Comparisons: book vs. film, game vs. sequel

The latter of the two will probably be a developing story…
I think I’m finally gonna do a blog entry about comparing blow by blow Kingdom Hearts and the sequel, II

but since I just finished reading “The Outsiders,” I thought I’d do a little comparing of the book and the movie.

I remembered when watching the movie that there were two scenes in particular that I read in the book and kinda liked hearing about (in sort of a sadistic way, just a little head’s up)… but there were a couple other scenes that also weren’t in the movie… I guess they wanted to keep it to a certain length

…shoot, just read that they kept it to 91 minutes because they didn’t want it to be too long or “upset fans of the book”…
what’s up with that? I woulda liked more to the movie and what’s there to really ruin anyways?
eh, a couple things, I guess

and supposedly a class voted Francis Ford Coppola as the director most likely to direct the film adaptation and they messaged him…
I don’t think I could see anyone else doing it, even though the only thing I know of Coppola is The Godfather… that’s Coppola 101 for you, all you need to really know about this director

gotta love IMDB, there’s more on the cuts:

In addition to the 22 minutes of restored footage in the 2005 “Complete Novel” DVD, there are additional scenes that are not included, such as: an extension of the “walking home” introduction where the Socs accost Sodapop and Steve at the DX station and Darry throws some debris from the roof of a house at their car as they drive past him (this extension also includes more narration by Ponyboy); an alternate introduction to Johnny where his mother chases him out of the house with a broom, only to be stopped by Two-Bit, who rushes to Johnny’s aid; additional footage of Ponyboy and Johnny at the church where they hide from some people riding on a horse; additional footage where Ponyboy and Darry have a fight only to be walked out on by Sodapop; an extended morning scene following the church fire where Ponyboy awakes and urges Sodapop to wake up, echoing the words he heard Darry say in his dream at the church about “rise and shine.”

a little extra stuff is good, but I don’t think any of that goes back to scenes from the book I woulda liked in the film…
and I did kinda notice this annoying scab on Ponyboy through a bunch of this movie, got it from a fight with the Socs shooting an earlier scene

During the restored dinner scene where Sodapop runs away, the character is seen with a piece of paper at the table. According to the novel by S.E. Hinton it is a “Dear John” letter from Soda’s girlfriend Sandy, whom he claimed he wished to marry.

I didn’t even remember that until I read the book again…

let’s see…
Sarah Jessica Parker and Brooke Shields turned down the role of Cherry Valance…
I don’t think either of them could have pulled that off… they certainly didn’t have the natural red hair to look the part…

interesting trivia here… gotta love stuff like that, I tell ya… that’s a big part of enjoyment for me with movies… kinda going into the woulda/shoulda/couldas

first I’ll go into those two scenes

the first was understandable… they wanted to get the film started quickly and didn’t want a lot of exposition to bore people…
Ponyboy got jumped in the first scene of the book and a couple of his friends and brothers Sodapop and Darry were there to save him…

the movie starts with a little narration, right out of the book, and it shows Dally, Ponyboy and Johnny going to the movies

I’m not gonna bother with the blow-by-blow of the synopsis cuz I don’t feel like it

the other scene was basically after a couple of deaths happen, Ponyboy collapses cuz he’d been kinda sick this whole time… still recovering from the church fire and such…

geez, I’m a sadist… I was kinda complaining cuz they cut two scenes where harm was brought to the protagonist…

and strangely, I did use what happened to Johnny as inspiration, or rather I “borrowed” for fanfiction…
a couple years later, I got a guilty conscience over killing off a character and came up with an elaborate scheme to resurrect him that involves, wait for it, time-travel

I’m such a dork, my apologies….

for the most part, the movie was cast real well…

Its kinda funny how the biggest name in the cast ended up being Tom Cruise as Sodapop’s best friend, Steve… who had a minor role in the movie, probably was a little more of him in the book
even funnier, the character description was that Steve was 6′ 2″… :falloff:
he was reportedly reading the script for “Risky Business” at the time, so this had to be one of his first movies ever… he was interested in Diane Lane playing a character, but her daddy wasn’t feeling up for it… kinda like in the “no daughter of mine is gonna play a hooker” sorta way

this was Rob Lowe’s first movie… which doesn’t surprise me too much…
Sodapop is happy-go-lucky and all around, a nice guy…

supposedly a lot of the scenes cut out of the film were his because there’s a trivia bit here that says he didn’t see the cut scenes until the 2005 DVD release…

