For your consideration, Mr. Adam Levine

I’m gonna pretty much spend this entry on Maroon 5’s newest album… and possibly going into my list of my favorite songs by Adam Levine and his quintet of talented musicians…

shoot, that’s like 5 now…
I’ve been honing my knock for IDing the artists in new songs I’d been hearing on the radio

it kinda started with “Darkside” and I placed Kelly Clarkson’s vocals pretty quickly…
after that, No Doubt’s newest song, but it helped that I knew that they were coming out with a new album…Gwen Stefani’s vocals are pretty easy to ID
…then there was another one… “She’s so mean” by Matchbox 20… also aided by the fact I know they have a new album coming out… but Rob Thomas, I know pretty well from his 2nd solo record (still kinda looking for the first one for his first solo single “Lonely no more”)
yesterday I picked out a new song by Pink… her voice is pretty easy to recognize as well

and now..
the newest single from Train… maybe because I recently (like 5 hours ago) heard a sample of their song “Drive by”… which is one of maybe two songs of theirs that I actually like…
Drops of Jupiter, I kinda hate on principle cuz the first few bars sound like a couple of my favorite songs at that time… All or Nothing by O-Town and Drowing by The Backstreet Boys… much the same reason I really don’t care for Nelly Furtado’s first single… I swear, the first couple bars of “I’m like a bird” sound exactly like the opening of “Bye Bye Bye” by *NSYNC

hmm… a bunch of these principles are around boybands songs… interesting…
never ceases to piss me off, though…

also heard Taylor Swift’s new song on the radio on the way to the movies…
I’ll have to hear it a few more times to be sure, but man, it sounds like her sound’s chanced a bit in the past year or so… the whole pattern of how the song ran was completely different…

hmm… maybe I’ll work on this downstairs… I’m getting hungry and probably should start dinner…

been waiting around all day for this huge video to load on a random site… I only wanna share it via email and this is taking too damn long… I’d had the window up for maybe 8-10 hours now… its exhausting and the more time goes by, the more I believe it’s not gonna completely load…

I’d been kinda stressing out to get onto the next video already, despite the fact I haven’t gotten a single comment from my first one… eh, it might be weeks or months before anyone thinks to give me a reply if its gonna draw that type of response… I certainly hope so…
the next vlog I do will focus on “Ally McBeal” and the character of Larry Paul… that was a big chunk of the larger video that I wish I hadn’t forgotten to mention… even though the one I posted could probably be up to the length limit… that’s going to be a really key part to winning anyone over about my videos… now if only I could remember what I said and do the same again, rather than me having to actually watch the longer version back… don’t wanna have to do that cuz I hate watching myself more than listening to myself…

it goes along the lines of… if you do it more, you get more comfortable with it… and it’d be something if these videos could free up that part of my brain that’s afraid to say a little too much… I highly doubt anyone but maybe the man himself would appreciate my longer rants about him :shrug:

I don’t know what to say, really… its hard to explain, but Larry Paul became a part of my daily ritual… something that I didn’t have for a long time after being unemployed for so long… I started watching out of curiosity and I ended up with possibly the best role he ever did… one of my absolute favorites cuz… with the exception that the woman he shares a son with was scheming to steal him back from Ally and he’s still close friends with his ex-wife… I really don’t want to attach the word “perfect” to anyone he played, but Larry Paul to me comes off as the perfect boyfriend/husband type…
mostly from him being something of a therapist to Ally early in their relationship and he told her things that she didn’t have the guts to say but understood…

nah, I’ll stop there because the way it came off was so flawless and I want it to be that kind of improvision…
spontaneity

… now onto my favorite morons, Maroon 5…
when it’s me, trust me, that’s a term of endearment because that was the way I thought the name was prononuced and to be fair, maroon & moron have the same definition if its talking about a person rather than the color…
what does the name mean… I dunno… Adam Levine said that its a private joke that only the band and Billy Joel know, haha… something like that… my guess is either that 5 guys are marooned on an island… or its another way of saying “red 5” which was Luke Skywalker’s co-sign in the first Star Wars film…

