THE WORDS- best [dramatic] 2012 so far

I think I said when I first heard about this movie was that I was curious about it and thought that Bradley Cooper might be in his best role yet

because of movies like Wedding Crashers and obviously The Hangover movies… he’s gotten pigeon-holed a bit as a comedic actor…
I’ll rephrase… a comedic actor who often plays a jerk…

I don’t take him particularly seriously in The Hangover films… despite the fact that he plays the “Todd Phillips” of the group… Robert kinda explained himself in Due Date as the character most like Todd Phillips and that that was the character Bradley Cooper played

anyway… don’t take him super seriously and I was one of those people who figured Ryan Gosling had the “sexiest man alive” locked up…
exnay…

I didn’t think it would be HIM

the next “sexiest man” should be an Avenger at least…

omg, Jeremy Renner! they should totally pick him for a year where he’s gonna do another Mission Impossible and/or Marvel and/or Bourne film…

he is in his prime NOW…

usually this happens when an actor is up & coming in a big project or he had a huge year…
Ryan Reynolds got it cuz of the Green Lantern hype… I think… same reason I still kinda don’t take him seriously, although he was kinda nice in “Definitely, Maybe”…

but even that character I didn’t like a whole lot cuz the dude juggles women like crazy and the time was never quite right with one of them…
luckily the ending kinda fixes that…

btw, LOVED Isla Fisher in that movie… especially at the beginning where she was the independant copy girl working at a Democratic press super PAC… what she said about wanting to remain neutral because she didn’t care about the important issues… :high five:

and naturally I will lobby until the end of time that, you know…
Robert Downey Jr. deserves:

1. an OSCAR
2. a star on the Hollywood Walk of Fame
3. 2b People’s “Sexiest Man Alive”
4. how about all of the above?

that’s just my personal preference, even if its been a while since I’d seen any of his films or anything on YouTube… I just have a couple of Avengers commercials, but not a whole lot aside from that… I’d like to keep the hype to a minimum for a while… and I’ve got my ears open for…
maybe in… I dunno… its been almost a month… by the two month mark or whenever I pick up a copy of Avengers, I’ll do a YouTube search for an update…

so far it seems like things are still on schedule…
the hype’s already begun a bit for the sequels for Thor & Captain America… the latter I believe is sequel, but its pre-Avengers… like another thing went on in the past before he got frozen for 70 years

pretty excited about both and I can’t wait to see Thor 2… part of me’s saying that cuz I kinda prefer him in that role… opposed to The Huntsman… who’s a good character, but you know, personal preference again…

Chris Hemsworth definitely has a shot at “sexiest man alive” but it might not be for a while :shrug:

back to Bradley Cooper…
I guess this means I’ll have to keep an eye open for “Limitless”… another dramatic role of his…
and to be fair, he wasn’t all that bad in “Valentine’s Day”… I don’t think anyone was it was just one of those films where you pack so many people that not a lot get a chance to SHINE…
my glowing moments there come from Taylor Swift and Anne Hathaway

anyway…

“The Words”…

my god… it’s been a while since I got absorbed by a film like that… and as I’m always totally honest about my opinions and such…

man, within the last 10 minutes I was almost balling…
It took me until maybe 2 minutes into the credits to dry up…

I’m not sure what it was exactly…
maybe I was touched by it
I hated for it to end
I’d really come to love the characters
or it was just that good…

that’s a new one for me…

crying over a movie because it was so good…

I totally encourage anyone to see it for themselves… I don’t know what the hell is wrong with the critics that reviewed this movie… nobody really liked it…
hell, I don’t even know why Ebert gave it 2 stars… he said that Hemingway could have done a better job if the movie had “better economy”

“the real Hemingway could have told this story with infinitely more economy”…

[exasperated expression and out of breath] what the fuck does that mean?

and something about the plot opening up for three women, “for which we are grateful”…

is he saying that the men’s acting SUCKED?

