is all in the past, it should really get easier to talk about, not harder… I think he’d made due on the silent treatment… kinda pleaing the 5th… amnesia… just to get out of talking about it

unfortunately, he’s going to be the person I’ll always associate with that dark stuff… kinda the bar that I set other people by…

the best possible cure will be the Charlie Rose interview in 2003… I’ll watch that, be reassured that he’s good to go from now on… and this whole thing I can move away from

…on another note… Charlie Sheen, stay the hell away from “American Idol”… rumor is that he’s “genuinely interested” in the gig…

Charlie Sheen isn’t serious about anything… can’t take him seriously and I’m probably doing a favor for mentioning his name… even if its all negative…

San’ Mo’ High sure graduates a lot of “deliquents”…
although I don’t think Charlie Sheen graduated… I know Robert didn’t

go figure that Tony Stark was a high school drop-out, yet he’s a billionaire playboy… well, technically it was his dad’s company… mostly his dad’s millions and billions… but he did corner the market on weapons for the war in Afghanstian… before they fell into the wrong hands… but that’s another story

tee-hee… talking about Tony Stark is helping to take the edge off 😉 that’s good… keep it going and I’ll be back to 100%

I wouldn’t go as far to say this was a major setback… not like I was moping for days, weeks, even months afterwards (Sherlock 2 had me in a funk that lasted maybe a good month or two… “Two Girls & a Guy” wasn’t completely a cure, but it helped a tiny big)

a few things I forgot to mention from the other day and that I’d like to add to:

the first couple interview clips of him were from 1987… and my god, he was so cute… he looked great… so I’m thinking that was before “Less than Zero” brought the walls crashing down…
SO CUTE… never thought there’d be any positive footage of him from that year

funny how whenever people talk about Julian, they say he’s a slick druggie…
slick? really?
the way Bret Easton Ellis wrote about him, maybe… but in the movie, he always looked like a mess to me… I don’t think he really got away with anything… like he demanded to keep getting drugs and second chances and stuff… he was more or less begging

its one thing that they neglected to mention the strippers on the Thanksgiving incident… they said something about a couple ounces of cocaine… didn’t he say that he had valium, turkey and strippers? and one was dressed as Wonder Woman…

but its another where they kept saying “cocaine”…

when in fact (it is SO bad that I know this and am pushing it), black tar heroin was his drug of choice throughout the 90’s… or at least 1996 onward, eh… maybe before that cuz he was whacked out on it during “Home for the Holidays”

nope, I ain’t sparing no details here

thought it was worthy of note regarding Chaplin…
a) he SO did not make the A-list after he did that movie… got him attention, yes, but “Iron-Man” put him on the A-list… if he was A-list in the 90’s, he would have been given BIGGER roles
and b) it was SO cool hearing Geraldine Chaplin so that Robert was so close to her father in his portrayal of him that she thought he was possessed by him 😉

BEST COMPLIMENT EVER…

where’s his damn Oscar?

that’s the last time I trust myself to watch another of these Hollywood reels… unless it was made like, in the past year or two, they’re gonna spend too much time on the negative…

he’s more than made up for it where you can just associate him directly with Iron-Man and Sherlock Holmes… and hopefully in a year or so, Perry Mason… I look forward to seeing that come together and I’ll try to brush up on the series as much as I can beforehand… maybe not super often cuz it would look suspicious :falloff: but enough to know the extent of this character…

looking forward to that

omg, another great moment from the mockumentary

just wow…
don’t know what the occasion or subject of time was… but there was a moment where he was just singing to himself and I damn near melted to the floor… just love listening to him and in fact, I really do miss listening to him… such a nice sounding voice

:puddle:

I’d pretty much finished up the “3 chains o’ gold” discussion… next I’ll try to figure out my own storyline for the O(+> album from the final configuration…

yeah, I think everything with him is going to be just fine… a couple more things and I’m set…

😉
although his appearance on Ellen repeated yesterday, I didn’t watch it… I might do that on my own time… but every now and then I love being able to express a little self-control when it comes to him… keeps me sane

 

 

 

 

This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

