Gonna review [a record]… how many movies again?

I believe I’m up to 5, but I’ll have to double-check the list that’s growing a little bit each day.

:sigh:
I finally did get around to doing that video I said I was gonna record… the downside was that it wasn’t my best take… the first take was the best take, but considering it was 34 minutes long, yeah, I see that getting on YouTube…
I’m not sure how well my personality will play out with this version. Didn’t get to go as long as I wanted to on some things, but that’s what other videos are for… the individual things to talk about… most of which I won’t even think of posting until I have my movie blog started, which is relying on me seeing more movies…
tomorrow I’m gonna do 2 almost in a row… The Color of Money, which I heard was a great Tom Cruise movie and of course Scorseses wow’d me in “Goodfellas” so why not continue that…
then “Conviction” with Hilary Swank as the will-be lawyer who will graduate law school just to be her brother’s attorney

after a longer take than I realized… I almost missed getting there just in time to see the movie, but got there in time… plenty of parking spaces so I had no worries about getting in and out… I think I was one of maybe 7-8 people in the whole room, but we were getting into it in the places where it asked for it…

there were 5 previews… “Oz- the great and powerful” with James Franco as the will-be wizard of Oz… great animation and all that, but James Franco, really? don’t have a whole lot respect for the guy… I don’t care if he got an Oscar nomination for 127 Hours… of course they nominated him, he spent most of the movie in one spot, having his hand being crashed by a shoulder… having to fake that situation for as long as the movie is… yeah, nominate him, but of course he wasn’t the best (and no I haven’t seen the movie, don’t plan on it)
the sequel to “Knocked up” which is called “This is 40” with Paul Rudd & Leslie Mann as this couple that’s been together forever and working on reinvigorating the romance now that she’s 40 and all that… Paul Rudd’s got a face you can trust, but at the same time, he has played a couple jerks… he and Owen Wilson have that in common… and I think I’d side with Paul Rudd cuz he has that boy-next-door look… still does

umm… what else… The Life of Pi, which looked really interesting… kinda loopy… but whatever, its a best-selling novel, I’m sure it’ll rank in box office sales… and who knows… Ang Lee could be up for another Oscar

I’m forgetting one other… my luck, it was one of the first previews… and I think I did predict what the movie was… oh right…
I didn’t know the name of it, but I knew this one was coming… with Clint Eastwood and Amy Adams… The Trouble with the Curve… yeah, Clint Eastwood, one of the most respected men in Hollywood, has been pigeon-holed into that “old curmungedon” role… thats what he brought to “Gran Torino” (great movie, btw)… I gotta see more of his older stuff… preferrably “Unforgiven” simply because it was an actor/director/best picture win for him… for the record, I have seen Dirty Harry, the original and Magnum Force… great movies too

the last one kinda brought me down to Earth quite a bit… kinda like… I dunno… it’s not quite as dramatic as this metaphor I’m about to use… but it felt like riding a meteorite that was about to come into impact with the Earth…
and I know this feeling was coming over me because I figured after a couple lines of the song, that it was Anne Hathaway singing the role of Fantine in the latest “Les Miz”… ooo… I’ve already got chills thinking about it… man, if she didn’t have the Princess Diaries franchise, she would have been awesome in Phantom of the Opera… which she was tapped for but had to pull out due to the scheduling conflict…
I cannot wait to see that one… I’ve already heard that she gave such a great audition for this that people were getting weak at the ankles… her character is a tragic one, but… wow… dare I say it, I smell another Oscar nomination that she could possibly obtain, but we’ll have to see the competition

The Bourne Legacy… finally onto the actual movie…
honestly, I found it a little disjointing in the first 15 minutes… we kept going back and forth between Aaron Cross’s POV and that of the CIA or whoever the hell is running this thing… they’re busy reeling over the Jason Bourne problem… supposedly this side story with Aaron Cross was running simultaneously with the plot of the Bourne Ultimatum…
it was a little hard to connect with Jeremy Renner right away… but part of it was because he was so bundled up, couldn’t really get a good look at him…

