“Goodfellas” and The Time (not necessarily 2gether)

just turned on Taylor Swift’s Speak Now album (getting me thinking I might watch the concert DVD later)… to kinda make me feel better and its like falling into a routine again… like it feels so natural…

I’ve gotten to think that “Mine” describes my Larry Paul fantasy perfectly…

but “Sparks Fly”… I still don’t know how I’m thinking about when I sing to it as flawless as I’m able to… today worked out real well 😎
I get the feeling that its the song I want to be at the center of things when I fall in love… it’d be the song I sing to the man I fall in love with… that accepts all my flaws and insecurities… that would be the ultimate

and I guess “Back to December” fits the bill… I started listening to that song a lot more in December when I was writing another of my fanfics about him…
over time, “Blue Christmas” fit in just as well

and I’ll let it go over to “Dear John” to really listen to it this time… the last time it wasnt quite as bad, but I figured… might as well since the last spat the two of them…

I was gonna say something, but totally forgot

“Enchanted” is another song I don’t know what I’m thinking about when I listen to it, but I manage to give such a heartfelt performance of it… almost like its hope that when I meet someone special, no matter who they are… whether its someone I greatly admire and the person I’ll end up marrying… that’s the song I’d like to have in mind when that happens… hopefully without the kicker at the end where its a chanced meeting and there’s no guranatee we’ll see each other again… I don’t think I could take that agony…

man, the coolest part about playing along to Taylor Swift… my voice feels like its at home… because it probably hasnt gotten a chance to really air out in a long time… my singing voice anyway…

I get the feeling that this song will be a huge test for Taylor when she sings it live, unless of course she’s using her lower register, in which case its no problem…
I dont think I ever loved a song that was so challenging for me, like ever… my voice must be really out of practice cuz part of my throat is just not liking it too much

I am crazy about the song, its devestatingly beautiful…
“this is me praying that this was the very first page, not where the storyline ends, my thoughts will echo your name until I see you again, these are the words I held back as I was leaving too soon…
I was enchanted to meet you…”

if I am lucky enough to get to meet Robert in person, these thoughts would probably be in the front of my mind…

I know, I’m such a mush

I’ll get through a few more songs so I can work on the rest of this entry

“Better than Revenge” sounds like she’s written about a girl that stole one of her boyfriends and she’s got this bad reputation… makes me wonder who she’s writing about… whether she was someone famous or someone she just went to school with

one song that’s always guranteed to get me feeling… really low and sad and depressed in the 2nd to last track “Last Kiss”… I don’t think I should chance listening to it, lol

“Haunted” is pretty cool sounding… almost epic, which seems like something that’s not typically country…
sure she’s a country girl but she’s pretty good at blending a few other genres into her work too…
the last time I heard it, one of the last times… was this gymnastics/ice skating special that featured Nastia Liukin and a bunch of people… she did a balance beam to that song, but it was a live version of it, which I guess is the version on the CD component of the Speak Now DVD/CD set

good stuff…
I got to thinking… the people I look up to wouldn’t be interested in my cynicism… this blog… dont think they’d be up for hearing about my insecurities that have pretty much ruled my entire life to this point… but I think a couple of them like Lady Gaga and Taylor Swift would understand perfectly because they’ve had to overcome adversity too… Lady Gaga had issues with insecurity, still does… so the two of us together would be able to hold each other up just fine…

man, if she figured her way into my life, I’d love to be a listening ear and she’d be the same for me…

Taylor Swift got me thinking that she might be level 2… she’d be someone I’d just love to hang out with all the time 😎

Robert might be take interest in the fact writing about him and watching his movies has helped me feel a little more grounded and just healthier than I am usually… the perfect escape… other than that, I’ve yet to figure out what he’s been doing for my life, how he’s changed it…

