The Avengers- now on blu-ray

I guess its kinda cool that I’ve cut down on my blogging considerably over the past week or so… feels kinda good. It’s my outlet to vent as much as it is to gush about something I totally enjoy

speaking of enjoying…
I did a series of videos discussing The Futurist… I have yet to listen to it since I have done so… and I really haven’t gotten much coverage on my videos… maybe I should post the links on Twitter or at least connect the links of the 4 parts via the video’s description…

Getting space feels kinda good because it makes moments like today even sweeter… brings back some old memories…

I had a dream last night that was kinda vague, I remember only a little of it… but apparently there was an interview Robert shot… he was being congratulated on getting back on the job, his ankle now healed (in reality, I still haven’t heard anything, but I guess no news is good news)… and then he was going on about how his character in “Kiss Kiss Bang Bang” had another personality… like Harry Lockhart was bi-polar or something… the way he talked about him kinda read the way Jason Bourne did of the 50 pages or so I read of The Bourne Ultimatum (spoiler: nothing at all like the movie)

I didnt remember much other than that… and I guess it got my mind off things…
to be perfectly honest, other than adding hash marks that indicate how long its been since the injury, I haven’t given him a whole lot of thought… feels pretty good… but feels almost alien at times… occasionally moments would come to me from things he’d done… but not a whole lot

and the past week or so, maybe beyond that… have been kinda rough for me, mentally… the whole cycle started again of me feeling kinda worthless… for now, I’m over it, but who knows how much time I’ll have before I’m back at square one again…

I guess what I’ve tried to prove to myself is that I don’t need Mr. Downey for an instant pick-me-up or even as an escape from whatever’s been going on…
been joggling a couple writing projects, all of which are in early stages… plus checking with The Voice on Hulu has kept me kinda focused on stuff… been a great season so far, lots of great singers…

so anyway…

I got the blu-ray yesterday and today I figured was the best chance I had to watch it before going away on the cruise… it can work its way in and out of my system and I won’t have to worry about going through withdrawals…

totally mental, I know, but true…

again, I have to kinda stand back and say WOW…

Robert said that the script for Iron-Man 3 (courtesy of Shane Black) was the best script he’d read in 5 years…
I’m not sure how much better it’d be than Avengers cuz by the end of the movie, I wanted to take my hat off to Joss Whedon and do the whole “I’m not worthy” routine… the script is IMPRESSIVE… all of the characters are nailed in their elements, based on how they’re written, they reacted exactly as their personalities dictate

and of course, there’s a lot of people in the cast… a lot of huge people in their own rights… er, characters… Chris Hemsworth is the only one who doesn’t have a lot to his name just yet and to be fair, Chris Evans hasn’t been in any other huge movies… at least not successfully huge movies…
I’d have to rewatch Scott Pilgrim to get a feel for him as one of the evil exes… you know how it is… you get to know an actor and don’t hone in on the name until after they do a big role…

he was a really cool, nice guy in “What’s your number?” no matter how low-grade the movie was by most standards, its one of the reasons I just love rom-com’s no matter how unskillful they are at times…

and honestly, I don’t know if I’ll ever distinguish Scarlett Johannson in this role… like she is so into it and it is so different than other stuff she’s done (not a lot I’ve seen, btw)…

most of the jaw-dropping, oggling on my part was mostly from the fact I knew a bunch of these characters in their other films (makes me so happy I did my research beforehand… )…

each one of them stole the show whenever their character came on screen, especially when they were doing the introductions…
like its being a geek at comic-con meeting all these comic book affilities in the flesh… like they’re rock stars, that sort of thing…

like, Nick Fury… bad-ass…

šŸ˜• kinda makes me feel that Jeremy Renner got the short end of the stick cuz it was so hard to like him in the first hour, maybe even more, of the film because… you know, he got turned to the dark side for the first act… and maybe part of the 2nd…

so its hard to really hone in on Hawkeye and really get to like him until most of the movie is gone… I spent a lot of the time, especially during their individual and duo scenes… that they did a Hawkeye/Black Widow origin film because there’s a lot of material there…
like one made a comment “its like Budapest all over again” and he said “you and I remember Budapest a little differently”…

at the same time, despite the sexual tension, I’m not sure how far they can go into it… if they could even get together or not… if they did, it would be short-lived, no happily ever after at the end of the movie…