I like having that connection with actors to kinda establish their characters… get what I’m saying?
at one point, he finds this guy while he’s en-route in Calgary for this mission he’s on… don’t know what it is, don’t get a whole lot of details… but after a while, I started to come out of my head a little bit… and suspected that I recognized the guy he found in the mountains, another agent perhaps… not quite sure…
he was Blue, the “ring leader” of the brothel setting in Suckerpunch… I dunno how I figured it out, but something about those eyes and that tone of voice… the disposition this character had… never thought I’d say that I was glad to see a familiar face…

with the Jason Bourne thing going the way it is, Edward Norton and his buddies decided the only way to cover their tracks is to destroy all their agents… to avoid being locked away for conspiracy or something… I assume that’s what this is about, I’m not great with the legal jargon and all that…

there was a little bit of tension I could feel in the room with this guy (btw, actor’s name is Oscar Isaac)… not sure if he was gonna draw a gun on him or not…
I suspected something was gonn happen, something was gonna blow up cuz Aaron kept hearing something in the air, which I deduced to be that something was heading in their direction, like a missile or something…

sure enough… BOOM… one guy dead…
and Aaron Cross uses his tracker to fake his death so he can operate under the radar

right now his motivation is getting more meds so he can keep the genetic mutations in his body going… or else he’s half the warrior he is with them…

we also have a storyline with Rachel Weisz’s character, Marta… who’s playing the role as the sexy scientist… er… neurologist or something… she’s always kinda had that quietly hot factor but I only say this cuz she really did bring to The Mummy movies (I have refused to see the 3rd one because she’s not in it… not quite the same without Evie)
she’d recently given this other scientist clearance to do something, I didn’t even hear what experiment he was doing… but we get a scene where… I think it’s because after seeing a bunch of movies, things start to run together, you learn to pick up on little tricks… he went into another room in the lab and took great care to take off the handles of the doors…

yeah… there will be blood…

naturally everyone gets killed except for her… because she’s gonna be the female “sidekick” in the movie, she has to live…

phew… pretty harsh stuff… that was where things started to pick up a bit…

but when I was pretty much in for the long haul… she gets out of there in one piece… a couple people show up at her house asking her questions about what she knows about the program (they’re connected to the meds that were given to the agents in this special program)…
two things I did not see coming… them eventually turning on her, trying to kill her… and guess who comes out of hiding to lend a hand…

I’m thinking WHOA… COOL… it just happened so fast… Aaron Cross takes care of all the people sent to kill her and they escape…
finally, we’re stabilized between two story arcs… Aaron Cross & Marta (who later adopts the alias June Monroe)… and Edward Norton and his crowd… who are trying to figure out how she escaped and who helped her… naturally they don’t suspect the dead guy

his next step is getting back on the meds… she tells him that they stopped doing that ages ago because… I dunno, even as a science major, I got lost in the jargon… basically they have to get the place they’re making the meds and she needs to construct a new virus to infect him with so he can forever maintain those special abilities of his

we have the Bourne cliché shown in the first film where he gives her the choice to leave or stay with him, but warns her that if she leaves, she’s in worse danger than she is with him…

they head to Manilla in the Philippines where the factory is… of course we have the CIA or whomever working to find where she is… they go through all their databases and footage to find where she’s going and also to find who’s been aiding her progress…
dead guy isn’t dead after all…

so they walk through the front door of the factory easily because one of the guards outside recognizes her… a couple of people are sent inside to kill them… he makes short work of them… pretty predictable but plenty of moments left for surprises… you know how it all works…

[…just been checking back and forth for the past couple minutes… my progress bar has just filled up for the movie I uploaded on YouTube but its still doing that symbol that signifies processing… hopefully it won’t still be there after I do a couple of these reviews…
oh wait, there’s something else going on… processing
I bet there won’t even be a lot of buzz about this video… lol… all this trouble I went to and it’s only 10 freaking minutes…
that’s an improvement… I didnt get a chance to select thumbnails for the last 2 videos I loaded…
down to 5% to go… I guess there’s enough where I can keep going]

it was kinda predictable too that after getting injected with the new virus that he started to pass out after making the getaway…
geesh, that was kinda intense…