I finally decided to pick up their Snapple flavor… I mean, c’mon… how can you resist this play on words on my favorite of their songs…
Tea will be Loved… I know, so cheesy but I love the name…
interesting combination of flavors…. there’s pomegrenate, orange, raspberry, blackberry and hisbiscus… it has the flower aroma and maybe a mix of orange and raspberry… thats what comes out the most to me… which doesn’t taste too bad

I’d say that the album is back to true formula, a short cohesive album…
but actually, their 2nd album has 13 tracks on it… the remaining number are b-sides and outtakes that were on the extended version of the LP… which I felt like I had to have because it came from a DVD as well… and I just couldn’t get enough of the band… or I just wanted as much music as I could get a hold of…
after a couple of years of fighting it, I finally decided to request their album for Christmas

I still think the first album is a masterpiece, so its always going to be at the top of my list… I get this from the title where they’re all songs about the first love of Adam Levine… that alone kinda binds it together in my mind and nothing’s really going to change that…
I’d been trying to string a storyline through it ever since with the idea of an off-Broadway musical in mind… the music’s so good that I’d love to see that story brought to life 😎

this new album is so widely different than anything they did before… Adam Levine said it was the first time they wanted to include other songwriters in the creative process… people like [the great, I think] Max Martin and Ryan Tedder of OneRepublic (who’s becoming equally as brilliant as the years go by)…

but there’s literally a completely new mix of genres and its kinda refreshing for something different… I think I read a couple of reviews that said all they know how to write are love songs and they’re always about the same old stuff… well, we got some other stuff thrown into the mix to help mix it up a bit

yeah, the 2nd album has 13 regular tracks and 5 b-sides/outtakes… which for me makes it feel like a longer album…
every other album has about 12 songs on it… yeah…

one thing’s pretty consistent in their work… the same types of songs usually occur in the same parts of the album…

we have the first track that’s almost always a break-up song or about a relationship thats on the way out…

in this case, it kinda feels like the opposite of the 2nd album’s starter track…

“If I never see your face again” sounds like a summertime relationship and they’re both going their separate ways being completely consentual…

in “One more night”… things take on a different meaning almost entirely… I’d have to double-check, but I think it’s the first time, possibly the only time… where he sings about a girl that’s been seducing him, he wants to get out of the relationship, but he can’t seem to resist her body and charms

[okay that was weird… I clicked and ended up separating my two Internet windows… they were both tabs on the same browser… dont even know what I hit, lol]

you don’t often hear about a guy wanting out of a relationship in this way… but thats what he gets for thinking with the wrong part of his body…
man, that really convulates things… I always kinda thought of Adam Levine as not your typical gentleman type… he doesn’t look like the kind of man that could sweep you off your feet… the tattoos and such make him look like a guy who’d be accustomed to leather jackets and motorcyles… but he really has a heart of gold underneath all that…

what’s really striking about “One more night” is the genre of music…
it kinda feels like the kind of song you’d hear at a beach party, the way the plucking of that guitar sounds… its also kinda similiar to this song “Sex in the summer”… carrying that beach vibe as well… but at first “glance” (whatever the audial equalivant is)… it reminded me of a few R&B, almost hip-hop like tracks I’d come across… something by Missy Elliot came to mind, strangely enough… not a huge fan of her and her stuff… mainly cuz the one song I could ID, I cannot understand a single word… with that thick ghetto voice and all that…

eh, its one of those songs I’d heard on American Idol one too many times… its usually in the group rounds…

but yeah, the whole vibe, whatever it was… it really worked for this song and even now, I remember it real well… and thats the mark of a great album opener

up next is the single on the radio right now…
“Payphone” kinda struck me as something different when I heard them perform it the first time… they hadn’t done something like it in their music before… while I”m thinking about it… I dont know all the words yet so I’d better look it up…

one thing that kinda had me doing a double-take was when they muted Adam Levine on the air… there’s a lyric in his “Makes me wonder” where he drops the f-bomb, so it didn’t surprise me too much but hearing it the first time, one wonders what he said…