…anyway, away from that…

I was watching the season finale of Joan of Arcadia… finally some… I dont even know how long ago I got it, I got through the whole first season… so of course I gotta go buy season 2 to at least see how the series ends…
at least to see what happens after this…

it feels like such a cop-out what they did… supposedly Joan had this case of Lyme disease for months, even years… so it could suggest that all the times she’d been seeing God in physical form (pretty much everybody from different ages, colors, creeds, she’d come across and they tell her something she needs to do… )
she’d been hallucinating… so all the stuff she’d been going through in the series because he made the strong suggestion of it, now she probably doesnt even know what to believe anymore…
that vulnerability kinda hit home for me, especially during the scene where she confesses to her boyfriend Adam about all this stuff that’s been happening… and man, I could just imagine being in her position and wanting someone to cozy up next to me, hold me and tell me it was gonna be okay…

several hours later, I tried to bring that to life and it didnt come to pass… I was too busy trying to explain the situation rather than just jumping into it…
but maybe getting my mind off things forced the issue out of my head…

my mind was fixating a little much on the injury that came to my attention earlier that day and I was trying to say to myself that it didnt bother me that it was gonna turn out okay…

a few comments came in to “not give him any pain killers”

:sigh:
I get that from both sides and yeah, now that you mention it, that kinda bugs me too… but I don’t think it’s serious enough where he needs to take pain meds of any kind…

before I could even say it out loud, I read a comment that said for him to come over and there and he’d get a foot rub…

cuz I was going there… what I’d do… I’d tell him to take it easy… give him an ice pack if the pain flairs up… and when its feeling a little better, I’d give him a good foot rub
I’ll stop right there before I start listing my favorite pieces of him… because somewhere on #4 or 5 are his feet…
I don’t have a foot fetish per se… just his feet just aching for a little TLC

okay I’ll stop…

another thing I did last night to keep my mind off unnecessary stuff… I finally picked up that first album by The Time…

and it really did feel like a first effort… actually it felt like it was entirely done by Prince… really didn’t hear Morris’s vocals come in until the third or 4th track…

what really got me annoyed after the first couple minutes… okay 4-5 minutes in… I looked at the album’s back cover and the first song was LONG… I mean, like 9 minutes or so…
then there was another song that was TEN minutes… and the last one was about 8…

WHAT THE HELL, MAN?

its almost like these were all grooves that Prince was working out and just decided to put Morris’s vocals to to sell it as someone else’s work… dude, I ain’t buyin’ it…

the first song was “Get it up”… and yes I know what it means…
but literally, there’s only maybe one verse and a chorus… that gets repeated a couple times and the rest of it is a groove that rides itself out… sure it was a great groove, but to me, there’s more to a song than repetition like that…

“Girl”… had me almost going oo and awwing because it was so sweet sounding… I was kinda freaking that it was the same song Prince used as a B-side for ATWIAD… which is pretty hot in its own right… phew, I dont think ive listened to it since seeing that string of R-rated movies

[also gotta remind myself to watch Hollywood Exes tomorrow night at 7… I’ve got “Real Steel” at 8 tomorrow… and the next night, I have “Hitch” on TBS… which Id been kinda interested to see, but havent gotten around to… mainly cuz I keep forgetting but I hear its really funny]

I liked “Girl” and wish it was a lot longer than it was… unlike some of the other songs…

“After Hi School” was SO cheesy I dont even know where to start… it sounded almost like “He’s so dull” by Vanity 6… which I think was written by Dez Dickerson… therefore he probably wrote both of these and Prince put his name on it…
something about people asking what you’re gonna do after you graduate… Morris refuses to get a job like this one person told him to at one point (as much as he probably hates to admit it, he wouldnt have made it into the business without Prince giving him the spot in The Time, lol)

“Cool” became one of Morris Day’s signatures… as a song and a vibe… and I could see why… I liked the groove from “Get it up” a lot more… but it was a good groove nonetheless..

it was around this point where I started to see a lot of similarities in their work… i.e. Morris repeats the same sentiments A LOT…

here he did a similiar thing that he did at the end of “Wild & Loose” which starts their 2nd album…

it got really repetitive and each time I heard it, I was on the verge of just falling on the floor cuz I was laughing so hard (had to keep quiet or I’d draw a lot of attention at 11 at night, lol)…

there was banter and it went like this…

Fellas?
Yeah…
are you hot?
NO!
and you wanna know why?
why?
cuz we’re cool
COOL!

