“Morris Day… don’t know you I waited up all night for you?”

Ironically… that one quote from the movie that I wanted to use to describe the dream I had… that showed me a playbill with The Time listed going on at 11pm… while rewatching clips from the movie in prep for last night, I forgot about that one…

and I got more proof that dreams can sometimes be prophetic…
Morris Day & The Time took the stage all right… kicked it back old school… but they went on dead last.

Patience is a virtue, all good things come to those who wait, etc, etc. You know all the popular sayings

but just to make it sound like I’m playing fair, I want to go a little into the preceding acts.
(all of which I had all but forgotten about by the time they took the stage because that was THE show I’d come out to see… not a disappointment to be had except for the fact it’s all over and I’m kinda worried I’ll forget some of it to the point I’ll wonder if it happened… I’ve got one photo that says otherwise πŸ˜‰ )

I guess for such a local venue as the Fernwood Hotel & Resort, they couldn’t get Morris Day to come by his lonesome. He had to be attached to an entire EVENT… celebrating R&B music from over the years. The 6th year they’d been doing this in fact…

I don’t even know how much of the crowd was even from around here… I think the majority influxed from New York, Connecticut and all these other outside states… then again, how many people up here really know who these people are or dig The Time?
then again, the same could be said about MPLS… one of the whitest cities in the country, but its responsible for a couple of HUGE black artists…

I kinda felt like the protagonist from “Hairspray”… but instead of totally rocking it out with the crowd I was in the way she did, I partied in my own way… all in my state of mind and participating in the show whenever I understood the joke.
Everyone was dressed up real nice, dresses and suit & tie (I came out with a nice white top I didnt get to premiere on the cruise and khakis)… all but maybe 1% of the crowd was black… and I’m willing to guess I was the youngest person there…

Everyone on stage was talking about how they’d been in the business for a long time… one of the MC’s had been doing radio for 30 years… a couple of the artists talked about the business and also about being married for a number of years… of course the music they played and the stories they told were relatable to just about everyone else but me :shrug:
but I knew my share of stuff from The Time that I don’t think the majority did… that more than made up for it…

I came into this weekend with all the worst case scenarios in mind… and this oughta be a lesson that its the last time I really panic like this…
Unless Prince is the headliner, in which case, I always gotta worry that he’ll cancel a local show (local as in NYC or AC) after I buy a ticket…
Hurricane Sandy had me worried that we wouldn’t have power in time.
I was worried that for some unknown reason, they might not show up at all
was worried I wouldn’t be able to see the stage
wouldn’t be able to get in…

yeah, I really oughta take a page out of Morris Day’s book and just learn to play it COOL
damn I worry way too much
but all that restrained enthusiasm made it worth it by the end of it, where I could just let loose and have a good time

got there and found a line… we get inside and hear we have to go around to the other entrance cuz we have general admission tickets… there were at least 15 rows of VIP seating… we were all on the same level plane with fold-out metal chairs… I was maybe 50 feet away from the stage, the best seat I’ll likely get for any of my favorite artists… like ever…
I’d estimate that I was 20-30 feet away from the Point Pleasant stage when Jesse McCartney did his concert there

The first act was an up & comer… cuz she only did two songs… both were covers…
her name was Natasha C. Cower or Coward or something like that…
she did “I have nothing” and when she did the first big note, everyone went nuts for her
it was a really receptive audience

at least it was at first…

the second group was Harold Melvin’s Blue Notes, famous for “If you don’t know me by now”… and they covered the disco hit “don’t leave me this way”… it was one guy singing most of it kinda in a Barry White sort of way, but without the low voice and he had three other guys back-up singing and doing choreography… they were entertaining to watch
then after 5-6 songs, the novelty wore off for me… plus, they started into the gospel a bit and that really isn’t my cup of tea… I’m not really up for being taken to church all that often… (that moment kinda reminded me of the scene from “The Help” in that church)

it took a while to get used to the vibration of the percussion, but I had trouble making out the words sometimes… either the way he sang or I was maybe working a little hard to keep myself awake

the two MC’s were pretty cool and kept the show moving…
one of them was this guy Chris Currie who was promoting a new album and at one point during a transition of the stage set-up he was singing to a song and going crazy on it… the other MC told him a couple times to quite showing off

say, out of the three other opening acts… which I kinda felt like they were once The Time came on the scene…
Evelyn “Champagne” King was probably my favorite