he dropped a couple of bombs in the 2nd part of the chorus

if happily ever afters did exist
I would still be holding u like this
all those fairy tales are full of it
one more stupid love song, I’ll be sick

pick a couple of choice curse words to sub in for those two… its not really that hard…
but he did put those cuss words in originally, he must have been really pissed… all I can say…

here, it paints him as the hopeless romantic that’s been let down yet again…
not that I’d say he’s the next Shakespeare, but of this particular time, he is like the poetic type who can never seem to catch a break in romance

haha… that’s part of my original idea of him that I derived from the first album and the “she will be loved” video…

he’s using this song to muse about an old relationship that every day he wishes he can get back
the difference between this and the radio version is that here, he has a guest artist rapping where there’s usual a bridge…

I didnt pick up all this cussing when I was listening to the album, but there’s some vulgar stuff that this Wiz Khalifa threw in… kinda putting the stamp on there that she’s gonna regret letting this relationship go…

I don’t really see Adam Levine as the vulgar type so its kinda odd that this song ended up like this… luckily I dont have to contend with some of it on the album… most of the rap kinda goes over my head, but I feel like it sounds good enough where the song doesn’t miss a beat

another trend…
usually the 3rd song which comes after one of the first singles… it kinda falls under par of the rest of the album… mainly cuz the prevous song shines so much and usually it ends up feeling like filler…
Shiver, Little of your time and Stutter kinda feel like this… but they’re not entirely forgettable…

“Daylight” kinda is, but at the same time, after hearing it a couple more times… it does work pretty well where it is… the production reminded me of that David Guetta song “Without you” thats been frequenting the radio for the past year or so
I’m still kinda figuring out what the message is… its either about a relationship ready to break apart or one of them is leaving to go in the daylight… so at night, he wants to hold her tight, kinda musing about the way he wants things to be…
it’s not really a bad song, but somewhat forgettable…

“Lucky Strike”… when I think about it, it does have some similiarities to lesser known songs on their 2nd album… but at first, it sounded like something JMac would do with his new R&B direction… the rhythm of the song drives its excitability factor, so its an invigorating song to listen to… it’d be perfect for a dance club… actually I knew comparisons to that song “Moves like Jagger” cuz it had that same vibe

“The man who never lied”… today it suffered from the fact it followed the previous song… which is so exciting… the starring couple is having an argument on Hollywood Boulevard and he says he was, well, the title of the song until that day… because he couldn’t break her heart like she did the day before… what kinda gets me a little, not really falling for it completely… he never explained what the lie was… this supposed first lie he ever told… i’m the kinda person who kinda likes to know details like that…
so I found this song a little repetitive, which was my initial prognosis of “daylight”…

this is usually around the spot where the guranteed Maroon 5 ballad is… so it felt a little out of place like filler…
I do like the rhythm of it, though… it feels like a OneRepublic track, except that Ryan Tedder isn’t one of its cowriters…

[somehow I get the feeling that this thing is never gonna stop uploading so I might have to shut the whole thing down by midnight… I plan on catching some classic Gene Kelly around midnight and depending on how I’m doing, maybe Hesher at 4am… yep, im gonna attempt an all-nighter…

oh that should be fun… I could either kill time with more “AMC” or I can just watch some old Chaplin films on YouTube]

the guranteed ballad came a little later in the album than usual… track 6…
and already I can tell its gonna be one of my favorites on the entire record…
“Love somebody”… its kinda mushy but the chorus just had me purring, it was so sweet…
I’m already picking up on lyrics and I saw how it was gonna progress before it happened… that’s kind of the pattern that these ballads usually take… it has a similiar feel to “never gonna leave this bad”… if we’re comparing the guaranteed ballad from each maroon 5 album…

one of the most important things in an album, at least when it comes to the first couple times you listen to it, is that the songs are memorable… this is usually harder when a song follows the guranteed ballad, which is easily one of the album highlights… I think its more common that the third song or the song that follows the first/second single…
in all cases, the song that follows the ballad is just as good, just as memorable and sometimes more appealing…

[….sooo… I went to check on that one site… apparently it just decided that the page was unable to display… so I wasted the whole day waiting for it to upload and it was never going to…
SUCKS!]