I guess that means if I ever get the movie, I gotta get that version… with all the “lost” footage

Sodapop wasn’t in the movie enough for me to really judge how well he was portrayed
I don’t think much of Rob Lowe, think he’s kinda overrated as an actor… rewatching “St. Elmo’s Fire” helped me kinda see he had a good side… but as Sodapop, as far as I remember, he did the character justice… however long he was on screen, he did it well

Patrick Swayze these days is known for two things…
Dirty Dancing & Ghost

a lot of people forget he was in this movie too… I think he was featured a bit more than Sodapop, but I don’t see Darry being played by anyone else…
he’s the oldest of the Curtis brothers and after their parents died in a car accident, he assumed guardianship… so he’s a bit of a harsh authoritarian, at least the way Ponyboy sees him (via narration and the dialogue)

Matt Dillion, except for “In & Out,” I have never seen him play a nice guy… I think Francis Ford Coppola had a hand in that unfortunate type-casting…
Dally is really rough around the edges like your stereotypical hood… and supposedly he did a little method acting, in that he spend a night in a prison to research his character (per the director’s suggestion)
nobody could play him the same way

interestingly, Anthony Michael Hall read for Ponyboy…
uhhhh… hell no! that SO wouldn’t have worked… certainly not in 1983 where he was this little dweeby guy… as Johnny, maybe, but not Ponyboy…

let’s see…
Emilio Estavez played Two-Bit… who’s kinda like the comic of the group… he got his nickname (I picked this up in this past reading) because he always has to get his two-bits in a conversation, ending it with a ba-dum-bum-worthy joke

that was another perfect cast… but then again, I saw this movie almost simultaneously with reading the book in class (as part of the actual class)

I cannot say enough how perfect Ralph Macchio was as Johnny…
poor kid… he grew up in a really broken up house… I wasn’t even aware he had a drunk father… the movie only really focused on his relationship with his mother, which was equally unpleasant…
all he had were the Greasers… they were the only true family he really had…

he was a wide-eyed kid scared of his own shadow (at least had been for a little while, after he got jumped and almost beaten to death… and ironically, he ended up killing the guy that did that to him) but deep down, he had a good heart, same as Ponyboy… the two of them were pretty close in that way because I guess Ponyboy couldn’t really do the same things or talk about the same things with the guys as he did with Johnny
like going to movies and enjoying sunsets, that sort of thing

C. Thomas Howell as Ponyboy…
I’m still kinda on the fence about that… its been more or less lately when I’m thinking about it that I’m thinking… I really don’t care for this guy…
I didn’t care for his voice or listening to him… I thought his acting was a little awkward in places

[haha, there’s a list of lists on the side of the screen… one of them is “250 movies better than Shawshank”… I dunno, man, that felt like one of the best movies I’d seen EVER]

I was just checking to see if he did the voice of a seahorse in Finding Nemo because when Marlin the clownfish tells him something ending with “Ponyboy” and he questions it right back…
nothing in here about him connected to the movie, but that woulda been HILARIOUS

someone commented in the messageboards… why didn’t this guy get more parts, he auditioned for every 80’s film and kept missing out…

hmm…
definitely wouldn’t have had any sympathy if he were cast in Less than Zero [there’s nothing here about that, but I’m just saying]

yep… I think it really was the actor that made all the difference with that part…

anyway, the story was handled real well…
I think my only other critique, aside from some casting and the scenes out from the movie…
I didn’t care much for the musical score… at least not in the opening… :shrug: can’t quite say why,

although there are comments to “beware” the 2005 version because they “ruined” the musical score by changing it
I’ll have to see for myself, I guess :shrug: I’d like to see the extended/outtake scenes

Coppola knew how to make the audience react to parts of the book and certainly made it a lot more dramatic than it read in the pages… then again, it was all from Ponyboy’s POV, so you couldn’t really put too much extra in the actual book…
lol, Ralph Macchio shoulda got an Oscar he really was the heart & soul of the movie, what made it human, tangible and believable