I concluded more or less that maybe I dig Jeremy Renner a bit more in The Bourne Legacy… kinda made me wish my mind wasn’t so split in the first part of it cuz I didnt enjoy it for a while… I can say what I want about the endless chase scene at the end, but he was great in this role… I can’t wait to see more…

oo… maybe I should check to see if Ghost Protocol is coming to HBO soon… if it does at all… I know The Descendants is coming on the 13th… can’t wait šŸ˜Ž

Im thinking that… I have my reservations obviously… biases… but the other day I checked to see when they did the Sexiest Man Alive…
I think Jeremy Renner deserves at least a shot… between Avengers, The Bourne Legacy but also from Ghost Protocol… he was in enough movies to really drive it home

as for Iron-Man himself… Tony Stark never disappoints, that’s still true…
my eyes were glued for his first scene… almost to where I stopped breathing…
to which I can say… yep, he’s still got it…

Love that energy of his… if I could get drunk on that for the rest of my life… of course I’d never come up for air cuz its just too good…

I got to wondering about Loki a bit too… as in “what the… He wasn’t this strong in “Thor”…” like asking what the hell happened in the past several years…
some beings from another realm hooked him UP… with some cool toys…

he is a bit of a menace on the psychological level… referring to the scene with him and Black Widow… even if it did kinda hurt, the things he said… the truth hurts… she did what she does best… lead the enemy into believing they have the advantage and takes them down…

makes me kinda wish I remembered more about her in Iron-Man 2, even if it was only… I dunno… 2-3 scenes total… her introduction, then when she’s in the catsuit… I don’t remember a whole lot… just that it was one of my favorite movies that year

I watched thru the whole movie this time… just in case there was an additional additional scene…
there was no dialogue, but seeing everyone chowing down at a Shawrama joint downtown… priceless

I’ve still about… I’m guessing 17 movies away from hitting the magic number… when I reach 10, I will slow to a steady halt… and take the movies as they come… not try to search out too many of them…

I’m gonna stack a bunch of ideas after I do… and of course after I go thru my top 100

one of the guys from Rolling Stone… Peter Travers…
he did a video where he listed 5 must-see Downey films… like if you were to say, go back thru his career… this was after the release of Iron-Man… and before Tropic Thunder…

lets see… he included
Less than Zero
Chaplin
Kiss Kiss Bang Bang
Zodiac

ok, maybe it was just those 4, plus Iron-Man…

maybe it’d be a little snobbish… but whatever, I might try it sometime…

cuz I love what he had to say about those movies, I will come up with my top 5… and if its possible to get in touch, I’ll send it to him to see if I get any feedback about it…

I think he called them his “Greatest Performances”

…my list is gonna differ considerably, although I might still include Chaplin cuz its an Oscar nomination, whatareyougonnado…

but he’s got one of those exactly right šŸ˜‰

what he said about Zodiac was he did a great job, stole the show and even as the movie gets dark, you wonder when he’ll be on screen next
(spoiler alert: after the first 60-90 minutes of the movie, he only appears a couple more times… )

I’ll admit he was great in that… that was the only highlight of the movie, lol… it got kinda dark after a while, but then again, David Fincher rolls that way anyway…

geesh,
I was gonna check out the other parts of “The New Normal”… the show charmed me the other night when it went into politics… interesting topics discussed, for sure… also while watching Glee tonight, I got the same feeling (undoubtedly cuz Ryan Murphy created both series)…
Glee is a cultural phenomenon… LOVE the show, few get me quite that excited in that particular way… and I think that even years from now, it will still be talked about šŸ˜Ž

kinda makes me wanna get the series on DVD… but that’ll have to wait… got lots of other stuff ahead of that already

This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