“Ladykiller” kinda made me think about how “I can’t lie” worked next to the ballad on the previous album… it stood out and really got my attention after the song before it…
its also one of the most unique Maroon 5 songs ever…
from what I can tell, he’s advising an ex-girlfriend to stay away from a lesbian, rather the titular lesbian… the groove sounds like an old 80’s song… SO cool… like wow…
also another thing to add to a list of great Ryan Tedder songs that he co-wrote with other artists for other artists

“Fortune Teller” is gonna be one of those songs I’ll end up just not listening to after a while… its kinda repetitive… and his other half sounds like a little bit of pain… she’s freaking out about the future of their relationship, bringing it to that discussion rather than living in the moment… she sounds a little too insecure about things (sounds kinda familiar, but I’m trying not to put myself in that mold… I certainly dont want to be like Jennifer Lopez in “the back-up plan” where she spent most of the movie freaking out that her boyfriend was gonna leave her… thats enough to drive anyone away after a while, man…)…
it seems a little close to another song on the album, with the melody and all that, but yeah, after a while I got bored, lol

“Sad” is a piano-driven ballad… the first listen had me 2nd guessing Adam Levine and his skill as a singer/songwriter… cuz he sings at the top of his lungs during the chorus… I had to turn down the volume on my boombox because it sounded a little too harsh in spots… this time around, it wasnt that bad.
its like a break-up song after the end of a relationship and he’s kicking himself because he never told her that he loved her… now its all about the what-ifs and what he could have said

(which has me thinking… something recently had me thinking about Taylor Swift’s “speak now” concept… I dont know if it was a dream I had… I think it was but I can’t remember now… maybe that thinking was in the very back of my mind when I did that vlog yesterday)

the positive I eventually drew from it… it has the same feel as some of the potential break-up songs on the 2nd album… “better that we break” and “back at your door” both were driven by piano playing as well…
and its nowhere near as depressing as some of the songs on “hands all over”… after the first 7 tracks, it just got really miserable… I just couldnt get into  the rest of it except for two songs… the up-beat “get back in my life” and the duet “out of goodbyes” that they did with Hilary Scott of Lady Antebellum… a sad song, yes, but not as devestating as “just a feeling” and “how” had

in the next track, he talks about another overbearing girlfriend (kinda similar to the lover he had in the first track) who has “tickets” to her own show and he’s the only one thats going to them… she’s a little too into herself, I guess he’s saying…
it has a little bit of an edge, not nearly as overbearing as “ladykiller” which is easily a highlight

“Doin’ dirt” has something in common with “Lucky strike”… they’re both really great dance club songs… this one is easily the more infectious… well, I wouldnt say that… “lucky strike” had me still thinking about it through the song after it… it sounds like it’d be at home in the 70’s disco era… its all about having sex with his lover lyrically, but the beat is just so fun that you kinda forget that

“Beautiful Goodbye” is probably one of the easiest break-up songs to endure… it is just so pleasant and sweet sounding… not quite reggae (which I used to describe the vibe of the first track)… there’s a cute lyric where he kinda says “darn it, you’re even perfect when you cry”… he’s talking about them breaking up, but spend the chorus on that single tear falling from her eye

so it seems like a lot of the same patterns repeat themselves with their albums and the songs are about the same stuff… but its the way the subject matter is divulged that makes the difference every time

thats how I kinda define Maroon 5’s music as a whole… but I think even 10 years from now, I know the album is going on 10 years… but 10 years from now, I think “songs about Jane” will be among my all-time favorite albums of any artist… I’m a sucker for cohesive albums, especially with a lot of good material about love and relationships
if you listen to any of this band’s material, I strongly suggest the first album… it really is an exceptional piece considering how today’s music doesn’t really shine in that capacity…

today, its about singles and individual songs… places like iTunes are about that… the art of the album as a whole usually gets lost in the mix because there isnt as much patience for entire albums…
Im kinda the same way when it comes to some artists… depending on who it is, I’ll get music because I’m crazy about the artist or I want to own a certain single… if things go well, then I fall in love with the whole album…
last year was kinda about two albums and it could have been about 3 if I got to Daughtry’s new album before the end of the year…