PG?
man, if this were released a year later, I think it coulda garnered a PG13 rating easily

one thing I kinda noted was that Ralph Macchio must have a major growth spurt between doing this and The Karate Kid

:falloff:

now I’m starting to think it wasn’t so much that he shot up…
he was just around a lot of really tall guys…
I mean, Matt Dillion and C. Thomas Howell were tall guys… of course he looked tiny by comparsion

thank God he got that role in the Karate Kid… Johnny got the short end of the stick and its nice he got to play another character that was stronger and really lived…

that’s something else I love about the movies…
when good actors get roles that don’t work out too well for their characters, there’s usually something around the bend that makes up for that fact

and there’s always a chance for redemption in the eyes of fans…
I’m working my way through that with Kevin Costner and borderline, have a bit more respect for him than I did before

and Matt Dillon, I doubt I’ll ever become a full time fan or fall in love with him or anything (btw, eww)… but its cool to see at least one time where he doesn’t play a jerk or a guy that’s only out for himself (whats who he played in “There’s Something about Mary”)

fun fact: I refused to see that movie for the longest time after I saw the first 10 minutes…
where Ben Stiller got his “most valuable appendage” caught in his zipper… Jay Roach wasn’t shying away from showing that… I don’t care if it was real or not, that was still a gross-out scene for me

and yes, I cringe at that more than the fact Mary (Cameron Diaz) put some semen in her hair believing it was hair gel… or the fact that Ben Stiller did “prep work” before going on that date with her…

I haven’t seen the movie in a couple years, but I did finally see it in its entirety… its not bad… (the dog got the short end of the stick that time)

Pulp Fiction was another one of those movies, but needles freak me out a lot more…
but once past that, the movie was freaking awesome

btw, RIP Michael Clarke Duncan
despite the fact I’d only seen him in a couple movies, he was a good guy and will be missed

and also, HURRAY! Kelly Ripa finally has a new co-host

I so wanna kill all the people that leaked who it was before the show aired… GEEZ, People!

Prince was right… nobody likes surprises around here…

I’d also like to make another side-comment in that… I never cared much for those tabloid/grocery check-out magazines… I swear they’re just making crap up to sell a damn magazine

and for those people chiming in with their “well, duh”‘s…  STFU

but I finally reached my limit…

there was a headline on the National Enquirer about Taylor Swift not only marrying that Kennedy guy, but that he knocked her up and that’s why they’re getting married…

a lot of words are coming to mind and I’m trying to sort out the right ones… here are a few:

WHAT HELL IS WRONG WITH YOU PEOPLE?
THAT’S NOT TRUE
WHY ARE YOU MAKING THIS CRAP UP?
WHY ARE YOU THROWING TAYLOR UNDER THE BUS? SHE’S A GOOD PERSON AND DOESN’T DESERVE THIS NONSENSE

I could go on… you pick on Taylor and you gotta deal with me and her fanbase

and I’m thinking her new single (which, btw, may or may not be about Jake Gyllenhaal, I’ve heard) is really starting to grow on me…
its gonna be one of those songs you can’t get out of your head yesterday it was already working me a bit after it came on the radio

I think I’m gonna be mildly freaked until the two of them break up…
nothing good came out of being with a Kennedy and I’d be crushed/devestated if a young star like her becomes another of those so-called casualties

although I still doubt that Marilyn Monroe was murdered by the Kennedys… or the whole rumor that JFK was having an affair with her and supposedly that’s why she got killed… that’d be stranger than fiction, I tell ya…

she was kinda like Elvis in that greatness was kinda thrust upon them because they kinda turned people on in their own ways… but at the end of the day, they were really lonely and it was difficult to deal with the fame and such

my next book is gonna be “The Perks of being a Wallflower”…
because they’re gonna release the movie in a couple weeks and I’m intrigued… I lived my life as a wallflower :shrug: it’ll be interesting for sure

but I kinda wish that the protagonist was a girl that I could relate to its always that the guys are too shy to live… but what about girls like me? geesh…

it’s bad enough Bella gets the criticisms that she does… as of right now, she’s all I got as a literary character I share something common with…
not so much that I’m a klutz, but I never really fit in anywhere until I fell into my group of friends

plus, this movie’s got Logan Lerman (Percy Jackson) and Emma Watson… can’t go wrong 😉