[upload complete… and it only… I dunno, almost 3 hours… I’d try to shorten them next time, but geesh, I feel restricted in that time frame where I feel like I can’t do a whole lot with the time I have… anyway, here’s to getting the ball rolling]

and I’ll take this entry upstairs now… don’t need to patrol 2 email accounts anymore

so… we’re here the next morning and supposedly [shoot, gotta brush my teeth at some point too]
they commissioned a local guy to take care of the duo… kinda like what Treadstone did, but apparently these guys made it WORK (… :roll:… such snobs, I tell ya)

we have this really lengthy chase scene where I’m half thinking wow and when the hell is it gonna end, which isn’t a good thing…
the negative part was that I didn’t figure it would be the last big chase scene in the movie, like this was the grand finale…

as wise as I think I am about this movie stuff, there are always things to escape through the cracks of my seal-tight mind (kinda like that one part of Avengers where I was freaking Loki was gonna turn Tony Stark to ‘the dark side’… DUH’oh… never gonna let myself forget that one)…

I kinda thought that they were gonna tie things up real nice, but it was just… the music started coming in… and yeah, that’s the end of the movie…
that’s what sequels are for and if it takes off right from this point, where they’re on that boat in the middle of nowhere… I’m there 😎

Jeremy Renner would easily launch this next franchise… not a doubt in my mind…

[man, thats one part of that long vlog I did that I wish I hadn’t forgotten… saying how he helped me describe actors and directors and different styles and stuff… but there’s time for that with the related films I’m gonna do]

a few days ago, got around to “Dances with Wolves”…
and ended up gaining a whole respect for Kevin Costner I never had before… in fact I don’t even know why… there was no principle really behind it… just thought he was a good looking guy without a lot of substance (all I had to go on of his work to that point was Robin Hood: Prince of Theives, which was great… and Tin Cup, which sucked… maybe I’m used to him getting pigeon-holed in roles where he’s overly cocky and thats a big turn off for me)

there were bits and pieces of moments where my attention lapsed a teeny tiny bit… but it always came back around…
interestingly the scene in the beginning where he’s riding on that horse, apparently committing suicide, that was improvized… they didn’t even know he was gonna do it on set…

after that, he gets put on this one station on the frontier… at his request cuz he wanted to see it before it got taken over by the white man…

just to make sure I didn’t miss a thing, I actually cued up the closed captions… but they kinda got in the way some of the time like I caught myself reading more than listening…

we bring in the Sioux Indians in as interesting as a carmerderie as you’d expect between two different people and of course there was one white girl in the tribe that would go on to be the interpreter for both sides…
and naturally he learns some of their language, enough to understand a lot of it and enough to speak some of it himself… getting to know the different characters there and seeing how they connected through the smallest things… that was pretty cool.

and later on, it kinda felt like Avatar where you really do come to hate your own goddam race because you’re siding with the other side… well, that goes without saying…
so how was it that this film won best picture and Avatar didn’t?

I still don’t know…

what I do know is that this epic film did describe consideration and the win… I’d just prefer Goodfellas in the long run because its shorter and heck, it was a lot more fun…

Dances with Wolves are great in its own respect… its hard to do a long film that keeps the attention of the audience most of the way through (or at least in my case and someone else I know, who more or less recommended it)

I found it a little disappointing that there was only ONE wolf… kinda felt like a misnomer, haha…

and the worst things the white man commited on-screen was killing the only friends he had for the longest time… his horse, Cisco (who survived several horse-nappings but not a bullet)… and of course the wolf, Two Socks…
fucking idiots… he was doing nothing to them and they had to kill him… wolves never catch a break, do they?
I would have liked more footage of Two Socks but that’s just me big fan of wolves myself…

Kevin Costner acted real well and knew how to direct this thing…
the best part was how he decided where to finish the film… he cut it just before the impending slaughter of the tribe that kinda adopted him into it… that would have just killed the whole spirit of the film…
one of the best scenes was when his Sioux friends came back for him and made short work of the guys hauling him back to camp for a hanging

naturally some eyes were rolling in my direction afterwards, asking me WHY…
I dunno… certain movies you gotta see at least once, I guess… this is one of those films along with Casablanca, Gone with the Wind, Citzen Kane… heck, even Ben-Hur and Lawrence of Arabia that you gotta see at least once in your lifetime… hadn’t seen the other two, but not in a terrible rush about it…

then a comment got thrown in about it being “him being political”…
geesh… does everything have to be about fucking politics?

