birthday weekend topped off with Sherlock 2

eh, I don’t feel up to coming up with a title today… there’re too many random things to discuss :shrug:

maybe I’ll just do this from now on. Unless I have something that’s definitely going to be addressed in my entry, I won’t name it…

quite a few things swirling around in my head right now.

Heavy stuff first…

I’ve made this comment a couple times… how a certain question was always so hard for me to answer when I was a kid…
still proves difficult when I supposedly can’t opt for the #1 choice…

kind of an interesting conversation with my dad… well, one-sided, really… “Graffiti Bridge” is starting to bring one of the proverbial elephants into the room (at least per my own mind), but this is the other part of it…
and I get it from the statistical/scientific POV that writers don’t make a living unless a) they’re really good and/or b) they’re LUCKY… I mean, really lucky… its become more common as of lately… Hollywood loves to fast-track a lot of popular book series to fame & fortune on the big screen…

J.K. Rowling did it…
Stephenie Meyer did it (and a lot of people still can’t understand why… so by their standards, if she can do it, so can I)…
Suzanne Collins did it
the guy who wrote the “Diary of a Wimpy Kid” series did it… Jeff Kinney
and it looks like E.L. James will join the ranks (per “50 shades of grey” which seems to be on the fast track to the big screen)

within the last 20 years, I’ve seen it happen

oh, and Rick Riordian is on the verge of making that happen… whenever the rest of the Percy Jackson series makes it to the big screen (I think they’re just starting to film the sequel)…

…seen it happen, 5 times… E.L. James would make it 6

and you could throw L.J. Smith into the mix… The Vampire Diaries has its small-screen success on the CW network, still is, I believe (havent watched it since American Idol moved results night to Thursday)…

although, come to think of it… I don’t think I’m on that track to join those ranks just yet…  not at the moment… my writing energy has split between The Word and my blog… otherwise, not a whole lot else going on…

It seems a little, maybe incredibly foolish… doing all this to prove a point… that I can still hide behind my own social anxiety and still make a living for myself without having to step outside my bounds

getting more like J.D. Salinger all the time, my goal in life is :falloff:

here’s the crux… probably the biggest moment of, I dunno, awareness… came about…
the issue is that I need roots to plant my feet in the real world… a “livelihood”… yeah, writing a lot of hours of the day doesn’t seem to be doing much of anything if its all by my own hands…

I think the thing I took away from it…
aside from the fact that I’ll be likely treading in the same waters as Penny from “Big Bang Theory”… something my dad said kinda brought me to that mindset… said how the actors in LA and NY had to waiter/waitress or whatever to foot the bills on the side…

kinda made me think of Penny… cuz she moved from Nebraska to LA to make something of herself… she dropped out of community college so she never graduated… and she moved out there to become an actress… now she gets a few auditions and small parts here and there… and waits tables at the Cheesecake Factory…

…but the main thing…

probably the biggest confidence boost I ever got… hearing positive things about my writing… one phrase was missing, but I’ll take these three:
I don’t mind the writing thing because
its something you enjoy
and you’re really good at it…

I went through the past several years under the impression that he thought it was a waste of time and something I really shouldn’t spend a lot of time on… okay, that’s redunant…
but yeah, there’s that undertone that he only wants my happiness at the end of the day…

otherwise, I kept a pretty straight face… didn’t say a whole lot…
interestingly one question that came up was “does anything interest you?”

umm…. yeah, things… but in the first statement, pretty much took away my own answer to that question…

then maybe after those 10 minutes in the pressure cooker, he let the subject drop… kinda like that conversation a few months back when my mom was hysterical about me taking non-credit courses because it brought back flashbacks for him of stuff he went through

the past year or so has been so strange… I used to think it was just the music thing, but we have a lot more in common than I figure sometimes…

a couple of times, my fellow purple knight… who will hilariously probably be referred to in my house as “the guy who sent me the DVD” :falloff: has come up in conversation…
once because my dad wanted me to be sure not to be too rude when I thank him for the gift :falloff:
another time cuz my mom asked if he saw anything else I’d written… I said yeah, but really hasn’t gotten around to reading a lot of it :falloff:

I started having strange thoughts yesterday morning, the day we left…
a really LAZY approach, I know… but I got to thinking of the idea…
if things work out on his end, he succeeds in getting a couple degrees…

hypothetically if we got together and all that… I just had this fantasy that we’d hang together all the time… he’d be the bread winner and I’d just write all day :falloff: hilarious… I sound really lazy in saying I really don’t want to work out in the real world… neither of us are all that great about it…
but it just came out of my head…

there’s maybe one thing that is a strike against the idea… but I won’t elaborate

and its not something I’ve shied away from in my entries… certainly not in the past year… but I’m just gonna leave it as unapproachable territory here…

I got asked at one point…
how does it feel to be 26?