I’m also interested in “The Words”… its got a lot of intrigue and sounds like its already getting a lot of props as being one of the year’s best movies

I was totally geeking the hell out while watching ET’s fall movie preview last night…
I’d heard about a couple of these just from IMDB movie posters and already, Oscar discussion… Ben Affleck’s Argo being one of the ones I’d been hearing bits about

but there looks like there’ll be plenty good movies to go around…

and of course they were harping about Breaking Dawn and people picking it apart to see if there were hints of the two stars breaking things apart or a little distance between him and Kristen Stewart…
I think that’s totally ridiculous as is the notion of wondering whether people will still go see it..

umm… DUH… Twi-hards wanna see how the movie works out, idiots

its kinda what we do :shrug:

me, I get a little on edge every time they show a new part of the movie… I’m not in the business of surprises, apparently… meaning, I’d like to have them rather than being spoiled…
kinda like I was with Avengers, but at least now I’m not freaking out with each uttering of “we have a clip”
via Kirsten Wiig’s delivery on SNL


it looks like we might slum it the next couple days with movies cuz my dad’s gonna be down at the shore, which is my mom’s cue to put in movies that he’d be rolling his eyes at otherwise

so that means Lord of the Rings, Harry Potter and Twilight, for starters… are on the table…

I might opt for Harry Potter, but we’ll see what happens
I’m thinking of catching the original Freaky Friday on Showtime tonight before the part 1’s of Gordan Ramsey’s finales…

it’s SO obvious that the final two are gonna be Christina and Justin… Dana was a mess during service and certainly couldn’t lead the brigade… I cannot WAIT… actually I can’t wait until the season ends cuz I hate her confessions… everytime, it’s at the top of her voice where everything is sarcasm…

geesh, I love sarcasm myself, a firm believer in it
but even I can only take so much

I’m probably gonna start a little into my Kingdom Hearts discussion here…

there are a bunch of things that changed between the games… some were good, some were great, some were, not so much… but they weren’t as bad, technically…

here’s the basic premise…

In the worlds of the game (most of which were based on Disney movies), creatures of darkness called Heartless are taking over and the characters, Sora, Donald and Goofy have to go around the worlds defeated these Heartless… along the way, they meet Disney characters, some of which are the villians…
the main core of the story is that Sora’s world was destroyed by the eclipse of the Heartless taking over and along the way, lost track of his two best friends, Riku & Kairi…
there’s a love triangle and Riku chooses the side of darkness, with Maleficent from Sleeping Beauty at the helm (the league of Disney villians as it were, which includes Jafar, Captain Hook, Ursula, Hades and Oogie Boogie [Nightmare Before Christmas])… Maleficent’s scheme is to not only use the Heartless to rule the worlds, but she plans to use 7 princesses of purest heart to reveal the biggest keyhole from which the Heartless could fully overrun the world

one of these princesses happens to be Kairi, who lost her heart when their island was destroyed

so additionally to defeating the villians, Sora has to use this weapon called the Keyblade to seal all the keyholes, from which all the heartless get into the world… or actually, I think the keyholes lead to the heart of the world and sealing them is to keep the heartless from destroying the worlds from the inside… my bad

…that’s roughly it…

Sora reunites with Kairi, who gets her heart back… and afterwards, he, Donald and Goofy have to defeat the main villain of the game, Ansem, who was behind the heartless taking over the worlds… after he’s defeated, they’re separated from Riku and King Mickey (yeah, I know! so cheesy… Donald and Goofy went to find Sora, aka the keyblade master, in order to find their king)… and Kairi goes back to the island


the 2nd game is a bit more complicated to explain early on… but that’s in part because of the middle game, The Chain of Memories… which was only available on Nintendo DS or whatever the next generation was… I didn’t want to deal with the secondary format after getting used to the controls (although I think they did finally release a playstation version)…