I swear, every single time… where they responded and said NO! it was so over the top that I was just losing it on the inside… my god… 

with “Wild and Loose”… it was more like this…

Fellas?
Yeah
where the party at?
right here under your shoes
Fellas?
Yeah
what time is it?
time to get wild & loose

“Oh, Baby” was another sappy song that was too short for me… it was just getting good when it was ending… got me thinking about “when we’re dancing close and slow”

which I actually turned on after the album ended…

this stuff came after Dirty Mind… but it sounded like Prince wrote most, if not all of it, around the same time as his 2nd album… because of the musical similiarities…

approriately, the last song was a long groove… and it was called “The Stick”…

yep… he went there… 

in the song he was telling his girl to give him space or just back off… cuz “I wanna work the stick in my ride”… 

there were a few moments throughout the album (I lost count) of where he says “what time is it?” which became the name of the follow-up album…

I recognized the sentiment from the dialogue towards the end of “The Walk”
where he tells his girlfriend (who he keeps calling Grace… being performed by Vanity)
“and if you’re good, I’ll let you work the stick in my ride”

there was maybe twice in the album where he said “somebody bring me a mirror”…

the 2nd time was with the song… and I’m thinking “oh no, he is not going there”…

and he did…

“somebody bring me a mirror… I need to look at my stick”

UGH… like he needed a mirror to watch a little magic happenin’ in his drawers…

I couldn’t get too mad because this is Morris… but at the same time, I just wanted to say STFU… thank you and goodnight

(the acronym is easy enough to decipher and if not, GOOGLE IT!)

so it was a pretty good album, but not the kind of thing that I’d rate as a triumph or a success because there wasn’t a lot of substance…
and I found it very uneven… some songs were too long and others were too short… 

with What Time is it?
I think Wild & Loose runs for about 7… 777-9311 runs for about 8… The Walk runs for 9 minutes and the other two fall under 5 minutes… and track 3 is shorter than “after hi school” which is probably the shortest on the album… 

if not for Prince, I don’t think I’d have any interest in it whatsoever… 

The Time got better over the years… but their golden age was between 1982-1985
I’ll see what happens when I give their  new album for a spin, but I dont think it’ll get much better than that narrow window of excellence…

now onto Goodfellas…

GOODFELLAS REVIEW HERE… and I did my best to keep most of the spoilers out of it πŸ˜‰

its one of those movies I’d been looking around for to watch for a while but the time was never right… something else was always going on… 

looking thru of the list of movies I’d seen recently, The Blues Brothers is the only other one that fits the bill of the similar situation

I swear there were a couple more movies like that… that I waited around a long time to watch because I was making all these excuses… 

now I can honestly say:

a) I have seen “Goodfellas” and

b) It was WELL worth the wait…

there was a lot of controversy because this movie didn’t win Best Picture… that went to “Dances with Wolves” with Kevin Costner… I’d have to see that for this comparison… but I’m thinking, yeah, this movie was cheated out of a well-deserved Oscar

I mean… wow…

it’s probably one of the best movies EVER… it was done so well… it was almost like a work of art because all of the details were just right… the direction was AMAZING (Scoresese really deserved credit for this… and I doubt winning for The Departed will ever be enough to rectify this miscarriage of justice)…

Joe Pesci really deserved that Oscar win, the only one this movie got… which really sucks…

I’m looking for another comparison to use for this… but can’t find any…

It takes a lot of talent from all the right people to make such a forbidden subject look this good… in this case, it takes so much talent to make… almost had it… the mob life look approachable and a club you really want to be a part of… like its the best way to live…

the greatest part was one of the best unexpected pleasures…

oh, now I remember… it was Butch & Sundance… those guys were notorious robbers in the old west but that movie made them look like heroes… one of my favorite all-time movies, but probably nowhere near as close to the top of this movie is…