I honestly don’t get it

I pegged this movie as a contender for an OSCAR… it really felt like one of the best new films I’d seen in a number of years…
The Artist was pretty amazing in itself, and I’m kinda having trouble deciding which I prefer… but I owe that to the fact I haven’t seen The Artist since Janurary

btw, The Avengers was still great… probably one of the best superhero films EVER… I won’t know for a couple years (when I get the trilogy on blu-ray) if it or Iron-Man will take that title for me…
I’ll give it up that Avengers was my favorite movie of the year so far… overall

I’d give The Words my award for the best dramatic film of the year… that I’d seen so far…
still have a couple more months… which will bring the likes of “Perks of being a wallflower,” the last Twilight film (which I’m not pegging for the best picture of the year, btw… but as part of the series, I’ll figure that out soon enough)… and Les Miz… I’m definitely gonna check into Les Miz in December…

5 previews b4 the movie..
also must add that its the first time I’d been to the mall’s theater since its renovation… my jaw dropped, it was so cool looking… almost like walking into a REAL theater… like the way they were intended with stadium seating and all that…
but I’ll easily give it up for distance cuz my local theater is a very nice venue… great ticket prices too… earliest shows go for $4.75…

“Playing for Keeps” I saw for the first time…
Gerard Butler’s latest film where he plays a former soccer star thats gonna be his kid’s team’s coach… kind of a father-son story, but he looks like he’s gonna be in for a good part 😉

“Trouble with the Curve”… been seeing previews for a while…

“7 psychopaths” looks freaking hilarious… I only saw one trailer on TV… about these 7 guys who make it their business to steal dogs and bring them back to collect the award money… then they end up stealing the wrong Shih-Tzu and “hilarity enuses”

and Christopher Walken is one of the 7… need I say more

although I’ll add that there was one side-splitting scene where a guy points a gun at him saying “put your hands up” and he says “I don’t care…”
like totally defying him…

this role was MADE for him :falloff:

“This is 40″… the “Knocked up” sequel with Paul Rudd and Leslie Mann… looks promising but I’ll wait for cable

“Won’t back down”… I’m kinda excited to see this one too… at whatever point I can… about a couple inner-city moms that want to change the school system so it’ll help teach their kids that don’t learn as fast as everyone else…

even before I saw “The Help,” I respected Viola Davis incredibly… because a few other small roles she did… one of them was in that off-beat Galifianakis film… WTF, I can’t remember the name now… about that kid that checked himself into a mental institution cuz he was feeling suicidal and depressed… “It’s kind of a funny story”…

also saw her in “Extremely Close & Incredibly Close” the other day… she just commands respect with her presence even if she doesn’t say a word… I can’t even describe it other than

OSCAR please!

that film was also good, but I wouldn’t see it again…
it is LONG… Thomas Horne has charm but after a while, he can get on your nerves… but he can’t help it… his character has Asperberger’s…
and as its a post-9/11 film, its kinda depressing and it has one of those “it just stops” endings… where I wish it went on for 5 more minutes to explain the possibility of what happens after the camera stops rolling

there are three different stories going on in the film, but not always at the same time…

movie starts with Dennis Quaid reading his book, that shares the title of the movie…

his book is about Bradley Cooper’s story…

he’s a struggling writer who’s married to Zoe Saldana (if you don’t recognize her, it’s because she’s not blue, hint hint… she’s great too, btw)…
and I mean struggling…

he worked on a story for 3 years and nobody wanted to publish it… one person who called him back about it said that there’s no market for a book like his… so of course he’s uber depressed about it, ready to just give up…

and he comes across someone else’s manuscript and plagarizes… and magically profits from it…

it was hidden in an attache case his wife bought him on their honeymoon in Paris which was at a place full of memorabilla… I guess from Hemingway’s time cuz it was at his old house in Paris

even before the manuscript fell into his lap… all those rejection letters he looked over brought me flashes of my own experiences… but they were always the same goddam thing
“we’re not interested”…

I never got a single criticism back about it… ways I could improve on… now its in my own slush pile and I worry if Jonas will see the light of a bookshelf…