both games start with a “home world” story arc before the drama comes into the game…
its more or less a training ground where you can get used to the controls and such, also give your characters their set of abilities that they’ll maintain for the duration of the game

in the original, a lot of “setting of abilities” took place after the opening theme and that animation sequence (btw, the opening/ending sequences with the songs… the best animation you’ll see in the entire game… nothing against the regular cut-scene animation, but the animation looks like something out of… maybe a real legit animated film… although “Final Fantasy VII: Advent Children” isn’t the best example cuz only fans of the Final Fantasy games will ever see it)…

these are set by picking out weapons…
like with the original, you had to pick a sword (which ups strength), a shield (which ups defense) and a staff (which ups your magic counter)… this also determines the order you learn your abilities in…
unique to the first game are the addition settings brought on by:

discarding another weapon (so you’ll start the game with +1 one stat and -1 another) and
answering questions… and depending on whether you pick a, b or c and how many you pick, that determines how fast you level up when in the game…

like if you answer mostly a’s, you level faster early on, b’s, level up normally and all c’s, you level up faster later in the game

I also opt for mostly a’s to make things easy


as far as difficulty goes, II is easily the hardest of the two games, ESPECIALLY in the beginning… that’s why, with the exception of once or twice, I always started with +1 defense… because the game’s really hard otherwise…

the “home world” story arc usually involves sparring with partners to gain experience, earning money (mostly the 2nd) and I guess character development :shrug:

there’s one fight that crosses over both games and kinda unites them, along with a lot of the same characters and such…

in the “dream” world that opens up the first game, the climax is fighting a huge heartless called a Darkside
in the 2nd game, it’s an alternate universe that the character comes into, I don’t exactly know how… he fights a giant white creature…

the biggest difference…  and it sucks…
with the first game, if you die, the story continues on, but with a different cutscene
with the 2nd game, if you die, you die… and you have to do the fight until you win… and the 2nd of the two is the hardest one

there are a couple somatic differences over the two games… one’s awesome, the other not so much

in the first game, you couldn’t skip the cut scenes
in the 2nd, you can…

I thought this was an AMAZING feature, especially considering how difficult the 2nd game was, I didn’t want to have to see a bunch of the same scenes over and over

the games have a lock-on feature… where you can press L1 and you lock onto your target, makes fightin easier…
in the 2nd game, you can’t change targets, at least I don’t think you can, certainly not the same way with the 2nd game (where you press L1 multiple times)

it’s not a huge disadvantage, but I find it annoying every now and again

The 2nd game has the arguably LONGER “home town” story arc…
you spend 6 days in Twilight Town playing Roxas, and you got into it thinking… who the hell is this guy? where’d Sora go off to?

in the opening animation sequence, not only does it sum up the previous game, but you see that he and his comrades were storming a castle and he was plunged into an eternal sleep… and Roxas emerges from that…

in the first game, you have the “dream” sequence, two days of gathering items for this raft Sora is gonna take with Riku and Kairi to see other world, and a half dozen cut scenes… that’s basically it

the 2nd game… there’s something different every day… Roxas starts to see things that are out of place in the world that his friends don’t seem to notice… he keeps having these dreams that are really cutscenes from the first game… there’s a struggle tournament where people fight with foam bats… another day, he goes to another town with his friends to do a report on the 7 myths of Twilight Town… all of which were debunked… well, not according to Roxas anyway… each of them had a couple of twists… the final one, he definitely didn’t imagine…

something about a girl that you see in the 2nd story window of a mystery mansion… he saw her and she tells him a little about himself…

then another character shows up out of nowhere… some guy named Axel that used to be a friend of Roxas’s… but he doesn’t remember him… as a result, there are a couple of battles with this guy… the 2nd is REALLY cool… Roxas gets a 2nd keyblade to fight with and the battle’s suddenly a lot easier

there are another set of creatures introduced in the 2nd game called Nobodies…
when a person loses their heart, a heartless is created from the darkness in that person’s heart… and the empty shell left behind develops its own existence…

Organization XIII is made up of Nobodies, born of strong hearted people who lost their hearts…