I’m thinking…
ummm….. I don’t know…

it feels like 25, but a tiny bit older…

and 25 was a STRANGE year… not just because of my latest infatuation (most of which was before the age change… kinda like it was with… well, they both came into my life around the same time of the year… I’ve mentioned this already)…

my blogging has matured and taken on so many different areas… I’ve started to tackle on the subject of sex in my writing and blogging has really helped me feel comfortable with just being more casual about it… as in, its not such a taboo subject anymore…

I think that’s the biggest difference, really…

the Olympics have been great so far… although they’re tempting me to send flaming messages to the news channels for posting SPOILERS on their evening newcasts…
it was kind of a given, really… the results, but World News had a couple people with medals and my mind went blank b4 realizing… oh no, I just gave away the results

but really most of the fun is about how it happens…

it’s pretty outrageous that I’ve seen over the past three times… America has won the women’s all-around gold…
I had my eye on Nastia for quite some time… at least a year or two before the games… Shawn Johnson came out of nowhere and everyone was picking her to be the champ… not quite, but she might be more widely recognized by the masses

Gabby… omg, I’m blanking out on the last name… I’ve got another last name stuck in my head right now…

Gabby Douglas… gotta remember that…

the first time I saw her was at a U.S. competition last year… she was there to gain experience, not to compete, but she was posting numbers high enough to compete, even surpass the people actually competing…

everyone, including me, had their eye on Jordyn Weiber to be the next champion… I’ll have to find the footage how it went so wrong and her spot was given away to Alexandra Raismaun because she couldn’t put up the big numbers…

if Jordyn was still in it, things might have been different… the scores would have been SUPER close and there’d probably be two Americans on the podium…
but I think we all knew Gabby was likely to take it if any one of ours did…

I’m kinda surprised that our new posterboy (as I’m calling him, lol, cuz his face is literally everywhere) Ryan Lochte didn’t walk away with more medals… not that he was going to overtake Michael Phelps but I thought he’d get a few golds… don’t think he got any, but I’ll have to double-check…

another somewhat of a transformation over the past year for me… freeing myself up to curse in my writing more…
although Julian might have helped me a bit with that with my fanfiction with his character… his convictions didn’t sound quite right without a little cussing…

I’ve got things to a point where, with a few exceptions… I’m keeping things to a very narrow window… when it comes to RDJr, my primary focus will be on him from 2008 to the present… just sticking with the stuff I know, where I’m most comfortable with things…

it keeps my overexcitability in check and it helps protect the rest of my mentality from stuff I don’t want to be too concerned about…

naturally I’ll be proved wrong a number of times… I’ve said that he hasn’t looked better these days…
I keep upping the stakes because every now and then, something new comes along and I’m like… he hasn’t looked better than he does NOW… like at this very moment…

if I’m being completely honest… and part of me kinda dreads that things will come to this…
I think that the more birthdays I have, the more I’m going to become more like Ally McBeal, hiding from the world on my birthday rather than being out there celebrating it…

not to say I’m afraid of getting old (that doesn’t come until I turn 30, lol) quite like her… her greatest fear is getting old, dying alone and that her biological clock will run out before she can have kids with Mr. Right…

my priorities are a little bit different…

not that things SUCK… that bad in my mind… although I have had a couple of birthdays that did depress me a bit… for reasons other than getting old…

there just hasn’t been a lot to look forward to, so it’s been neutral for the most part…
I’m not excited, but I don’t want to hide…

the last birthday where I was genuninely happy… and it wasn’t even ON my birthday… I’m coming up on 10 years since that one…
nah, that birthday was the fact I got to go to a great Jesse McCartney concert and afterwards, got to meet him for the 2nd time and get my picture with him…

the only other thing that could top that is… I dunno… tee-hee…

a lot of those things are a pretty drastic impossibility… but as I said, I planned to give myself the next best thing…