…but I really related to his situation… I felt bad… and there’s no telling what might have happened if it didn’t work out for him…

anyway… he types up the manuscript on his PC… his wife sees it, completely moved and urges him to show it to someone…

now, I find it kinda hard to believe personally… that just because you find something someone else wrote, doesn’t mean that its gonna magically get considered for publication like that…

in real life, I highly doubt you’d get that lucky even then…

so he publishes the book and gets famous…

the old man finds him and tells him a story… so we have flashbacks to his time, experiences he went through… kinda giving him the real story behind what’s in the book…

at times, it was almost as absorbing as Bradley Cooper’s story…

now at the risk of giving anything away, I’m gonna stop with the telling of the plot…

part of experiencing the film is seeing what happens after he hears about the real story, about the story he published but probably didn’t know quite THAT well…

and there’s always the unanswered question about the signifiance of the Dennis Quaid/Olivia Wilde story arc… why is he telling this story to an auditorium of people?

and of course after he stops reading, tells everyone to pick up a copy so they can find out how it ends, she flirts and asks him what happens to the characters in the book…

secretly, that was something I’d always been curious about… what happens after the last page… it’s not very often where movies are this human… you start to feel the characters as if they were living, breathing people and you want to know what happens next…

and some things were explained and the rest was left to chance… you figure things out for yourself… and believe me, some of the people in my mom’s women’s club were still trying to figure out some things about it after the credits started rolling… the signifance of the three stories being woven together like they were…

one thing I will say for the flashbacks from the old man…
the cinematography was so beautiful, so detailed… and seeing the scenes of him living with his wife in Paris… I was having “Midnight in Paris” flashbacks that made me feel warm and fuzzy… every now and then when I see some familiar streets of Paris, I reflect fondly on it…

the same thing happened while watching “Becoming Jane” the other day… seeing Victoria London brought me back to Sherlock Holmes… I didn’t know any of the names of the places, but I felt warm watching them as the backdrop for another story

as great as all the actors were, Bradley Cooper was probably my favorite… well, its tight between him and Olivia Wilde… but I really believed his performance and can truly admit that he’s a good looking, kinda sexy guy… the personality flaws that come from his comedic roles makes that sometimes… but he is a really good actor… did a more than respectable job

got maybe 36 movies b4 I hit my magic number

tomorrow they’re gonna repeat the broadcast of The Bourne Ultimatum and maybe I’ll see some similiarities between it and The Bourne Legacy… some scenes or sceneries in common cuz they were happening simultaneously, the storylines

I’m also thinking of doing another vlog in a couple days, but for another reason entirely…

I’ll be taking my chances with this one, but I feel like its needed

it seems that Chris Trousdale is gonna do some vloging of his own… taking requests of songs for him to sing for YouTube… so I’m thinking of shooting him a video response and seeing what happens… :shrug: hell, I dunno… but I figure anything’s worth putting out there… hopefully it comes across well

but I think it’ll go something like this…

Hey Chris. [insert name here]. I’m sure you’d meet so many fans over the years that you don’t remember everyone. I met you at a Dream Street signing more than 10 years ago. A long time… when I heard you were auditioning for The Voice, I was beyond excited and thought you were gonna make the finals. Unfortunately the judges didn’t see what a lot of us saw for years, but their format really doesn’t do justice to singers who can dance. LOVED your audition song, by the way, one of my favorites on the radio right now.
It’s funny… after all this time, I still don’t understand what happened with the lawsuit that ultimately broke up Dream Street…  My username does imply that I’d put my energy into following Jesse McCartney after Dream Street broke and he’s still one of my favorite artists. But despite how long its been, part of me always hoped that you’d put out an album. If The Voice, who is all about giving 2nd chances, doesn’t pick you, what else is there, really? Anyway, fingers crossed that everything turns out okay and maybe someday you’ll fight your way back in. Good luck and ❤ u always

I kinda want this to be a 3 minute video, so I’ll have to cut a lot of that down… but that’s the basic idea of it
Looks like right now I’ll have the house to myself for most of Monday so I’ll record and post the video then… maybe with a singing segment at the end… not sure what I’d sing to Chris if I could..
 I thought for just a moment that “I see sparks fly whenever you smile” would sum up the situation :shrug:

This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