I didnt know any of the songs, mind you… all of which were hers, I think… I think she’s in her 40’s or 50’s now, but damn, she was getting down real good to that music… I was really impressed, plus she had an amazing stage presence to go along with it… kept me entertained for her 5 song-set…
the group before her had 8 songs

Heatwave came on and I think did more R&B stuff with a touch of disco, I guess…
all the guys were wearing matching outfits for the first song or so, before it got too hot on stage… there were three vocalists this time and one of the dudes had the most insane falsetto I’d ever heard… in that it was so high that it could almost shatter glass… I never heard Prince do anything quite like that, but he’s more my cup of tea…
One song they did was “Always and Forever”… which I know I’ve heard and I absolutely loved it… brought my interest back into the show for the next couple songs

at the end while the dude was introducing all the musicians on stage… each of them did a solo in the vein of another well known R&B/funk track… it was like a medley of funky one-hit wonders… one was the theme from Apprentice, “Money Money Money” by the O-Jays… another, by the bassist, was “Brick House”… there was another dude that was pretty cool… he played keyboards from his iPad, actually had it attached by a necklace or something…
after they came off, Chris Currie was saying how he’d like to get an iPad just to pull that off… except he doesn’t know keyboards

I estimated in my head that it was around 9:30 or 9:45 when Heatwave came off and they started the long prep before Morris Day hit the stage…
I mean, they were taking care of EVERYTHING… making sure all the mics worked… checking that the drums and keyboards were set…

One thing that I felt detracted from that atmosphere a bit was that there wasn’t a single minute in the entire show that somebody wasn’t getting up or moving up and down the aisles or whatever…
they had refreshments in the back and such, but I felt like it was getting ridiculous after a while…
isn’ it common courtesy to stay seated at concerts when they’re in progress like that?

unless of course you’re getting up to support your favorites… there were maybe 3-4 standing ovations the entire time… quite a few…

every now and then, during the other acts, I’d bring myself around to remember why I was there… I know that I was going to do my best to appreciate the other acts that were there… but mentally I kept an idea as to what time it was and also kept track of the number of songs everyone did… also kept close to mind some of my favorite songs… performances and music videos and such…
most of it was trying to hold onto that image of Morris Day before it was, possibly, ruined by the fact he ain’t as svelte as he used to be…

I’d say that it was at least a half hour wait before The Time came on stage… when that momentous time finally came, they played several clips in a montage… different songs and also dialogue from the movie… just to kinda keep in mind the tagline that got some people here
“from Purple Rain to the Poconos”

I kept close in mind all the people in the band… Jimmy Jam, Terry Lewis, Jesse Johnson, Jellybean Johnson, Monte Moir, Paul Peterson and Jerome Benton…
I knew that Paul Peterson wasn’t gonna be there because he was a member of The Family and kinda wanted to separate himself from the Prince-ly association

maybe 10 minutes before the show started, I think people were standing up, craning their necks, trying to get the first glimpse of Morris Day…
the annoucement came on and everyone was on their feet immediately… looking to get a glimpse of him the moment he came out…
all the musicians took their places… and after maybe 2-3 minutes of an anticipation… there he was

with Jerome at his back, virtually unrecognizable, at least to me… dressed in a loose blue suit
the guitar player, who had dreads, was dressed in an brownish-orange suit
Jellybean was wearing a gray suit and everyone else in the band had a black suit and tie so they did look like they all fit together

firstly I can say that whoever runs their sad excuse for a website, they need to get some new pictures that really brings to mind that cliche that the camera adds 10 pounds…

I tell ya, aside from the receding hairline… you could see more of his forehead and his hair wasnt as sculpted as it once was…
damn, he still looked fine and exuded COOLNESS
he came on wearing a black pinstripe suit and sunglasses

and before I get much further, here’s the 15 song playlist… where some only got a few verses and such and others got the entire rendition… please note that not everything is in the order they were played

