What’s worse? Sequels and Remakes

:sigh:

on the plus side of things, I’ve got less movies I need to add to my list to make it to the magic number.

There were a bunch of Disney sequels and movies I saw as a kid that I kinda forgot…
and there were a few that I completely forgot to mention… don’t know how I could have forgotten “Bring it on”… when I remembered the sequel with Hayden Panatierre…

on the negative side of things… you know things are bad when you see a movie and afterwards wish that you hadn’t… kinda like opening up a can of worms, poking the bear… I dunno…

I’ve gone on a number of times about unnecessary sequels and remakes…
remakes these days have made it to 80’s movies… and I believe “Total Recall” came out in 1990 so its getting really out of hand

but it seems like the remake might do a better job than the original did… via the fans, not the reviews and box office earnings

a bunch of movies I’ve seen recently, both in and theaters and outside of it… they’ve been sequels… we’re in that type of industry and these days, it’s more about remakes…

Colin Farrell has been a contributing factor to two of them… Total Recall where apparently he’s been amazing, so I’ll have to see when it comes to cable…
I liked him in Fright Night because he made the character good and of course I applauded when he got killed…

he’s overrated at least compared to a lot of other actors I know…
make that one or two…

I saw the original Fright Night and True Grit before seeing the remakes…

I came into True Grit as someone inexperienced with westerns… exnay… never saw a single western in my life…
therefore I’d only known John Wayne by name, never saw him in anything before… he blew my freaking mind… pretty amazing when you consider he did that at the end of his career…
but I gotta see a little more of that career before I say too much about it

Fright Night was good… Chris Sarandon was a good creepy in that…
but I liked what they did in the remake even more… they made it current and they made that work for it…

my overall opinion on remakes is that if you don’t make it like the original, it has to be better… it has to be believable… certainly not gimmicky…

The Karate Kid is one of my favorite all-time movies, I’ll see later on whether it makes it into my top 100…
I was furious when I heard they were making a sequel, especially now that Pat Morita has passed so they have to find a new sensei, a new Miyagi…

Now unless Jayden Smith grows into an actor I find to be really good looking and just plain talented, I cannot see myself ever watching the remake…
still pretty furious about the fact they dared to go there, even worse, it was a success…

one of the most interesting things about sequels is that if the first movie is good enough, you look forward to them… you want to know what’s going to happen to the characters next…

me personally, super excited about Iron-Man 2 when it came out cuz I loved the original… and this was before the age of infatuation…
super excited about Sherlock 2 cuz… well, the original won me over…

one succeeded and one didn’t… but that’s a whole ‘nother entry to why

I also know the negative, the dark side of sequels… the ones that END franchises… they ensure that there are no more movies for a certain cast of characters…
Unless of course you’re the Step Up franchise or Fast & Furious, in which case, nobody really cares… they still make them regardless

Beverly Hills Cop 3… while we’re talking about 80’s sequels here…
it was lame with a capital “L”…
it lacked the zip and the drive of the previous two movies… Beverly Hills Cop 2 stayed true to the original material and bettered it… even offered some character development that in one case kinda proved a little disturbing, but it was a running gag so it was okay

“Billy, we gotta talk”

and I won’t get started on the Batman franchise…
for the record, I have not seen Batman & Robin since Nostalgia Critic nearly offed himself a number of times while trying to review it…

for the record,
loved the original (took me until I became a Prince fan, but I love it)
hated Batman Returns… Michelle Phieffer, not the biggest fan
LOVED Batman Forever… cuz I loved vintage Jim Carrey [per his film career, which excludes “In Living Color”]

didn’t like Batman & Robin, but it was for reasons other than the fact it was a horrible script

…I’m gonna stop right there…

there are the rare sequels where they are so bad that they work to destroy the sanctity of what made the original movie so special in the first place…

I have not seen The Godfather Part 3…
I still haven’t seen part 2, but I’m in no rush… I’ve seen scenes but its just too heavy for me to take unless I’m in the mood for it…

but Godfather Part 3 is SOOOOO bad that Coppola’s fanbase developed amnesia because of it… forgot it even existed…

The Karate Kid is the case where I say “You shoulda quite while you were ahead”

to be fair, part 2 is a great film… some elements in it, I love more than the original, but its a matter of preference… like it a little of this, love a little of that, that sort of thing…

not only did they make a part 3… but they also tried to reboot the series with Hilary Swank… at least I think that’s what they were trying to do with “the next karate kid”

so you have a great film… you have successful sequel… a three-sequel that kinda spoils everything that transpired beforehand… then you have a reboot… and you have a remake…

Jeremy Renner might succeed in making the Bourne franchise continue under another leading man or maybe as an additional one…

I’ll stop beating around the bush…

I can finally say that I saw the third karate kid movie… but now I wish I could forget that I had…
I mean, it ruined almost everything the first couple movies stand for…

to be cliché, Daniel-san got turned to the dark side… and somehow managed to come back from it

I knew things were bad when I got to thinking:
I said how unnecessary “Shrek Forever After” was… the happy ending already happened so why make a “It’s a wonderful Life” scenario out of it? seems pretty pointless

but there were some good points to it…

I cannot think of anything about this karate kid sequel that proved any point…

someone apparently decided to give the villian from the first film a second chance so we have a freaking revenge story… those are so nice, aren’t they?
nothing good can come out of it… I just didn’t know that that included an entire movie…

Things got so dramatic that it was mind-blowing hair-splitting…

there’s nothing more unattractive about a villian than having no redeemable qualities… these guys were bad just to be bad, there was no excuse for it

I put a lot of the blame on them. on the other hand, I can understand why he finally gave into the pressure and turned against everything Miyagi taught him…

Fighting to preserve your life is a good enough reason… they simply weren’t going to let up no matter what went on…
half the time I watched the movie, I was thinking either “where the hell are the cops” and “how about you let the cops handle this”… isn’t that kinda what you do when your life is being threatened like that?

and yeah, good finally prevails… Daniel-san saw the error in his ways and came back to the good side (and to be honest, he wasn’t that much of a baddie to begin with… not a believable one anyway)…

I could pick apart how the tournament match was written… You see a guy beating the crap out of the other guy, disregarding the rules, you throw him out of there… it’s not rocket science

seriously, I felt like the final 10 minutes of the movie on that tournament floor spat on the tournament in the original film, the way that was portrayed… the whole set was recredited, but the other guy was lower than pond scum…

not quite shot for shot, but pretty close… it was the same sort of fight, except it was overwhelming one-sided…
and after the winner was declared, that was the end of it…

I don’t think the end showed the face of the losing side, just a bunch of Dragon Kai T-shirts being thrown back at them…

The movie just ended and the credits ran…

That’s something I kinda hate about movie endings, that’s gotten to be a real pet peeve over these past couple months… but the way I write my stories, there’s a huge conflict, it gets resolved and I write about the aftermath, how my characters feel after coming out of it…

It would have been cheesy, but the least they could have done was file restraining orders against those guys…

so yeah, I think this will take me a while to get over… forget… don’t plan on forgiving this because it’s inexcusable that they did this

I’m thinking that it’ll be a couple of years before I watch the original movie again because I want to remember it for what it was… not how it all added up at the end…

rather than saying that it was like flipping off the original movie, I’m gonna end things by saying how badly I wanna flip off Mr. Dragon Kai John Kreese… FUCK YOU, man! and your pal, Terry Silver too

so… only about 40 movies to go… then I can start working on my top 100 list

This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