I don’t do a whole lot of DVD commentary…
and to be absolutely honest… there have only been a handful… maybe 4, now 5 that I’ve listened to…

at some point, I might check into the Charlie Bartlett commentary if I get REALLY bored… its Anton Yelchin, Kat Dennings and I think the director and maybe another person…
what’s worse… wanting to listen to the guy talk or people talking about him :falloff:

its good fun because you get to hear the actors/directors take on things and you take those things with you the next time you see the movie…

with Robert, I’ve been up to my neck in research and repeated YouTube clips that I can call things before they happen… but every now and then, I get surprised

if I was wise about it, I would have done this after I’d seen the movie enough times to know all of the clues backwards and forwards… because between the picture-in-picture where the audio was coming from the clip box than the movie itself… I felt like I missed out a few things that were kinda important…

it’s pretty cool having him in two places at once of course having the Tony Stark look steals the show EASILY… I find a good deal of comfort in that look… it just fits him so well
one of many reasons a lot of YouTube comments are like “Tony Stark does a great impression of RDJ”… stuff like that…


not sure how he stumbled onto this particular take on watching DVD commentary (although technically Maximum Movie Mode goes far beyond just commentary over the film)… but his perspective was that if you’re watching this, its either a rainy day or you’re sick with the flu…

I’m very tempted to just run away with that and… man, its thoughts like that I just wanna cuddle up with and maybe fantasize about…

and interestingly enough, watching one of his films made me feel better when I was kinda feeling under the weather for the first time in years… it was this past March maybe a week before St. Patrick’s Day (I know this cuz we had a baby shower the following Saturday and I was asked how I was, lol… I forgot I was sick by that point cuz it was a one-day thing)…

it took my mind off feeling sick… so yeah… πŸ˜€ he got me smiling and I almost never stopped

there were a couple of scenes I was counting on him giving explanation to… I got the most important of the two…
the end of the film was supposedly a GREAT opportunity to use a better take of the urban camouflage thing Sherlock was on during the movie… his sentiment was that it was something good to put in because the end of the film was very dramatic and somber and the audience needed that weight taken off their shoulders…

I could give hell about that… but eh…. thanks anyway, dude… that does feel a lot better…

I knew for sure he would address the “Some like it hot” cross-dressing scene cuz… well, it was his idea… and he wanted to do it in part cuz he thought it’d work for the script but also cuz it was something to talk about on the press tour, haha…

and I was dying to hear something about the horseback riding scene…
he went beyond what I expected

he said something like
“this is art imitating life… I own horses, I’ve ridden them…” but not enough where he was an expert rider and there wasn’t any time for him to get good at it…
so both for the comic relief and actually for his safety (WOW… that’s pretty cool… didn’t even think of it that way), he got the smallest horse…

and yeah, Sherlock never indicated in the books that he had this phobia of horses and it just worked into the script… artistic license :falloff:

I didn’t want to write all this down in my notebook because, even though I brought it… I didn’t think it would sound nearly as good there as it does here… and if I’m gonna gush anywhere about him, it’ll be here

he spoke from the experience working on the film, but as an audience member at some points… interestingly he brought up a reference to Capra in one scene, I forget which one… the previous movie we watched that night was “Arsenic & Old Lace” which seems to be a rare comedy from that particularly somber director

he always sounds so intelligent… like, yeah, what else is new, right?
down to every detail he looked amazing… the jacket was a nice touch πŸ˜‰ but yeah, sitting on the chair nearest the TV, wrapped up in a blanket… I think I was only close to falling asleep once, just before the big explosion scene through the forest… and he actually asked either if you were falling asleep or you were still awake…

woke me up

he’s about as good as caffeine in most cases… and afterwards, I think it took me a while to fall asleep with the adrenaline kinda back in there… a smile at the end always helps

I’ve got the combo pack so I can watch the DVD whenever I feel like probably will do so a number of times, but I’m still very much on break from all that

yep… spend the last hours of my birthday watching Robert Downey Jr. talk his way through Sherlock 2…
it was AWESOME 😎

This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