Roxas eventually learns that he was a Nobody from the Organization and he was Sora’s Nobody…
kinda created in an unusual way, much the way Naminé was, the girl in the mansion… she was Kairi’s Nobody and has spent most of this story arc putting Sora’s memories back together

apparently he lost them and himself when he stormed the castle :shrug: I dunno…

so Roxas inevitably disappears and once again, Sora is at the controls

the animation changed here and there, some for better, some for worse… obviously the graphic have improved, but I didn’t care nearly as much for how much Sora changed… even if he is a year or so older than he was in the last game… little details changed here and there

this coming from a person who occasionally has the hots for animé characters
…I don’t like stuff to change

Haley Joel Osment’s voice was inevitable too… because its part of getting old…
tee-hee

one of the questions I always answer a for laughs

“what are you afraid of?”
A) getting old

:falloff:

but I was glad when they decide to keep him on board…  he really does have a great voice for this character and its not quite the same, but its still familiarity

the biggest difference aside from the storyline is that… in the 2nd game, the story arc is LONGER… because after the climax in the middle at the homebase world of Hollow Bastion, you go back to the worlds a second time and fight another round of bosses

that’s actually kinda cool… by comparison, the first game is way too short… my cousin was able to play through it in 48 hours… but that was in part because I lost my memory card… in my parents’ car… and they were on vacation to AussieLand for a couple weeks…

the worlds repeat, some are new… but some themes repeat…

Kingdom Hearts, you get:

Traverse Town (homebase)
Wonderland
Olympus Coliseum (from Hercules)
Deep Jungle (From Tarzan)
Agrabah
Monstro (which is an odd world because when you encounter it enroute to whichever world you do after Agrabah… and afterwards, half the time, I can’t find it when I want to go back for items and such)
Halloweentown (Nightmare before Christmas)
Atlantica (The Little Mermaid)
Neverland
Hollow Bastion
The End of the World– which is the Heartless world at the end of the game

because the Final Fantasy characters featured in the first game were originally from Hollow Bastion, it makes sense that its the homebase in the 2nd game

Sora gets a different set of clothes in the 2nd game, mostly because he’d outgrown the ones he has…
but the characters also go through some changes

Leon (aka: Squall Leonhart from FFVIII) isn’t nearly as cool looking in the 2nd game… his leather jacket now has a fluffy white collar… honestly, WTF
Yuffie (who I also believe was from FFVIII)… I think she had a green shirt and yellow short shorts… now she’s wearing all black and looks more like a ninja
Aerith… in addition to getting a sucky new voice actor (whatever happened to Mandy Moore?!)… she was Cloud’s childhood friend in FFVII… is wearing a different dress
Cid… I forget which game he’s from… lol… he gets a voice actor, period he didn’t have any spoken lines in the other game… just thought bubbles

Cloud is the protagonist from FFVII and he’s also wearing all black… looks a lot better than all those clothes just thrown together on him in the other game…
Hades had him under contract to help him defeat Hercules in exchange for finding someone for him… which the cut scenes in the credits suggests is Aerith

it also introduces Tifa, who’s looking for Cloud throughout the 2nd story arc in Hollow Bastion… also from FFVII
and Sephiroth, the villian from the same game, is given more of a role… rather than being just an alternate boss in the first game

aside from physical attacks, abilities and magic, there’s an attack method called Summons where you summon spirits of individuals as an alternate party member…
the hearts of these individuals were so strong that even though their worlds were destroyed, they were turned into summon gems…

summons still exist… but there are different ones… in most cases, the summon gem individuals were resurrected along with their worlds, now playable)

now for the other set of worlds:

Hollow Bastion (now the homebase world)

The Land of Dragons (from Mulan… Mushu was a summon gem)

Beast’s Castle (Sora met The Beast in Hollow Bastion, searching for Belle who happened 2b one of the 7 princesses)

Olympus Coliseum (…the name is kinda out of date because the majority of the game playing is in the Underworld… aka: Hades’s playground… the coliseum looks exactly the same… or at least it did…)

Disney Castle… which you can FINALLY play… it was on the map in the first game, but not accessible…

Port Royal… the pirates from Neverland are now the pirates of the Carribean…

Agrabah… looks quite a bit different and has a lot more to this particular world

Halloweentown… which also looks completely different, but it also has Christmastown