Born This Way, The Futurist and Break the Spell… one was a must-have and of course, had to have the latest from the other two artists… all turned out to be great whole albums, although with Daughtry, I dont listen to every song on the album… same deal it was with its predecessor, Leave this town… because those songs were played on the radio so much, I have to literally skip two of them cuz i’m so sick of them

of course with The Futurist, I’ll occasionally listen to one or two songs cuz they strike my fancy… but I will never start a play through and abandon it… if im starting at the beginning, I will not stop…

Born this way, sometimes I will skip around, but I love listening to it as a whole…

her second album, The Fame Monster is another great whole album, but I usually rotate a couple of my favorites…

it’d be hard to figure out the order of the best Maroon 5 songs, even if I only picked 20 of them…

lets see…

with their first album, there are a few songs I consider personal favorites, but others might not consider them among the best…
one of my favorite parts is the three song finale… each one really helps build on the story… track 11 is cool because its the only one that was recorded live and it has the crowd noise thrown in to added effect…

[is it just me or do all of these albums start with a story about a relationship thats on its way out and the last song is always about saying goodbye?]

She will be loved
Must get out
Sunday morning

are my top 3… but I also have a soft spot for track 10 “through with you” because I love the musical aspects of it…

with the 2nd album, there is a pretty cool mix of everything because its so long… well, the extended version is… which kinda goes without saying 😕 so many good songs…

the first track really grabbed me the first time I heard it… so I’d have to include it… haha and later on I was catching on really fast to another song… as if it was vaguely familair… I didnt realize then that it was the same song, except this time it was a duet with Rihanna…
so many good songs…

If I never see your face again (track 1)
Won’t go home without you
Nothing lasts forever
goodnight goodnight (the first few bars sounds kinda like “Kryptonite” by three doors down but overall, a very sweet song from start to finish)
Back at your door (my favorite of the two piano-based sad songs… real nice sounding smooth jazz)…
and for b-sides, my favorite is the last one… “Losing my mind” kinda reminds me of at least the early part of “Sunday morning”

the highlights on “hands all over” is easier to ID of those three:

Give a little more (won me over almost immediately)
Never gonna leave this bed
I can’t lie (the best way I can describe it… its a blissful “sunday morning” that kinda is the epitome of infatuation… it captures that feeling so well… I could just lose myself in that forever)
Hands all over (for me, it was a sleeper hit… took me a while to really get it, but when I did, its just irresistible)

and the songs that stand out from this new album, “Overexposed”

one more night is a great album opener, payphone was a great first single…

Love somebody
Lady-killer …easily two great ones that automatically make the best of the best list
lucky strike
beautiful goodbye

so overall, I have maybe 20…

she will be loved
must get out
sunday morning
through with you
if I never see your face again
won’t go home without you
nothing lasts forever
goodnight goodnight
back at your door
losing my mind
give a little more
never gonna leave this bed
I can’t lie
hands all over
one more night
love somebody
lady-killer
lucky strike
beautiful goodbye

…close, 19…

I love so much of their music that its hard to really figure out my top list…
its a little easier to list the ones i’m not crazy about, i.e. the ones I usually skip

but of all those, “Secrets” from their first album is still a better song than a bunch of the latter “skippable” tracks…
because its so long, im sure most of them are on the 2nd album… barring that one track from the first album (which is practically flawless)…

Little of your time (kinda suffers cuz it comes after a strong single)
can’t stop (comes after a couple of strong songs)
Kiwi… I heard it maybe twice and never played it again… just didnt like anything about it :shrug: maybe its a little too into that sweet motif where he’s talking about how she’s as sweet and juicy as a kiwi… a big part might be the fact I really hate kiwi… they’re gross…

most of the b-sides arent that bad… I havent heard “Infatutation” in ages but since I kinda used it to describe how I felt about a certain someone in the early stages… it’s worth a revisit…

of the b-sides…the weakest track is “miss you love you”…
for the most part, I think this is the part of the album that really goes back to formula and brings back to mind why the first album is so good…

me personally… I found “hands all over” very disjointed and inconsistent… I just looked into wikipedia to see what the critical reception was… mixed reviews, but most were positive…
I found some of the songs were lacking in some way… and others just plain felt out of place…