  1. Get it up
  2. Cool
  3. Wild & Loose
  4. The Stick
  5. Shake it
  6. Fishnet
  7. Oak Tree
  8. 777-9311
  9. Girl
  10. Gigolos get lonely too
  11. Ice Cream Castles
  12. The Walk
  13. The Bird
  14. (encore) Jungle Love

I’m not sure if everyone was tired or the anticipation fell flat or what… but three songs in, everyone started sitting down… no longer as excited as they were… I think it also had to do with the fact that they did some older songs that they didn’t know…
only a huge fan like me… and that night I really did feel like I was a huge fan

that’s a very technical way of looking at things… I’m a fan as in I love listening to them every now and then, really enjoying that time when I put it in… I’m not fanatical as in the mere name Morris Day drives me completely crazy… but to make up for the lack of participation I felt from the crowd in most cases, I sang along to some songs and responded whenever the mic was tilted in our direction… and I was fanatical specifically for them to show that at least I appreciated that they came to the middle of nowhere for this show 😎

there’s been this annoying trend as of late of people not only recording entire concerts on their cell phones, but texting and tweeting during the show… taking a million pictures, the list goes on…
I was fanatical for sure, but I didn’t want to be one of those people…

I DID have to be sure that I got one picture… kinda as my way to prove to myself that that night wasn’t a dream πŸ˜‰
even zoomed in, it seemed like it was from kinda far away

I took advantage when everyone was in their seats… almost everyone… and I think I got heckled from behind to sit down twice… it was hard to really hear with the music… therefore I missed most of “Wild & Loose”… one of my favorite tracks, unfortunate, but the sacrifice was worth it…
getting a shouted “thank you” kinda confirmed for me that I was blocking someone’s view…

geesh πŸ™„

the first couple songs felt like insanity to me, going so fast in a seamingless sort of medley because they went from one song to the next without waiting for applause or doing any introductions of whatever… that’s what everyone else did, they did a short monologue to introduce their songs

they had me thinking how SO glad I was that I decided to pick up their first album when I saw it at Best Buy… all by its lonesome… I made sure to listen to all the songs I had between that CD and my iPod… get myself back in that cool state o’ mind…
I recognized each song almost immediately

there was only one moment, around the time they did “Shake it”… I only deciphered that because I heard those lyrics… I didn’t really remember the song all that well, or really anything else in Graffiti Bridge… if this is gonna be a Morris Day love fest, I can’t have in mind the only outrageously negative artifact of him at my disposal…

:sigh:
I think the only time I’ll ever watch that movie again is when I’m working on my review for The Word… that and the album itself… after that… possibly never again, unless of course I’m super bored or something…

the song coulda been from “Pandemonium” or their new album… couldn’t quite pick up what it was, between the crazyness of all the music they were blasting and my hearing had taken a couple hits from the previous acts

around this time, he introduced a couple people on the stage with him…
I didn’t remember until after the show that Jesse Johnson had quit the group… the dude with the dreads, his name was Tori something or other… he didn’t bring the same amount of sickness that Jesse used to bring to the band, but he held his own and actually made it seem like it was more than just Morris’s show

he took the lead with the song “Fishnet”… I remember the video very vaguely, not one of my favorites, but the best of my non-favorites… he took over for Jerome on his tiny drum… and actually looked like he was handling it real cool-like

I had the thought a little while before the show that “most people don’t know that Morris Day is an amazing drummer”… how I didnt know for a while that he even played an instrument… he held his own for sure, but it wasn’t nearly as spectular as it coulda been if he stood in for Jellybean for a solo

the bass player wasn’t Terry Lewis and I don’t remember what his name was… but he added his own bit to the show as well

It wasn’t before last night that I ever thought of Morris Day as the kind of guy cool with sharing the spotlight

“Oak Tree” had me almost falling on my face cuz I was laughing so hard on the inside
I could not believe that thing made it into the show…
I saw the video when I was going thru everything Morris Day on YouTube this one time (which also reminded me that I was kinda considering his solo work… if I could even find it, lol… I think the place where I got Wendy & Lisa’s first album has since closed down)… and I thought it was another ridiculous attempt for him to create a new dance that never caught on

but sure enough (and people did do The Bird, although not a great % of the audience) maybe 20 people in the VIP section had their hands up the way he did… took his lead, rather