Pride Rock… Simba was another summon gem… somewhat of the jungle aspect from Tarzan’s world, but not really

Atlantica… which underwent the biggest makeover of all…

in the first game, there was another world within Traverse Town…
the 100 Acre Wood… which is mostly mini-games that you do with Winnie the Pooh and the gang…

that’s also true in the 2nd game… but I thought it was totally ridiculous that you had to go around the worlds and find the torn pages all over again… the driving force in the storyline came from Pooh getting a case of amnesia… this happened after the heartless almost stole the book containing the world

Hollow Bastion has the book… but it also has another world…
and that was when I got introduced to Space Paranoids… aka: the world of TRON… never heard of the movie beforehand so I was thinking WTF through most of it… also, it was the hardest world in the game so far… the graphics are decidedly a LOT better

Disney Castle has a world within a world too… known as Timeless River… aka: the world of “Steamboat Willie”… so its kind of a time portal… to the plot of Disney Castle before it was built

Atlantica… I thought I had a bone to pick with 100 Acre Wood, which had me thinking… it really brings down the level of game play for the audience… in other words, I thought they added it just to have a kiddie friendly world…

sorry, I’m not interested…

but Atlantica was almost completely leveled down in the 2nd game…
you can only go two other paths and that’s it… the whole world is made up of mini-games and Ariel’s story arc

now, she was cool in the first game… you could add her on your team as an alternate party member (as you could with Tarzan, Aladdin, The Beast, Peter Pan and Jack Skellington), she was really helpful… and she was mature
Nostalgia Chick has more than a bone to pick with The Little Mermaid because she was analyzing it like a college professor… she didn’t buy into the fact that Ariel sold her voice to have a chance with the only human man she’d seen in her life and she’s already in love with him, etc, etc.

seeing Ariel in the 2nd game kinda makes me think she might be right to a degree 😕
she comes off almost like a child in the game, spending a little too much time daydreaming and being mopey

and even if they are easy (for the most part), having a world entirely made of mini-games sucks…

the worst of it is…
there are 6 plot points… after getting thru a mini-game (all of which involve timing in songs), you get booted out of the world, with the message you can’t progress until you’ve learned this ability or have your gauges up to this hash mark…

so you literally have to keep coming back to the world until you get all of the abilities… the last time I played, I just waited until the end of the game and did it all at once… took me half an hour… that’s it

of couse you have a bunch of villians being resurrected and you gotta deal with them all over again…

Maleficient comes back for the 2nd game… but this time, she has Pete as a lackey… you know, from all the Mickey and Goofy cartoons back in the day…
the two of them take turns going to worlds, trying to turn the residental villians against the heroes, even aiding them…

in most cases…

the first story arc involves defeating the Disney villian…
and the 2nd story arc involves defeating a Nobody boss or just an original boss

Land of Dragons… well, that was already set…
Shan Yu and a heartless dragon…

Beast’s Castle…
a couple heartless bosses… and one of the Organization…

fighting Organization XIII SUCKS… I’ll just say that right now, obviously they’re some of the hardest villians in the game to fight

Coliseum…
Pete and a bunch of heartless… followed by the Hydra from Hercules
then, I think Hades for the 2nd time around

Timeless River… Pete

Port Royal… Barbosa [Pete worked with the pirates] and later, a Heartless

Agrabah… the reverse is true… first a pair of Heartless
then the Genie version of Jafar…
Pete found the lamp and tried to set him free… eventually it was the Peddler from the opening of Aladdin that did

Halloweentown… Maleficent resurrects Oogie Boogie
and later, there’s an original boss that appears that’s neither heartless nor nobody

Pride Rock… Scar..
and later a Giant heartless

Space Paranoids, it was a heartless and later,
Sark & the MCP

the final world is also similar to the final world in the first game… but still different

you get The World that Never Was… which is the Organization’s world…
there is a lot more to it than the Heartless world… which was just 3-4 layers…