…anyway what I was saying…
unexpected pleasure…

I decided to watch the movie on a night where they were doing Story Notes on AMC… throughout the movie, they flashed random facts on the bottom of the screen that went along with certain scenes… like there was a countdown to one of Scorseses’ famous tracking shots… which was like 3 minutes where the camera followed the protagonists around without cutting to another scene… it was pretty cool…

then when a new song came on, they would show the title and the artist… pretty cool how he did that, putting in the music that sounded like something that would have been popular at the time thats being shown in the film…
makes you feel like you’re in the 50’s or 60’s rather than a film being shot in the 90’s

in one scene, one of my favorites…
Ray Liotta tells Pesci “you’re a funny guy”… and he keeps asking him what he means by that…
supposedly it was based on a conversation Pesci had with a real mobster that he was waiting on… as a waiter back in the day… hilarious πŸ˜€

the movie is basically about mobster Henry Hill and how he fell under the spell of the mob life and the experiences he had with his fellow mobsters… but it really make things look like this was the best way to live life 😎

early on, it was funny when as a kid, he got beat by his dad because a letter came home that he’d been skipping school (been working all this time at a mob owned pizza shop)… the mob went after the mailman and told him not to bring any more mail to the house
like they really had his back…

man, made me wish I had that power… to tell someone to take care of something and they’d threaten or beat the crap out of somebody to rectify the situation but that’s pretty morbid when you think about it…

Joe Pesci’s character Tommy… he was such a cool character… but he had a really short fuse… he didnt have patience for anybody who even told a bad joke about him…
his body count started piling up because of this…

I dunno… it was between Scorceses’ thing for detail, the great acting, the oddly lovable characters, great muisc, and excellent writing…

from a writing standpoint, it was as flawless as “Shawshank”… every detail was in the right place and everything fit together like a bow on a present…

of course, aside from seeing how it ends (and yeah, its a bit of a downer because a couple people got killed and it was very abrupt… I really do hate abrupt endings where you dont really see the rest of the story, although they had writing at the end that explained what happened to the mobsters involved)…

what I looked forward to the most was the incorporation of “Layla” in the film…
its a song by Eric Clapton when he was with his band Derek & The Dominos…
really long… but whenever I look it up on YouTube, I see comments on the bottom that say something about “goodfellas”…

the piano coda played during a montage where a lot of bodies started coming up…
mostly people that used the money from the latest big score to spend on expensive unnecessary stuff and to make sure the authorities didnt get wind of anything, they got killed first

(one of those casualties was Samuel L. Jackson who had a small role in this, but I got to thinking… SHOOT, that ain’t right… cuz right now, I see him as one of the biggest badasses that ever lived… he didnt deserve to go out that way, but he more than made up for it in later movies)

I think I was paying too much to the song to appreciate what else was going on, in dialogue or narrative…

the latest was that they were gonna “make” Pesci… he’d become a mob leader so DeNiro and Liotta would have a guy on the inside and things would work out better for them…

DeNiro wasn’t nearly as good here as Pesci or even in Taxi Driver… his character wasn’t the one I was gravitated towards in this… Pesci was freaking awesome and Liotta had this naivety about him… although he wasn’t perfect… he was pretty abusive to his wife on a lot of occasions…

the part I look forward to the most listening to that song was the very end… where there’s this bird call that’s unlike anything you’d find anywhere else… it just hits me so hard deep down like it was the perfect moment of that entire song…

now that its been a while since seeing the movie, I can’t recall too well right now… but even before the scene, having not heard it in ages… man, a rare moment of beauty…

also thought it interesting that Liotta’s wife’s name was Lisa… and she reminded me of Marisa Tomei in “My Cousin Vinny” between the hair style and the accent
and of course there were a bunch of guys there that made it onto the Sopranos because of this movie… and if not for the movie, might not have had The Sopranos…
never saw it when it was on, but at some point, I probably will

This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