I 1-UP’d that one…
“well, at least it was a good message, unlike what Mel Gibson does in his directing… with all that anti-semitism”…
I’d have to get back to you on the scenario that would I refuse to see Passion of the Christ, even if Prince himself asked me to and by doing so, we’d be friends for life… highly unlikely, but if the possibility came… I probably would if he asked… just don’t ask me to talk about it afterwards cuz there’d be no words….

utterly refuse to see that film because I’m not uber-religious, it’s a freaking long movie and it sounds like bloody torture (in essence, it really is… probably fringed on NC17 territory because of the brutal torture scenes)

I can respect Mel Gibson for his acting ability and surely for the entirety of Lethal Weapon and likely its sequels (I gotta at least see the 2nd one… again… just cuz Pesci is priceless in that role, lol… always worth another watch)…
but I can’t stand by the films he directed (with the exception of “Braveheart,” which I might see at some point because its alongside all those other movies)… not my cup of tea and I’m not about to get into a shouting match (or whatever equalivant I can manage) over something like that…
just out of ridiculous curiosity… pending the company I’m with, I might just watch “The Beaver” because a) Charlie Bartlett is in it and b) Jodie Foster did this as a favor to Mel Gibson and I know she knows what she’s talking about when she stands by people… even if Kristen Stewart continues to become a punchline, that’s a commendable thing for her to do 😎 …and yes, that does trace back to Downey… ultimately


the day before that, I saw “Hitch” with Will Smith, Kevin James and Eva Mendes…
it took me a little while to warm up to it although the opening monologue had me uber-intrigued…

supposedly it is Hitch’s business to coach average guys in romancing the girls they’re crushing heavily on… kinda teaching woman to see beyond the exterior and really getting to know the inside…
by the end of it, all I could ask for was that… Hitch, can you do this for women too?

seriously I need a piece of that action myself… getting coached into getting the hot guys to notice me despite being Plain Jane ordinary looking in every conceivable way…

I got a little lost in the plot, which left a lot to be deserved… I didnt feel like it went deep enough for me intellectually

heck, I was under the impression that it’d be a movie about him coaching Kevin James who eventually wins over his lady… like every other rom-com I know
so to be fair, that made it a little deeper than I expected…

I think Eva Mendes works for a tabloid magazine cuz her boss was going insane over seeing Kevin James and his lady friend together… wondering how that even works (you know, hot girl, dumpy guy)… like, why is that such a big deal? maybe cuz she’s famous, going through a famous divorce so its like a hot topic…

of course she and Hitch start going out… despite their own qualms (him not wanting to invest too much, which is why with the guys he lets them on their own after the 3rd date… her being highly into her career, no time for relationships)… they start to like each other…

until the BOMB drops…
she’s out for blood, looking for this guy who’s making all these arrangments… finding him connected to getting the other couple together, but I think mostly she’s on this man hunt because a bad set-up screwed over her best friend who ended up with a loser of a guy…

she thinks she caught him when in fact, she debunked a great business… kinda ruined his reputation…
and we get back to Kevin James and his situation… Hitch meets with the girl who demands to know how he got all the information about what he did on all their dates…
apparently all of the things he did were all him… none was suggestions from Hitch due to research… that was kind of a nice twist…

the very end was exhausting… we were running out of time so it didnt look like they’d get back together… but they stuck in at the last moment that, oh, the man I’m with is my sister’s husband…
that would have helped some 3 minutes ago :falloff:

there were some good twists, but I kinda found it clunky as a whole… with the plot and even the actors at times…

the night before that… Real Steel… which I kind half-ass watched because I was in the middle of a chat…
yet another occasion where Hugh Jackman doesn’t get to use his hot Aussie accent…

he is such a jerk in this movie, it was hard to really invest in his character…
supposedly the story is that he’s an ex-boxer who’s now building robots (like everyone else) to do the boxing… his ex wife recently died and he signed custody of his kid over to his ex’s sister…
who I know as Charlie Bartlett’s mom… it was somewhat of a fresh twist to see her in a different role… where she’s more serious, down-to-earth and… to be honest, the better possibility of custody between the two of them…

the aunt’s husband then asks him to take the kid for the summer because the two of them are going on vac-ay… and he doesn’t want the kid tagging along… real nice guy 🙄

the two of them bond over the sport of the robot fighting and their contender is an older robot that the kid found in the ground in a junkyard…