It did took me a while to fully wrap my head around all this… that I was actually here, seeing all this… the actual article doing his actual songs… without most of the original members, it kinda felt like a cover band at first…
but if anything was to prove me wrong and reign me in… it was whenever Morris Day wasn’t singin’… he was being the class act comedic he’d always been… a sense of humor goes a long way and he did manage to get plenty of laughs in my section… moments like that were the only time I really felt like I was part of a cohesvie unit

I know that The Time is an R&B sorta group and they cater to this kind of crowd, but a lot of the time, I felt like I was out with the wrong group of people… surely if this was back at First Avenue, I woulda been right at home…

for sure, I know that I’ll never hear the word “Pocono” the same way again…
you know how artists address their audiences by the name of the city they’re performing in…
he was doing that… put “Pocono” or “Poconos” to the Morris Day accent and thats what you get

first time he addressed the crowd, he asked either how we’re doing or if we were ready for this show… twice in this show, he said how much he liked the back of the room… the first time, he said that all the people in the back should come to front… more or less calling the people in the first rows schmucks… not the word he used, but that was the impression I got…
this was a vastly different atmosphere from the Monster Ball, the Taylor Swift concert DVD’s and those singing competitions… there wasn’t a lot of uniform enthusiasm

during this first monologue he also asked if someone out there brought him a mirror…
and sure enough, Jerome was there with his large golden circular mirror… he said something like “its ok, I brought my own”…

the mirror made three appearances the entire show… the first time, he was grooming himself with a comb to make sure everything was cool… the second time was a little of this and that… and the third time, I think it was used for function rather than comedy… in between changing jackets, making sure everything was straight up

Of course a bunch of the songs already invite participation…
the first was in “Cool”… wanted us to say “cool” back to him and also to spell it out with him…

“777-9311” was an expectedly abridged performance…
did the first verse… did a bridge… did the chorus once or twice and went right into the instrumental breaks…
it was all good 😎

after a block of songs, he disappeared backstage… I kinda figured after a while that it was for a change of costume… (I’m hesitant to call it that, even though it was Prince that got all offended when someone told his band to get into their costumes)

either the guitar player or bassist asked if we knew any of the slow songs and they kinda asked us to shout the one we wanted to hear… we ended up getting a little of both…
Morris started to sing “Girl” and after a couple of lines, he said something like “Pocono, I love singing from backstage” and addressed a change of clothes

at the beginning of the show, the MC listed a handful of songs that they were gonna perform and “Gigolos get Lonely too” was among the ones listed… that had me pulse going and it only accelerated when I knew for sure that they were actually doing it…

I credit that song alone for being the reason I invested in The Time… or at least their second album…
a certain music video got me interested in them in general…

shoot, I forgot the first great joke
before going into “Wild & Loose”, he asked us to ask the all-important question… after two attempts, he said “say it like you mean it, dammit!”

:falloff: OMG…
that was SO called for, man

but for “Gigalos”, he came out with that white zoot suit look that he had in the movie and also the intro of “Ice Cream Castles”… he was wearing an all white suit and was wearing the white jacket over it…
the sunglasses had been gone since “Wild & Loose”… but here, it really felt like you got to see him… there’s something about the magnetism of eye contact that I find all too important when it comes to him and Prince… truly makes up the difference

of course Morris has this outrageous charisma where you already are having a good time cuz he’s there…
I can see myself writing quite a bit with this song in mind… it felt like there was something so personal about it and… phew, this was the first time I really felt like I was singing along to anything… it was a beautiful performance, of course… my heart was fluttering out of my chest, the whole 9 yards

the MC, the DJ dude celebrating 30 years in the business, another part of the intro he did… He said that Morris Day is so cool that you never see him sweat and later on he’ll tell us why…
after that song was when he did the clarification

and dude, I love the way he explains things…
also kinda caught my attention because, as I often think of him being this clean-cut counterpart to Prince, he said “shit” three times in this one monologue…
I think he said something along the lines of, not everyone is feeling all that great at this moment and we’re going to figure things out together… something like that… kinda referencing that times is hard right now in America… that was a nice personal touch