“Stutter” only feels like a step backwards because the song before it is so good… so different and fun…
then track 4, “Don’t know nothing” kinda feels like something from the 60’s or 70’s… like something kinda old-fashioned… it just didnt feel like it fit on the record… nothing there was anything like it, except for track 2, but its a different part of that spectrum

the bad karma that came with that album, I can still kinda feel what that was like…
it got to the point where as an entirety, it felt devestating to me…

then “never gonna leave this bed” was the best saving grace I could ask for… it was the perfect song for that time… and man, its a really sweet Maroon 5 ballad… of maybe the four between the albums… I havent heard “won’t go home without you” in a while… so that’s why im leaning this way
this track is only 2nd to “she will be loved” among Maroon 5 ballads… it is just that good… its so heartfelt and the piano strokes give it that poignency
then to back it up, “I can’t lie”… love love love…

‘hands all over” like i said took me a while to get into…

but for the bottom of that album,the lowest low points…

Don’t know nothing
How
Just a feeling
Runaway

the last of those isn’t nearly as bad… it’d probably fit in with that track “through with you” or something later on in the first two albums…  it has a different sound than anything else the band did before..

How and Just a feeling are like two pieces of the same story of a relationship thats falling apart… “How” felt so devestating that it made me want to crawl under a rock… I just couldnt handle it

“out of goodbyes” is a good last song and the addition of Lady Antebellum is a nice additional touch… but it kinda sucks having to say goodbye even after all that the album is…

which makes me so glad that this new album is something fresh and different… where i dont have to always be fearful of the new and different… if at all possible, never come in with a preconceived idea about what its gonna be like cuz its not likely to match up

so for the bottom of all time… not many at all

Secrets
Kiwi
Little of your time
can’t stop
miss you love you
don’t know nothing
how
just a feeling
runaway

and from the new album… not a whole lot of these songs fit this bill…

I think it’ll only be Fortune Teller and potentially “the man who never lied’…

so that’s 10-11 songs out of 50 something… thats a pretty good trade-off…

only Lady Gaga is better…

between 3 albums, there are only maybe 5 that I don’t really get into… most are from the first album, which suggets she’s only gotten better with time…

Teeth, I cannot stand from the 2nd album mainly cuz of the overlong performance of it at The Monster Ball…
even “Highway unicorn” from her Born this way album has been growing on me, so its mostly the first album

I often skip:

Beautiful Dirty Rich
the title track, The Fame
and Boys Boys Boys… I really dont like the first of these three… the rest, they just dont have me jumping for joy

so of maybe… 36 songs… I skip 4-5… phew… thats not bad

I wont even go into Prince’s music… with the sheer volume I have on albums alone… I’m sure I skip less than 10% of the overall amount…

speaking of him, I started working a little bit on The Word and kinda stalled out… I found i didnt have as much to say about the 2nd track, but it was probably cuz my attention was divided in multiple directions

i think im gonna abandon this notion for now… cuz clearly this site is taking WAY TOO LONG uploading half an hour of footage… geesh 🙄

I’d been considering… since Ive got time to kill, I might watch some Ally McBeal… I kinda need to have things fresh in mind if im gonna attempt to shoot another vlog tomorrow…

it also wouldnt hurt to listen thru Controversy another time… I doubt im gonna be able to concentrate on writing the chapter until I get this 2nd vlog done… man, my nerves suck, but the more I do it, the better I’ll get at it, im sure

as for that list of Maroon 5 tracks… my top 10 for all time… something like this

1. She will be loved
2. Never gonna leave this bed
3. Sunday Morning
4. I can’t lie
5. Must get out
6. If I never see your face again
7. Back at your door
8. Through with you
9. Lady-killer
10. Nothing lasts forever

This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