overall, I’d say its one of those cases where… oh, the movie looked so good in the trailers but when you finally see it… you see the magic is IN the trailer itself… outside of that, its not nearly as spectacular…
the ending has a little of twist, but other than that, I won’t give anything else away

which leaves me with the final movie…

Ice Age: Continental Drift

(and for once I think I finally spelled Continental right without having to fix it… for some reason its always such a hard work to figure for me)

my sister wanted to see it so the two of us went… I was leaning more towards ParaNorman but if I was gonna be a good older sister, I’d let her decide for one of the movies…
it took a little while for me to get into, but once I did, it was well worth whatever little we paid to get in

no joke, the first show at our local theater is less than 5 bucks per ticket…

before I forget, it starts with a Simpsons short “The longest daycare” which is mostly music with no dialogue… of course its about maggie at a daycare… dealing with a bully and trying to keep a butterfly from becoming another notch in his proverbial belt…
really engaging short, and great overall story

Ice Age took maybe 20 minutes for me to thaw out… cuz it was full of teenage clichés… Peaches is a teenager now and Manny the mammoth of course is being overprotective dad… :sigh:
the bright part of it was Peaches’ friend… I think his name was Louis… but everyone kept calling him Weiner… I’m gonna guess thats his last name, but man… that was a little much, I think… that repeating joke… he’s a really nice character…

we have the Peaches storyline and we have Sid and his G-ma… who his family dropped off before they abandoned him… again… worst family EVER

and there’s this running joke throughout the movie that she keeps calling to her pet Precious, who everyone believes died or is invisible… G-ma sloth is played by Wanda Sykes, who really makes for a great feisty G-ma

one cliché leads to another… Peaches goes to hang out with the cool kids… Manny finds out, they fight and after this fight, the three men and G-ma are separated from the rest of the herd in this shift of the tectonic plates…
Finding Nemo, anyone?

but once the separation took place, the movie took off for me…
the group runs into pirates, among them is Shira, a white sabertooth tiger played by Jennifer Lopez (who kinda takes away, for me, the nature of the animal she’s portraying… sure, Diego has gone a little soft over the years because he’s paling around with the herbivores, but Denis Leary still makes him sound like the animal he’s playing should… tough)…

easily the toughest of the pirates was the captain… who I found out at the end was played by the dwarf in The Game of Thrones series… (my mom would know that and im sure a few people that are fans of the series do… I only know of him because I saw him win a golden globe this past year)…

so they play cat & mouse with the pirates through most of the movie… there’s a shipwreck where Shira gets separated from the pirates and of course spends time with the 3 guys…

on the other hand, we have Scrat’s storyline… where this time he has a real goal.. finding the equalivant of Atlantis… and more sheningans happen along the way with him…

one of my favorite scenes maybe halfway through the movie was where they commissioned the help of this large group of small furry rodents (who kinda look to me like a prehistoric version of quolls… which is like a small rodent-like marsupial with spots on its back)…
Sid communicated with them almost flawlessly… and I kinda figured where he got that from… in one of the earlier movies, I forget which, he got kidnapped by a bunch of tribal sloths that were gonna eventually sacrifice him because thats what they apparently do to their gods, haha

but those rodents were literally so cute I couldn’t stand it
I get off on stuff like that…

things get a little intense towards the end where, predictably… the pirates get to the rest of the herd before they do, there’s a stand-off… things happen, fights break out and of course the good guys win and Shira becomes one of the good guys…

and Scrat’s adventure in Atlantis was also pretty predictable as well…

man, don’t you hate that with movies… but if you’re not a junkie like I am about them, you probably wouldn’t notice the difference :shrug:

I thought about this a little while into the movie and it had me thinking “yeah, really…”
there was this big thing in the first movie that Manny was seemingly the only mammoth left… he finds Ellie in the 2nd movie, which is practically the only other mammoth there is, and she was raised by possusums so she thought she was a possum for most of the movie…
yet we’re in the 4th movie and there are 3 other teenage mammoths too… so much for being the last of the species… or rather, it’s that thing called “inconsistency” or “mistake in continuity”

the charm of the Ice Age franchise did work its magic and yeah, I was glad I came out to see that one…

so of those movies…

Dances with Wolves probably had the best quality
Bourne Legacy was a close second…
Ice Age was the most enjoyable

This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