then he said “I know what you’re thinking. You see this moisture on my forehead. You’re probably thinking ‘Morris Day isn’t cool no more’ that Morris Day ‘has lost it”

he painted a picture for us…
“imagine getting a bottle of champagne out of your refrigerator. I see 2-3 of you know what I’m talking about. you set it on the table. what does it start to do? moisture is gathering on the outside because the coolness on the inside is coming out onto the outside. what is that called? Condensating. So I’m not sweating, I’m condensating.”

We gotta put that in the dictionary… “condensating”… the coolness on the inside results in moisture gathering on the outside
man, I love the way this man thinks

he put his pinstripe suit back on around this point, checked that everything was lined up just right…

he asked for a volunteer to get on the stage with him… I recognized her as one of the caterers that came onstage earlier when the MC and Chris Currie were thanking everyone that made this event possible…
she was grooving to whatever beat they were playing and he introduced her to his guitar player… asking her to groove to his guitar player only when she heard something she liked… that was pretty hot to watch

he then asked for a bunch of ladies to join him on stage, ones that were feeling sexy that night and wanted to do their own version of what that girl did…
about a dozen girls came on stage… I think all of them were from the VIP section

man, to be in their shoes, I don’t think I’d be able to keep it together on stage without hyperventilating or fainting… so lucky…

he cracked a joke a minute or so later… okay I said a couple people, not the whole damn audience

eventually this turned into the biggest surprise of the night… I thought…
plus I only really expected The Time to play a handful of their hits… and everyone else only got a handful of songs… anywhere between 5 and 9/10

thinking about it, it kinda made sense… the set-up for “Ice Cream Castles” had all of these women watching the performance and grooving to the beat…
my only nitpick was that the synths were a little overdone, kinda took away from the magical edge I feel the song has… the reason I was drawn in initially… and just his overall look in the video kept me around for the duration…

it really was something special to see him perform that song that I’ve come to love so much… plus I  had only just rewatched the video a few hours before…
the song progressed to the “let’s do something, let’s do something soon” line and little by little, Jerome arranged the ladies around Morris as he called out different races…
white girls, we like ’em, black girls, we like ’em… then he got to Mexican and Puetro Rican and so on…

after that, he asked gentlemen to come up to help the ladies off the stage…
I believe, last I checked (which was a couple years ago), he’d been happily married for a number of years
I gotta wonder how the hell his wife lets him get away with all this every night… doesn’t this keep her up at night? Make her jealous?
I know if it were me, I wouldn’t be able to stand it for long

He then asked us to play back to him the line
“1234, what the hell are we fighting for?”
before they went into The Walk

It was cool, all these songs, choreography they’d been doing for years is still part of their act…
777-9311 was exactly the same as the American Bandstand performance I rewatched earlier that day…
he did a verse, the chorus and more or less stuck to the bridge halfway through… even keeping in the “Polarids stay in time with the drummer” line… despite the fact nobody has polarids anymore

of course, The Bird was the grand finale…
everyone got back up on their feet again…
and I think only a handful actually did the dance…
if it was 90%, I would have considered it more seriously πŸ˜‰

this went on for quite a while, the song… probably got one of the most complete performances…

then a moment of panic took hold of me… cuz he left the stage and… wow… it was like everyone else couldn’t wait to get the hell out of there….

I had my conspiracy theories at the beginning of the show… the huge break after Heatwave…
I was wondering if they were actually there yet… wondering if Morris was being a diva and wanted to be sure everything was in order… wondering what his pre-show rituals might be… you get a long wait and theories are inevitable

with the people flocking to the exits at this point, which had me really worrying this was the end of the show… I was NOT ready for this to be over yet…

I was wondering a number of things… did any of these people really care that much about The Time and that’s why they didnt stick around for a standing ovation… was it because they wanted to get out of there and beat the traffic in the parking lot?
I dunno

my only tip off that it wasn’t quite done yet… aside from the gappingly obvious absence in the setlist… the bassist hadn’t left the stage yet…
he started asking us if we wanted one more song… which one do we want to hear… and we had to do a chant nice and loud or he wasnt gonna come back out…