I love how developed the final world was… even though some of the villians were really tough to beat the first couple times… but it wasn’t meant to be easy…

other asethetic differences are the way the gauges are shown…

Sora, Donald and Goofy all have their gauges in the same corner…
the MP bars are replaced by a single one…

with the Cure spell, which heals health, Sora always heals his whole party, or rather whoever’s in the vicinity… instead of specifying who gets healed with the spell…

there’s also the introduction of a Drive gauge… and that corresponds to the abilities of Sora’s clothes…
gotta hand it to Flora, Fauna and Merryweather

it takes a little while to get used the drive forms you receive throughout the game, but once you do, they’re fun and things are a lot easier when you do get them high enough… in fact, you can move faster with some of them… if you level up the forms enough, abilities you get in them carry over to your regular stat

Valor-red- allows you to jump higher
Wisdom- blue- allows you to do a dash… as it gets higher leveled, I equate it to the flash step that soul reapers have in Bleach… although the distance isn’t nearly as great
yellow- gives you the ability of a Spin Jump
white- allows you to glide… kinda replaces Glide & Superglide from the first game

in all but one of them, you also get to use two keyblades at once, which helps with attack and also special abilities…

this discussion could literally go on forever and I’d be a complete dork about it… so whatever, I might add more later, I might not, I dunno…

weather-wise, today’s been pretty crazy… got a lot of rain, thunder and a few power outages tonight… I think most of its done now, but I’ll see…

I’ve got a movie lined up for at least the next couple days…

before the storms got really bad, I caught the original Freaky Friday on Showtime…
the opening was GOOFY… my god, the 70’s were such a different time… the animation kinda reminded me of Rankin/Bass, even though it was Disney

the storyline felt really improbable for me… huge fan of the remake… a magic fortune cookie makes a lot more sense to me than a spontaneous exchange of minds when the two people weren’t even in the same building… just didn’t make as much sense

then the switch-back… that made even less sense… and there was a police chase in there… which was really strange and out of place… didn’t expect it

in the end, I still like the remake a lot more… but the original Freaky Friday has its charm too… maybe that’ll get me the kick in the pants I need to read the book it came from… I tried to, but couldn’t get through it because it was nothing like the remake… 🙄

there were obvious differences and strangely, certain parts that happened in the story still occurred, but the roles were reversed

like Jodie Foster got the makeover whereas Jamie Lee Curtis got it in the remake…
that sort of thing…

the other part that made even less sense was how violent that field hockey game was… my god…

so the next couple days…

tomorrow afternoon, I got “Tinker Tailor Soldier Spy”… should be interesting, but I think it might be a little too long by the end of it

then the following night, got “Hoosiers” on Reelz channel… never saw it, but I keep hearing it was a big movie for its time…
I also noticed at random that there was a movie that was made in 1913 on TCM… I did the info, and it was a Sennett film… the guy who gave Charlie Chaplin his first “flicker” gig… I went through the schedule and found a bunch of other short films he did… followed by one that Chaplin directed him… also made in 1913… so it had to be one of those 50-100 films he did that first year on the lot

My folks will be rolling eyes and asking questions… but I really don’t care. I’m curious now
the only downside is that they won’t get credit for my list of movies because they’re all shorts… to make my long list, they have to be 60 minutes minimum… that’s what I believe constitutes as a feature-length film

the rain’s coming down hard again, so I better wrap this up…

yeah, if I do 2 films a day, I’ll be done within a month…
but one a day, I’ll do it within 2-3…

ooh… thunder…

I just started reading “The Perks of Being a Wallflower”… it’s kinda scandalous actually… in the Catcher in the Rye way (according to one of the reviews on the back flap)…
like the stuff that comes in up this high school freshman’s narration… man… some of it is pretty heavy… getting to page 2 almost knocked the wind out of me… so heavy

but its oddly intriguing and in some ways, this guy thinks along the same lines I do about certain subjects… more on this as it develops, but yeah, looking forward to seeing what happens and also the film adaptation…

which I think will have a “The Art of Getting By” indie film feel to it… but there will be some obvious differences… things that won’t translate from the book to the movie…
one thing I’ve already noticed… im maybe 50 pages in and maybe 5-6 times, this kid was crying over something… I don’t see Logan Lerman turning into that kind of cry-baby…

but yeah, some touchy stuff here, but interesting nonetheless…

ok, sending it before a potential 3rd blackout of the night

This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