I was half thinking “Morris, don’t you dare do this to me!”
never minding the fact he did a bunch of songs I never expected to make it into the show… it was on the program and the ad for crying out loud… it had to be there…

sure enough, the audience… whatever 5th or 10th was left of those 500-600 people… were chanting “oh-we-oh-we-oh”… for a minute or so…
I was worrying that it wasn’t enthuiastic enough to get the song… but sure enough, WE GOT IT!

and it had about everything you could ask for…
the choreography was still as it was back then πŸ˜‰
by this point, everyone left was still on their feet, don’t know how many were getting into it, but I certainly was…
the only thing missing was the mirror gag… he and Jerome was still doing their thing, although maybe not as in-synch as they used to be… the guitar player got to play this sick solo, which of course we miss getting in the movie because, it’s Prince’s story so it has to progress beyond just the musical numbers at the club…

The place was loud with chatter, but I felt like I was the biggest screamer there…

It was the perfect ending to the best concert I’d seen in my life and probably one of the best I WILL see in my life…
since they were advertised to be performing at AC last summer, I thought it said something like the band was getting back together… with all the original members…

I got over my disappointment that Jesse Johnson and Terry Lewis weren’t there pretty quickly…
and I did kinda forget to mention, until now, that Jimmy Jam WAS there, killing it on keyboards like he always had

I’m taking the other shows into account here, cuz obviously Prince played everything on the albums.

of course Morris thanked the fans out there that had been with them all these years…

yeah, to be honest, I’d only be a true fan of The Time for 4 years…
It was official when I was introduced to their music outside of what they did in the movie
and I credit a lot of it with luck… being able to find those other albums without having to resort to online shopping

I had a few pick-up-lines in mind… if I got super lucky to meet him in person… neither of them would have really gone anywhere…
the first was “you probably haven’t heard this one before. but there was a 3-month period when I had a huge crush on you”… not to mention that was a period that happened 4 years ago
the second was “man, I wish I was born 30 years earlier cuz you looked fine back in the day”

or at least something around the lines of… I try to associate him with the how he looked in the 80’s
but I actually wasn’t disappointed in that department… he looked amazing, sounded amazing and you really can’t go wrong when that unique sense of humor is still intact

although I don’t think I heard a single “yeeasss” the entire show

everything else that was signature Morris Day… that was there πŸ˜‰

The show ended aroun 11:40, so I can only estimate that they had a 60-90 block all to themselves… made the whole thing worth and kinda made the opening acts seem trival by comparison

I think the only concerts I’d been to in my life… Jesse McCartney premiered new material at Point Pleasant… I wasnt really getting into his concert at Six Flags… and with the American Idol tours, I didnt think to really sing along with anything…

the ultimate perk of this was that I recognized every song and knew the words to almost all of them… It made me feel special and extremely priviledged to have their opportunity

the thing I’m kinda worried about now is that I have my mind solidified in how it remembers certain songs on the albums… “Gigolos” will surely get its moment when I can write a whole scene around that from this performance… I really don’t want to take anything away from the movie or my favorite music video of theirs…

in other words, I won’t remember anything from the concert when I listen to their albums 😦
but I get the feeling that their first album will be set apart for that reason…
“Get it up” being the first song on any of their recorded works… the opening number of the concert… that was a special moment because it was the moment of “arrivial”… that I had spent nights thinking about and the night before being kept up by the mere idea of seeing this man in person…

sure, he’s old enough to be my dad (technically he’s my mom’s age)… but age is just a number, really… still looked fine, sounded good, and whatever he had back in the day… he never lost it πŸ˜‰
you would think someone would get sick of playing the same setlist all the time because they’re kinda all about the only hits they have, which aren’t many… but he looked like he was having a great time… therefore I had an amazing time…

really doesn’t get much better than that
(and I think I will copy/paste this into my document where all my fanfiction is)

Morris Day, you rock!
Thank you so much for coming out here to give such an awesome show.
I’ll be sure to never forget it πŸ˜‰

This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

